The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Omni JewelcraftersTerrible Customer Service

I would NOT recommend this company to anyone looking to sell their jewelry.


I have been looking to sell an engagement ring that was given to me. I have been to a few of the different locations around the GTA that advertise jewelry buying. The offers I have received from 3 other companies averaged about $800.00 for a ring that was originally purchased for $2000.00. I recently herd an advertisement on the radio for a company that guarantees their service and the amount they offer for your jewelry will be more then all the other guys. This company was Omni Jewelcrafters. I was looking forward to doing business with a company that is offering this type of customer service and satisfaction. When I got there the first question I asked the older lady behind the counter was if they were even interested in buying my ring from me. I ask this because there had been 1 place that wasn’t looking for this type of jewelry to buy and he was very nice about it. She answered yes and took the ring into the back where a man was looking it at to make me an offer. While she was back there I could hear them whispering and laughing. That did not make me feel very good. When she came out she offered me $140.00 and when I questioned her she told me that all my 1 carat diamond engagement ring was good for were scraps! She said it in a very rude tone and was speaking down to me.

Responses

  • Pa
    papasparky69 Dec 17, 2017

    anyone else notice the weird profiles of the people who left positive reviews?, lol. fake accounts?

    1 Votes
  • Pr
    ProudCanadian Jun 25, 2016

    My son and I came too look at engagement rings for his girlfriend, he was very nervous but the woman at the store was able to quickly put him at ease. She spent a long time educating us on diamonds and she was very respectful of his budget (he's still a student). She called around to other locations to find the best diamond for that price and even offered to size it for free once he presents it to his girlfriend. We just picked up the ring last week and its beautiful! Thank you for taking such good care of my boy, Omni!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marnam Mar 29, 2016

    Scammers, Crock, thief and live with theft money

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Marnam Mar 29, 2016

    The worst company, Scam, Thief, selfish and terrible attitude customer service

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Marnam Mar 29, 2016

    Omni is Scam, they are crock, thief, ### service and attitude, Selfish people and customer service

    -1 Votes
  • Hh
    HHD Jan 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would NOT recommend this company to anyone looking to sell their jewelry.

    I was a regular customer and recently I went to buy a ring for my wife from Hw7/Keele location. They asked my range and I said around $125. Then they found me a beautiful ring for $190. I was very happy and bought it. On the way home, I got a phone call from they saying they have sold a ring worth $900 for $190. So I came back to the shop and returned it and then they got me a silver basic ring for $190. I felt something is going on.

    On the very next day I returned it and got store credit. After couple of days, I sent my wife with the store credit and i told her to be very firm and not to show the store credit form. At the end she got a good ring for $ 75 and once they saw the store credit of $190, they have started telling that this ring actually costs $190. As my wife was very firm, she got it for $75

    These people are playing games with people like us. I would never go to this place again.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    koolgirl1988 Dec 28, 2015

    Negative :(

    -1 Votes
  • Ko
    koolgirl1988 Dec 28, 2015

    OMG, I wish I would have done more research before dealing with company. I fell for one of his "Black Friday" deals and now I feel abused and ashamed of myself. These people have no conscience. They use every trick in the book to separate you from your money... all smiles and cooperation before you buy, criticism and disrespect after the sale. I'm not sure how in the world they expect to stay in business. Please DO NOT FALL FOR THE RADIO ADS... The owner simply wants to hear his own voice on the radio (I actually heard that he has bamboozled a Toronto Radio Station into letting him have a talk show. WTF ?) Now he has succumbed to selling jewellery under the auspices of a charity auction. It's despicable. Jack Berkovits is a horrible human being. DO NOT CONTRIBUTE TO HIS WAYS... DO NOT SHOP AT OMNI JEWELCRAFTERS ... PERIOD !!!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    honestONLINEjeweler2005 Aug 06, 2015

    Here's a little "inside information" from an eCommerce Jewelry professional -- in response to excerpts from Jack's 2013 reply shown above. *FYI, to the readers who don't know, "Jack" is the owner / CEO of Omni.

    "A pity, though, cause we were searching for another victim, and forcing upon him a diamond bracelet, at a price that would be less than the value of gold therein, and to try to force him to take the diamonds in the bracelet, for free."
    *Seen his goods, decent build quality, diamonds are generally 1-2 grades lower than indicated -- auction prices start-off decent, but artificial bids ensure that no real client actually gets a good deal. This is the norm for most auction-style sites -- eBay aside. **Sadly referring to clients as "victims" is commonplace for many a disreputable jeweler.

    "Btw, had you merely enquired, I would have pointed you to our testimonial page, but maybe thats also a gimmick."
    Can virtually guarantee that most, of his testimonials are fake. This is commonplace for most customer review systems. Also, generally speaking, in the online jewelry world, for every good review there are 10-15 bad ones in between. You don't see those being posted...

    "Or, I would have given you some bidders' names and contact numbers But, that too can be a gimmick. "
    *Yeah this is likely a gimmick. Odds are he'll have you call an employee or business contact who's acting as a "satisfied client." He's playing to the psychology that most clients will think 'wow, if he's willing to give me someone's contact info, he MUST be legit.' *Just think about this for a second...assuming you're a satisfied client, wouldn't a jeweler giving out your personal contact info really upset you? In this day and age, even in 2013 when his response was originally written, don't you think that most "intelligent" people would realize that's a bad, unprofessional thing to do?

    "Perhaps I would have had you notice how many bidders are addicted to ohr auctuon, bidding and winning almost daily.
    That, too, is also a gimmick, maybe."

    Guaranteed to be a gimmick. Frequent, repeart buyers of jewelry from online sites, or stores for that matter, are exceedingly rare. In 10 years I've only ever seen 5, and 4 of those were buyers for goods under $300. The exception here could be other jewelers placing bids to buy stock...but that to is unlikely, because no self-respecting jeweler that wants to stay in business will pay anywhere close to retail.

    "I might have told you that the percent of winners that request refunds, is less than 1%.
    That could also be a lie. True."

    "Yeah, that's probably a fallacy. Generally online return rates range between 5-30%. With the exception of the elitist jewelers catering to the "1%, " no one has a return rate that low. Unless you consider the possibility that fewer than 20% of winning bids are placed by real people, and of those that actually pay for the item, fewer than 1% request refunds. Still unlikely...but just sayin'

    "I would point out that I am the only CEO, > on the planet, that handles each and every customer complaint. Personally. 24 hours a day. 6 days a week. Can you imagjne how that keeps me busy? Actually, it doesnt."

    *Most responsible jewelry brand CEOs actively participate in customer service matters - it lets them stays in touch with their business. Not to mention, most are micromanaging, control freaks that NEED to be involved 24/7.

    "And, I would havr let you out of yojr transaction, any time"
    Considering he doesn't have a formal agreement or signature, he'd be legally obligated to let you out. Not to mention the fact that he wouldn't want to risk repeated lashings by consumer protection, the BBB, his payment processor, and sites like this one. However you can be sure that you would be hounded for payment for a week or so at least -- particularly since he has people on staff to manage his auctions.

    "In fact, wr are the only auction on the planet, that does not take a credit card in advance, before allowing you to place your bid."
    *Balls...have you heard of this cool thing call eBay? Plus, walk into a local auction in the country with a Visa card and let me know how that goes for you...

    After being in this business for 10+ years, I have stories that would make your head spin. In the few personal dealings I've had with Omni, I feel it's my civic duty to weigh-in on this conversation. Rest assured there are still some reputable jewelers out there...I'd love to plug some of my clients here...but I don't feel like getting sued.

    All the best!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan416905 Oct 14, 2014

    Let's get this snake oil salesman off the radio and out of business by not shopping at Omni.
    This man is a fraudster. Bad experience after bad experience... Let's hope it happens soon.

    -1 Votes
  • Hi
    HimeySchlomo Oct 02, 2014

    I needed a new diamond needle for my record player and heard about Omni jewelcrafters going out of business sale in Oakville many times on the radio so I decided to check them out. The service was very friendly. Jack Berkovits gave me $50 bucks for my old diamond wedding ring and only charged me $49 for a new needle. 200% OFF
    My only complaint was while I was waiting for my ring appraisal Saul Korman from Koreys and Tom from Toms Place were trying to sell me a suit. The clothes looked like some homeless person had lived in them. Ewwww

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KatosKitten May 09, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This may not mean much to anyone because of who I am but I am employed by Omni Jewelcrafters.

    I have loved my job since I got it. When I buy gold, I research the worth daily and I give as much as I can to customers who bring things in while still making a profit -- we're a company, we have to make a profit in it too that just makes sense.

    We do buy the gold for scrap. I'm very sorry to the people who were treated rudely by our staff, but please do not look down on all locations and all employees just because of one negative experience. It's not acceptable for you to be treated badly, to be thrown out, to be told your items are worthless.

    As a company, we're not out to get you, we're not out to rip you off. When I was trained the main things taught to me was to always smile, always treat someone with respect no matter how they look or act, always be fair, and always try to make them happy.

    I love my job, I smile, I do everything I can for people who come in with issues, I explain reasons clearly for offers made on gold. I do everything right infront of them so that they are a part of it too and if an offer is too low I try to work with them to get to somewhere where they can walk away happy and we can still make a profit. That doesn't always happen, but I do my best every day to make sure I'm making people feel valued.

    So again, I'm very sorry about the way some of you were treated. I'm sorry you had bad experiences with Omni. But I promise you that there are people at omni who are doing everything they can to make the customer walk away happy as it should be. I love my job and I love my company.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    junkeroo Apr 01, 2014

    I'm sick of Omni Jewelcrappers commercials on Newstalk 1010 CFRB. It's no wonder they are Going Out Of Business in Oakville. Jack sounds like a used vacuum cleaner salesman and would be better off in a flea market

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gabi Messinger Dec 06, 2013

    I bought a perl neckless from Omnie Jewlers and had a million compliments. I walked by Burks and saw something similar and saw it for lot lot more. Went on line to see similar and it was a lot lot more. Just out of curiosity I took it to Burks and said I wanted to buy something similar for my daughter and they bought out one very similar for a lot more. I also did not know how to work the clasp and brook it and I thought it was their fault. They replaced it and I brook it again and this time I was really upset that they sold me a faulty clasp on it and they fixed it again. Then they showed me how to work it and I never brook it again. Then my grandchild janked it of me tore the strings - so I did figure out it was not their fault either.

    -1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam2000 Nov 11, 2013

    Avoid OMNI Jewelcrafters like the plague.
    You would have to be an idiot to believe their "Too good to be true" marketing. Think about it... that's exactly what they think of you !
    If you're spending your hard earned cash on jewelery then for goodness sake, do a little homework to make an educated purchase. That would certainly EXCLUDE shopping at Omni. Read the reviews all over the net... by far the majority are negative. They are rude and unfair shysters.
    You have been warned !

    0 Votes
  • Av
    avi9988 Jun 28, 2013

    omni's staff is honorably lame that's why the lady judy that works at the Lawrence location is such a ### because she knows that she dosnt have the money to actually go and make a reasonable offer go see Harold he at least has the money to buy.

    1 Votes
  • Mc
    MC527 Jun 18, 2013

    Please, please, please do not waste your time or money at Omni. The quality of their product (custom made diamond engagement ring, in my case) is utter garbage and their customer service is worse. I am absolutely disgusted with that whole company and for those of you who have anything positive to say about them, I find it quite hard to believe. Unless they are specifically treating certain clients far better than others. I would not trust their workmanship, or even the raw quality of their diamonds. In my case, after wearing my ring for less than three months a stone fell out, when we took it back they did a poor job of repairing the loose stone, destroying part of the design of the ring and told me to 'check often for any other loose pieces', as if that is acceptable. Following an allergic reaction to the ring (obviously not their fault) they suggested I alter the design to prevent water from building up behind the diamond. I was told it would be an easy job and would have my ring back in 1-2 weeks. Eight weeks later, I was told that the ring was ready for pick-up, drove an hour out of my way to get it and was met with a pathetic excuse as to why it was not ready at all. This happened, not once but twice. When I finally got it back, it was destroyed with loose stones and cracks in the gold. After this nightmare I was forced to take my ring to a far better jeweler who told me there was no way to fix what they had done...leading to paying for a far better made replica of my ring by a far better professional jeweler.

    2 Votes
  • Er
    Ericthomas May 13, 2013

    OMNI truly does have the worst customer service I have ever seen. After hearing their adds I decided to check out the auction site and placed a bid on a diamond tennis bracelet. After placing the bid I did some checks on the company and found some complaints about inflated prices and cheap quality products. I realized that these complaints could just be bitter customers for one reason or another. However as it was Sunday morning and the auction was closing soon I sent an email requesting my bid be cancelled so I could look into the company more. The CEO Jack did personally respond to my email like he says he will. However that was where my opinion was made on this company. The email was very rude and condescending. I replied to Jack advising him I simply wanted more time to make a decision and would appreciate an apology only to receive an even ruder response where I am called an idiot. I have no idea about the quality of the items they sell or the value therein. Unfortunately I will never know as Jacks attitude shows the type of customer service you can expect from them. I realize there are people here who are defending OMNI and the service they provide so I will copy and paste the entire email conversation I had with JACK and you can decide for yourself if this is the service you would expect from a company

    Eric Thomas wrote:

    >

    Hi I sent this bid in a few minutes ago. I did some checks on your company and your auction in particular. I see quite a few complaints about artificially inflated values being shown and no refund policies. As such I'm retracting my bid. I do not feel comfortable dealing with a company that does not > offer refunds. Especially when I see warnings that the suggested retail values shown are not realistic.
    >>I realize these could just be bitter customers but the no refund thing makes it too risky for me.
    >>
    Sorry
    >>Eric
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    > > From: > > jack <[email protected]>;
    > > To: > > Eric Thomas <[email protected]>;
    > > Subject: > > Re: Item 636-diamond tennis bracelet
    > > Sent: > > Sun, May 12, 2013 1:03:41 PM
    >
    >
    > > > > > > >
    No problem.
    Bid retraction accepted.
    A pity, though, cause we were searching for another victim, and forcing upon him a diamond bracelet, at a price that would be less than the value of gold therein, and to try to force him to take the diamonds in the bracelet, for free.
    Dont know what we will do now?!
    Glad you were saved from the fraud.
    Btw, had you merely enquired, I would have pointed you to our testimonial page, but maybe thats also a gimmick.
    Or, I would have given you some bidders' names and contact numbers
    But, that too can be a gimmick.
    Perhaps I would have had you notice how many bidders are addicted to ohr auctuon, bidding and winning almost daily.
    That, too, is also a gimmick, maybe.
    I might have told you that the percent of winners that request refunds, is less than 1%.
    That could also be a lie. True.
    I would point out that I am the only CEO, > on the planet, that handles each and every customer complaint. Personally. 24 hours a day. 6 days a week.
    Can you imagjne how that keeps me busy?
    Actually, it doesnt.
    And, I would havr let you out of yojr transaction, any time
    In fact, wr are the only auction on the planet, that does not take a credit card in advance, before allowing you to place your bid.
    How's that for trust.
    Glad you escaped.
    Good luck with your jewellery purchases. We'll try to find someone no as smart as you are.
    Happy Mothers Day.
    _________________________________________________
    Eric Thomas wrote:

    >

    Jack,
    >
    What a disappointing response. I was truly hoping that the reviews on your customers service were blown out og proportion. However with your snarky response I guess that is not the case.
    >
    If you had read my full email you would see I said I realized the complaints could just be bitter customers which every company has. At no time did I say this was a fraud.
    >
    I had full intentions on attending one of your stores to make my purchase as your advertised deals seem to be a great bargain. I knew that I'd never get a price as good as I could at an auction but at least I would see the item in person and be able to see an appraisal first.
    >
    My only issue with this particular situation was that the auction closed in 3 hours. That was not enough time for me to look into the complaints and make my own decision so I erred on the side of caution as unfortunately $1000 is a lot of money for me to spend.
    >
    I know auctions can be a great way to save money which is what took me to your site to begin with. However there is the saying "if it's too good to be true... unfortunately I had an issue buying jewelry I the Caribbean at a cruise recommended store called diamonds international where I did not get what I thought I was getting. I know that company has nothing to do either yours but it has made me cautious about my purchases.
    >
    I am sure if I had stuck with the bid and won it at 895 I would probably have done well and I'm sure I'll regret it down the road if/when I discover that the complaints I read were bogus.
    >
    At no time did I say that your auction was a fraud and I do not appreciate the tone of your response. The few bad reviews I read couled with the no refund policy spooked me and as I do not know anyone that has personally purchased from you I decided to pass on it at this time and do some more research.
    >
    I would appreciate an apology for your previous response as I found it offensive.
    >
    Eric
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    From: jack <[email protected]>;
    To: Eric Thomas <[email protected]>;
    Subject: Re: Item 636-diamond tennis bracelet
    Sent: Sun, May 12, 2013 3:25:33 PM


    Eric
    You really shouldnt be disappointed.
    Your letter was idiotic.
    Idiotic letters are written by idiots.
    I offer jewellery at below melt.pricung, and im the only jeweller that allows you to bid, without any info on the bidder and without any payment.details.
    So why would I put up with your stupidity.
    _________________________________
    Jack,

    Your response shows why people complain about your service. A simple bid cancellation is responded to in a condescending manner. Then your second response is just childish. Name calling...really and from the CEO. Oh well if is what it is. I realize my opinion does not matter to you. I guess I expect too much from some people.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    fla882009 Feb 04, 2013

    listen people they only can offer u what its worth at meltdown value... and to tell u the truth most jewelry stores suck as peoples jewelers among others put crappy diamonds in almost everything so then u bring it to a pawn like shop and trust me they are just there to tell you yes u got screwed and now will give u the best they can. duh

    1 Votes
  • St
    start1992 Jan 03, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today I went to the HW7/Keele store to have my wife's anniversary ring fixed because a little stone dropped(lost) again for the 3rd time. Now although the 3 year warranty is gone, I clearly remembered that the 2nd time I was there, I was told that don't worry about stone coming off again and they'd fix it for free. This time the old male staff told the story to the boss (the son) and said they'd charge $40 which disagreed by my wife. I explained to the male staff her point that the repair quality was bad from previous 2 repairs so we shouldn't pay for this repair. The son overheard our conversation and came out and said I don't want repair your ring anymore. So I stepped out and talked to my wife again and convinced her to pay the $40 to get it fixed and then I went in again. The son said the same and added another one. I don't want to repair your ring, not even at $100. And showed me door right away. It looks like to me the son only cares about how he thinks and doesn't care how his customers think. I guess their effort is focused on those misleading ads and a lot of other new "suckers"(as one poster said) like us would still go there. Very bad customer service. I wouldn't recommed anyone to go there.

    2 Votes
  • Go
    gotoronto May 08, 2012

    OMNI is horrible. The staff are rude and simply terrible - that should alone make you walk out of the store. The quality of their stock is poor and overpriced - anyone who thinks they bought a great piece should get a quality independent appraisal - I'm sure you will be surprised - and not in a good and happy way. Shop elsewhere - they don't deserve your business. Other people I know have had the same bad and poorly treated experience at OMNI - they are a terrible company with poor quality products.

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    hatestupidpeople Dec 05, 2011

    I went to the location at Keele st. When I walked in I was greeted by a pleasant elderly man who went to the back to find a diamond similar to what I was inquiring about. As I was awaiting his return a middle aged Jewish guy drove a young couple out of the store with his rude remarks. He took over my inquiry and had me leaving the store without making a purchase in under a minute. I’ve never seen such terrible business practice. I wouldn’t recommend that place to anyone.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    John Doe Smiths Jul 21, 2011

    I know these posts are old, but it seems to still be true. On weekends I like to dress down and relax, especially with the heatwave we're having. I do t drive a fancy car because a car is just something that gets me to point B from point A. I had gone to Omni to look for an engagement ring and I guess I was a book judged by it's cover. I have money, but with the exception of my watches and sunglasses you'd never know. Let me say that if anyone on my staff ever acted like that to a customer (or even avendor) I would have fired them. I'm spreading the word that this place, which will be easy. I do wedding photography on the side, and my daughter is a wedding planner.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack_but_not_JackB Dec 30, 2010

    Omni - all I can say is something doesn't add up when a business spends so much money on advertising and then offers rock bottom prices. It doesn't take a economist to point the finger at sub-quality products.

    3 Votes
  • Ab
    Abalone Dec 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just scornfully swat that malevolent green fly whose * husband * on Quatloos forums, bmielke(the lawnmower ruler), cathulhu(in rattlesnakes boots) are comfortably scoffing at us.

    Aliases obviously ignored by the Quatloos gens.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pigg Dec 11, 2010

    So-called customer commentator "Stealth Pilot" is affiliated with Omni and trolls all the complaint sites trying to neutralize negative comments and put a positive spin on their sad company.
    What kind of company calls people stupid?

    3 Votes
  • Pi
    Pigg Dec 11, 2010

    Beware! Omni trolls these boards and makes up positive comments.

    2 Votes
  • He
    heart and cole Dec 02, 2010

    I too have had a bad experience at Omni. I found the staff rude and they treated me like a pauper. Their prices are overinflated and if you watch the auctions it seems very fishy when items all of a sudden go up and up. I believe that they are doing the bidding themselves . Do they think we're stupid?

    3 Votes
  • Ag
    agnchls Nov 22, 2010

    Very disappointed. I went there today, looking for an engagement ring setting to use with my disceased mother's engagement rings diamond. I understand they may not be in the business of settings, but the rudeness was unbelievable.

    2 Votes
  • Hj
    hjbng Sep 27, 2010

    I absolutley adore OMNI. Jack and Hillel and Avi and the entire staff have been tremendous to my family and the dozens of folks we"ve sent their way. They are, by far, the best pricing that I've seen regardless of the item. I highly recommend OMNI to anyone who needs gift(s). Keep up the good work!

    -6 Votes
  • Ys
    YSAA Sep 15, 2010

    in fact, please find enclosed an email i received from a neighbour who also went to OMNI. this email was sent to OMNI after his purchase:
    Dear OMNI,

    I've been so busy since returning from Las Vegas this is the first chance I've had to let you know that my plan was executed flawlessly. I was able to keep my secret until we finished our romantic dinner at Bartolotta Ristorante di Mare. I then started into my little speech and slipped the ring box out of my pocket, opened it and popped the question (there was no room to go down on one knee so I had to improvise). She was totally speechless when she saw the ring - it was an absolute home run. Of course she said yes and the rest of the trip was a blur. ... Liz loves the ring and said I couldn't have picked a better or more appropriate one.
    Thanks so much for your help in the selection. With the little bit of information I gave you, you were able to narrow what is truly an overwhelming number of choices down to a manageable few. I could not have made the right selection without your guidance. Rest assured that I will continue to be an Omni customer.
    Best regards and many thanks -

    -4 Votes
  • Ys
    YSAA Sep 15, 2010

    Both my myself, my wife and my siblings have purchased items at 4 OMNI locations. Each store was a wonderful experience. The service, value and attentiveness was wonderful. We will only shop at OMNI and encourage all our friends to do the same. By the way, we are "middle class" hard working folks from small town Ontario. The items we purchased were inexpensive pieces. Yet, we were treating with respect and a smile!The insensitive comments from the person re the pearls are far from the truth. Shame on you.

    -6 Votes
  • Ar
    Arrogantjack Jun 22, 2010

    I completely agree with your complaint Pescara . They are arrogant, rude, unprofessional and they dont even have the decency to call a customer back. I have gone thru hell with my engagement ring. I got engaged in December and I have had a total of 7 diamonds fall out all at different times. It was also not centered properly. I WILL NEVER EVER EVER DO BUSINESS WITH OMNI AGAIN. ANYONE READING THIS, AND I WILL CONTINUE TO LET EVERYONE I KNOW, AND TELL THEM TO TELL EVERYONE THEY KNOW TO STAY AWAY FROM OMNI JEWELERS. I WILL ALSO BE LETTING THE PAPERS NO HOW I FEEL ABOUT THEIR COMPANY.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    pescara Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am still livid about the terrible experience I had at Omni Keele st location few days ago. Never in my life I was offended and mortified by whom I beleive is Jack's son.He should really take a course on how to deal with clients.
    I have worked for 40 years in the retail banking business and and expected to treat clients with always a smile and courtesy. I went in to check some south sea black pearls, he showed me just one in the showcase priced at $7250.00 but after doing some calculations price was reduced to $2490.00. I proceeded to inspect the pearls with my glasses and made a simple comment that some flaws were visible and I would like to see others. At this point he abruptly took the pearsl out of my hands and told me to get out and take my business elsewhere and I new nothing about pearls. I was speechless and so hurt that I could not react until I went to my car and actually cried.
    Yes maybe I don't know everything about pearls, if I did I would have my own business. That's why we go to a jewler it is his job to educate clients. I also told him that I have several good jewlery including white pearls, coral and a black pearl necklace that I have lost and my intention was to replace it with the insurance settlement, so I wasn't just browsing. He replied""Ho I can see that!" I just want him to know that it's not my habit to were all my jewlwry at once not to look like a Xmas tree. Perhaps he is used to seing all his juish lady clients. I am always suspicious when something is reduced so drastically from the posted price and also all those commercial saying you buy something for x amount and they give you back the same in cash.
    I know this will not impact their business, I realize many clients are satisfied including the time my son in law purchased an eternity ring for his wife, but I will spend the rest of my life discouraging people to shop at Omni
    A word of advise to people that will shop there, make sure you wear all your best pieces of jewelry, maybe you will not be thrown out of the store. Wasn't there a movie with Julia Roberts when she entered a boutique and was
    snobbed by the salepersons? Thank God I have my own Jewler that treats me like a queen. By the way that necklace is featured to-day on the auction and there is no bid for $2490. it is the actual price quoted to me in the store.
    You crooks!!!

    3 Votes
  • Ke
    Kevin from Hamilton Jun 12, 2010

    I have had nothing but great service from Jack, Avi and the team. They treated me with the utmost respect and professionalism. The ring I bought for my Bride was beautiful. I would highly recommend Omni Jewelcrafters!!! :-)

    -4 Votes
  • Un
    unhappybuyer1245 Jan 19, 2010

    I completely agree with you. Omni Jewellers are rude, arrogant and that includes Jack himself. They do not treat anyone with respect. and they do not give the good customer service other places do. For jack to promote his company the way he does and treats paying customers rudely, makes me sick.

    4 Votes
  • Kl
    klsammut Apr 02, 2009

    I was not expecting them to give me retail on my ring. That was not my complaint. My issue was the extremely rude customer service and the unreasonable offer. They treated me like an idiot and wanted me to believe what she was telling me. She wasn’t aware of the fact that I had been to other places until after she gave me her offer.

    0 Votes
  • jamesisajeweler Apr 02, 2009

    Hello to you i'm James The Jeweler in Atlanta, Ga and i also have my own jewelry discussions here under "JEWELRY & WATCHES" i was reading your complaint and i first must say that your $2000 ring would not cost me as a JEWELER the same $2000 because i'm not paying the retail price for it but you are.

    I will advise you to get a CERTIFIED JEWELRY APPRAISAL done on this ring that you say is 1ct before you try to sell it to anyone, because an UNBIASED CERTIFIED JEWELRY APPRAISAL will let a jeweler or anyone else know what its' real value is. Unless your diamonds are CLOUDY or have BLACK CARBON SPOTS in them that can be seen without a jeweler's loupe, there's no way that ring would be bought by a jeweler for less than it's FAIR MARKET VALUE or it's REPLACEMENT VALUE. A solitaire 1ct diamond will always be worth more that several smaller diamonds that may equal 1ct, but regardless of that if the diamonds are white & clear to the naked eye you can surely get more than $140 for it.

    Should you have any questions for me feel free to contact me and you can also visit my online jewelry blogs at http://jamesisajeweler.blogspot.com

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.