PeopleFinderstotal scam - was sold outdated information

1

I paid $19.95 for their "1 Day Search Pass" - only to discover that all 99% of their results are either outdated or freely available at other sites like zabasearch.com and addresses.com! And then they make it very difficult to get a refund - I still haven't received mine. Don't waste your money with this site - they sell you information that is available for free. Total scam!

Responses

  • Ri
    Rick Tufington Dec 12, 2007

    Nice fake complaint. note the mentions of zabasearch and addresses.com in the complaint. These companies will try anything.

    Take back this site!

    -3 Votes
  • Cu
    Customer Service Dec 12, 2007

    PeopleFinders.com strives to provide the highest level of customer service possible. We are always happy to answer any of your questions regarding your purchases or our services. If you believe that you have been deceived or "scammed" by our organization, we definitely want to hear about it and reconcile the situation. Further, if you believe that you have been a victim of fraudulent activity, the PeopleFinders.com Fraud Department is available to assist you.

    Please feel free to contact us at [email protected] or at 800-718-8997 if you have any questions or need further assistance.

    Thank You

    -PeopleFinders.com Support Team

    http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/twxaol-qstore-c712.html

    -3 Votes
  • Am
    ampmg Nov 12, 2008

    email sent to peoplefinders

    I have used your website several times in the past but the last time I used the website not only was all the info totally outdated, but I wound up having charges on both of my listed credit cards/bank cards from its affiliates that i did not authorize. I wrote to complain after the 1st time but got no response.. now i just had to call and cancel another one and the rep stated it was authorized from your website too.
    I find this very disconcerting and misleading. I will no longer be using your services and will be forwarding my complaint to the proper channels .

    -1 Votes
  • Sf
    S from OHIO Jul 01, 2009

    peoplefinders is a SCAM! They charged me $4.95 to do an "instant search" on a phone number (reverse lookup), and their site says your report will be available IMMEDIATELY, which it was NOT. It took TWO days and they came back with ONE NAME: "NATHAN" That's it!? What the hell does that tell me??? Before I paid, I knew the area the call came from, and that it was a cellular number...and that is ALL the information they gave me. Yet before I PAID them, their site said that the name, address, etc was ALL AVAILABLE...supposedly all I had to do was pay and I'd know instantly. WHAT A TOTAL SCAM!!! I have an order number...this is not fake. And so help me god if I get charged for anything else...heads are gonna roll.

    2 Votes
  • Ou
    OUstudent Jan 28, 2010

    PeopleFinders completely ripped me off. Their affiliates obsessively called me. When I finally answered they said they were calling on behalf of PeopleFinders and just needed to verify card information. I questioned the caller but she would not answer any of my questions as was rude about it. I ended up having huge charges on my credit cards for things like magazines and a savers club that I did not authorize and I told her I didn't want!

    2 Votes
  • Re
    RegularManJoe Apr 22, 2010

    I used Peoplefinders.com. I gave peoplefinders the first middle and last name of the subject of the search. People finders told me they had specific data on the individual I requested. The only information peoplefinders had was the first and last name of the indiviual. Anyone who uses peoplefinders.com. I requested my money back, but they refused. I was scammed by peoplefinders.com. Anyone who uses this company who has read this is a fool with their money.

    2 Votes
  • De
    Denny Mac May 03, 2010

    This is a sweet scam, much bigger than you guys are saying. I used them to find someone and then found that they gave my credit card number to Privacy Matters 123, who began charging my card $19.95/month. If you have used these folks in the past you need to check your credit card statements to see what fun they have wrought.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    lookingforinfo May 03, 2010

    I agree that this is a total rip-off. There is nothing published here that has satisfied my curiosity. Comprehensive Background? Not comprehensive. Just some information that could have been retrieved somewhere else which is just a name and address, which by the way is an information that I already know.

    Only now that I've read this site. But I'm posting a comment for the benefit of others.

    2 Votes
  • Pe
    People finder is fraud May 05, 2010

    Denny Mac has the story right. People finders is a huge money fraud scam that steals money from their customers...Just check your bank statements!!! They got me for $24.95 a month for 6 mos. They say they will refund the money. I give them that, but Fraud is fraud. Anyone who reads this and has had dealings with People Finders should immediately check their financial accounts, debit or credit cards etc!!!
    I was actually pleased with their service and would have used them again! Ironic.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnson42 Jun 10, 2010

    Yes. Fraudulent. Surprise to me when $19.95 began showing up on my monthly statement. They auto-signed me up for $19.95 per month and I didn't even know it until I looked closely at my statement. Very underhanded. Very difficult to negotiate a credit for the full amounts. They have sent my request to their billing department to see "if they can credit me the full amount". I have already called my credit card company and disputed this charge myself. Now it's removed for sure! Dicks.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sallyrider Jul 06, 2010

    Auto-renewal membership scam with tons of 3rd party solicitation. Most of the money this company makes is through deceptive marketing practices of their memebrship. Several "free money" offers take up the entire page and make it impossible to find the "No thanks" button that's hidden on the page.

    DO NOT USE!!!

    1 Votes
  • Nu
    NurseRN Jul 27, 2010

    I very cautiously read all the information before I gave my credit card number, because I really don't like buying things off of the internet. Paid my two dollars for the ONE number I looked up. Couple of days later, $24.95 charge. I have e-mailed them to refund. I am really hoping they do the right thing.

    2 Votes
  • Bu
    bushpilot Aug 05, 2010

    I order their .95 one time search latter I found out they charge my credit card foir 24.95 stating that signed up for a 3 in 1 membership, which I did not do. They sent an email that went straight to my spam box confirming the suscription. I have spoken to them and demanded the return of my money. They are refusing. I think it is time for a class action suit.

    Anyone in the same boat please contact me a [email protected] y...hoo.com

    2 Votes
  • 11
    1106brian Aug 27, 2010

    Crappy company with very deceiving billing practices. I am usually very careful with any company that will slam you with offers before you make the purchase but somehow these swindlers got me too! Unfortunately I can't go back and see on their website where I made a mistake and they definitely do not plan on refunding me my 24.95. I will sue them if any of their third parties or they try and take any more of my money. DIRTY ROTTEN SCOUNDRELS!

    2 Votes
  • Ik
    ike06 Aug 30, 2010

    Yep! They got me too with this new snare. I went there trying to get the .95 one time search thing, they billed me the .95 twice because supposedly I requested to have the report e-mailed to me, which anyone would think it's included with the damn report that was worthless anyway, and a few days later they charge my card 24.95 for some trial that I did not agree to. They are refusing to return my money and I am definitely disputing this charge through my card but I agree with bushpilot, they need to get sued for this scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSgt Harris Sep 13, 2010

    I serve the United States Marine corps and I am very disappointed with Pe0ple Finders.com because of my line of duty I am constantly on the go, and lose contact with alot of friends. To my dismay unfortunately not until today, I checked on my bank statements and found that even though I cancelled my account two months ago, People Finders.com are still taking money out of my account twice a month the second and the eighth for . I called my bank to have my checking account closed and now I am in the process of hopfully receiving my money back. In the process I had to go on google to get their contact information and click on this site and found out to let that I have been scammed. To prevent this from happening to my follow Marines I sent a email sharing my exeperience along with this website to alert others of the unfair business practice that this service is providing.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheryl l.m Sep 13, 2010

    i also was riped off from them recently there info is completely outdated aparently my parents 7 children dont exist and you could find out more info from friends and family than u can them and its free

    0 Votes
  • Ss
    SSgt Harris Sep 13, 2010

    I do apologize for typing the prior message under such anger leaving out information and incomplete sentences. The amont of money People finders were charging me after cancellation was 48.20 on the 2nd of the month and 49.77 on the 9th of the same month. Unfortunately I found out too late that People finders.com was a scam and I am currently notifying my command to protect the innocence of others.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Aleja Nov 03, 2010

    ok...i am glad i read this before using them...thank you all...but how can I find information about people now..??

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Polkan Feb 21, 2011

    Rip off!!! Do not use this company unless you want to be billed $24.95 monthly. Even though you only agree to paying 95 cents online, there is small print about receiving a free 3/1 member ship and as soon as you hit the continue button you will be charged.Rip off!!! Do not use this company unless you want to be billed $24.95 monthly. Even though you only agree to paying 95 cents online, there is small print about receiving a free 3/1 member ship and as soon as you hit the continue button you will be charged.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pat got scammed Feb 23, 2011

    Hmm, I see a trend here. :) I to fell for their trick, had no idea that after I signed up for their service, that I would be charged and additional $4.95 per reverse phone number. I called the same day I signed up and asked for a refund, but was told that they don't give refunds. I explained to the lady that I had not used their service yet, and because they did not say there would be additional fees until after they had my money, that I want my money back. I was told that they would give me three free look ups, to which I replied that I was not interested in the free looks ups, that I wanted my money back. I explained to her that no where on their site does it say there would be additional fees, to which she responded "well, it doesn't say there wouldn't be any additional fees does it?" LOL, there's some logic for ya! Needless to say, I am pleased that they have a link on their site to the BBB, becaused I used it to file a complaint, probably not going to get my money back, but I want it on file.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pat got scammed Feb 23, 2011

    Day late and a dollar short (or $14.95), just checked the BBB and there has been 254 complaints against this company, actually 255, I'm sure mine hasn't registered yet.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tiger828 Mar 10, 2011

    TOTAL SCAM!!! DO NOT USE THIS SITE. I ran a search on MY OWN NUMBER to see what information was being shown about me for privacy concerns. The good news is the report did not have ANY information about me on it but the bad news is that I when I called their so-called "customer service" to report the erroneous information, I was referred to their terms of use legal mumbo jumbo and refused a refund because the "public records" returned the information not Peoplefinder. People finder and their customer service SUCKS!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hazmat Apr 01, 2011

    This may sound like a broken record but Peoplefinders said that automatic monthly renewals are disclosed in the on line subscription pages. If that's so they hid it well because I always look for that stuff. When I called to get a refund they told me not to "talk to them like that". No profanity, no insults, just a stern statement to either cancel the charge or deal with my credit card cocmpany. It's okay for them to scam you, but please don't be angry with them. RIGHT!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jose Blow Apr 08, 2011

    People finders is a complete sham.
    I just did a search on myself and found that they listed people as my relatives that no one in our family have ever heard of. Bill collectors are using this site to harrass people. I 5 to 6 calls a night from collectors looking for several of the people listed as my relatives. I have not clue who these people are and now as soon as the caller asked for one of them I hang up the phone. I have tried to explain to the collectors I don't know these people, doesn't work. I wish I could sue People finders so maybe they would at least try to put correct into on their site.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marsha l cook Jun 30, 2011

    you people have just scammed me big time. i do not appreciate it and will be canceling all charges made to my acount with my bank. you guys are fruds and should not be on cumputer access if you are not going to follow through with your records

    0 Votes
  • De
    Defiant Diva Jul 14, 2011

    This company is quick to access your bank account even if you have asked that the account be cancelled within the time frame they offer. There seens to be very little recourse once this takes place. Their customer service reps are no help; they have a lot of "wiggle" room when it comes to you requesting your money back. DONOT USE THEIR SERVICES UNLESS YOU HAVE MONEY TO GIVE AWAY

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Cliff1962 Jul 18, 2011

    People Finders is a scam. I paid .95 for a email. and then they started to charge me $24.95 a month for a service I never signed up for. I canceled the service but they refuse to credit me. STAY AWAY from People Finder.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wayne Lake Aug 01, 2011

    I used White pages for a phone number and was routed to People Finders for charges. I approved a charge of $0.95 to my credit card and declined the so-called membership of $24.95 but was charged a couple of days later for same and was appraised of this by my credit card company. When I called the Peoples Number 800 number on file and spoke with an attendant, I was told that since I did not cancel within the allowed 3 day trial period, I could not cancel. I told them I tried to cancel as soon as I found about the unauthorized charge but could not as it was the weekend. Then I told them I would not approve the charge and they offered to cancel the automatic renewal charge which is also bogus so they offered a 50% reduction which I also refused to pay. I am awaiting a call from a supervisor but not holding my breath. PEOPLE FINDERS ARE EITHER CORRUPT, MIS-LEADING OR FRAUDULENT BUT SHOULD BE REPORTED AND AVOIDED IF POSSIBLE. Wayne T. Lake 832 978 1176

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Racheal Young Sep 28, 2011

    The owner of peoplefinders. com is Mr. Robert Miller. The President of the Company is Mr. Bryce Lane. Their address is: 1821 Q St, Sacramento, CA 95811-6718. Their phone number is (800) 718-8997 or (800) 718-8997. This business is beyond shady. To be removed from their site, they require that you send them MORE information than is already there...Then they turn around and put that that information into their database. If you then want this information "permanently" removed from the web, you have to use their site, optout.com and pay to have them remove it! Call them and demand to speak to Mr. Miller or Mr. Lane!

    0 Votes
  • To
    TopRok May 23, 2012

    Mr. Rob Miller's email is [email protected] I am VERY upset with a customer service manager named Jennifer - email: [email protected] To this end, one might assume Mr Lane's email might be [email protected] I filed my BBB complaint today...

    0 Votes
  • Js
    Jsantia19 May 27, 2015

    Website provides inaccurate and inadequate information as well as charge credit cards unknowingly. Customer service is rude and not helpful at all starting from email to Supervisor Sarah at direct number 916-733-6121. SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    GM Jul 27, 2016

    I used People Finders.com for one phone number and was charged .95. OK-fine. But, then a few days later they took it upon themselves to deduct $24.95 from my bank account for an auto renewal membership fee! I had no idea this was going to happen! I called the company and was not given any customer satisfaction what so ever. When I called and spoke with a service rep and asked for my account number/name, I don't have one! So how can I have a membership without an account? I have filed a formal complaint with the BBB and also posted a public warning on my FB account. I have warned everyone to BEWARE these bait and switch scams, and/or make sure you understand (hopefully) what services you're going to be charged for when giving your credit card number. And/or cancel anything and everything immediately after placing any on-line order!

    0 Votes

Post your comment