Complaints & Reviews

Miss sold Properties

Sorry pressed a wrong button. As said previously we were talked into going to Turkey. Once there we were...

Re: Introduction to Silver Coast Portugal

Does anyone have updated information on Silver Coast Development by MRI in Portugal. I heard through our solicitor Martinez that the land has been seized and MRI can't sell the plot. Martinez say they are taking a case for the court to sell the plot for those who have joined an action. The action costs 6, 000 euro to join. Can't see why MRI don't communicate with people and let them know what is happening.

  • Ca
    caoimhin Jun 18, 2011

    Has anyone any updated information. I heard through Martinez (they are still our solicitors, we haven't changed yet) that MRI still own the property but they can't sell it as the court has seized it. I can't get in touch with MRI - they must be making a fortune in interest on our deposits. I think the Silver Coast investors have a better case than the other MRI victims as the land could be sold to give our money back.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

Lack of Delivery of Apartment in Bulgaria

Complete pack of lies about Silver Mountain Complex in Bulgaria and a swap offer to Aspen Valley and not delivering.

  • Jo
    John Hopperton Jun 08, 2011

    Complete pack of lies about Silver Mountain Complex in Bulgaria and a swap offer to Aspen Valley and not delivering.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

aspen golf

I have bought 2 apartment on aspen golf in Bansko and feel i have been totally ripped off and messed around over the last 5 years..
I oringally bought on pirin park resort and got moved by mri to silver mountain then aspen heights and now unhappily to aspen golf for a lot more money than i should have paid..
I am thinking of taking legal action against mri and i am looking for help and advice for some lawyers i can trust..Can anyone help?
You can contact me on [protected] or [protected]@hotmail.co.uk Cheers Danny

Property Purchase Cyprus

My wife and I purchased a property in Cyprus (the south side) near Paphos in 2004. The property did not come with titled deeds so I have tried to contact the Lawyer who carried out the conveyancing which MRI Property Services recomended I use turned out to be the same lawyer who was representing the seller! They told me that this would speed things up with the sale and work out less expensive for me.

The problem with doing this sort of transaction is that the lawyer then can not represent you legally in a court of law if you have problems acquiring the title deeds. I have tried to contact this lawyer and she did not return my email.

The problem with this is that not all property comes with title deeds so whether you purchase property in the South or North of Cyprus you need to be very careful especially when choosing Estate Agents like MRI Overseas Property & Lawyers.

  • Cl
    Cleo Shahateet Jun 13, 2010

    You have to do your research and get referrals when dealing with agents and lawyers in Paphos. Don't go by interent searches alone but by word of mouth, friend referrals and your instincts too. There have been many people that have been ripped off but also just as many happy customers - just be aware. As for title deeds, you can buy without them if everything is done properly regarding the cancellation agreement and new contract AND make sure the developer does not have a mortgage against the land or already heading for bankruptcy or you may never get them! Cleo Shahateet - http://www.cyprus101.com

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

people to complain to

This is for the attention of all people who have had problems with MacAnthony Realty International (MRI). The Serious Fraud Squad have been looking into our complaint about this company. I have a meeting at the end of April with one of their senior officers and our MP.
I have also put a complaint into the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. I have got a letter back from them stating that they are looking into the complaint.
I will keep you updated.

  • Iz
    izzy Jul 01, 2010

    Hello. I am still in contact with the DBPR in Florida. I was told by MRI that I obviously do not understand the DBPR's role. To clarify this, I contacted them asking what their role is.
    I received the reply below and their role is exactly what I thought it was.
    Apparently they investigate real estate sales agents and brokers - whether or not you live in the USA, and whether or not you have bought in the USA.

    Thank you for contacting the Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR).

    The department does regulate real estate sales agents and brokers. All complaints submitted are reviewed by a complaint analyst. The analyst reviews the complaint and if there appears to be a violation supported by documentation, a case number is assigned and the case is forwarded to the appropriate regional investigative field office for investigation.
    1. If the complaint does not have sufficient information to support the alleged violation, it is assigned a case number and a letter is sent to the complainant requesting additional information.
    2. If there does not appear to be a violation of real estate license law or the Department of Business and Professional Regulation does not have jurisdiction over the matter, a letter is sent to the complainant explaining that a case will not be opened.

    When filing a complaint, please be sure to include any documentation which addresses the complaint.
    Examples of this documentation may include:
    *Sales Contract (front and back)
    *Cancelled checks (front and back)
    *Lease/Rental Agreement (front and back)
    *Listing/Management Agreement (front and back)
    *Closing Statement
    *Multiple Listing Printout
    *Appraisals
    *Repair Bills
    *Monthly Statements
    *Correspondence
    *Agency Disclosure Statement
    *Judgment/Civil Law Suit

    Once your complaint is received the Division of Real Estate will send the complainant a letter upon receipt of the complaint. After a review of the complaint, a complaint analyst will inform the complainant, by letter, of the status of the complaint.

    I trust you will find this information helpful. If you need further information, please E-mail [email protected] or call the Customer Contact Center at (850) 487-1395


    This response prepared by:


    I am informing people of this avenue of complaint, not to seek vengeance, but because I do not want anyone else to go through what we have and are still going through.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christineruby Nov 26, 2013

    I would like to join the complaints about this company. We were mis-sold in sunny beach Bulgaria, along with a host of other people.

    0 Votes

no appartment

My wife and I paid 51, 800 euros for a property In Cabanas, Portugal and been left high and dry( this was in Nov.'06). We were invited to a meeting in toMarch'08, at manchester airport wth that Irish p..., personally and he sat there and told us that unless we invested another 5000 euros in a development on the Silver Coast, Portugal, that we would not recover any of our investment. Didnt hear another word. This was also our life savings. If anyone can give us information that may help my emailis s.[protected]@ntlworld.com

sold us a house off plan and then left us high and dry

We bought a house off plan in cape verde in 2006 and nothing has come of it since.96, 000 euro gone and that was our life savings. dara mc anthony should give us back our money. they told alot of lies to sell the property.

  • Df
    D.F May 01, 2010

    Yes, we are the same. We date back to 2004 and stand to loose everything, thanks to MRI. How do we do something about them, as all we do is read about complaints. I was threatened in an email when complaining. Is there any help to stand up against this ### company? I would love to see them getting their comeuppings. Thanks' DAVE.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mick Lowther Jun 25, 2010

    Has anyone been contacted by a firm called Europen Advisory service who say they will act on purchasers behalf

    Mick

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joules 9207 Jul 14, 2010

    Has anyone heard of these please? they reckon mri assetts have been frozen and a civil law suit is being persued in spain. they want me to sign an afredavid and sent info. cant find their info on law society here in uk or info on then in spain but cant find bad reports about them either. Are they a scam? help required please.

    have contacted 2 people who live in malaga to see if they know any info on them and have heard of them in malaga.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janice Armstrong Aug 05, 2010

    I was caught out by them in 2006, trying to buy a house in Florida. I have lost £50, 000 which is my life savings. They brought me to a development which when I signed up for, I found the incentives offered were illegal, so no mortgage co would offer me a mortgage on this basis. They then tried to change everything around in a manner that meant I couldn't afford to complete, and as I was on the verge of a breakdown through all this I had to walk away. Anyway, I couldn't get anyone to take my calls. I still lie awake at night wondering how I could be so stupid, and the unfairness of it, and them getting richer, just galls me. I wish I could do something about it.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

VAT SCAM

I too have been totally ripped off by the horrendous company - MRI.

I paid €11350.00 to furnish two studio apartments in Aspen Valley in Bulgaria. After the title deeds were given to me (a year later then promised) I was sent an e-mail demanding an extra 20% for VAT, which works out to €2270. The was money invoiced by and paid to a company calling themselves Global Home Services which is a division of MRI Overseas Property, in fact the sales person, Steven McCann introduced himself as a member of the MRI Completions planning department.

According to art.67, paragraph 2 from the Bulgarian VAT law, when at the moment of agreeing the sale and delivery it is not expressly said that the tax is due separately, it is assumed that it is included in the agreed price. Once the company has charged for goods, unless it has expressly agreed with the client to charge VAT at a later date then under Bulgarian law the price paid is assumed to include VAT. It is also the responsibility of the company to pay the VAT to the state.
There is no legal basis for MRI’s requirement that additional VAT be paid before they will deliver the furniture pack this is nothing more than attempted extortion. In this situation the law expressly states that the supplier cannot make delivery conditional on the payment of additional VAT because VAT has ALREADY BEEN PAID.
The above is Bulgarian law but all European Union countries (including Spain and Ireland) have similar laws.

MRI furniture sent me two e-mails demanding this extra money (which they incorrectly / illegally refer to as VAT). The bank account details they gave in the two separate e-mails are different, the first demanding money paid to a Spanish bank account and the second e-mail demanded the money to be paid to a Irish bank account!

Also they do not give any physical contract details and state that only e-mails can be used to contact them. However they have never responded to any of my e-mails. The telephone numbers given on my invoices and receipts for the furniture do not work.

  • Ja
    Janette64 May 26, 2010

    I agree to exactly what has been done to us.. anyway of getting together with other people to see what is going to be done about it.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

furniture paid awaiting installation, aftersales paid for but not received

we have 2 properties in Bulgaria waiting to be finished. fortunately we did not take furniture packages with MRi (although they pestered us for 2 years to take them) we have been told that MRI aftersales, furniture division and all other relevant businessess have been shut down, liquidated whatever you want to call it - obviously so they do not have to pay money back. we were members of lifetime aftersales - which is no more

They are proving very difficult (elusive) to get hold of - so good luck. if you do a bit of digging you will find that there is court action being taken out against MRI - the only issue I have with this or joining this -is that if they have no money or hv changed "holding companies" it coould be a waste of time and money.

Please keep me informed if you get anywhere and I will do likewise

  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

Silver Mountain property

Hi

My partner & I bought a studio in the Silver Mountain complex in Bulgaria. The company was MRI and I'd
warn anybody looking to buy overseas property STAY WELL CLEAR!!! They're liars, cheats and out to get as much money out of you as possible.
At Silver Mountain we paid 50% desposit at an outragious amount for a tiny studio!! In January '09 we've been hassled terribly from them saying our complex was completed and demanding the final 50%. Stupidly we also paid for the furniture pack (which we'll never see).
In May time they came to Belfast for a meeting offering us options on how to pay the last amount. We went and agreed with them but did nothing. We received more threatening phone calls etc and heard from them last week.
We went to a meeting in Belfast again and now they have said that Silver Mountain will take thousands of euros to finish (even though they told us it was finished in february!!!) so we have to buy a studio from aspen heights instead! Its our only option as we'll lose all our money and go to court. The guy got heavy when we were leaving as he was looking 1000 euros that night and 7, 000 euros to be paid in one week time. We signed nothing but the man from MRI wasnt amused.
I've got all I need to know and am sick to death with the lot of them!!! Im taking them to court and I WILL GET MY MONEY BACK!!!
Don't give them another penny! I was told MRI was chased from Bulgaria by the Mafia so how on earth will they be able to take anybody to court if they cant enter the country. They're liars and ###!!! Part with no more money!! They've been taking us to court for nearly a year now and nothings happened yet!!! Theyre just using scare tactics which dont work on us anymore xxx

  • Da
    Dales Nov 26, 2009

    I have bought an appartment on Silver Mountain and paid for it in full, have never received my deeds or furniture which was also paid for. I am left with nothing.

    Is anybody in the same boat and is there a group which is willing to take them to court together as strength is in numbers.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BenA503 Dec 18, 2009

    Hi

    I too have purchased with MRI in the Silver mountain development.
    I've also paid in full as no mortgage was on offer. I do have the title deed, but am shocked to hear that the project is now "frozen". No section 16 has been issued and does NOT look like it will be issued. Is the building really up to section 15 standard? Legal Independence presumed so, they completed on the property on my behalf having power of attorney. Are they a fault?
    Is anyone else in same position pursuing a refund through court? or dealing direct with MRI to reach a mutually satisfactory outcome?

    If anyone wishes to contact me please do so on the following email I've just set up:
    [email protected]

    Thanks
    Ben

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seanie Feb 15, 2010

    Hi

    I am in the same position, I have payed in full for a studio apartment in Silver Mountain and purchased the furniture pack. MRI have arranged a meeting to come to some kind of aggreement, all the time telling me that the development will be completed. I would really appreciate advise from other people who are in the same situation. Legal Independence are encouraging me to bring them to court, for a substantial fee, but I have been advised against this.

    Sean

    0 Votes

More scamming going on

We have paid monies to MRI for a snagging list and deep clean that has never happened in our apartment/condominium situated in Lagos Portugal. Albeit, they passed the money on to whoever was supposed to be doing it...but it is still their responsibility. I have emailed them and the cleaning company on numerous occasions to request a refund as we ended up doing the work ourselves, and surprise surprise, all the contact details I had came bouncing back. Funny how MRI always managed to make contact when they wanted some money. We were asked, nay threatened, that if we did not join their aftersales club, we would not get all these wonderful discounts and back up that they offered. When we did offer to join, we were informed that it no longer existed it was ‘just as cheap to get a taxi from the airport’ etc ourselves...We have had to do everything ourselves, including chasing up solicitors and financial representatives who have both been paid plenty. (on the recommendation of MRI) What was supposed to be a hassle free experience from start to end has been nothing but hard work and perseverance. Promises of info on furniture package suppliers never materialised. When MRI did make contact (long after we had done the cleaning ourselves) their information was so off the mark it was unbelievable. They were telling us dates that contracts were exchanging (which they weren't) pools were going to be ready (which incidentally almost 2 years on are still not started)
We had gone too far to turn back and, luckily enough, with advice from local residents and owners, have gone down our own path and I'm sure if MRI were aware we are ready to accept rentals now, they would be quick off the mark to contact us to appoint them as our agents (as originally advised they would) Goodness knows the pandemonium that would cause!!! I cannot find an email address for Mr MRI himself, but have emailed his wife, who, to date, has not responded. Perhaps if he spent less time worrying about his football teams lack of progress and concentrated more on his overseas property business, a bit of respect may be regained.
Unfortunately, the majority of people including ourselves, have scrimped and saved all our lives for a little bit of luxury or business opportunity, and are in no position to 'fight' the Big Boys, but surely, if enough voices are heard and we have a bit of solidarity, then someone, somewhere, might take notice. Incidentally, we are, at present, as a community in our condominium, fighting against a developer who has gone ahead and done whatever they wanted without consultation, and, as we have all agreed and have majority vote, our voice is being heard and something is now being done. If it wasn’t for this, then we, like a lot of people I see on this forum, would have had no-where to turn to for sensible, accurate and reliable advice. If anyone else has found themselves in a similar situation, please do let us know.

  • Br
    bridget higgins Feb 18, 2010

    hi we are three couples who put deposits down with mri in 2008 on the silver coast in portgul .the apts were to be ready in 2011 they are now telling us they will not be ready until march 2014 they refuse to give us our deposits back they offered us credit notes but we would have to buy one of there properties we are not very happy with this..we are going down the legal route.

    0 Votes

silver coast beech resort

has anyone bought the silver coast beech resort portugal
and then found MRI impossible to get in touch with and
giving many reasons why the project has not started yet

  • Br
    bridget higgins Dec 01, 2009

    hi joanna we are also buying in the silver coast .we are three couples in all and we have found mri unaproachable. if you would like to contact us at [email protected]
    so we may have a chat about what you or we know whats happening with the silver coast resort..bridget dublin ireland...

    -2 Votes
  • Ke
    ken 'n' ann Dec 03, 2009

    hi joanna,

    i am also finding mri very hard to get a stright answer from.
    i bought in the silver coast..but i am stuck between a rock and a hard place..
    because no one will give me a 100% answer to the questions i have for them..
    are they going to build or not, why look for 20% when we agreed to pay it at 30% and 70%..

    if you want to chat about this just call me on 014532709 and ask for ann or ken..

    best of luck

    cheers ken.

    -1 Votes
  • Kw
    K Wall Jan 18, 2010

    Hi Joanna & Ken

    I have purchsed a property at silver coast beach resort and now am very worried. I cannot contact mri and received no answer from emails. And yet mri are contacting me with updates about getting further installments. I am noe having second thoughts about this purchase and am trying to get out of the Contract. If you have any further information please contact me at [email protected]

    Regards
    Karen

    0 Votes

Property scam

I bought two properties in sunny beach in bulgaria. Since i payed the 40% deposit it has been a nightmare. On the first property i have got no 3 year guaranteed rental and MRI will give me know assistance in renting the property and now seem to have vanished off the face of the planet. My second property was suppose to be a front line beach property but when it came to closing on the property i found it was not where it was suppose to be, so I cancled the purchase of the property and cant get my money back i am now out of pocket €50, 000 i see from the complaints board that alot of people are in the same boat and was wandering has anyone had any luck in getting there money back or what route to take. Thanks.

Furniture not installed

We paid MRI over 9, 000 euro to install furniture in an apartment we purchased in the Lighthouse Holiday Village, Bulgaria. Despite repeated e-mails and phone calls, to their Marbella office, Spain they have not contacted me to tell me what is happenning. They asked for a VAT payment on the furniture package we had paid for in May 2009. This was duly paid and they said the furniture would be installed within 8 weeks. It is now 5 months since then and we have heard nothing since.

I have recently been to visit my apartment and found out that i could have got a furniture package from another company for less than half of what we paid MRI!

I have informed MRI that I want my money returned or I will start legal proceedings.


I have heard that they have closed the Spanish office and the Bulgarian office. I suspect that their Irish office has been closed although have not been able to confirm this.

Christina and Patrick Dowling
Dublin

  • Jo
    john1122 Oct 20, 2009

    Christina,

    You're not alone in your feelings towards MRI. Check out www.mrisg.org. You will find over 600 others with similar and worse problems. I have been leaglly informed that the vat they are charging is illegal. Google for the European Consumer Centre (ECC) Bulgaria and they will be able to help. Also contact a solicitor in Bulgaria. Most good ones will take your case up no win no fee.
    MRI are profesional con artist and are being cought out. There are not returning proper accounts and will be struck off UK and Irish companies register. MRI, Capital Financial Partners and Legal Independance have swindled millions from investors over the last few years. Where did Mcanthony get the money to buy a football club???
    They are all bad news.

    I am also from Ireland and having serious difficulties with them. I can't post my name as MRI have a habbit of threatning those who speak the truth with being sued for millions for liable. That is the kind of people they are. Does that sound like a profession organisation. They are closing down offices and sacking employees, who themselves were ripped off. Some of these are now speaking out on how they ran the buisness of ripping people off and laughed about it. Get onto mrisg.org. You are not alone and help is out there.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlotte Nov 17, 2009

    My husband and I bought two Studios in Bulgaria Sunny Beach and still have not received any furniture for one of them which we paid for 3 years ago and we also paid the extra vat in May.

    Has anyone had their furniture installed yet. I heard MRI have gone into liquidation. Do youknow what the latest is on the furniutre installations or have I lost my money. I cant seem to view the comment posted on MRIsg-org

    C and D

    0 Votes
  • Da
    dave b Nov 18, 2009

    MRI's Irish office in Dublin has been closed now for a few months

    0 Votes
  • Iz
    izzy Jan 06, 2010

    This is for the attention of anyone who has had problems.
    Our MP contacted the Serious Fraud Office because of the information I sent regarding what has happened to us.
    We were recently interviewed by the SFO and they have been looking into our case and reviewing all the evidence we have given them.
    Our MP has also been in contact with Arlene McCarthy who is an MEP and she has sent us a letter from Commissioner Meglena Kuneva, who is a member of the European Commission.
    It might be helpful if everyone who feels they have a grievance contacted these people, and organsiations particularly the SFO.
    I will be posting more details on the mri-sg.org website and hope to distribute this information to all members of this site and also to members of the Bulgaria Property Action site.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPC Holding Jun 29, 2011

    Hi,

    I'm not trying to Spam this post or anything I hasten to add it's just that I work for a company called CPC Holding.

    My name's Samantha Roberts and CPC Holding is the company, we help throughout the UK and have recently had an enquiry about MRI here in the office which led to a good bit of research and it being added to our (very long) list of problem companies.

    It seems that we're able to help in a lot of instances and I spoke to my boss and anyone who gives us a ring and quotes the complaints board we are prepared to give you guys a free no obiligation consultation...

    I've been looking at the mess some of the people are in and it quite simply infuriates me.

    It's our job to solve problems abroad and I think that there's a lot of members on here that we can help.

    The company was formed out of being disgusted at the way some people have been treated in the past and how so many people feel lost in a minefield.

    We spend everyday campaigning for clients and helping in any way we can. if anyone wants to ring us you're more than welcome to just have a chat because I can imagine a lot of people are really upset. 01913782389.

    www.cpcholding.co.uk

    I truly hope we can help some of you.


    Sam

    0 Votes

property purchase

In process of purchasing a property in murcia, Spain.My wife and I went on an inspection trip to Spain with MRI.Pauline Conroy was the sales rep who showed us around, i, m a disabled person, found Pauline very pushy, kept us out all day, in very hot conditions until she got a sale.Our place is now near compleltion and after paying MRI for their future service they are not there anymore.So we are left to sort this out on our own.I have read the complaints web site, and found MRI did this to us.Took our money and give us nothing in return.Beware of MRI and Pauline Conroy.

Furniture Pack & loss of 50% deposit on Bansko apartment

We were given a hard sell into purchasing a furniture package in Dec 2006 for an apartment in Bansko which we have not been able to complete on due to the mortgages being stopped in Bulgaria during this recession, hence we have not been able to get back the 50% deposit paid for Three Mountains apartments but also MRI have not given us a refund and we have even sourced storage for this furniture pack, but MRI dont reply to emails or our constant phone calls.

Has anyone taken this via a legal route as we would like to get a solicitor involved to try and get our money back.

  • As
    A.Soleas Oct 25, 2009

    Hello there, we have been waiting three years for our apts in Pirin Park View Bansko to complete which they have done in May 09, since then we have been waitig for furniture packs to arrive (2 apts were purchased and paid £10, 000 for) and have been unable to get through to anyone. Contacted MRI Construction who forwarded an email for me. I have since received an email saying that due to the fact that the apts didn't complete on time the terms and conditions of the furnitue pack state that they have now expired. How can this be when I have already paid? A deliberate con if you ask me as none of MRI's developments complete on time. We are seeking legal actions and have contacted BBC's watchdog. MRI Overseas Property i currently sponsoring Peterborough Utd and Daargh MacAnthony who was director of MRI at the time of my purchase is now heavily involved in this football club. I take it our money went into investing into this football club. Have a look at their shirts, MRI Overseas is all over them. Disgusting.

    A.Soleas

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dreamapart Mar 26, 2010

    MRI have conned me out of about 80, 000 euros in bansko. legal action required for sure.

    Lets get together:
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

Silver Mountain

We purchased a studio appartment in 2007 and paid 50% deposit in total. After being promissed guaranteed finance, we have been told that it is not available and we have to find the money. After a meeting in Leeds 11 days ago, we have been told we can either pay the remainder in full, pay half and then half over three years, or the bank will take our property and MRI will sue us for a further £7, 000 euros. What we want to know is MRI DO NOT have a signed contract from us. We have to proof of payment of our money through HIFX but do not know what todo from here. How do we stand legally?

  • No
    noviceinvestor Sep 13, 2009

    Would urge b/away to join mri-sg.org website where hundreds of scammed investors of MRI post info and case histories. Also it can link you to other specific groups and join together for legal action. Although evidence by investors and action taken against them by professional bodies indicates dishonesty and reckless misrepresentation on a massive scale they, like all clever con artists, have tried to tie up the legal side of their contracts so that they will have a their customers over a legal barrel. Only determined group action will stop their tactic of picking off investors one by one with threats of court action and lost deposits. Silver Mountain has not seen builders for months, is no nearer habitation certificate standard ie Act 16 and investors have been told it will not have any facilities at all even if it is ever finished. So much for the swimming pools, spa, ski facilities, shuttle bus, bars n restaurants, guaranteed rental blah blah.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kenneth Brown Jan 04, 2010

    I too have bought an apartment at Silver Mountain in Bulgaria and await completion. Promised updates have not materialised, and my Bulgarian solicitor is asking for 3000 Euros up front to pursue penalty clauses.
    Is there a concerted efforrt underway to brin about a solution?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    peva Mar 10, 2010

    I bought and paid for a studio apartment and furniture pack from MRI and it was supposed to be finished a year ago. Then MRI dropped of the face of the earth. They got in touch in January to tell me every thing was fine and they would be in Belfast 19/2/10 at 1pm at the Hilton hotel. Surprise surprise i got a call at 10am to say the meeting had been canceled and i have nothing since. Legal Independence are also asking me for a large amount of money for a joint action which i would have thought would make it cheaper.Perhaps the rip offs have not finished. Does anyone know of an action group or association and all owner could get together

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    PaulRussell Mar 29, 2010

    Hi Peva,

    You may not like what I have to say but here goes. Firstly it is a good deal cheaper to fly to Bulgaria go shopping for your furniture, furnish your house/apartment and have a holiday than to pay these people.
    If you have paid these people chances are you can forget it. If you want to fight them then the first problem is; who is your target? Are they still in existence. If its a company is it owned by people or by another company in Spain perhaps. You cannot attack something unless you have a target.
    Litigation in Bulgaria is cheap and it works but you have to have a case and the case has to have a defendant whether it be a company or a person. No target no case.

    The Commandments

    1.Do not buy a property that does not exist.
    2.Only buy an apartment in a complex where the common areas (lifts stairs gardens pools) are owned and controlled by the owners
    3.Never hand over money for a property unless you are sitting in front of a Notary in the Notary's office with all the relevant documentation in certified translation to hand and accompanied by your registered interpreter and your lawyer.
    4.If you need to grant a Power of Attorney to your Bulgarian lawyer or accountant to look after your affairs then the Power of Attorney should state clearly what they can do and the it should have a time limit.
    5.If you require furniture for your property come to Bulgaria and do it yourself. Its cheaper and you get a free holiday.
    6.Set up an private online owners forum for your complex.

    The most important thing is to take control of the situation! Waiting for people to find some morality is a waste of time. Many of these people do not know what morality is. In our experience when the owners get control of a complex the problems get fixed and a community based on mutual interest provides all the owners with security.

    Good luck

    Paul
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nadbby Mar 30, 2010

    Hello, you can contact bresserslaw office, probably they can help you.

    0 Votes

Lies

We invested in Lake View Turkey in April 2007, saying our deposit of 28K euros was safe etc. We took out...

property

My name is hayley and have signed up and paid for a studio in Romania City Residence. We were contacted on Tuesday Advising us to meet up with the managing director in Cardiff on Thursday (yesturday) we went and were informed that it would not be in our best interest to buy in Romania. They wanted us to terminate our agreement and said that if we wanted to carry on with the development then they would build but the property would not be viable. They will not give us our money back (E, 40, 000) and have offered us another property in Bulgaria called Aspen Suites, but if we want this we ahve to pay a further 6, 000 euro's to hold the property. I have read really bad things about them and don't trust them. Are you aware of anyone else being in this siuation, any advice please. [protected]@hotmail.com

  • Ma
    mary Mar 30, 2009

    I bought a property in portugal 2 years a go.I was told so many lies.Can anyone advise me how to get my money back.


    Mary

    0 Votes
  • Km
    K.M.Rawlings Sep 25, 2009

    I agree MRI have taken peoples hard earned money and then disappeared, something has got to done.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem