New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA)repair problems

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I live in Queensbridge houses with my 7 year old daughter and from 2002 until 2005 my roof leaked massive amount of water that has naturally compromised the integrity of the walls in the actual apt. My daughter and I have spent a great of time at our relatives homes especially on holidays because we were unable to stay at home like many people do during times like Christmas. Since NYCHA repaired the roof in the summer of 2005, I informed NYCHA that now that the underlining problem has been fixed when will they come and fixed the problems that resulted in the leakage? I was told that the peeling paint, gapping holes in the ceiling, rusty meld window panes and meldew tile will have to be called into the repair ctr an assessment would be made and assigned accordingly. A repair man came made the assessment and assigned to a repair division, this was in July of 2005. A painting inspector came to my home in March of 2006 to tell me that he will not be able to send anyone until June of that same year. I'd like help in getting these repairs done and NYCHA is not helping me with that at all. The district and project manager, and my housing manager don't seem to care about my repair problems of the problems that living in this conditions may cause to the health of me and my daughter........Please Help

Responses

  • Re
    renzdude Aug 28, 2019

    ive lived in nycha for 50 years back in the day things were taken care of right away my moher is 76 im 55 we are both disabled weve had a heavy leak in our bathroom for over 8 years have complained even went to court and won they did nothing told judge they havent done a thing judge gave them 6 more months a year later still nothing i dont know who to call about this if the court wont do anything what can i do feel like im in a disgusting prison i pay to live in

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dayve Brasuell Mar 08, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It seems that You people in NYcha don't know what you're doing!. I have followed your instructions regarding then annual recertification but when I go on line, enter my user name and then put in my password. nothing happens. I will go to the office on Wednsday March 13. hopefully someone will be able to assist me. I wish you'd get your act together. I'm Community Advocate Dave Brasuell. My address is 134 Avenue D #6B

    0 Votes
  • Po
    P.O. Renter Feb 13, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've called the hotline number only to speak with some very rude receptionist who was so condescending and disrespectful to start off my demands; once she gave me the date for my expected visit, it turns out this person arrived the next day and not on that specific day as promised.

    When I tried to call a few of their numbers for a response, the automated receptionist on the phone asked that I please hold until someone speaks with me. After 5 minutes the dial tone shuts off leaving a busy signal.

    The next day I’m at work and received a call from my neighbor next door who informs me that a maintenance man had left a note on my door stating I wasn’t home when seeking me. Why would NYCHA do this to me? This action is quite childish and immature. How does an agency like this pull such a stunt on it’s tenant?

    Would anyone know an alternative number to help with responding?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chopinmcq Jan 02, 2018

    "I have lived in Woodside houses since 1986." I currently abandoned my apartment in April 2017; because I was sick of the extreme amounts of heat which caused me to be asthmatic (documented by my doctor) I have lost several jobs and have been reprimanded due to constantly taking off days to stay at home for repair services; in which no one ever came by. I have had constant molding in my bathroom ceiling. Painting over it did not suffice the molding. Wall should have been opened and treated from the inside. I have had Con Edison at my apartment for faulty stove. I have been requesting new cabinets for over 10 years. I have never had a roach infestation until they replaced a broken refrigerator with a refurbished one coming from a rat, roach, and mouse infested basement. My oven broke and had to result in getting am indoor George Foreman Grill. My building was shut down twice a year, since garbage piled up to the 4th floor in my bldg.(Woodside has 6 floors) due to the basement being flea and rat infested; in which workers refused to go in (don't blame them at all). I have been complaining about asbestos exposed tiles, in which every year they stated wasn't so. But the day I left my neighbor called me two days later hysterical about the asbestos abatement being performed in my old apartment. Now my son and I are undergoing full cancer screenings, with the hope of not having mesothelioma or any other asbestos related diseases. Housing will not receive a penny of arrears from me. I will see them in court regarding this asbestos situation; as I have the documents, photos of me and neighbors living conditions, which have been filed with the courts on numerous occasions and nothing has been done. Lawyers are not very helpful in this case, but will find one for a class action.

    0 Votes
  • Eu
    eugene taylor Oct 06, 2017

    my name is Eugene Taylor; I have lived at the address of 771 east 213th street, apt.# 7, Bronx, new york 10467 ; I have lived here for
    nearly 18 years with my brother and sister; my complaint occurred on Friday, September 14, when our present landload kujtim reality solded
    the building we lived in to 771 east 213 street llc; that was stationed in Brooklyn, new York; an associate from that company came to visit to
    say his company wants to fix up four apartments that were gutted that needed repaired- arrording to the associate our apartment was one of
    them; brian, the assocate said we had to move out in order to make the needed repairs. he offered to give us money to ( about 3, 000 to 4, 000)
    to move. when hefirst spoke to my brother and sister he promised to find us another apartment; I went to him to vertify this- his respose was
    he made no promise. could you please look in to this to see if this is some kind of scheme, or sham to get rid of the rent guidline rules; in the
    my family and I still resides at our address.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    Veolla P. Loftin Mar 21, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A notice to all who have complaints. Stop sending messages to this freaking page. Go to the news channels, Start a law suit, individual or group.
    Get petitions signed and go the city officials who are trying to get get your votes, when the time comes.
    We are paying rent and nothing is getting done. And it may sounds out of order to say this, but I will say it anyway. Start praying that all of these
    people who are sitting in these offices on the buts and doing nothing be removed. Pray some one comes in to these offices that do care and will go to all limits to make sure the right thing is done. You see, God can do what we can't/ But you must do your part. I have some
    issues where I live, but the don't care, so I am taking the next step. Our health is at stake, don't fool yourself, they make be doing all this to get us to
    move out. The word is out that they are going to turn NCHA over to a private agency, we may get better service, but you can bet your rent will go through the roof. I hope we all get what we need done and soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edelmira Apr 21, 2016

    I'm tired of housing personnel lies oh we only have one worker doing the jobs really .. I leave in Webster houses in the Bronx . I been calling repair center for a leak in my bathroom that is coming from above me .and they still do not doing nothing at all. My daughter she asthmatic and all the pealing stuff is coming down I went to the office with my pictures and still nothing is been done .. ..also I ask for transfer two years already and I'm still waiting how is the possible that I sleep with y two daughters I'm the same room .. When I see my neighbors with two roomsnd they living alone with the nasty dogs. Smh I can't continue like this I my space and my daughters too specially my asthmatic one need space for her med and machines

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alfred bello Apr 18, 2016

    i am a retired nycha employee i have lived in throgs neck houses for twenty seven years and have complained about many problems to no avail for seven and a half months we have had scaffolding up at my building and project never any work was done i keep asking the manager when it going to be taken down she tells me it must be put up when you are doing work i ask her when is it going to start she says she doesnt know recently the owner of the scaffolding has put the address on it with stray paint not even put on with a spray can with the name of their company or address as required by law i keep complaining about a concrete slap near my building that is used as an legal garbage drop which is against their own rules they put camaras in the lobby at ceiling against wall taking away twenty five percent of their viewing power when i ask about this they say they think it is a privacy law what are they talking about it is in a common area if they moved the camara three feet they would see the entire hallway and if you are taping the hallway outside the A and B apt why wouldnt you be able to do the same with the C D and E apts no camara in the elevators i am appalled to see how badly the nycha is run when i was on the job we tok pride in our work now everything is contracters and they do bad work i have been taking pictures going to go to the news media soon

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer34833 Jan 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    my refridgerator is leaking water I put a ticket in for repairs.but no one has come.I was told that someone would be here today.but no one came.my ticket number is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dayve Brasuell Dec 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Dave Brasuell. I live in the Jacob Riis Projects in NYC. On 12/23/2015, Maintenance workers came to fix my toilet.. They never finished the Job and since then, the so-called new toilet has not only been stopped up, but the toilet seat has been broken and it seems that no one wants to work. As of July, I have been promised a new shower enclosure. That has not happened either. I have reported this to the office of Councilperson Rosie Mendez, and District Leader Anthony Feliciano. My next step is the Mayor's office. It appears that The NYCHA workers do not want to do the work they're supposed to do!

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JK# Oct 19, 2015

    I am a landlord who owns a 3-family house and had a Section 8 tenant. The tenant was terrible and I tried to remove him. NYCHA was of NO HELP. I tried to terminate his lease but the housing court would not evict him. Under the Eviction Review Unit's direction I even returned the rent for the month after I terminated his lease, but then NYCHA stopped all his rent subsidies to me EVEN THOUGH THE COURT ENDED UP DISMISSING THE CASE AND THE TENANT STAYED ANOTHER 3 MONTHS. I had to endure 3 MONTHS OF NO RENT FROM NYCHA while this horrible tenant continued to stay in my apartment.
    Now NYCHA keeps rejecting my requests to pay the back rent because they won't apply common sense to this - they want yet more documentation from me and my now prior tenant. He signed a letter stating he continuously lived there since June, submitted utility bills and I kept submitting requests to NYCH to pay me the contracted rent. He is now gone and NYCHA still refuses to pay his back rent. NYCHA is not landlord friendly and I will NEVER RENT TO A NYCHA tenant again after this.
    Tanant was Jason Valentin. Disturbed other tenant's right to a peaceful existence. He made modifications to the apartment, installed a washing machine (against the lease terms), his wife viciously attacked a neighbor's 15-year old child on the street and was arrested. They smoked pot and K2 in the apartment and tried to force their way in to another tenant's apartment.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Flores Aug 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    hello my name is Jackelyn Flores, I live in the Bronx, in 300 east 158 street Jackson housing, I tired calling housing to get a new or used stove, they keep giving me the same excuses that they don't have a new or use one, for the past three years I have to deal with same stove that don't stop making that noise tin tank all night, and how long I going to be in the waiting list for transfer, I request transfer since my second son was born and now his 5 years old, this year he turn six, I share one bedroom apartment with my two son, age 9, and 5, I think by now, I should be transfer to 2 bedroom apartment, My apartment need to be fix, they need to fix my kitchen wall, the bathroom wall, and change the towels on my floor. I tired calling and the problem is not fix.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Complainant20123 Feb 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Listen closely people these complaints are going unnoticed...this is a ploy (no heat or hot water no repairs; harassment etc.) to get us all out of NYC Housing Projects. NYCHA has sold a good number of units to private developers for millions of dollar...which at a later date those same developers would rise the rents to market value. But here's the good part when they do decide to raise the rents to market value...its supposedly up to NYCHA to say yes or no... now NYCHA has gotten a down payment of oh 150 million dollars... and looking forward to another 100 million. Now since NYCHA's pockets are being lined like that...its inevitable when the time comes & these same developers ask to raise the rents to market value...do you really think NYCHA is going to say no...I don't think so...they want us to get sick & tired of being sick & tired forcing us to leave that is their ploy...!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sheila stukes Sep 06, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    wasMy complaint is about the garbage outside the building I live in the Morris housing I live in building 1385 in the Bronx. I have been living in these projects since I was small these buildings have never been this bad there are new people in the buildings around here there are rats running around. The grounds around the area are filthy the garbage smells I go to the management office all the time the young lady at the desk I talk to the housing assistant and she tells that something will be done it hadn't been done yet. I call the [protected]# alot about the problems they tell me the ticket is in someone will take care of it . HOUSIING DONT even cut the grass .the grass is so high. What Can Be done about this who can I talk to about this can you send inspector to this area to see what is going on. My lawyer and judge is God the people are messing up his earth. He sees everything that is going on I would not like to invite someone to visit me I would be to embrass to name a few will housing read this and do something about it or will they disregard it something needs to be done. Do your job thank God for a job .Amen thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MR. PIN-GU Aug 21, 2014

    Stop ### so much about housing ...if you don't like the conditions you live under then get your lazy ### up, get a real job and find yourself a better place. you bunch for lazy ### . what did you expect ? IT'S HOUSING

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicaury Laureano Mar 24, 2014

    ello my dear, my name is Raquel Blanco in universisity ave rehab, my complaints is about the heat and hot water since beginning of February all tenants in thIs building we are suffering for the bad conditions we have In this kind of wether and no body can Help usI have to warm water Every day please can any body talk to Kraus we are under a new management and believe Me they are not helping us in anything please tell them to do something wE have seniors andlittle kids and no body care about us please do something ASAP

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RAQUEL BLANCO Mar 21, 2014

    03/21/2014
    Hi my name is Raquel Blanco I live in University Ave Rehab 1925 University Ave, I will like to know if we still under New York City Housing Authority, because beginning march 2014 all tenant have to pay the Rent directly to the new management (KRAUS)and also I want to let you know that they send us a insignificant letter with a wrong information and they said is the tenant new lease and also they include $60 dollars for electric bill when I pay my bill directly to CON EDISON company it is possible or is it legal that they can do that, I need a legal paper that represent a legal document to pay the new amount beginning on may 2014 thank you in advance.

    0 Votes
  • 30
    303 Vernon Nov 29, 2013

    My complaint is about the garbage on the floors and how housing rules aren't taken serious and even after being reported and proof is presented the rules aren't still in focused, leaving the people who are throwing their garbage on the floors to continue to break the rules, no respect to the other tenants or the authority, the representives don't enforce the rules or give out panties, where can one turn, cause living in garbage is truly bad! Help...!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alvanso Nov 16, 2013

    N.Y.C.H.A needs to speak to their staff about public relation and professionalism a word that does not fit in their vocabulary. They are impertinent and coarse with their language and have no class whatsoever. We must be respected in order to get respect. I vociferously denounce these practices in order to build a sustainable development with the public.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lilithe Nov 02, 2013

    I was just forced into a shelter over repairs at Polo Grounds Houses in Harlem. My apartment had mold, broken tiles, broken doors/locke, peeling paint, silverfish, windows off the track in both bedrooms and the livingroom, our toilet would not flush, the sink was leaking in the kitchen, and the heating poles did not have the proper coverings. My infant son got burned in his leg and I spent a week in the hospital after inhaling mold/fungus while cleaning the apartment. Our neighbors were loud and reckless, and there was urine in the elevators every day all day. The nycha assistants like to break our mail boxes and charge us $60 to repair them and refuse to fix anything without us presentinf a money order. Even if you pay the illegal fee, repairs are still not done. We were stil fighting nycha in court when acs deemed our apartment uninhabitable and told us to let the apartment go or our children would be removed from our care. We still have all of the paperwork from the 3 year battle, including the falsified paperwork. But nowhere to turn and use this information. We have several years worth of pictures of damages and ticket numbers. Still no help. I feel so helpless bc we are now having trouble finding new suitable housing for ourselves and our children. I think nycha should be shut down for good.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PingW Jul 31, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is second time complaint.
    I live in queens Fresh Meadows NY, is a condo that always leaking on rainy day from ceiling and walks, i call to the management many times, but answers only waiting and do nothing at this moment because they are making a complaint against to the constructor,
    now how can i do ? i just want to fix leaking problem as soon as possible !.
    the management address :
    ABM Management (Adam Manson)
    310 Northern Blvd G
    Great Neck, NY [protected]
    Tel: [protected]

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PingW Jul 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I live in queens Fresh Meadows NY, is a condo that always leaking on rainy day from ceiling and walks, i call to the management many times, but answers only waiting and do nothing at this moment because they are making a complaint against to the constructor,
    now how can i do ? i just want to fix leaking problem as soon as possible !.
    Best Regards

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mimi22 May 05, 2013

    I agree with BLVD resident DOCUMENT EVERY THING and TAKE THEM TO COURT. please don't waste your time with disputes because there going to disagree with you all the way and then they make it seem like your the crazy one. Its a never ending battle, even after you take them to court and win THEY DO NOTHING and back to court we go. They want to harass you for rent make SURE to harass them for repairs.

    -1 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. pleaseanswer Jan 24, 2013

    I have a court order for NYCHA ( Breukelen houses) that ends February 7, 2013
    the contractors just placing the cabinets in without fixing the walls it's holes in the walls
    and they just placing the cabinets to cover the holes. My cabinet has no shelf, the Brooklyn Borough and my management office
    says that the City of N.Y . is only giving out these cabinets with no shelf. I have to place the rest of my dishes in my utility closet. the contractors tells me that it's nothing they can do after I seen the cabinet up on the wall. before the placing of the cabinets he said he had to make the cabinet, So if he made the cabinet why he didn't place a shelf inside? NYCHA wants me to sign papers but I'm not happy of what I see. I don't think the contractors would do their repairs like this why they doing mines. This is the first time I'm taking housing to court because they keep closing my tickets as soon as I put them in with the complaint at [protected]. What am I to do before the date is due for maintenance to come and cover up that all needs to be fixed before painting. please give me a call so I would know how to handle this situation.I called so many offices and no one can help but they understand my complaints. I even called 311.and they gave me this number [protected].I wish that my complaint will be answer before the end of the court order because the contractors and management is pressing me to sign papers that I don't think I should sign because if I sign these papers that means I agree with the work and I can't go back to court because I signed the papers.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doreen Palmer Nov 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have lived in city housing for the past 39 years; I moved to my current address in 2001. My neighbor in the apartment above me has died. His so called family who resided with him for the past four years (without being on the lease) has been a constant source of noise and property damage. The Management (Grenadier Management) has allowed the man's daughter ( an older woman with two adult children and two young children) to keep the apartment. Mind you the apartment is only one bedroom. In the past I have complained to both management and to Housing, Nothing has been done. I currently live alone, I am sixty -five years old, I stopped working due to having been laid off. I was always employed. The manager allowed this woman to be placed on this man's lease, now that he is deceased she lives with her daughter, son, two grandchildren. Management has been both ineffective and has lied to me on several occasions regarding what course of action she has taken. The manager's name is Ms. Sherice Punter, housing assistant.
    On one occasion the family flooded their kitchen causing water damage to my kitchen ceiling, another they flooded the bedroom ceiling causing water damage to my bedroom. It took management two years to repair both. This was after several complaints and numerous inspections.
    All I want is peace to live my senior years in my apartment without the constant harrassment from this family.

    -1 Votes
  • Fe
    Fedupwithnycha Oct 04, 2012

    I would like to lodge a complaint of my own from the other side. I am a landlord of a section 8 tenant. We love our tenant, but the NYCHA? Not so much! We were found to be in violation of having a "missing/broken" mailbox in June, re-inspected in August (passed) and have not received payment for August, September, and now October. The hotline is a joke. No one there has any information or authority and they must all be self-employed because apparently supervisors and hierarchy do not exist. I can't get our issue resolved and as a result have depleted our savings trying to pay our mortgage without the rent that we need to cover it. Just as an aside, we have had individuals from other programs for the past 3 years, and even our initial inspection for this tenant passed with 1 shared mailbox in the front of our home. From the comments posted here it seems having to share a mailbox with landlords in a private house is not the worst of the possibilities of improper living standards. She has a clean apartment, no leaks, bugs, mice, working heat, water and appliances. I can't imagine our checks being cut off after hearing some of the nightmare problems everyone here is living with. This is an injustice to us all. Good landlords like my husband and I will stop accepting section 8 tenants because of the person expense it involves and good people will be forced to continue to live in dirty, dangerous, legitimately problematic housing complexes.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Depressednstressed Mar 29, 2012

    I live in Fulton Houses 17th STREET in 9th AVE this is the worst development i have ever lived in. I have my mold in my bathroom due to not having windows, who ever the asinine designer was who decided that the bathroom didnt need a window where we hang clothes and take showers naw the steam doesn't need to travel no let it just sit and create mold ok broken floor tiles, dirty laundry water backing up in my kitchen sink from my lovely neighbors, paint chipping, an exposed socket, a door barely hanging on the hinges due to being old and never changed. I'm venting becauce this board isn't ment to help the tenants but for the top workers to read and laugh about seeing they get paid to do nothing and they dont have to live like this. The elevators are always broken or people are getting stuck in them and we have three, the fire department comes hours after hearing the darn disstress bell yet everyday its the same situation. We constantly have no hot water or they are cutting the water off all together, garbage piled high in the stair well, human and dog urine in the elevator and in the stair well, as well as human and dog feces. I'm apart of the working families who live in housing and this is a joke; you have to dish out money every first of the month or be threatened with an eviction yet you never get your repairs when needed and its like living in the shelter that you have to pay for. The workers are asinines they get paid to do nothing the manager makes and receives personal phone calls all day long they sit with paper work on their desk as if they do work when all they talk about is peoples apartments and what they're eating for lunch lol. The area in which the development is located is sweet but a dark cloud hangs over these houses "literally". Oh and let me not forget that the ground workers fraternize sexually with the tenants here i thought that you where here to due a job but lazy non supervised low life people will get in where they fit in so so sad. Instead of tickets getting taken care of they close them out claiming they where there with no answer when they're doing other things. Why and how is it that tickets are allowed to be closed out with no signature??? You can send in a complaint as i did it wont help, housing court will just keep having you come back like a chicken with head and acting a fool will definitely get you no where my advise take pictures of everything and record all conversations, there is no greater power than evidence that speaks for it self and can't be disputed. If i could i would love to live in a condo or brownstone cause aleast your money speaks for it self and you pay for what you get. I pay to receive feces i am so depressed i have a therapist over this and am taking depression pills im waiting for a transfer out of here yet it seems it may never happen since i gotta wait until someone becomes deceased before i can maybe move in depending on what number i am on the list. Housing makes rules they never abide by they have people living in non sized apartemnts I.E. my grandmother lives in HARLEM RIVER in a two bedroom by her self and i have a nine year old son and lives in a one bedroom waiting for a death to occur or and eviction to happen so that i can live in the appropriate sized apartment. May God bless me with HELP ASAP!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    lynette Daniel Mar 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As landlord I often wonders why HPD only respond to tenants and not to the landlord. One of my tenants call HPD about no heat before calling me. HPD came out an issue a violation. When HPD contacted me I immediately call the pluming company, who told me that the problem was not the heat was an electrical problem. I immediately call the service man and restore the heat to the apartment. HPD is now taking me to court for not providing heat to the tenants. I find this is very unfair. HPD should first asked the tenants if they contacted the landlord. They also have to give time to get the service man to the building. I also posted the name of my service man on the board in my building, stating in case of an emergency, they should call the service man. I never heard anything from them again. When I tried to call some of them I do not get any answer. I always got in touch with one tenant and always asked if there are any problems and she sometimes call when there is a problem. On March 14, 2012, one tenant called me and tell me that their apartment is too hot I need to turn the heat down. I told her I am going to call the service man, who turn the heat down that day and turn it back up during the night. On March 24, I got a letter stating that I failed to provide heat. The tenants call HPD stating that I did not give heat. I have the tenant in court for non-payment of rent and she is facing an eviction so she is looking for reasons for not paying the rent. I think HPD should contact the landlord and find out what is happening before issuing violations. These tenant often damage the apartments, and then call HPD. They bring added people in the housing to live for free while taxpayers foot the bills. HPD should try to fix the loop holes in the system instead, they issue violations, and respond to every calls that tenants make without consulting with the landlords. That is the reason why some of these tenants think that their life is a free ride, they can damage your building, pay no rent, and HPD will protect them.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    lynette Daniel Mar 24, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would like to know why HPD only respond to tenants and not to landlords. I have tenants who call HPD about heat before they let me know that the heat is not coming up. Tenants call me in March 2012 stating their apartment is too hot and ask me to turn down the heat and then they call HPD stating that they have no heat. Tenants owed rent and when you take them to court for nonpayment of rent they destroy the apartment and then call HPD. When the landlords try to call HPD no one picks up the phone. HPD does not wants to here what the landlord has to say they just issue violations and give a time to get them fix. It seems as if the tenants have the right to destroy your property, and pay no rent because HPD will support them. Tenants have her daughter and 2 children move into the housing and they are not on the least, she destroy the apartment and then call housing. HPD goes after landlords but not after the loop holes in the system because tax payers are picking up the cost.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    josephdubio Mar 19, 2012

    I live in 41-02 12 Street Long Island Apts, and the lady on the first floor smokes cigarettes every day at the lobby door. The wind from outside blows the smoke in the building. Every time I go downstairs, she is there. I have asthma and a high rate of heartbeat because of this. I feel she is killing me with her second hand smoke. Is there anything the city can do to make her stop?

    0 Votes
  • ROBIN66 Mar 19, 2012

    I AM PLANNING TO GO A KMART STORES TO BUY A NEW REFRIGERATOR AND NEW YORK CITY HOUSING AUTHORITY, O PAY FOR ONE.

    0 Votes
  • ROBIN66 Mar 19, 2012

    Dear sir:
    I have some proof and legal right to get new refrigerator. I went to hud. The titles: m1. Replacement older with high - efficiency unit. That i scan the information below.

    0 Votes
  • ROBIN66 Mar 16, 2012

    Dear sir:
    I am filing this complaint of the issue of getting a new refrigerator and i am getting a used refrigerator. Everyone, where i live at soundview houses, get a brand new one. I get one that already used in one or any apartment. I think it's wrong everyone get a brand new and i used one. Any second one. That, why i am filimg a complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    Yolanda Ramirez Jan 30, 2012

    I am a tenant at 1780 first avenue in stanley issacs houses i live on the 13th floor and i been living here for almost 15 years and never have i really complained much but there is a family that live in 13F they have been there for a short while and something has to be done...they are constantly fighting very loud slamming things breaking thing to the point everyone on the 13th floor knows whats going on and the sad part is there is a little boy in that home!!! why hasnt ACS taken that child our of that hostile environment???? the smell that comes out that house is un bearable it smells like a pig sty and they have dogs cats and other animals in that house, im not one to complaint it takes alot for me to really vent out but i dont understand how a mother can subject a child to violence and poor hygiene. i think they should be investigated or better yet removed from our building because its to the point that i cannot take it anymore i have called the cops and nothing has been done this is my last resort before i go to an attorney i pay rent as much as the next tenant at least remove the problem so others can live at peace i hope this issue can be resolved asap because i speak for everyone on the 13th floor it ridiculous Thank You

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    tbrown1755 Jan 15, 2012

    nycha sucks!!!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Loose23 Jan 08, 2012

    I would like to know how it takes after the eligibility interview to be called for an apartment?

    0 Votes
  • ROBIN66 Nov 02, 2011

    It's give me, some stress that people that work in city office, will take advanage of the soluation. Other, yesterday, we i was going out the building, they were deliver a new refrigerator to a tenant, and they give me one, if they will bring one, to me. i will not except. i requested it last year. it's going to be about 9 months, next month it will be an year. this is affecting. And, Sonya M. Kaloyanides have her relative in New York City Housing Authority managerment or/and assistance managerment can not have no one like an relative live New York City building, it's called double standard.

    0 Votes
  • ROBIN66 Nov 01, 2011

    Dear sir / madam:
    I do not know if a managerment of new york city, could let relative living in the building. The assistance manager, sonya m. Kaloyanides. Her niece, that live at apartment #2e. Now, the question is can an managerment that let an relative to live in the housing apartment. And, do this other reason. Honestly, yes, i am. I swear in the bible. Now, if no one believe me.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nieka raymond Oct 03, 2011

    i been living in nyc housing the pomonok for over 5 years i live in my 2 br for over a year i been complaint about my neighbor in 3c of loud music playing all times of day and night i hav my childern here he barbque does what he want and i went to court mediation call the cops i still going throught this b.s housing does not do there job its sad i have my rights noone show up to nothing court nothing here i am sitting here looking like i diding do nothing to make it better for me and my kids my younger son run and hide when he plays his music and when i tell him to turn it down he tells me housing said he can play it who does that .i complaint so much about this i have so many papers from housing telling me they takeing care of it plz im still living with loud noise i dont know what eles to do .i did waht i had to do housing is full of b.s someone needs to step up to wahts really going on here in the pomonok

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spy191230 Sep 24, 2011

    i complain 2242 west 8 housing Illegal alteration

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.