Regency Furniture Store - Largo, MarylandI will never go to regency furniture again!

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I purchased a Sofa from Regency Furniture, at the Largo, Md store and I also requested for special fabric on the sofa. I waited 3 months to for the sofa and when I received it the legs could not be installed because the lug nuts shift inside the frame of the couch. I had to return the couch and wait six more weeks for this to be fixed. I received my couch back with black marks on the back. Two weeks later I sitting on my couch and the legs broke again. I called customer service and they told me I could not get my money back because it was a special order. The technician came to my house replace the legs six weeks later. One month later the two my son sat down on the sofa and the two front legs broke. I called customer service and requested for the technician to please come out. I was told that Mr. Lee the district manager would have to okay this. I called three and four times a day for one week before Mr. Lee returned my calls. I ask if there was anyone I could talk to since Mr. Lee would not return my call. When I mentioned channel seven news on your side I received a phone call from Mr. Lee that same day. The technician was send to my house and he took pictures and told me that the couch had been moved and that is why the frame was broke. I told him that the only time the couch was moved is when regency furniture picked up the couch for repairs. The couch is very large and I only have one wall that the couch will fit in my living room. I will never go to Regency Furniture again.

Responses

  • Uv
    Uva Sizer Jan 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I experienced the same problem with not only one, but two different sofas from the Largo, Regency Furniture!!!! The fabric unraveled the third day after I purchased the sofa they did replace it saying that it was a manufacturer deficiency however the front panel came off of the 2nd sofa and they did not replace that one!

    Never again!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Hawkins Jul 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Regency has sold me broken furniture and refuse to take it back. The customer service in the Regency Warehouse in Waldorf basicially told me I have to furniture in my home and she wasn't required to do anything and if I wanted to return the furniture that was keep %30 of my money. Regency has gotten the last of my business. Another friend of my just received her furniture from Regency after waiting 5 months and many many calls to Regency.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Holmes Jul 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife and I purchased a pillow top Full/Queen matress during one of Regency's tent sales last winter (2007/2008). We had the mattress delivered to the house in Hollywood, MD. The mattress that arrived was NOT a pillow top mattress so my wife refused the delivery of the mattress and phoned the Brandywine store for some answers to rectify the situation. About one week later, the store called and indicated our mattress was in stock now and we could come pick it up. My wife declined and said, we paid for delivery so please deliver the mattress. They responded by saying we made one trip with merchandise to your address ma'am. She stated YOU shipped the wrong mattress to us and that wasn't our issue so PLEASE send the correct mattress to our home as we ordered and paid in full for. About 3 days after that call my wife called me from out of town and asked if I would go pick up the mattress from the Regency store in Brandywine, Waldorf, MD and I said yes. It was about 8pm and I pulled into the parking lot and had to wait about one hour for the men to load the mattress into my pickup truck.

    If anyone with regulatory abilities out there reads this I sure wish an audit could be performed on this business entity. With the number of complaints about this company, I am surprised they are still in business.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
    BJones Aug 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading all these complaints, I am deeply afraid to purchase anything from them. I had been shopping for a sofa & stopped in to look, but did not purchase, Thank God! A question though, has anyone sent their compliant to the Better Business Bureau? These boards are good to let people know how they will be treated when using a particular, but in order to get an advocate on your side, BBB must be contacted, especially those who have been told they will get no money returned!
    Not fussing, just a thought.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kerry Sep 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    the same thing happen to me, i regret buying from them, i wish i read this before going there, few month ago i bought living room set for 5000 dollars that i regret liars riffof bad customer srvice please think before going, if not buy some were.warranty is also lie.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Moore Oct 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Consequently, I have had the misfortune of two price increases on two different merchandises that was told to me to be wrong tags on merchandise located in the Clearance area at the Regency Furniture Store, Largo, Maryland. The time-period were between September and October of 2008. As a customer you do not expect fraudulent behavior nor practice on the behave of a store manager. The two merchandise had one low price tag in the clearance area, but, when I came to the customer corner to purchase the items--the store manager look at something in the computer and increase the price--stating this must be the wrong price, so, therefore I cannot give you the clearance ticketed price, but a much higher price--which took me out of my affortable price range. First I don't know what he was looking at, but, if it was the original price of a new armoire or recliner that was on the floor it should not have been compare or be the price of a clearance item. And the possibility of picking two items in the clearance area that both were ticketed wrong is no coincidence. I feel cheated -- how many times this suppose to happen before someone take action--with the two merchandise I did purchase was $570 dollars--he charge me $120 dollars delivery charge for two items costing $450 dollar. I know the economic is bad right now, but, unfair practices is wrong. Furthermore, to supposedly correct the wrongfully pricing items in the clearance corner to a much higher price is simply fraudulent practice that hurts a potential customer.

    0 Votes
  • My
    Mycomplaint Feb 20, 2009

    I purchased a set from their Brandywine location and they SUCK. Their customer service team is awful. I eventually had to retain a lawyer to send them threatening letters. I WILL NOT purchase from them again. NEVA!!! They put me through he mills and they are profiting off of our sales. You would think that they would want to up their game in order to get a better rep. I guess not. A shame.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TEE058 Jul 27, 2009

    Report them to the bank and return the furniture. I made payments on a furniture set that was discontinued. I talk to that Mr. Lee person and he told me I wasn't getting my money back. I called and report them to my bank and my bank got my money back. I also reported them to the better business bureau and Regency was rated a F. I will never ever do business with them again.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    closeDownBrandywineStore Aug 16, 2009

    They are the worst company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with. Never again. Never again. They have mostly foreigners acting as sales people and those foreigners have never been trained in customer service. Most of them come from places where fraudulent business practices is the norm. Two sales people tried to scam me by looking me dead in the eye to tell me that all the drawer handles were inside a dresser. They pretended to see them there. They did not know that I had already inspected the dresser and knew that some handles were missing. Their fake inspections and declarations that the handles were in the drawer were in response to me asking where are the missing handles for the drawer. Thieves and scammers.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurel Wood Aug 24, 2009

    I was there over the weekend and found a bar that I really liked. After spending almost 45 mins. with a saleperson I decided to purchase the bar. While waiting someone else came inquiring about the same item. We both were told by the manager that the price did NOT include the stools, but the tag clearly indicated it did!! The manager said it was an error and that they did not have to honor the price on the tag!! This is BAD BUSINESS!! They could really care less and Iit shows and will never purchase anything else there again.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spring22 Aug 25, 2009

    I purchased from Regency Furniture about 2 months ago and my experience was great. Went into the Brandywine location worked with the salesperson for about 1hr to 1 1/2, salesperson had no problem with that. I picked out two sets of furniture bedroom set and living room set. They had to order both salesperson told me 2-3wks. I did notice on the contract that is stated 2-6wks salesperson assured me that, that is the amount of time the merchandise could take in extreme cases. My furniture came in about 3 1/2 weeks later, got delivery 3 days later, drivers were wonderful brought furniture in and set it up with no problems. Regency will continue to get my business and I will refer them to others.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mel214 Feb 03, 2010

    I will never EVER EVER shop at regency again. They delivered me a china cabinet where the door will not close. The service department will NOT RETURN YOUR CALLS. It took me over a week to reach someone. Once I reached someone they would only send someone out during work hours to fix my furniture. They would not even schedule someone to come to myhouse after 3! If you can not deliver a good product it is YOUR REPSONSIBILITY to fix it at a time convient for the customer. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER. I have never had this problem at other furniture stores.

    -1 Votes
  • Tw
    twilliams77 Mar 11, 2010

    uh-oh. I didn't like the fact that it took a month for my furniture to arrive after I paid for it. I just called to schedule a delivery for next Wednesday and after reading this, I'm nervous.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MsKBJackson Apr 07, 2010

    Wow, was planning on going there for furniture today and decided to look them up on the net. So glad that you posted your comments to alet buyers of their bad business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Wd
    wdr501 Apr 14, 2010

    WORST PLACE TO DO BUSINESS!! We were told our couches would be here in 3 weeks, 10 weeks later we still don't have anything. Once our furniture was in the store it took them 3 days to call us to tell us it was in. I talked to the store manager Mo about it and he told me we would have them on the 2 days later. Now we are still waiting for our delievery. Each time I called the store, I had to deal with rude people.

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY! You can find a better place to shop were they will repect you.

    0 Votes
  • Nl
    NLConsumer Apr 19, 2010

    Well my experience hasn't been bad yet. I pray that it won't be (and because I know what to pray for now I'm sure that it won't). I will say that I walked around for about 15 minutes before anyone asked if I needed help (not good). However, after I did get help the salesman was very curteous. I was even able to get some of the price knocked off. IDK guys...

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alexander1953 Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just bought Furniture from them a couple weeks ago, and I couldnt have expected a friendlier and more respectable furniture company in my life. My wife and I have been shopping for new furniture for a month and we found their prices to be best in the market in terms of value and quality. I asked for my furniture to be delivered in a week and they were there on time with no problems. I'm suprised by all these complaints but i definitely will shop there again and recomend all my friends and family.

    0 Votes
  • Tx
    TXCHIC Apr 20, 2010

    Well I just came from Regency in Waldorf after visiting their stores three times. The staff was very helpful and I immediately connected with the Manager for a price reduction since I was purchasing several pieces. He obliged. He did state I would get my furniture as soon as possible but he did indicate it would normally be 2 to 6 weeks. He checked his inventory and did not have the bedroom set on hand. He was checking the other stores to see if they had it in stock and if so we definetly make every effort to deliver by my requested date of April 28, 2010. After reading all these email, I am not confident at all that he will have the furniture delivered by the requested date. Although, I too will pray and keep the faith that I have the furniture delivered then. I will keep you posted.

    0 Votes
  • Is
    isavelle Aug 04, 2010

    Well i was scared at first when the salesmen informed me of the 2-6 week wait period. The manager assured me it'd be here within 3 and within the second week they were calling me to let me know i could come pick up. I read the reviews prior to going in to the store but i decided to give it a try. I guees you have to see to believe. The staff at the Langley park store was very helpful. I'm enjoying my new dining kitchen very well priced.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glenda Moore-Ramsey Oct 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a bad experience with The Regency Store in Waldorf, MD, (Brandywine)they actually ordered my a living room set that was discontinued when they put in the special order, I waited almost 12 weeks for the furniture continuing going back to the store to inquiry about it and sales person working with me Fela and his boss Ahmad kept assuring me that the furniture was coming. A LIE! They now want to give me a store credit for half of my money because I previously had a another sofa and loveseat that I was waiting on, they said I could transfer that money to the new and I was told by my sales person Fela that I would get a full refund, LIE. I had purchased all the accessories (coffee tables, end tables, draperies, mirrors and lot of other accessories) and now I am stuck with them out of more money because they won't give me all my money back to try and another sofa and loveseat. My tables are very ornate so this is a big problem. There managers are some of the biggest liars in the furniture industries, I feel the whole ring of Regency stores should be shut down or held accountable by their deceptions to customer.

    0 Votes
  • Uu
    UUGHH Nov 04, 2010

    I am glad unfortunately to hear that others share the same and or similiar stories that I have. I will NEVER purchase from the Regency in Largo, MD or any of them again. I purchased two Living Room Groups at the same time for two of my rental locations and also purchased the 5 year extended warranty. Its all a joke. After 3 months of having the furniture in my house, the leather started to crack and the manufacturer said, it wasn't a defect and the 5 year only covers accidental coverage. It has taken us 7-8 months to get a response and pretty much, no one is going to repair and/or replace the furniture. I feel like taking it and dropping if off in front of their store!!!

    PISSED!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    _former_employee_ Dec 03, 2010

    If you think they treat their customers poorly, try working for them. I used to and can verify their customer's concerns and complaints. Also know that many of their manual laborers are illegal aliens. Some of the Palestinian owner's family members, who work for him, have stated how they hate Americans, except where their money is concerned.

    1 Votes
  • Fh
    fharris Jan 19, 2011

    Sometimes ordering custom fabrics there can be problems, speaking from personal experience but they went out of their ways to solve the problem for me and now everything looks beautiful in my home. Every time I go back they always have a big smile on their face and treat me as if i was family and I spent 100, 000 dollars their.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexlove Feb 23, 2011

    Regency furniture is dubious, i bought furnitures from there and the china came with a broken cupboard, it has been 3.5 months and they still haven't fixed it. they keep giving me false promises and never honor it. I believe we should file a class action lawsuit against them and call News 4 to report the matter.

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    RONALD B Apr 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is Regency Furniture at 2450 route 22 east, Kenilworth, NJ 07033, Phone [protected] one of the stores you supply? If so, I placed a order for a chair and matching pillows on 4/18/09. I received the chair without the matching pillows. To this date I have not received the pillows and Regency Furniture keeps blaming Englang Furniture for the mix up or delay. They say England can't trace the shipment, they have no record of the order, but yet they say the pillows were shipped. How can that be? If this is one of your stores, could you look into this matter for me? They won't give me the direct number to England so I can't call. A contact at the store is Paulette. She is very familiar with this. Thank You.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deedee56 Jun 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a bed with a dresser and mirror, which was delivered on March 9, 2011. The bed post was broken when they delivered it. Customer Service told me it would not be a problem to have someone come out to repair the post. Well, the bed post needs to be replaced and the problem is that the bed (Ashley) has been discontinued. No one can tell me anything. I filed with the Better Business Bureau and am waiting to hear from them. I have purchased from them in the past, but this has been very difficult and trying. Regency will no longer get my business.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fredmom Jun 11, 2011

    We bought a leather living room set from the Regency Store in Fredericksburg. The sales associate (Maggie) claimed that the leather was so durable that you would have to "talk a knife to it" to mark it up, She also claimed that my cats walking on it would do no harm. Within 2 days, there were marks on the furniture from my cats walking. I contacted the store. They admitted the lie but won't do anything about it. Perhaps, I should have been less naive. I will not shop at Regency again!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    linda Fuller Oct 28, 2011

    Brought furniture today at Regency Furniture Store and the bed was defective. Spoke to Management about the problem, & they ask for picture to be sent and I did now, I was told that once the picture was sent it would determine who could get back out here to solve the problem, now the driver wasn't even gone 10min when this call was made..sense then its been to different dates, I was hung up on, put hold several times, I was even told someone will be calling me back, only to tell me we have to give you another date... Now I ask you is this truly how Regency take care of their customer or do they even care..

    0 Votes
  • Kc
    kcoleman Nov 22, 2011

    On 11/05/11 I stopped by Regency Furniture (Fredericksburg) to look for a sleeper chair, I had found one at another store but want to be see if they had anything I might like better. My salesperson Jeanne show me several when we were walking in the back of the store and I stopped one and looked closer and saw that they had several a twin, full and queen size sleeper chairs etc.
    So she said that these were new and she had to look because it was anew item therefore she went over to the customer service area and spoke with one of the managers that was there on Super Saturday and I stood as she asked him about the sleeper and he told her that he had just got those in and they had plenty at available and it would be no problem to have it by Thanksgiving.

    I went on to put it on layaway with my intention of paying it in full by the 15th. The following Monday I stop by along with my Husband to show him the sleeper and a table I had been think about for our living room. So we decide to purchase the table and I asked about having the sleeper at the store for me to pick up and when was the latest I could pick it up before Thanksgiving; this is when I was told oh, it is not available for 4 to 6 weeks. At that time I informed them that wasn't what I was told 6 days ago, they proceed to try to tell me it is possible that the warehouse had many on that day but in 6 days sold them all. Also, I told them that he (the manager) didn't look into the system when he stated this. So I received several calls telling me that they were checking with the warehouse to see if they could get it.

    Well the bottom-line is that they will have one in the warehouse on November 25th, the day after Thanksgiving. However they did offer the one on the floor that looked like someone had replaced the back cushions filling. I told them no thanks and to please get me one from the warehouse. I could not cancel the order because they were going to charge me thirty percent for their wrong.

    Once I get my sleeper and coffee table I will never-ever-ever by anything else or recommend this store to any of my colleagues, relative or anyone for that matter. I will tell them about my experience and let them decide, which want be hard.

    0 Votes
  • Worst place to shop. avoid to buy anything at any cost at Regency. All the location should be inspected and also IRS must check if they are filing their tax properly as well because the way they are doing business is not honest at all. They are whole bunch of liars and fraud. the way they treat their customer, they should not be in business at all in US. I also have problem with them when i purchased all set of furniture's for my house. they promise something and do something else. They send the mattress that were on their display which also had big spot and refuse to replace it. Also if you have warranty on any item they will tell you to come to their store to replace it, they would not send a technician or the replacement. I don't understand why they are still on business. They should be Kick-out from our market place. one one of us need to file a lawsuit on them. BBB is always good to file complain to from where you can at least get your refund and replacement for any damage items. and absolutely Regency should be shut down or held accountable by their deceptions to customer.

    0 Votes
  • Vs
    v swayne Jun 01, 2012

    I purchased a beautiful bedroom set, paid over $5000.00 for it, about 6 months later, my husband set on the bed and the slat broke, I had purchased a warranty also, I took pictures, someone finally came out and put a new slat in, my husband and I were both sitting on the bed watching TV another time, still have not had it a year yet and another slat broke, I called the Largo store, then customer service, for months, they finally told me we could only use the warranty once for the same problem. The problem is the bed is too heavy for the frame. My husband finally went to Lowes, bought some wood and build the bottom frame himself.
    They honestly do not care. The manager is name Nick.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronald Anthonisamy Jun 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a similar incident with regency furniture at Newhamshire Ave, Hyattsville, MD - i puchased ashley high round table and 4 high chairs - the salesman, Tom, gave a good price on those for $640.00 and the same cost about $800.00 in Marlo furniture. So i paid full cash and waited for 10 weeks and to my disappointment, the table was broken and it wasnt even a high table, It was a smaller table. So i took the table to the store where i purchased and they wanted me to go return to waldorf, which my wife drove for 40 miles from my house - there, they gave hard time getting the table back from us, and finally decided to take it back and told us that it would take another 8 to 10 weeks for the next delivery. So i went home to unpack the chairs and the chairs were also broken and they were not bar chairs, they were small chairs. When i called customer service to complain, they called the salesman - Tom and he told them that we wanted only the small chairs, which was selling for $499.00 Now, why would i pay $640.00 for the small table/chairs?? He lied. So, i complained to BBB and got a ticket number from better bussiness bureau. So, i would suggest the same to all the people who got ripped off from purchasing from Regency furniture to complaint to BBB and we should shut this people down, for good. Hope this is helpful for someone !!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Olsberg Jul 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely agree. Customer service is a dis-service and the so-called warranty that you pay for does not cover anything. I have a love seat that the arm is falling off of (screw sheared) and the wood has punched through the leather and they say that it's normal wear and tear and is not covered... this after having the loveseat for 2 months in shop and then returning it only to find out that the warranty company has to get involved and they don't have paperwork reflecting paperwork. Called customer service numerous times at Regency, talked to Shannon (one manager) and then Dana (her boss) only to get the final answer that nothing is covered and they would refund me the amount i paid for the warranty. So I'm keeping the warranty for lawyer to look at and then going from there as this crap has to stop. Avoid this place unless you like not having any service or backing and want to throw money away.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dibiemmili Nov 03, 2012

    I wish I had read all these reviews before going to this company. If you are making a furniture purchase decision, PLEASE DO NOT GO TO THIS COMPANY OR YOU WILL CRY AS I AM CRYING NOW. You have been warned.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disgraced2 Nov 11, 2012

    The new (federal) Consumer Protection Agency would be a better complaint source than BBB. I purchased two bedroom sets from the Bryandywine/Waldrof Regency store in July 2012. I was told by the salesperson that both were in stock. After I squared away the financing, I was told it would take 2-4 weeks on the delivery. I paid the $150 delivery fee because I was told the store would only be responsible for furniture delivered and setup by their deliverymen. The initial delivery was finally made in Sept and was missing one nightstand from one set and two drawers from the other set. I was in fact phoned by them last week to schedule a delivery for the missing items. I told them I would pick it up since their available delivery date was another two weeks. When I picked up the furniture today, after getting home, I discovered the order was still incomplete. The drawers were correct, but the nightstand was for the wrong bedroom suite. Now I have to deal with trying to get the missing nightstand. Yes, from July to November, I'm still trying to complete this order. Wish me luck. (P.S. I won't even get into how I had an account with Marlo Furniture before being taken over by Regency who insisted I had to open another account with their finance company. I thank God I paid for more than half of my purchase and opted for the one year no interest deal for the remainder)

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSRes Dec 13, 2012

    I purchased items cost $3000.00 from the Langley park(Silver Spring) and it took 2weeks to deliver and finally i got broken, holes on the dinning chairs and sofas, guess what they said we gonna send you a technician to fix it, that’s another 2weeks may be, when i post this message its the 7th day and nobody called me. They don’t even have the manner and ethics of professionalism. please don't buy anything i wish i checked the complaints before I got on this trouble. I will post the picture next time. The manager bold old guy (cause he doesn’t wanna tell me his name)he is very rude, he even slept at his desk when we went @ the store. I wish they got bankruptcy like the other stores.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    McPeoples Mar 18, 2013

    Purchased sofa took 9 weeks vs 6 weeks...the pillows that were on the sofa when I purchased the sofa were not the same pillows that were delivered with the sofa. Regency said sometimes the pillows get changed around. My problem is I purchased the sofa with the pillows - they refused to change the pillows. NEVER AGAIN REGENCY IS OUT - STAY AWAY

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carolyn Baker-Moore May 01, 2014

    i purchased a $3, 064.00 bedroom set from Regency Furniture in Brandywine Maryland April 20, 2014 i also purchased the warranty $300.00 plus dollars. When the furniture arrived a day or two later i noticed several marks on the mirrow and the headboard which is tufted leather had a snag in it.They are coming to view my complaint this weekend and I will keep you posted.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lytesha Miller Jul 06, 2015

    I have purchased a glass table from Regency Furniture and there employee's did not used all the parts that i have paid for.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions