The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Paul Mitchell Schoolrip off

J Review updated:

If you are considering a career in Cosmetology, please do your research! I was taken in by a very convincing speech about why I should go the STL Academy (it has since changed it's name to Paul Mitchell The School-St. Louis, but has all of the same incompetent staff still employed.) I regret it more than anything in the world.

When I was first looking into schools in early 2007, I was immediately drawn into the glitz and glamour of going to a Paul Mitchell School. I love PM products, and thought if the school is half as good as the products, it's gonna be the best experience of my life. I was so wrong.

I was told on my tour that my $15, 000 tuition would cover EVERYTHING I would need for the entire 1 year duration of the program. While it did include a mediocre kit and lackluster training dvds and books, I was still forced to buy additional training supplies on a weekly basis...extra doll heads, scissor sharpening and razors, make-up for required make-up courses that would have to be used on several other students during classtime, combs, clips, papers, pens, dye...and a monster car park fee because there was absolutely NO free on-street parking. I had to pay on average an extra $20-50 a week on extra training materials, transportation, and clothes that would get easily worn working 35 hrs a week being splashed with dye, etc.

My kit was pathetic, cheap, and virtually useless. The scissors are not good enough quality to be used in your career after school. The combs and brushes are flimsy and most are not heat resistant. The clippers' batteries only last for about ten minutes before needing a charge. On time after all of the students left for the day, the kits were raided by administrators to retrieve our capes. We were no allowed to take our kits home with us, yet admin could just raid out kits whenever they wanted? These kits, btw, cost $3, 000! If we were allowed to assemble our own kits, we could have had better materials for half as much. It was just another way to gauge students for every penny they could.

The staff is dreadfully incompetent! I cannot believe how many stories I heard of our teachers being irresponsible! In the 6 short months I went to this school, guess how many staff members had either quit or been fired: 6! Six out of the less than dozen people that are employed by the school at a given time, were fired or quit in six months. Why is turnover so high here, yet some teachers are allowed to stay and continually slack off and get "chummy" with students?

Besides the teachers, be prepared to deal with a TON of student drama! The people that go here are straight up CATTY. Police have been called, fights have been started, numerous things had been stolen. One girl had her camera stolen by a girl in her own class. Even the nicest person is not immune to the name-calling and cliquey-ness. Prepare to enter high school, part 2. This school constantly promotes a book called BE NICE OR ELSE, a book that encourages students to supress negativity in their lives, not watch violent movies, and basically be fake to everybody they meet in order to get what they want, yet it's one of the meanest environments I've ever been in.

Speaking of high school, be prepared to spend a lot of time making posters with magic markers and magazine cut-outs. And they waste a lot of valuable learning time doing things like pancake breakfasts, "free hugs, " and charity. I know a ton of students that can't get jobs because they just aren't taught anything! Favorite students get passed without a second thought, and the others are either forced out or made to work twice as hard for their grades.

I could go on, but if this isn't enough to change your mind, I don't know what will!

P.S. This school IS NOT ACCREDITED! That means no government loans or grants. The only fin. aid available to students is a loan from Sallie Mae at a very high interest rate. This is a $15, 000 program that is not accredited, when you could get thousands of dollars from the US government in grants and low-interest loans if you simply choose an accredited school!

Responses

  • Ks
    Ksims0206 Jan 21, 2017

    Your kit is cheap but, you pay 2, 000 for it the boxes you have to get signed off are not cosmetology related and we have numerous things we have to do already to get our license they have like 70 things you have to get checked off every month and half of them are bs like master cd of the month why in the hell do we need to know about famous people that went to Paul Mitchell they make sure their education is great acting like brain washed nice ppl to disguise their bull #### they are an occult and as soon as a good school like Regency Opens up gets popular it gets shut down and they blamed for profit schools not just them not having enough money but, I think they were too much competition for Paul Mitchell and failed because they weren't established Paul Mitchell is all about money they only reason you learn more from this school is because you get thrown out on the floor and your basically already working paul Mitchell has been around for so long they know the best way for students to learn & how to recruit people because they want your MONEY and their name to get BIGGER and BIGGER not because they are a good school and care about future professional they will let anyone go to their school ANYONE...people steal sooo much & they do not tell you when you have EXCESS FUNDS they say they are teaches us how to be professional but, they are teaching u how to kiss ### they pick really great people in their admissions and financial aid and when you get in e school you meet extremely fake people I believe their are alternative school they say Paul Mitchell is the best school but, it's not they just got a HEADSTART. 11 ppl out of 23 in my class dropped!

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kimberly ison Jul 11, 2016

    Is there anyway to receive a loan forgiveness from this school? My daughter had a horrible experience as well and now I am stuck with a debt that exceeds any of the tuitions mentioned. Any help or suggestions are most appreciated!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer0704 May 01, 2016

    Charging students 40% of what they could have received in financial aid if they drop is illegal. Got news for Paul Mitchell, Corinthian College did the same thing and the Feds shut them down. My best friends daughter enrolled at Paul Mitchell and wanted to drop out. The financial aid office told her she owes 6000.00. My best friend called to ask my advice because I have worked in the financial aid/student loan industry for over 10 years. I have done everything from packaging financial aid to working on defaulted student loans. I could not believe what I read in Paul Mitchell's enrollment agreement. I filed a complaint with the DOE, our local Attorney General and the Consumer Protection Bureau. I recommend everyone to do the same. SHAME ON YOU PAUL MITCHELL. More of my tax dollars going down the drain on the crooked despicable wealthy trying to make more money off federal funds. Also blasted on Twiiter. I'm sure all my Bernie followers will love this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer0704 May 01, 2016

    Contact the CFPB, they're an agency that can help

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tasha Dewey Jan 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I go to Paul Mitchell the school - Columbia Missouri. I like it. We do not have to pay for any materials ever. Its sad that you guys are dealing with such crappy schools. But clearly not all Paul Mitchell are the same.

    0 Votes
  • De
    demandy Jul 02, 2015

    Totally disagree with the complaints. It really does depend on what you put into it yourself.
    I would be willing to bet there are trends with complaints and negativity in other areas of your life, not just hair school.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    Dominique McDaniel Jun 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I only read two comments and I started smh. First you have to assume response ability for your self. I have attended cosmetology schools and you sign a contract. If you sign with out reading the contract that is on you. And the highschool comment all I have to say is birds of a feather flock together. Once your loan has went to collection you have no attachments to the school. And no matter what agreement you made you singed a contract. That is what will stand in court. In my experience many go to school long enough to get the cash loan then drop. Others come because it is a short course. Others because they have the passion to do hair. Those are the ones that give good reviews. That being said bottom line is read your contract before you sign it. If you don't understand all of it it is your legal right to have it explained to you. I set through 600 hours in the esthetician program here about others weekends baby daddy problems people coming in late disrupting class peoples phones ringing etc. I graduated on my expected date three hours early and passed my stateboards the first go around. School is what you take from it. Not what other students are doing in their life.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Mallory Y Dec 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Paul Mitchell School in Davenport IA. Discriminatory practices against minority students (there were only 3 in my class and I was one of them). Volunteer for special assignments but NEVER selected; their reasoning ran the gamut of 'well so and so has been here longer than you, or I didn't realize you wanted to do this assignment...' PROBLEM: Only selected white females/males. Each minority student who has attended this school has been gouged and told that they owe more tuition money (even though Pell Grants and Student Loans supposedly covered the tuition. They withhold our cosmetology license (after you have passed the state boards) until you pay the money you supposedly owe them. My particular amount is over $1600!!! I cannot get a job because I have no license. I am not the only one as I have stated earlier EVERY SINGLE minority student was treated in this fashion. We students brought the money into this facility by bringing in customers who pay or the services. The money went to the school and we were always required to sell product and had to meet quotas. We were their cash cows and were treated like dirt after all of the hard work and blood, sweat and tears we went through to get our skills and pass the state cosmetology board exam. My suggestion is that EVERY MINORITY STUDENT who was treated in this manner and had to pay additional money to finally receive their license band together and contact the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) to il a law suit against this organization.

    -1 Votes
  • Dm
    dmdtheproducer Nov 21, 2014

    WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THEY HOLD YOUR MONEY and say its just not in yet, but you know damn well they don't like you because you don't like to jump rope you want to work and learn.

    -1 Votes
  • An
    AnonoMIss Oct 24, 2014

    we all need to get together and file a class act law suit because I went home in tears more often than feeling happy about being at S.I.C.E. Paul Mitchell Partner School in modesto, Ca I swear the learning leaders are barely grads. themselves and go on power trips. i had one take me in the storage closet and lock me in by her standing infront of the door yelling at me mean while i had a client in my chair. I didnt agree with her so she lied to management going back on her word what she told me, all about my client being 15 mins late and not letting me start a service. we always gave clients 15 mins before canceling them. regardless she had no right to do that to me and then takes me in the office for poor attitude cause my word against hers in the closet and i get written up. oh you know what write up i love the best...not really, but... is my client after being there 5 hours wanted to smoke a cigarette who am i to tell a grown 40 some old woman no. but i asked learning leader she said yeah thats fine shes processing and the school is close, so when i walk her back in frpm smoking i get called in the office and get a write up cause i shouldve known better. the temperature outside couldve messed with her foils... are you kidding me i asked permission, she says well i didnt want to start anything with you and your client sitting right there. wow you couldve just said no instead a fake yes. oh i hated that school. and wow i can really say we had probably the highest roll over rate for learning leaders i think i went through 7-9 theory teachers. Im honestly not gonna stop till they are found guilty.

    1 Votes
  • Au
    autumnt Sep 26, 2014

    I go to paul mitchell in Huntsville alabama and its great ive learned a lot so far our kits come with 4 doll heads and you can buy more for 25 dollers a piece which isnt bad. My teacher is great and makes sure we understand everything. Our owner is great. He did a cookout ffor all of us this week free of charge. Yall just need to do your research on a school before attending. Just done jump into it on what someone says. Do research duh

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry student 27 Sep 11, 2014

    I agree with everyone who has posted. I attended PMTS Escanaba in michigan. It's funny how all the schools are the same. It took me 13 months to graduate. It was hard to get through that year of torture as I see it!!! Teachers have there faves and if your not one of them count on your time being there a living hell!! I felt like I was not prepared for anything when I graduated I felt like I learned nothing except to dance!! They treat you like your a child there it's all about kid stuff. Your not even aloud to get a drink of water unless your on break they hide cups from you even if your dehydrated. Once your done with school also thy could care less about you as a person they got there money that's all they care about!!! Went back a few times for services and as a guest you aren't even loud water to drink so pathetic!!! I had to spend so much extra money when I was told everything was included in tuition. They teach so many cuts and don't supply enough heads so u need to buy buy buy it's absolute ### when heads are 50 dollars. I could go on and on forever. I would never recommend this school to anyone.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    mariahurley Mar 23, 2014

    You all font know how lucky you have it I attended cosmcosmetcosmetology school at ftcc which is a community college and it was super ghetto and strestressful I hated it. We had to wear ugly baggy blacblack scrubs and ugly shoes we constantly ran out of supplies it was very unorganized I quit ggoing there and I'm about to attend paul mitchell. No school is perfect but u get what u pay for. Community CollegeS are c ch chr cheaper because they're not as good.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    babygirl0513 Feb 28, 2014

    Ok... let me start by saying Im sorry to all who have had a bad experience. I on the other hand love this school. Its been a blessing. I attend the pm school of Memphis. Ive learned a lot and we are more focused on hair. If you take care of your kit it will last. I've had no problems. yes you have to purchase stuff but come on any other college you will have to invest in to as well. ive invested in to things but I also know I will be using them in my Career as well. Yes Its hard work but for one who gets anywhere with laziness and two for gosh sakes I have 4 young kids and still manage. We have a great staff great director and a great owner. One of our instructors is actually well known and educates us on everything he knows. I highly recommend this school! Oh and I have never had a problem with financial aid

    2 Votes
  • Wh
    whitneyymariah Sep 27, 2013

    i attend Paul Mitchell school in Modesto, CA and i absolutely love it. It's such a great school. My kit is far from flimsy nor does it even look cheap lol but sorry you had a bad experience.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adi Luv 83 Sep 05, 2013

    I currently attend the Paul Mitchell School in Ogden, UT and I just have to say that in the 8 months I have been in the program I haven't really learned a damn thing! I used to walk by the school on my way to work and was mesmorized by the glitz and glamour. I walked in one day and decided to enroll bc I was assured that they'd provide me with the best education .. I can barely do a square one length. Not being from here I don't know anyone so I don't get services ever so I am behind 7 worksheets at this time. And they want us to work on our mannequins yet we only get 2 and we completely chop all the hair off of one of them within the first 2 months of starting school in our COR training. The make up kit is a joke and to think I paid extra for the "deluxe" kit ### I thought I was gona get everything we have in our makeup station! I had to spend more $ on mannequins, I had to pay for my nail kit, we practice color wih conditioner as if that is gona teach us anything! I have been so upset/depressed since I started school that I would not go to school for weeks at a time. The LL's at our night school are a joke most of them have had no salon experience at all! Everything being said negatively about the school and their programs is absolutely true. My school currently will not allow you to transfer out to a different school the excuse is that even though it's Paul Mitchell to Paul Mitchell school that the owners are different so since I'm moving out of the state I have to drop the program and pay back my loan $20k so I can get my hours transfered and take out another loan making me go into debt $40k! I am soo ready to rip the owner of the school a new one write to John Paul Dejorio Angus Mitchell and the main stream media to tell them how ### and fake the school is and expose how they totally rip off students. I would never recommend this school to anybody!

    -1 Votes
  • Js
    Jsmith12 May 26, 2013

    I went to Paul Mitchell the School in Las Vegas, NV and it was such a waste of time and money. I only passed my board cause I had my friend teach me the state board haircut. This school is a JOKE. I spent most of my time there making posters and playing games!!! Who misses Pow Wow!!! Um why did we have to devote 3 hours to listening to student council give f.a.c.e awards and love notes. 18 thousand plus one thousand in over time (thanks to them for screwing up my hours so bad!!!) I would have proof I was in school that day and their system would mess up. Then they would not change it cause they would get audited. How is that my problem?!? The director slept with students and was and ###. He was hung over and texted on his phone in the office all day! I did make up on paper, never learned nails, and barely got clients. I don't know how to cut a basic cut and can't do up-dos or waxing. What a major rip-off. I have been out of school a year and can't find a job. The learning leaders played favorites and would be rude and make you feel stupid when you asked questions. Sorry for trying to actually learn. Furthermore, I donated so much money for their charity events. Your stuff gets stolen but they just don't care. Dance party Friday made the clients uncomfortable!! Theory is pointless too. I got written up for not calling when I was 5 minutes late. I waited seven years to go to beauty school and I regret going to Paul Mitchell with every fiber of my soul!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Dj
    djlove1 Mar 24, 2013

    I just wanna know why are they charging us room and board and transportation?

    0 Votes
  • Xf
    XFaithmaex Feb 03, 2013

    I loved Paul Mitchell Cincinnati. I had great experiences there and got a lot of opportunities to do things while I was there. The kit that I got was fantastic obviously the people that wrote this and are agreeing with the person that wrote this is just a complainer or cosmetology wasn't for them. I loved all my learning leaders, the other staff and the kit that I received was fantastic I graduated and got my license last year and I still use the kit that I got it has all the supplies that I needed to be successful. Honestly I miss school there and I would go back if I could! It was a great experience!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    msdazzy Jan 08, 2013

    I agree with everyone! Paul Mitchell Dallas learning leaders taught me nothing! Very disappointed in them I dropped over a month ago and Aid calls me 2 weeks later asking me why I haven't been attending class!! Are you kidding me now I'm getting charged an extra grand because the stupid girl who works in that department has no commonsense whatsoever! I will be calling the agency on them very soon may take this to court and have them bring in a model and show them a mens haircut I never learned out of the 600 hrs I attended.

    -2 Votes
  • Si
    Singingbaby1987 Dec 24, 2012

    I completely disagree with the above accusations. I realize that every school is different and if your schools were really that bad, I truly feel bad for you. I attend Paul Mitchell the school in Murfreesboro, Tn. It is amazing! I've learned so much. My tuition is $17, 500 and I've received financial aid for ALL of it. (Therefore the school is accredited) My kit was awesome! I received some of the best tools out there. The learning leaders and staff are always very nice and helpful. They are not allowed to "chum" around with the students and they don't. We are allowed to take our kits home and we do not have to purchase anything extra. Our school provides us with EVERYTHING we need. Everyone in the school follows the be nice or else policy. I've never been happier or received more job offers. I wish that each and everyone of you could have experienced the Murfreesboro school. I hate that they are not all as great as this one.

    1 Votes
  • Pm
    pmscoloradosprings Dec 07, 2012

    I attend Paul Mitchell the school Colorado springs and i love every single second of it. I am being taught by the best most motivational people i have ever met. Everyone is different and everyone learns differently so yeah Pm is not for everyone but you shouldn't deem it the worst place ever. I know worst beauty schools that teach you ways to burn hair, improper cutting techniques and slack on teaching proper sanitation.Pm is the best education i have ever invested in!!!

    2 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned Parent in Norman OK Nov 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter completed her hours early at Imagine Paul Mitchell in Norman OK - the end of July. Her official graduation ceremony was November 15, 2012. I fell for all the glitz & glam myself when first visiting this school with my daughter. She could 've went completely tuition free at the local area vo-tech but instead we figured if you're going to be apart of the Cosmetology industry then having an education backing you with the Paul Mitchell name would make a way for her to stand out from the rest & be the best. What has happened, is almost EVERYONE, of the graduates in my daughter's class have completed this school with no real Cosmetology skills for the real world. She lacks confidence in her skills because she was taught the "PAUL MITCHELL WAY" not the state board way until right before taking her state board exam. She passed the practical but failed the written. She has no real haircutting skills since cutting was not something focused on that much - not to mention the extreme turn around in Instructors & Learning Leaders. It sickens me that we both fell for the whole smoke & mirrors ### - that Imagine Paul Mitchell of Norman OK served to us on a silver platter. The majority of Paul Mitchell's products are good - the hair color is an ABSOLUTE JOKE & the nice expensive kit of hair tools you buy don't even last the entire time of schooling (1 blow dryer completely went out along with 2 flat irons). Really !!! A blow dryer & 2 flat irons - never could get them replaced or fixed. We pretty much got a too bad so sad for you attitude. If the tools made in each kit were made properly -(they would last longer than the school year) & this has not been the case. THIS SCHOOL IS NOT TEACHING STUDENTS HOW TO WORK & EVOLVE IN THEIR FIELD IN THE REAL WORLD OF HAIR. CEO John Paul DeJoria and Co-owner Angus should be "ASHAMED"! My Daughter participated in all extra curicular activities that she could through the school - she was on the fundraising team, mentoring team, worked at the Special Olympics games in OKC doing hair, nails, make-up (all happily & voluntarily). The only thing she got out of Imagine Paul Mitchell was "USED". She sold products-enough to go to the Las Vegas Hair Show & helped raise money for various charities while going to school there - in the end Paul Mitchell did nothing for her education. My advise as a parent that comes from a long line of Hair Stylists in my family - don't be fooled like we were - stick with your local vo-tech & get the fundamentals for Cosmetology & then let your creative side speak for itself. The school seems to be more focused on the fundraising they can do for different charities (to make Paul Mitchell look good) than teaching Cosmetology skills. I personally think the fulltime fall class in Norman OK that started in August 2010 should either be refunded their full tuition or be able to go through additional workshop/classes free of charge. I would love any response at all from upper management - even John Paul or Angus themselves. To me it looks like students are suffering and continue to go broke paying for an education they never received. You should be so proud. If it were me ...I'd take a long look at my schools and start cleaning house. Students being treated this way & left with nothing - is not the way descent people do things.

    Thoroughly disappointed & discussed,
    Brooke Andrews - (concerned parent)

    0 Votes
  • Di
    dislikepmsc Nov 19, 2012

    I tottaly agree! Financial aid ripped me off I am a single mom no job no money. And they tell me that I have to pay 12 grand when I should get way more pelgrants also they would never give me my living expenses and didn't care I was told my director that my son didn't matter also I think its stupid that you have to pay if you miss over 150 hours the learning leaders act like children and you can't learn anything from them.they lie to you on your tour and make everything look so good but it's all a show. Everyone there IA sake and annoying. The front desk people loose your papers and ignore anything you say. And phase 2 is a cult they just want money that's it. And they lie about your missed hours.

    -3 Votes
  • Ba
    Baby Talk Sep 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have 21 years experience of cosmetologist. I would love to open up a school to make it better for the students. Organization is the key. Paul Mitchell send their students right to instructor training to pay them 75% less then what I made as a hairstylist. I went to apply to be an instructor for Paul Mitchell but when they told me how much their instructors get paid without health insurance, I almost threw up. If my experience is not good enough and treated as valuable, it is not worth my time. No one in their right mind with my experience and 1/2 of the stuff that goes on in the salon are not mention in the books. Therefore, I would have been valuable to their school but I guess money dictates the people they hire.

    -2 Votes
  • Ky
    kybba Jun 14, 2012

    im going to have to disagee ! The paul mitchell school in connecticut is very professional and we did not have to pay for extra stuff. They went over the tuition and everything on the tour. We recieved every kit we were told we were getting ! and our school has financial aid. sorry but it is probably just the staff and other students there that dont know what they are doing. sorry to hear about all of your problems. but the Paul Mitchell school in connecticut is great !

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chelly815 Apr 28, 2012

    I attend Paul Mitchell the School Houston, and my experience has been amazing so far. I've been going for two months, and Yes the kits are a little cheap (my actual kit broke, so now I have a rolling suitcase to carry my things in) but other than that, its wonderful. I love be nice or else, and I love the culture. They really do want you to be successful, maybe other schools aren't as good as mine, but they are so supportive. We have amazing learning leaders who actually teach us what we need to know. If you're a slacker, you won't enjoy this school. My school is clean and organized, and (almost) everyone is friendly. Of course there's going to be drama, you're going to school with a bunch if girls! And I hope none of you are thinking there won't be issues when you get Into a salon, because you're in for a rude awakening. There is always going to be fights and drama and issues that arise. Just because you're in a professional work place doesn't mean people won't start fights. Get a clue.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Silently Watching Mar 08, 2012

    I suppose if you're the favourite of these people, you would say this. If you're not kissing a$$ constantly though, you don't get clients. The majority of the attendees of this school act like they are still in high school. And some are even as bad as middle school. Educators & administrators included. Sure, there might actually be a few good Paul Mitchell Schools out there, but there are pages & pages & pages of complaints from all over the country for a reason. People don't warn others just for fun. I went in with such a positive attitude, excited to go to school for the first time in a few years. I hardly enjoyed my high school or the experience there. I was excited to finally be out & do something I love to do. It started out okay. It then just went downhill. Educators change regularly. They just "wing it" most of the time with class. There is no structure. Plenty of them leave the room & disappear regularly. Might I add, the core teacher was only in the room 15% of the time. The other 85%, who knew. Students get "oopsed" for sitting in the only semi-quiet place there is to try & study. I've done more hair on my own in a month than I did in the 8 months I attended this "school." It's drama-filled. I understand with a school full of mostly girls that can happen. But when the educators & administrators play a huge part in the drama, & cause so much of it, I find that to be unacceptable. I know that the experience is supposed to be "what you make of it, " but I've spent my entire time there trying to make something good out of it, but when there is all the drama, the lack of education, & all the just plain bullsh!t, this is not a good school. In the Be Nice Or Else book, there is a section where it talks about how you should be nice, but don't fake being nice, because it's just as bad if not worse as not being nice at all. This is most of what I see; fake attitudes, false people, hurtful intentions. The theory behind the Paul Mitchell Schools is wonderful, but unfortunately that is far from what goes on.

    -2 Votes
  • Omg I completely agree with everyone who says pm schools are a cult I glad to find I'm not the only one who feels this way. And to the people saying that everyone who dislikes theses schools is a slacker is false. I have works two full time jobs and studied part time for a year before and never had a complaint working in my life however I do have a problem with kissing a$$ and being a phony two faced fake that talks in a creepy low calm voice saying crazy things like " I just want to face so and so for doing highlights. I just wanna say I love you and I love all of my learning leaders. You all just inspire me so much and have changed my life." at this piont the phony learning leaders reply with the fakest voice ever in return to what this fake a$$ kissing student has just said and they say something like " Awwww thank you so and so it just such I pleasure teaching all of you you have all changed my life and i love all of you" at this piont both phony learning leader and future professional hug each other. Ohhhh please give me break. To any future professional who says they loveThat's it and now I'm upset more because the car paint got on my sweater :( I'm telling you this weekend has been nothing but spilling paint everywhere lol this school. Your experience being easier has nothing to do with hard work. It had to do with fake I love yous and free hugs. Since when did a hug ever cost money. And since when did people start throwing out the words I love you so freely. The answer is it is all fake. And the people who follow it are fake. Honestly it doesn't even take much of accomplishment to work as a future professional at these schools. As long as you where a phony student while you were there and you work at the 5 dollar haircut place around the corner for 6 months you can come back and teach how unbelievable is that. There is actually a student who was graduating around the time I started and now shes a learning leader That's like the blind leading the blind The saying those that cannot do teach completely rings true at these schools I could go on and on forever but just a few things that has happened to me is girls starting fights multiple times for no good reason my car getting keyed and learning leaders being very smug with you and treating you like your 5 when they are the same age as you. Expecially of you are even remotely attractive you are screwed right away. The first day I walked in with smiles and excitement I got nothing but glares from many of the learning leaders and I was automatically disliked from day one. That's what happens when you key some one with absolutely no real requirements other thatn being fake hold the job as authority. They abuse the power and favorite they friends and hate and make the lives miserable of the people they dislike or feel threatened by. It's basically equivalent to taking the most immature girls in a high school and saying hey now your a teacher and leaving them I charge of the rest of the class. Expect there to be catty ess and never expect for there to ever be an ounce of professionalism at a Paul mitchel school

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    MMMMMkaaaay Feb 26, 2012

    I am two years into hairdressing and work with like freshman that came out of PM Schools. All of them are pompous a$$-you-know-whats and can't do hair any better than someone out of an affordable government funded school. Puleeeese take my advice: Don't spend the $$ now. Get your affordable, basic cosmo education JUST to get your license and THEN, after you've had a few haircuts under your belt, if you have the dough, spend money with advanced education at a Vidal Sassoon or Toni & Guy studio. It was advice given to me after almost signing into a PM School and I am eternally grateful! I currently take inexpensive COSMOPROF classes every month and joined PBA in order to attend the big trade shows and many classes for free or at a discount. I am learning and getting better rapidly. Always continue your education and fore-go this nonsense! ;-) Good luck and GREAT hair to whomever reads this!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennafer Jan 27, 2012

    I 10000% agree with all of this. I attended Paul Mitchell The School Normal what a joke. Its the most unorganized place I've ever been too. I decided to go there due to the admissions leader and she was amazing and also I went in about to 2 months before I started to sign the financial aid papers with the most awesome financial aid person. I get there two months later and none of them were still employed. I recently dropped it due to all the negativity, sitting around, and having pow wows. Now I'm actually on my way down there to deal with the lovely financial aid office due to the fact they are trying to say I still owe them money. What a joke I took out student loans plus my parents took out parent plus loans and we got extra money. They told me they sent it back to the government?! This makes no sense to me. I wish I would have never took a step into that place. Be Nice Or Else are you kidding me? People got stuff stolen and they said get locks. I had to purchase multiple things out of pocket yet my tuition was supposed to pay for everything! They also lost a girls core folder so they have no proof she actually finished it. Great school right? Get out while you still can do not support these "schools"!

    -1 Votes
  • Ih
    ihatecincinnatiacademy Oct 14, 2011

    oh they say they are professional but one of the admission leaders just got married and the director stated she lost her virginity now come on is that professional and i know that was not meant to be public news reguardless if its true or not...

    1 Votes
  • Ih
    ihatecincinnatiacademy Oct 14, 2011

    okay so i am a student at the paul mitchell cincinnati academy. and i have been there for a year and 2 months by now. well where do i begin hahaha. i went to a school previously to coming to this one and i loved it and when i moved to ohio i picked this one out of all the others because of the speech i was dragged into when i went on my tour. well, i started school last august, and ever since i started i have been on the director and learning leaders hit list. i like some of the learning leaders but not all, they are catty and act like children worse then i see in grade school. well i had some bad luck in core when i first started and i went to the director and she said that the cameras werent working when i had my crap stolen and my car messed with. are you kidding me? we have cameras for our safety and they dont even work! i paid 16, 000 dollars to get a education and i can tell you from experience that i feel cheated.

    when i went on the floor as adaptive i was fine, but my grandpa died and i asked to take a leave because i had to leave the state for it and they told me they wouldnt approve of me taking a week or two off it had to be the whole 4 weeks, ###, a girl recently went on leave twice for two weeks each and i couldnt do that. anyways, i had to miss school and come back where i left off and thats when i was put on the "back on track" list which is ### too. they give you those worksheets to do as a grade and when they dont give you enough clients that month your being punished for it. i know your have to market your self which i have but i barely have any family here so its kind of hard. anyways the back on track list is like their own professional hit list and i can tell you most of cincinnati academy is on that list on top of no guest list which is even worse. its ###.

    well i have been threaten by the staff members here especially the director. i had a learning leader tell me to suck up a reaction i had to their product and then after that i had another one outside and he just slowly drove by when i was in tears and about to be stabbed with my epi-pen. come on... thats is life threatening and your tell me to suck it up i think not.

    and over the summer i got clocked out and didnt know it for 3 hours til they told me and i was pissed so i went home and wrote a letter that almost got me kicked out of school by stating true facts and my experience i have had in this school. and it took my parents calling up there threatening to sue if they didnt let me finish but i got my ### in order so i wouldnt get in trouble til i graduated, well recently for a while i got in trouble for two things not just one and she, the director, threaten me again with my graduation date that was two weeks away and i found out yesterday that it was pushed back. i was pissed and i sat down and tried to figure out how they got that date vs mine and guess what they never matched.

    well this school is so gay. u have teachers dating students, a student that lived with the director, a cutting specialist hitting up the girls that graduated asking to do three-sums, and just plain out drama with the learning leaders. everybody is a liar in that school and the lairs are the honest ones, i can tell you im one of the true honest people there but since they dont like me im a liar. they have to call my parents and confirm my stories what am i? im not 5 people. they are always going on and on about respect but then they treat the ones that stand up and say something like they are criminals. like come on now, im not in prison. im in a school that i pay for and that i pay your salary for.

    the kits are ###ed. they are so small that you cant fit everything in it so you have to use a suitcase or something just to fit it all because in ohio you have to have everything in bags.

    i hate this school deeply and when i graduate i got some words for them because you cant ruin someone or somethings rep by speaking the truth. we have graduates from this school failing the written stateboard test because there is no theory education. we have graduates threatening the school that graduated months ago and paid everything off and still waiting for stateboard papers being sent but as the word on the street its not their top priority but the thing is if you dont pass stateboard they dont get their reviews and it makes them look like ###, i will come everyday to annoy them to get mine, the graduates were so mad they were going to sue but used all their money for that stupid school.

    if you dont kiss ### everyday dont even bother coming because once you screw up once your known as the problem child, trust me my friend got in trouble with me and she got wrote up for the first time because she was with me and the director said if she told anybody she would deny it, what kind of ### is that, for real... be nice or else is ### because why would you slander or say something about that and then tell the parents of that child that your child annoys them. like i said before, what am i 5?

    1 Votes
  • St
    stylen Sep 08, 2011

    I attend the imagine Paul Mitchell school in Norman Oklahoma and must say that i do not agree with what is being said. while there are some things at the school that i do not agree with it is an excellent program and by the way it is accredited. I am sorry that so many of you seem to have had a bad experience i must say that from my experience there the people who struggle through and slack off are the people who don't get jobs when they graduate. there may be some favoritism there but it is virtually impossible to just be past through you have to work for it. any one who is looking at attending a paul mitchell school should know that it is the best education choice out there but you must be dedicated and be your own person don't listen to these people if your not sure then do some research visit other schools and i guaranty that you will come back to paul mitchell because they are the best. good luck and i hope you find what fits you as a future stylist.

    1 Votes
  • St
    stylist4life Jul 30, 2011

    I completely agree with this article! The Academy Waukesha Partner School was the best I ever went to until new changes began a couple weeks ago- all the staff were being switched out and the new students were given the new dvds, the teachers play favorites, energizers were taken away from classes, and we have to ask to go to the bathroom because one person decided one day to wander around the school instead! All the new staff are rude, and look angry when we ask questions or want to get boxes signed off-they don't even know any paul mitchell material or methods yet! Why are they teaching our classes if they don't know the paul mitchell system after all this time? I love the paul mitchell culture and school before it started disappearing and now the school has turned for the worst. kit checks are never done when things are stolen, unless it was from a teacher! they just tell you you should have watched your stuff

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Saral Jun 13, 2011

    Hey Chelsea, For the record STL Academy did not change their name to Paul Mitchell The School San Diego! St Lois is in an entirely different state than San Diego! I attended PMTS San Diego and had the best education EVER! Maybe all of the angry people should have looked further into all of the ghetto and nasty schools before signing up for PMTS... you do not know how lucky you have it! The PM school program is amazing! You get what you put into it!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chelsea L Mar 01, 2011

    If you are considering a career in Cosmetology, please do your research! I was taken in by a very convincing speech about why I should go the STL Academy (it has since changed it's name to Paul Mitchell The School-San Diego, Ca, but has all of the same incompetent staff still employed.) I regret it more than anything in the world.

    When I was first looking into schools in early 2007, I was immediately drawn into the glitz and glamor of going to a Paul Mitchell School. I love PM products, and thought if the school is half as good as the products, it's gonna be the best experience of my life. I was so wrong. I never signed up for student loans but i thought only for grants. I was soooo wrong 16, 000 surprise. Law Suits to follow..and Now Department of Education withholding tax returns and government benefits because of these crooks.

    I was told on my tour that my $16, 000 tuition would cover EVERYTHING I would need for the entire 1 year duration of the program. While it did include a mediocre kit and lackluster training dvds and books, I was still forced to buy additional training supplies on a weekly basis...extra doll heads, scissor sharpening and razors, make-up for required make-up courses that would have to be used on several other students during classtime, combs, clips, papers, pens, dye...and a monster car park fee was $200 per month because there was absolutely NO free on-street parking. I had to pay on average an extra $20-50 a week on extra training materials, transportation, and clothes that would get easily worn working 35 hrs a week being splashed with dye, etc.

    My kit was pathetic, cheap, and virtually useless. The scissors are not good enough quality to be used in your career after school. The combs and brushes are flimsy and most are not heat resistant. The clippers' batteries only last for about ten minutes before needing a charge. On time after all of the students left for the day, the kits were raided by administrators to retrieve our capes. We were no allowed to take our kits home with us, yet admin could just raid out kits whenever they wanted? Three times my kit was rifled and things stolen. These kits, btw, cost $3, 000! If we were allowed to assemble our own kits, we could have had better materials for half as much. It was just another way to gauge students for every penny they could.

    The staff is dreadfully incompetent! Solved no issues, and handled no complaints. I cannot believe how many stories I heard of our teachers being irresponsible! In the 6 short weeks I went to this school, guess how many staff members had either quit or been fired: 6! Six out of the less than dozen people that are employed by the school at a given time, were fired or quit in six months. Why is turnover so high here, yet some teachers are allowed to stay and continually slack off and get "chummy" with students? They need to be sued for fraud

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skumshine Jan 28, 2011

    @Really I Don't Think So,

    Why are you yelling at US? Jeez. I'm sure you can find the number if you try harder.

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skumshine Jan 26, 2011

    Full disclosure: I was once a "Learning Leader" at this chain of Mormon Cults. I lasted three months. After 20+ yrs in the business it was painful for me to only teach ONE methodology, as if Paul Mitchell invented hair. I'd be forced to sit through endless meetings where nothing was accomplished other than people patting eachother on the back while applying a smiley face sticker to their Hot Topic blouse. Ridiculous in the highest sense, this is- in my opinion- truly a cult and they are in it for the money and the mind control. The more clones they spit out, the more money for PMTS, Winn Clayhole and all those creepy, greasy "visionaries" they seem to "celebrate" every ten minutes. Ick. You need a license, not a way of looking at the world. This "education" is masked theology, full of acronyms, jargon (fake it till you make it!), and posters full of promotional crap. Crap they want YOU, the student (oops, Future professional) to SELL if you want to graduate in time. All in all, a watered down education given by PMTS graduates and other cult members. Save your $$$. Go to a cheap school and get your license and probably a much more focused education. Unless you require a glitter and glue approach to learning. Then this place is for you.

    3 Votes
  • Re
    REALLY? I DON'T THINKSO Dec 26, 2010

    WHAT IS THE CORPORATE NUMBER? I WAS A CLIENT AND THE LEARNING LEADER DID MY HAIR...DIDN'T EVEN LET THE STUDENT DO MY HAIR ...THEN HE TOTALLY SCREWED IT UP. I CALLED AND WAS INVITED TO RETURN TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT ONLY TO HAVE THEM HIDE THE STUDENT SAYING SHE WASN'T THERE EVEN THOUGH SHE IS A RELATIVE... TO THEN BE YELLED AT AND ACCUSED OF SAYING VULGAR THINGS... I WISH...AND TOLD TO NOT RETURN WHILE SOME BUTCH AGGRESSIVE WOMAN THREATENED ME. NOBODY SEEMS TO BE IN CHARGE, AND NOBODY SEEMS TO KNOW THE CORPORATE NUMBER... I WAS ALSO LECTURED ABOUT LIFE. GET OUTTA HERE WITH THAT. TOTALLY FEEL SORRY FOR THE STUDENTS WHO COULD NOT COMPLAIN...I WANT THE CORPORATE NUMBER AND THEY ARE HOLDING IT [email protected] ... ANYONE SEND ME THE CORPORATE NUMBER

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.