The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Mr. Lubeengine failure - claim denial

On July 3rd 2009 I took my 2005 Honda Civic (42000 kms) for an oil change to MR.LUBE. As part of their inspection they removed the air filter. It appeared OK as per their report and the filter was re-installed. The service technician was a teenager, just a kid. Two weeks later my engine failed on July 17th 2009. The vehicle was taken to a Honda Dealership for repair and the evaluation determined that fragments from a broken screw had fallen through the throttle body and into the combustion chambers damaging pistons # 1 & 4. It was also found that all the air filter cover screws were all broken A piece of one screws was was found in the exhaust manifold. I submitted a claim to MR. LUBE which they have repeatedly denied. They have not provided any supporting evidence to explain the denial and base their evaluation on their own prejudiced opinion. They simply do not want to pay. The damages exceed $5000.00 as the engine was completely destroyed. I have also contacted the Director of Customer Experiences at MR.LUBE Head office and I was told that their franchise stores have autonomy to make their own decisions in such matters and in no way can MR.LUBE direct their franchisee stores to change their decisions for say in this matter.

I am outraged at their handling of this case. I must now seek litigation to resolve this issue. Further c0sts which I will have to bear. They are at fault and all the facts I have gathered indicate so. I have had no vehicle for two months while they dithered in their investigation which was very partisan. I will never use MR.LUBE again. It is the most costly mistake I have ever made. Fellow consumers, BE WARNED.

engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial
engine failure - claim denial

Responses

  • Ra
    Raymond007 Dec 17, 2015

    Engine oil changed(standard oil, manufacture filter) by Mr. Lube on Nov. 15, 2015 with odometer reading 12000 km.
    The car was asking me to change oil again on Dec. 16, 2015 with odometer reading 14750km.
    Wonder why.

    1 Votes
  • Bm
    bmer Feb 26, 2013

    Just wondering if you got them to pay up finally!!?
    I am in the beginning of a similar engine failure case.
    Pls let me know.
    Thx

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MICHAEL MASON Jan 16, 2013

    Stay away from this place at all costs. Very expensive and the service is horrible. They also try to constantly sell you something.

    -2 Votes
  • Ma
    Master tech 72 Jan 15, 2013

    A bolt went from the air leaner thru to the exhaust manifold, boy you gotta love te Internet and the bs that is allowed to be posted here, absolute lie or exaggeration of what really happened

    -1 Votes
  • Wo
    workfighter Mar 27, 2012

    How are you supposed to show somebody that you changed the differential fluid? Unless some one brings you down stairs and lets you hang over his shoulder as you pump and suck out fluid. They do car maintenance, its not their fault if you don't "feel" the difference when you buy a new air filter. Its uneducated people who give mechanics and service providers poor reviews 90% of the time.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom Li Nov 12, 2011

    I went to Mr Lube for oil change which was my first time experience, they charge me $93 which was double price of my dealer charges. They are over pricing and grab money from their customer's pocket without proving additional services. I will never come to Mr Lube any more.

    0 Votes
  • Cb
    C_Bird Jan 04, 2011

    Holy Crumb! I feel lucky now that they only wrecked a connector and pigtail. Well, if nothing else they are good advertising for the dealerships. Worthless warts they are.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.