The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Remington Collegestay away from &for profit& school

Take my advise:If you want an education check out your local community college before signing up for one of these "for profit colleges". And I use the work "college" loosely when I call it that. My experience at Remington was not all that great. I plan to become a Pharmacy Technician and they have a "course" for it at the one in Colorado Springs. Our instructor for the first month(or module as they call it) WAS a certified pharmacy technician. However, we were supposed to learn pharmacy law the last hour of the class and we just never got around to it. I received an A in a class in which I had no work or tests in. Then our instructor left for medical reasons and the "school" replaced her with a person who was a medical assistant-he had no pharmacy technician experience PERIOD. He tried and was a way better teacher than the one that WAS a pharmacy technician but when I am paying $13, 500 for schooling I expect to be taught by someone who has experience in the field. When I looked at some example certification exams there were a ton of questions on it pertaining to law and pharmacy practice-subjects I had learned very little of in school. So I decided to withdraw, bought some more books on the subject and study on my own. You don't need to go to school to become certified as a pharmacy technician. What I have learned about the field is basically what I've taught myself. I've learned more in the past weeks then I did the whole time I was at Remington. I plan on getting my experience at a local non profit after I become certified. I am so glad I wised up and dropped out when I did-I don't owe as much as I would have if I stayed the course. I feel sorry for those who haven't-most places don't hire you unless you have a years experience and unless they plan on volunteering their services they are not going to get that experience. Don't let yourself be fooled by the hype when you see their ads on tv-these schools only care about filling an empty seat so their stockholders make money-education is second on their list.

Responses

  • Je
    Jeff Reding Aug 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too went to Cleveland's Remington College on the east side and was ripped off to the tune of $25, 000 in debt for a degree in Web Design and graduated in 2003. The curriculum did not contain sufficient training in web programming, leaving me unable to use my Associate Degree for anything. I can do HTML coding but that's the extent of what I actually learned there, along with some peripheral information about how to install programmes, etc. The only other thing I ever got out of the school was a laptop computer. I am also trying to find out if there is a class-action lawsuit in existence that I can take part in because, now that I am on disability (have been since 2004) and my student loan debts have been discharged by the US Department of Education, I have been saddled with nearly $85, 000 in what they call income that was incurred between my two years at Remington and five years at Cleveland State University. None of my credits from Remington transferred even though I was assured that it was an accredited school and any credits I earned would transfer to a four year college. So, if anybody is aware of an ongoing class action suit please contact me at [email protected] Thank you and good luck to everyone else who was ripped off by this 'college.'

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKazar Mar 29, 2015

    Remington College has ruined my life!!! Their recruiters should work for the armed forces. They made a single, pregnant mother think it was the best opportunity of my life. They rushed me through the paperwork and had me sign and in the classroom the next week. I found out by talking with the instructors, they aren't teachers at all. All you need to get a job teaching there is 2-3 years experience in the field. I graduated with near perfect grades because before every test they reviewed every question on the test the day before. All we had to do was write down every question and answer then memorize!!! I graduated easily then got a job for $9 per hour. So now I'm so far in debt that I can't even attempt to fix my life or credit for my family because let's face it, $9 an hour certainly doesn't cover the expense of childcare. And continuing my education is out the window. Even at a community college I have too much debt already AND my credits don't transfer (which those crappy recruiters promised they would) I can't even get cable in my name... If anyone reading this knows anything about a lawsuit please email me at [email protected] I do know for sure my campus recently got shut down (cleveland-west)

    0 Votes
  • Am
    ambermartin2004 Feb 04, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @BKazar OMG im in the exact same boat you described my whole experience to a t... i too was faked into believing that this was an opportunity of a lifetime and they rushed me through a few signatures and told me ok see u Monday . So i started class then a month into the program they try to call me saying not to come to class the next day something went wrong with financial aid and i couldn't unless i had my mom co-sign, needless to say the lady in the admin dept. tells me no worries we got you another loan and you are safe to resume class. so who signed this loan i sure the hell didn't. and that is just ok. i hate this place i wish i never wasted my time i graduated in 2005 to get out and didn't find a job for 2 years after and when i did i only made 7.25 a hour so what the hell i was completely lied to and deceived. just to be harassed by student loans, so sallie mae also sold my loan to nelnet and after garnishing my wages for a year it should have brought my loan down some when they sold it but no it went up 4000.00 more dollars. How is this legal i wish i knew the right people, place to go to get real help with this situation. they keep my taxes and everything and i have 3 babies under age 4 and a single mom and don't work due to not making enough to cover day care for my babies. that place should be filed against in every way possible...

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jenniferd3 Jan 23, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I graduated from Remington college in 2009 I didn't learn thing and they r ripping me off of all this money which is crazy the teachers were not even in the class to teach u anything. I'm trying to fill a lawsuit against them if anyone knows anything that can help me please feel free to email me any information that u can give me thanks. [email protected] or if u know a good attorney that will help. thanks have a blessed day.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. Annette Jan 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel everyone should speak their mind. Im also a college student, ive been in college going on 3 years now because the college didn't request for my high school transcript and now they say I can't graduate until November 2011 and I was supposed to graduate in November of 2010. I was still charged for the term I got dropped, really I don't know when im graduating now because they started my enrollment all over again and I really don't want to stay a whole nother year here because the teachers don't teach, they just send us home with a lot of work and student services is so rude. I really suppose to already have my associate degree. E-mail: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned for the Masses Sep 15, 2009

    The writing skills of an individual have nothing to do with the unethical goings-on at Remington. I believe they are (and have been in the past) under investigations.

    If you are able to gather a large number of people who can and are willing to testify, give detailed written statements of what they experienced with dates, names, etc; as well as prove the financial end of it (via paperwork, e-mails, any documentation showing you paid monies, the copies of paperwork you signed with Remington showing what they are promising in return)...you may be able to file a class action lawsuit.

    Do your homework, team together, and fight one of the many machines that need to be brought down. Taking advantage of people is wrong on any level...promising a stellar education and job placement (however carefully worded to slip under the radar of accountability) while leaving people without the proper education/out thousands of dollars, is irreprehensible.

    REPUTABLE COLLEGES that offer 2 year programs (technical and non-technical) that CAN go into a 4 year degree with certain universities (AND OFFER FINANCIAL AID, SCHOLARSHIPS, ETC.) are:

    DCCCD (all of its campuses like El Centro, Mountain View, etc., all in areas of Dallas…I believe they have 9 campuses total!)
    http://www.dcccd.edu/Future+Students/Courses+and+Programs/


    Tarrant County College (has 5 campus now in areas of Fort Worth)…many excellent programs and education!
    http://www.tccd.edu/Courses_and_Programs.html

    Tarleton in FORT WORTH (yes they are a part of Tarleton State University) offers some 2 year medical/tech degrees and works with DCCD, TCC, Weatherford in allowing the pre-requisites to transfer from those colleges to Tarleton…they even give a specific list of the classes from each college that will transfer!
    http://www.tarleton.edu/fortworth/futurestudents/Degrees/Histotechnology-%20Advanced%20Technical%20Certification.html


    Weatherford College has wonderful 2 year programs and excellent education!
    http://www.wc.edu/

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    jrock2980 Jun 24, 2009

    i agree with eaj73 100% although i do have a job i can finally call my education worth it, it took me going back to a state community college to get a better education then that of the so called "education" i got from "Remington college" I am constantly harassed by people wanting money for the thousands of dollars wasted at this pure excuse of a school. the funny part about it all is that i pay my loans monthly on time and they still tell me i am several months past due...where did all that money go?

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    eaj73 Jun 16, 2009

    I graduated from Remington College in LA 11 years ago and never could find a position for what I went to school for. Places I've enquired only wanted those that had x amount of years experience and other decent jobs actually turned me down because of my credit; it didn't matter the education I had. After so many months into the program, I was told I'd be stuck with a loan whether I finished or not. So I finished school...and still stuck with a loan I'll never catch up with due to the interest. So I'd never recommend Remington College. It makes my stomach turn whenever I see any commercials with all their false advertisement. I'm in the living-from-paycheck-to-paycheck club. Kinda discourages me from even wanting to further my education in anything else...it doesn't guarantee you'll find the job you think you'll get. It's not what you know, it's who you know. Good luck to you.

    1 Votes
  • Cl
    ClassAdvocate Jun 16, 2009

    I aggregate class action investigations and I am constantly surprised that more lawyers are not taking on these for profit institutions for the kinds of abuses you outlined in your post. Here is a list of some current actions in the education industry. Good luck to you.
    http://www.classadvocate.com/?direct=y&category=industry&industry_root%5B%5D=39

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.