Having problems with Qantas Airways?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

131 313 (Australia)
1800 227 4500 (USA, Canada & Mexico)
1800 556 135 (Ireland)
800 122 0337 (Argentina)
800 892 3346 (Brazil)
1800 1611 0267 (Philippines)
+44 845 774 7767 (United Kingdom)
+64 800 808 767 (New Zealand)
+43 15 877 771 (Austria)
+32 27 006 781 (Belgium)
+45 43 314 976 (Denmark)
+31 202 035 425 (Netherlands)
+7 495 641 5121 (Russia and CIS)
+34 915 421 572 (Spain & Portugal)
+41 445 111 237 (Switzerland & Italy)
+852 22 988 111 (Hong Kong)
+60 327 133 911 (Malaysia)
+966 114 772 228 (Saudi Arabia)
+65 64 157 373 (Singapore)
+27 214 273 128 (South Africa)
+82 27 776 871 (South Korea)
+66 26 326 611 (Thailand)
10 Bourke Road
Mascot, New South Wales
Australia - 2020

Complaints & Reviews

Had to cancelled our flights due to current situation

Dear Qantas customer service Department,

I was due to board a flight from Sydney to San Francisco on 5 March 2020 in order to attend my niece's wedding, booked through Best & Less Travel in Parramatta. Unfortunately, I fell ill before the flight and considering the current situation was advised by my doctor not to travel for the safety of the passengers as well as myself. I contacted the travel agent (Heeral Trivedi) in light of my circumstance, requesting to cancel my ticket. The response I received on 3 March is as below:
"We called QF and requested, Waiver in Refund /Date Change.
As per Qantas they only give us one date change waiver only those of Infected countries.
Qantas International has made changes to capacity in Asia until at least the end of May, impacting flights from Australia to mainland China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Japan and across the Tasman."
I find this response abhorrent, to say the least considering the very serious nature of the current environment. I was following medical advice, and it's my responsibility to be making informed decisions to avoid jeopardising the health and well-being of others. I again request a full refund on my purchased tickets and should you not honour the refund I will be forced to take alternative steps.
For your reference, I have attached details of my e-tickets

05 MAR 2020 14 MAR 2020
Distance (in Miles): Stop(s):
TRIP TO SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I trust you'll arrange the waiver of my cancellation and look forward to your response.

Thanks
Alika Prasad

PREPARED FOR PRASAD/JAGENDRA MR PRASAD/ALIKA MRS
RESERVATION CODE FLLSKL
Best & Less Travel Shop 4 186 Church St Parramatta NSW [protected] [protected]@BESTANDLESSTRAVEL.COM.AU
AIRLINE RESERVATION CODE OL7H5L (QF)

Frequent Flyer program

Hello there

I have been a member of the Qantas Frequent Flyer program since Oct 97. At this time I was a public servant in Canberra and travelling regularly.

In 2006 I had a work place injury which greatly restricted my ability to work. Actually, I have not worked at all since Oct 2016 due to this injury. I was diagnosed with Totally Permanently Disabled (TPD). Therefore, I have not had much money to travel and enjoy myself. I also lost my house and other beautiful items due to this injury. I am financially ruined.

I have been planning to travel to Perth in June 2020 for around 5 months now. I have been checking the Qantas flights and availability of using my 100, 000 plus points. I even registered for a Qantas Fair Watch Update between Melbourne and Perth. So I was checking my email and phone regularly.

Today I commenced my booking for my long awaited holiday to Perth.

I selected my preferred flights ensuring there was a Frequent flyer seat available. During this process I was advised I did not have enough points to cover the Melbourne/Perth return flights. I logged into my Frequent Flyer account, and to my horror I saw I had "0" points remaining.

At no time I was made aware that these points would expire. I was not aware that Qantas was sending me emails notifying me of this. Even though I was receiving emails from Qantas regarding information on the Fair Watch Update, I did not receive the points expiration emails. On a check of my g-mail account these emails were going to my spam box. I never check this box. Why was I receiving the Fair Watch information emails to my inbox but not the urgent one of my points about to expire.

I am devastated. I was going to the National Cat Show in Perth and had just booked my cats in using the Qantas Freight on-line bookings. I had enough money to pay for this knowing my flights would be covered by my Qantas points.

Could you/would you PLEASE reconsider your decision to cancel my points. You will notice that I have been receiving information from Qantas Fair Watch since late last year. As mentioned above I was in the planning stage.

I do not have available funds to cover a paid airfare to Perth. My only way is to use my Qantas Frequent Flyer points.

I really hope you consider this request favourably. I am hoping your decision will be made in time for me to obtain a seat on the same flight as my animals, so I guess it is really very urgent.

Kindest regards

Sally Gordon
1737573
[protected]

pitiful refund.

Hi, I booked 2 x one way fares to Hong Kong for 20/2/20. We were to board a Royal Caribbean cruise from Hong Kong. Now because of the Coronavirus, Royal Caribbean have changed their boarding country to Singapore. So we had to cancel our flights to HK. We chose to cancel, on the website, it did tell us there would be a cancellation fee, but NEVER saw the amount. We tried researching cost but failed. We opted to still go ahead, assuming we would lose perhaps $60 to $80 per person.
We were absolutely shattered to find we have been charged $400 PER PERSON.
Our original fare was $1, 067.28 (including using our frequent flyer points). So the refund was pitiful.
We would have opted for the voucher if we had have been informed of the cost.
We have spoken on the chat forum, but to no avail. Of course.
Is there any way, we could refund the 'refund'and receive vouchers instead.
Our booking reference is UR67Y2.
My name is Dean Penniment. The original flight was QF8235 Perth to Hong Kong.

I would sincerely appreciate any help in regard to this matter please.

regards

Dean and Vicki Penniment

your poor communication and service

We are very disappointed with Qantaslack of communication and poor service over the last couple of weeks.
As a long term Qantas customer And Qantas Club member I would expect a much more prompt response which you have failed to provide. I requested a few weeks ago a letter stating why my flight QF 480 on 14th January 2020 was cancelled and have not yet heard or received any form of communication. This I find unacceptable and extremely poor service.
Due to Qantas lack in supplying me this information the cruise company will no longer except our request for a full refund as we could provide the letter which was requested from Qantas on January 14th and still not yet received. We missed boarding this cruise due to Qantas cancellation of our flight on the 14/01/2020 We are now out of pocket some $3000 due to the lack of response from Qantas.
So now I am requesting Qantas to repay our losses of $3000, due to Qantas ineptitude.
We also request an immediate response to the above .

Kind regards
Joseph Wilke
Mary Louisa Verden

unauthorized credit card charge

QFF 1535968
Dr Garry Ecker, 40 Chipping Rd, City Beach, WA

On the 15th November 2019 a fee of $330.81 was charged to my Amex card which was not authorized or explained adequately.
Labelled: Qantas points Qantas Po Sydney on my card statement.
Amex has tried to resolve this with you but their attempts were ignored. I have tried emailing, calling but you system is inadequate and poorly directed.
I have received no replies either. Your phone line is always too busy and I get shut out. There is no call back and your Chat line has not proven ineffective in contacting you either.
Please advise regarding this charge

Dr garry Ecker

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

qantas not taking responsibility for a combined booking with emirates and qantas. flight home with qantas but they won't answer my query.

Itinerary advises I'm flying home in business class but Qantas has downgraded me. Tried calling twice yesterday but on no reply after 1hr 14mins I hung up. Tried again later but 1hr 52mins later I had to hang up again. Waited as long as I did as desperate to get this sorted! Managed to eventually do online chat. Keep referring me back to Emirates but flight home isn't with Emirates. Have added photo which quite cleary shows confirmed business.

qantas not taking responsibility for a combined booking with emirates and qantas. flight home with qantas but they won't answer my query.

Qantas Airways

flight overbooked

Hello; My name is Tanya Isabel Massihnia Morett ticket No. [protected]
I purchased my ticket on July 5th 2019, to fly from
I was scheduled to leave Auckland at 6:05 am flight 140 on December 7th, I arrived at 3:00 am., and was told by the customer serv. personnel that I could not check in. I had to wait until 4:00 am for the actual desk personnel to open their window. Once they opened and I was helped, I was advised that my flight was cancelled because the flight was overbooked.
They proceeded to place me with a different carrier and moved my departure to 3:30 p.m. I was not offered a single thing for compensation. It was ridiculous that my flight was cancelled and I had to be at the airport for more than 12 hrs.
I request a full refund or a voucher for a flight equivalent to what I had. It is not right to just put me on a flight that left 12 hrs. later.
All my arrangement had to be changed or cancelled. A lot of extra money spent for this.
Thank you! Tanya I Massihnia Morett
[protected]@yahoo.com

service and cancellation of flight

Refer to my ticket number:081-[protected] for Flight QF5714 (JQ714) flying from HBA to MEL dated 10th December 2019 at 1505 hrs.

This flight had been cancelled at the short notices and I had to shortened my trip and make a trip to the airport at Hobart because I have a connecting flight to Singapore (QF8405/ EK405) at 1855hrs.

Your counter staff manning the counter at 1000hrs had been very impatient and totally unempathetic of my flight. I am travelling with my family with 2 young kids and I am shuffled to JetStar counter to and fro without any further help rendered. Later, I was told to call :131313 as it was the only alternative that I am able to book another flight that will be flying from HBA to MEL at 1440hrs. This call made me wait and wait and wait without any response except music and further electronic voice asking me to wait and thanking my patience.

I want to express my ultimate disappointment with Australia leading airline with such arrangements. Even though it was a JetStar flight, do note that the flight I had booked was a Qantas! Should not Qantas have the initiative to AUTOMATICALLY PUT ME on the next flight that was early enough for me to catch with the second league? Why must I be made to do all these by MYSELF?

The ordeal was finally over when I overheard from a fellow passenger that we can go to JetStar counter and request them to transfer our details over to Qantas and put us on the 1440 flight. And that was at about 1300 that day. Imagine the panic and frantic calls I had to make over the last 4 hours?

I hope to have a satisfactory explanations to your policies on such flight cancellation and your counter staff indifferent attitude. It is unacceptable to leave any passenger stranded without any advice or help when such help can be rendered internally by your side.

I am complaining about the extremely bad service

Hi my name is Elke Perombelon,
I purchase 4 flights to Perth back in Sept paid in full for my trip back home for Christmas. Since then I've had to cancel my tickets as my youngest daughter I was having a custody battle with her father regarding her leaving the state during the Christmas period.
I actioned my cancellation online and instead of getting a cash refund which is what I asked it gave me vouchers instead. I rang Qantas on the staff line bcos that's how I purchased my tickets and I was unable to get through as the line dropped out evey time. I rang the 131313 number on the 12th November and spoke to Maria whom took my details and proceeded my return. Maria advised me my return would be received in 10. I asked for a reference number to confirm or email to verify the refund was actioned but she told me that my booking number would suffice. 22nd November I rang again and spoke to a gentleman who assured me my refund has been and I should received it in 10 business days, meaning the beginning of December. Today 4th Dec I rang again bcos i have failed to receive me refund and after being on hold for 1 hour and 30 minutes i spoke with Tea who said that there seems to be info missing for my refund to be actioned. She asked me to supply reference number from the bpay payment and BSB and account name and number. I replied all information should be there if you were able to take the funds from my account. I also said why hasn't anyone else informed me of this in any of the previous phone calls. She rudely stated well I'm can't speak for them but this is what is required. I said ok give me a few moments, as i was trying to retrieve the information needed she hung up on me. This is by far the worst service I have ever experienced, i use to be a very loyal Qantas flyer but my experience thus far leaves me to think otherwise. I will be taking this to the NSW Australian Ombudsmen. This is the worst customer service and you need to make drastic changes if you treat all your customers this way.
I want my refund actioned and deposited back in to my account ASAP.

Regards
Elke Perombelon
[protected]

I am complaining about the extremely bad service

Qantas Airways
  • Updated by Elke P · Feb 10, 2020

    Please remove my feedback ASAP

full refund money

------- Original Message --------
Subject: Re: Request full refund ( Nov7, 2019 )
Date: Fri, 08 Nov 2019 00:49:30 +0000
From: FlightHub
To: [protected]@rrgallery.ca

Hi Richard,

Thank you for contacting us today. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. This is to inform you that we are still coordinating with our travel partner and we are still awaiting a response from them to process a refund. Please be informed that this is still subject to the approval. Kindly allow us another 48-72 hours to get their response. We already sent a follow-up email to them. Rest assured that once we receive, we will notify you immediately through email or by a phone call.

Thank you for bearing with us.

Regards,
Grace
On Thu, 7 Nov at 7:25 PM, Richard wrote:
Re;
Request a full refund for my tickets booked under the Flight Hub booking number [protected] and Quantas confirmation number VCHX27.

Attn; Supervisor Mrs AAJAM

Dear Madame

This is my final request for a full refund of my tickets, due to the schedule change of originaly booked flights. The proposed flights are not
accptable to me and my wife. According to the IATA regulations and QUANTAS airlines I am entitled to a full refund of the amount paid
for the ticket. I am exopecting the refund immediately. Should you fail to act on my request, I shall be informing the regulatory body to travel 
agents in Quebec ARF of your fraudulent activity.

Sincerely,
Ryszard Lajczak

cc; Quantas Airways

My request was place on Oct.24/2019.

missing baggage

QF 63 7th Nov 11.30am
John Duggan
Sydney to Cape Town
VU8L24
Missing baggage
2 boxed bikes worth 10k each have not arrived at Johannesburg or Cape Town.
Enquiries at Sydney. Johannesburg and Cape Town have been fruitless.
Added to this, staff assumed I was drunk when I suffer from anxiety and had not slept for 2 nights.
I was treated very badly

Please find them my bikes.

Thank you
John Duggan
+[protected]
+[protected]

[protected]@hotmail.com

reliable service

I have had 2 delayed flights in the past 2 weeks and todays flight was 7 hrs late and i missed my connecting flight a qantas charter and there is no compencation at all no accomidation that i was told in darwin there would be when i get to perth and had to sit at darwin airport for 7 hrs then had a waite of 9hrs at perth airport for my next flight this is a joke as is your service and the customer service people do not want to help or call back todays call took 10hrs for a call back on your 131313 number

unethical behaviour

To whom it may concern,

I am writing to ask for assistance with a legal surname change.
I recently changed my surname to my married name.

My passport was due for renewal, and since I had flights that were already booked in my maiden name, I contacted the Qantas SMS service for advice. They advised me that if I changed my name on my passport, I could then forward the documents and get my name changed on the tickets free of charge.
Because of this advice, I change my surname on my passport and forwarded the documents to Qantas.
Qantas have changed my Surname on my Qantas Frequent Flyer account, but are refusing to change my name on some of the flights.

There were 3 return International flights booked to Sapporo via Tokyo, to Santiago and to Ho Chi Minh City.
All flights were booked through the Qantas website, but there was at least one flight on each booking with other airlines.
Somehow Qantas managed to change my surname on the flights to Sapporo, but they will not change the name on the other flights because they are with Latam and Vietnam airlines. I have spoken to both of the airlines who tell me that since the ticket was booked through Qantas, they are unable to change the name, and that Qantas would be able to do it. Qantas SMS service and the online chat desk say that I need to cancel the flights and rebook them at significant cost to me.

If I had been told this, I would have kept my maiden name on my passport until after the booked flights had been completed.
I have lodged complaints with Qantas, but have been told to go back to the SMS and online chat service. I have now spent 3 days trying to change my surname but neither of these avenues are able to assist me.
Please find attached my Change of name certificate, my Marriage certificate, my new Passport and the flight details. The Sapporo flights have now been changed to my new surname, and I am very grateful for this.
I would like my surname to be corrected on my other flights as well please.

Many thanks and kind regards,
Lian Wines

unethical behaviour
unethical behaviour
unethical behaviour

Qantas Airways

drug affected flight crew

One of your flight attendant has been taking illicit drugs before he works on a consistent basis, I and my family will no longer fly with qantas, Brett Allan is a danger to your reputation and should be tested for drugs.
I do not wish to be identified I would like to feel safe in the air, Thankyou and I do hope you can help with that, the thought of a drug affected flight crew trying to organise an emergency exit is a very frightening though, I'm fairly sure you would feel the same,
regards, concerned customer

service and the amount of passengers on a domestic plane that was traveling internationally

Flew Qantas 046 737 from Indonesia (Bali to Australia)
The plane was and should of been for DOMESTIC ONLY.
It was like they were cramming cattle into the truck.
This is not a 3rd world country "for Gods Sake"
No room to move at ALL. The flight attendants couldn't even move with the amount of people who were standing in the isles because sitting was a bad option.Both my partner and I didn't have a wink of sleep. When I spoke to the flight attendants they agreed and then said to lodge a formal complaint.
Your seating area was smaller then the space you have in your car as a driver.

I say once again "THIS SHOULD OF BEEN A DOMESTIC PLANE NOT FOR INTERNATIONAL FLIGHT"

I want my money back for both me and my partner.
COMPLETELY DESTROYED MY HOLIDAY.
CORINA BARR

leaving me stranded, in advance, cancelling all me flights even if I turn up to the airport, i’m in disbelief

I have booked a flight from Jakarta to Sydney, it is a mistake as I will be in Bali and I need to make a simple change, QF44: to QF42. I have offered to pay for an additional flight, but I've been told if I do not get on the original flight, Qantas will cancel all my following flights. How can they do this, I have paid for these flights, so if I am at the airport on time I should be allowed to board my plane. I leave in 7 days, I have been trying for two weeks to resolve this. This is my honeymoon and Qantas are ruining it. I waited 50yrs for this.

frequent flyer points misappropriated

I booked a flight with jetstar and did not opt to use points as I did not have enough. that was on 06/08/2019. The end of September I tried to use manage my booking but it said I still owed 21.00 and to pay this now. upon enquiring what this was I was told qantas hadn't released the 3500 points and they would send qantas an email to fix this problem. I querried why the points as I had not wanted to use them. I got the usual non understandable response. On 03/10/2019 I again contacted as the 21.00 was still owing, I was given the opportunity to pay this amount with my credit card which I did. I then discover on the 10/10/2019 that 3500 frequent flyer points have been withdrawn from my account.
I have spent over 7 hours on hold and in conversation with both jetstar and qantas regarding this matter. I was told by Jetstar yesterday that I could not receive my points back and I had to have the 21.00 re-credited to my account. I explained that I no longer used that account and I wanted MY POINTS. I was told jetstar coud not do that. this morning I phoned qantas and after requesting to be put through to qantas premium ( I spoke with them yesterday) several times I was again transferred to jetstar without explanation. I waited another hour and was told that the money had been recredited to my visa. I again expressed my wish to talk to a supervisor and was told that I was not able to do this( 6 times I requested this). I was then put on hold and when after 3 minutes the woman came back on she kept saying are you there are you there I cant hear you I will have to hang up, which she did. I phoned qantas again and same thing. I was put through to jetstar without explanation. Jetstar then told me that the 21.00 has been credited to my visa. I said I was not using that card anyore and she said there was nothing she could do. I asked to speak to the superviser again and got told no they are busy with important calls and I have my money back so it has been resolved. well as I have been quite clear in that I wanted my points, I have stood my ground and have now been told that they can return the points. I want to know why they told me it had been returned to my account this morning and only after I mentioned I thought there was a SCAM happening I all of a sudden can have the points back. I have insisted on speaking with a manager and have been told again how busy they are and they can resolve the issue without the manager. I have again been placed on hold and every few minutes I get the woman telling me that the issue can be resolved and that the manager is very busy with another customer and they can call me back within an hour. I am refusing to accept this and telling her I will stay on the line, so far this call has been 1.51 hours. I have just been told she will put me through to the manager ED. My points will e refunded within 7 days, apparently. I think the call centre staff need to be better informed and all use the same answers, as I have encountered that many different answers it is not funny. I will think three times before using jetstar again.
Kind regards
Lorne Kelly 7522222

overbooked flight, refused boarding

I am stuck in a hotel, in a country I didn't plan on visiting, because of an arrangement I never agreed to, with no money and no way to make outside calls. Emirates "protocol".

1:30pm
On 11/10/2019 I made my way through Singapore airport to make my connecting flight to Melbourne. At the transfer desk a woman pulled me aside and informed me that my flight was overbooked. She said that there was "a 50/50 chance" I would get onto the plane and if I couldn't get a seat, my only other option was to catch the same flight 24 hours later. She said Emirates would compensate my hotel for the night if that was the case. She gave me a food voucher and told me to come back in an hour. I left to get food hoping there would be a seat for me.

2:30pm
I came back to the desk to see Another man standing with Her, she informed me there was no room on the plane while he handed me a hotel voucher. I was very disappointed I had spent way past my budget on a flight that would gareentee I would get home before the weekend, all I wanted todo was go home. I ask if there was any other compensation I could receive, mainly vouchers or cash as I hadn't planned on staying in Singapore at all and hadn't organised anything with my bank. They said it wasn't part of protocol to give money compensation. I asked if I could trade the night in the hotel for cash as I didn't mind staying in the airport and they said no.
At this point I was quite upset and confused, I didn't understand why I wasn't allowed to board a flight I had paid for. Then Jess informed me that I had the option to still get on the flight when we first spoke and that I had volunteered to give up my seat!! AT NO POINT HAD SHE SAID I HAD THE OPTION!! AT NO POINT DID SHE SAY I WAS A VOLUNTEER!! I would have got on the plane otherwise. I am distraught.

I paid AUD$900 for a one way ticket so I could get a flight home in time for the weekend, only to be TARGETTED and TRICKED into giving up my seat with no chance of compensation for my time or forcing me to miss out on my commitments back home.

overbooked flight, refused boarding

Qantas Airways

lost luggage!

My partner works away and recently on his way to work from cairns to Canberra they lost his luggage.its been...

ticket

qantas Im Francesco Mincarini [protected] I was trying to booking a flight since yesterday, starting from...