SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Nail Palacenail services/beauty salon

1
G Review updated:

I've encountered the unethical selling tactics in this salon. I visited Nail Palace at Yew Tee Point to remove of Gel Nails and I was being coerced by the Sales Consultant-her name Kitty and the Manger into committing the Nail Service Package. I felt that their pricing was in transparency and dishonest and too many hidden charges. Kitty failed to explain in details and mislead me. I was signed under high pressure and unwillingness, despite telling her that I was in rush to feed my 8 months old baby she still refused to complete the service and holding to my credit card and refused to process the payment for one time service. She even persuade me to leave my credit card with her 1 day to settle the payment at other branch. I've lodge a complaint with CASE and the judge had issued a Court Order to Nail Palace to make a full refund to me by 1st Jan 2017. However, they refused to follow the Court Order and I've not get back any refund from them till todate.

Nail Palace

Responses

  • J
      May 10, 2017

    Their prices are random and they hide all kinds of costs in their packages. The experience you receive at the outlets are truly horrible. They simply do not take no for an answer. Once, their staff ruined my nails because i said no.

    One can only conclude that this kind of culture must be a result of greed at the very very top of management. Nail Palace won't survive. I hope it closes down.

    +6 Votes
  • I
      Apr 08, 2019

    @jackielim Please send an email with your order summary information to [protected]@ipasspay.com to help us fight against credit card payment fraud.We’ll do our best to trace your order and issue a refund when it’s confirmed as a fraud.Thanks so much in advance.

    ******
    Customer Email:
    Shopping Website:
    Order AMT*:
    Order Date:
    ******

    0 Votes
  • W
      Mar 17, 2018

    I bought a pedicure package from nail palace. I wanted to just enjoy the service and rest while they do up up my nails. During the treatment, I was really irritated with the hard sell tactics employed by the staff. From the start of the session, she would make negative remarks on the nail and skin condition. I put up with it for a while but she continue to persist in getting me to buy additional services or items. I found it really annoying even though I asked her to stop her sales pitch. In the end, I got no choice but to ask to see the manager. I asked the manager to write down in my card that whoever is serving me next time, the staff must keep quiet and stop selling me anything! In my last visit, I was asked by the staff to buy a ridiculously overpriced foot file! Reason being the file they are using is of low quality and not hygienic!! It is simply unbelievable. Is it not reasonable to expect that the company provides proper tools and maintain high level of hygiene in a nail spa?? It is like you need to buy your own surgical equipment and take care of the cleanliness of the tools before the surgeon operates on you. Seriously, the company should stop and review its practices before it loses all its customers!!!

    +5 Votes
  • U
      Apr 08, 2018

    @warriorlee agree.. i have experienced that. sometimes, I try to put on earpiece to have me-time but they just find ways to talk to you and be very pushy.. i think all of them are trained to be like that.

    +3 Votes
  • B
      Apr 08, 2019

    @warriorlee Totally same experience happened to me. Couldn't rest or relax throughout the session, become we entertain their hard sell tactics through friendly conversation they strike up with you. I just wanted to do a basic pedicure which costs 42$ end up I did some dead skin removal treatment under their irritating persuasion which total up the bill to 346$. Anyway no point calling for their manager cos she was the one that expect her manicurists to do that to produce sales figure. I don't think they even feel that they themselves are as annoying as fxxx since they are all Malaysians slogging for their rice bowls here

    +2 Votes
  • U
      Apr 08, 2018

    I took package from Nail Palace because they are very persuasive and they keep reducing their price when you say no. Even when I said I dont want to sign on more package, they just dont respect the decision. The staff are friendly to have comversation but they will always try to sell and add-in service or items when customers have existing package. I regretted taking their package and just wanted to complete but the thought of going back and entertaining their pushy sales just make me irritated.

    +5 Votes
  • J
      Jun 18, 2018

    My first visit was during chinese new year where i just wanted to get my first pedicure in my life but end up I realised I stepped into a trap, the person who served me keep selling me about the package and other service and keep pushing and I was forced to sign the package under high pressure but i thought of i could just sign once but the second time i went there again they keep pushing me to top-up credit again I am a person who barely can say no, i agreeable. I was hoping no next time, but today i went for the pedicure to relax after work AGAIN they convince me to get a removal of dead skin for the foot. This time I really told them no I doesnt want it because I really doesnt want to spend too much money for just a foot spa and pedicure, but she keep pushing me until I cannot take it, i was so stupid that I agreed in the end but I am really regret this time because my foot started to feel pain due to over-scrubbing my foot and it is really costy to me as I working at the same time further study for my career. I wanna get a refund!

    +3 Votes
  • J
      Jun 26, 2018

    This sharing is to raise awareness among consumers on the unethical pressuing sales ethics of beauty merchant which we personally encountered. Many of these have already been in the news: https://www.straitstimes.com/.../skincare-and-beauty... The most disgusting regarding such merchants is they never admit they are wrong and refused to refund the unused services to us when requested. Unable to settle anything amicably with the branch or their main office, we will consult CASE/Small Claims to take action accordingly.

    The summary is my wife was persuaded to take up all the "add-ons" during the midst of her session, without being informed of the add-on prices. Eventually that session came up to S$1000+ over, and they even managed to persuade her to purchase 2x additional sessions at additional S$2000+. Only when she came back then she realised that the merchant should have well informed her about all these add-on charges. She therefore went back to clarify the breakdown of prices. Despite agreeing to pay for the 1x session she utilised, the unethical merchant refused to refund the remaining 2 extra unused sessions.

    This is NOT the way to do business.

    If you are interested in the full story:
    https://yap.family/unethical-sales-nail-palace-review.html

    +2 Votes
  • J
      Jun 26, 2018

    If you wish to seek legal action together with us, please let me know your contact details so we can do it together.

    +2 Votes
  • V
      Aug 17, 2018

    I was a few years customer, with them at first their service was not bad slowly I realised they always try to hard sales you every time u go and there was one incident that made me had phobia of visiting them again there ounces they accidentally cut toe nail flesh and didn't told me, is okay the best part is that the sales girl use sanitizer spray to spray it and when another girl saw they sprat it again the third time it was the manager that spray it again is ridiculous, the pain was so bad, instead of telling me about it and apologize they just spray it again and again... Really speechless about their service, now my package have 1-3k+ balance and refund it not applicable, pretty ridculous, and also their nail art is not very nice... I hope they don't just do sales for sales, at least care for your customer

    0 Votes
  • X
      Nov 08, 2018

    Hi, anymore others heading to CASE for report?

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Feb 02, 2019

    @xabcx I have lodged an online complaint with CASE. Anyone here got any refunds back successfully?

    0 Votes
  • C
      Jul 17, 2019

    @ZeldaNic LiewTan Zelda, have you got your refund back?

    0 Votes
  • J
      Nov 22, 2019

    @xabcx I lodged a complaint with CASE after similar horrendous experience at Nail Palace and recently got email back from CASE employee, saying that Nail Palace regret they are unable to refund but are happy to offer me 2 express pedicures!! To say I was NOT HAPPY with that outcome, is an understatement!! I would never set foot in one of their nail salons ever again! Very disappointed that Singapore allow this business to continue ripping off unsuspecting customers/tourists. They should be shut down!

    0 Votes
  • S
      Dec 19, 2018

    My mum has reported to CASE. She was conned $9k for all the packages, add on etc from October to December. When we look at all the receipts, they just doesn’t make sense. Few transactions do not have any official receipts from Nail Palace. And they make my mum sign on the BLANK official receipts before they fill in the details. My mum managed to take photo of her personal particulars in Nail Palace written record card, and funny thing is my mum is a 55 yo lady, her DOB is 3 August 1994. How can my mum look like a 24 years old girl in their eyes? (Note: my mum isn’t born in August).

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Feb 02, 2019

    @Stephanie Tan JH What's the outcome of CASE? Did she manage to get the refunds?

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Feb 02, 2019

    Hi, I have just went to Lot1 Shoppers Mall outlet to do my nails on Monday and wanted to do just an Express gel manicure initially. The staff persuaded me to do Classic Gel Manicure instead as she said I have dead skin and cuticles etc. I agreed. Then when I was seated, 2 more manicurists came and persuaded me to do Classic Gel Pedicure too and commented that all customers also do...plus my feet got dead cuticles and skin etc again. Then after doing, the amount came to about $297. Their 4 manicurists started their high pressure selling, pressure me telling me that if I signed up for package it is only $146 per session. But I would then have to sign up for 20x Classic Gel Manicure and 20x Classic gel pedicure. I tried to fend them off by telling them I only need to do gel nails like 1-2x a year only but they insisted that I get 20x so that I can be offered the low rate, if not will be high. Your 4 manicurists kept pressuring me to sign up. Meanwhile I was still doing my nails and I could not walk away. This is unethical and from what I know from CASE, this is illegal too. They quoted me the price is $2000+ but when it came to payment the bill was $3000+ because of GST, this was not mentioned to me at all previously and the staffs are not forthcoming with the prices. When making payment, a few more of your staff tried to distract me by chatting up with me while another asked me to sign on a piece of paper quickly that looks like invoice without giving me the time to read. I signed it and they didn't even give me to read. Constantly high pressure selling and talking. There are 4 staff constantly buzzing around me. They asked me to sign up quickly and took away the invoice. After that, they just gave me a small piece of receipt depicting the name of the mall and amount paid and a small service records card. However, they didn't give me the original invoice. After I went home, I called up to speak to the manager that I want a refund or at least a reduction of sessions as I don't think I need so many sessions but the manager told me bluntly that there is no refunds for whatever reasons. I told them that I wasn't being told of the terms and conditions but she insisted that their staff had told me! No, they did not, the whole process in the shop was dodgy. One of my nails peeled off the next day and they said will help me touch up. I went back and asked for the original invoice but they said they thought I didn't want it and had thrown it away and they only have the company copy which they can't give it to me. I went to Nail Palace website and feed back but got no response! I felt scammed!

    0 Votes
  • K
      Feb 11, 2019

    submitted the problem to CASE but no outcome
    how about your ?

    0 Votes
  • Z
      Feb 14, 2019

    @kfosks In the process of submission. I also got my toe cut. Hence, going to claim under breach of service contract. There is this loud and obnoxious China lady who is Operations manager who blatantly refuses my request for refund and when I said I am going report to CASE and police, she told me to go on and report! She said till now also no police come to find her! So pissed off with her attitude. Can't speak English at all! Still hurl insults at me.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Apr 08, 2019

    Totally same experience happened to me. Couldn't rest or relax throughout the session, become we entertain their hard sell tactics through friendly conversation they strike up with you. I just wanted to do a basic pedicure which costs 42$ end up I did some dead skin removal treatment under their irritating persuasion which total up the bill to 346$. It would have become some few thousands $ package if I didn't give them a firm NO to their continuous hard sell. They would add more free sessions or down sell the number of package sessions when you said NO. And the manager will get 2 or more manicurists to do your service saying that it will be faster. But now I think back is actually to "group psycho" you into packages etc...

    Anyway no point calling for their manager cos she was the one that expect her manicurists to do that to produce sales figure. When I make payment, she gave me a cb face cos I didn't go for their packages. I don't think they even feel that they themselves are as annoying as fxxx since they are all Malaysians slogging for their rice bowls here

    0 Votes

Post your comment