The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
MyLife.cominvasion of privacy

L Review updated:

This website has put my current location where I reside. It gives details of my past residences, my age, etc. I have an ex-boyfriend that is a very dangerous person and I do my best to keep my privacy for obvious reasons. They have NO right to do this. Who and what is MyLife anyway? I have no affiliations with them! I want this put to a stop immediately! I will be happy to join a class action lawsuit!

Responses

  • Ly
    Lynne C Dec 17, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just came across this site. It is deliberately posting information in a way that twists the truth (it will list you as having a criminal background over something as trivial as a traffic ticket, or past involvement in a family court) for example. And then demand you pay to have it explained or removed. That can hurt someone in reality in a number of ways. Employers, landlords, and all sorts of agencies look people up these days. It is absolutely an invasion of privacy, and borderline libel. And near close to being on the same level as a ransom attack. It is one thing to have a directory where you can look up someone's address, or to pay for a background check the traditional way. But having all of your information gathered on a site like this where everyone can go is not the same. This crosses a line. It would be fine if they hadn't done it without people's knowledge, and then instituted charging them to have it removed. Even creating an account does nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donny Hathaway May 16, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Public information is just that, public information. HOWEVER, portraying incorrect information and forcing people to pay to have it corrected is not. Using someones private information as a marketing tactic is illegal in many states (hence the class action that was started early in 2019 in Illinois) Also, alluding to the fact that someone may be a sex offender borders on libelous. How this site hasn't been shut down yet is beyond me.

    5 Votes
  • Mo
    Monic Beitz Oct 17, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My Life has posted incorrect information about my reputation score. I have had the same friends for years 18 plus years, I am a law abiding citizen, I help the elderly and have brought abused animals back to life. I help others improve their lives and My Life has protrayed me to be a terrible person. I have the proof so let’s bring a class action lawsuit against them or get 60 minutes involved to publicly exposeMy Life!!! I have nothing to hide so let’s bring it on and get some kind of compensation for their slanderous attempt in trying to ruin reputations!!!

    8 Votes
  • Iron Muffin Mar 01, 2013

    All the info those sites post can be found by searching public records.

    1 Votes
  • Pe
    PennyJolk Mar 01, 2013

    The public information argument is crap. What other public information sources are advertising their databases? None that I know of. It should not be easy to access personal information about an individual. When there is a true need to find someone e.g. re-connecting with a lost family member, people are genuinely invested in it and will partake in great measures to find them. There is no true need for just anyone to find information about me.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    PrivacyAdvocate Sep 13, 2012

    They have my families information as well. We have no account with them and do not like our information put out there. I would like to know where they got it and what gives them the right to put it online without our permission. A website for identity theives.

    2 Votes
  • Kt
    ktown May 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please publish when a class action law suite. I'm in

    3 Votes
  • Ce
    Cedelia Mar 14, 2012

    Same for me & nothing I could do but listen to them telling me that I was a former subscriber: I NEVER subscribed to such a service!
    Jeffrey Tinsley & all. See http://www.mylife.com/ManagementTeam.pub - Mylife.com - Reunion.com ... should be sued, fined & out of business, ... & we should be compensated for this.
    Please keed the word & actions going ...

    1 Votes
  • Ds
    dsk2012 Mar 12, 2012

    I have the same problem and I would like to get something done about it! Any solutions?

    2 Votes
  • Ac
    ac100 Feb 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Mylife.com listed my name, age, address and my relationship on their site without my permission.
    I asked remove my profile from their site 6 months ago and they said they will but they never took it down.
    This is serious violation of my privacy. I don't want my private information displayed like this to strangers. The information can be used for fraud!!
    They even put a paragraph like this "My name is xxxxx, I currently live in xxxxxx. I lived in xxxxxx from 20xx to 20xx.
    Before that, I lived in xxxx from 19xx to 20xx. I am related to xxxxxxx who is xx years old and live in xxxxxx, I am also related to xxxxxx who is xx years old and live in xxxxxx, ". Since I never wrote this, this is a case of a forgery. I don't know why this type of business is considered as a legal business!!

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.