Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Business Services Mohawk Industries Avoid them
K
Author of the complaint
6:32 pm EST
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I replaced my home carpet after 15 years only because it was out-dated. I was suckered into Mohawk's smartstrand 2 years ago based on their ads. Carpet is in high traffic areas, LR, BR, stairs, hall. We have no children, no pets, take off our shoes and vacuum regularly. Within 9 months, smartstrand was looking soiled. Salesman offered cleaning after a year. Mohawk's brochure says steam cleaning will return it to like new appearance. They ran steamer over areas several times and blamed it on a shadow. Made claim with Mohawk, they made me pay to have it cleaned again and have now tried 3 times with NO results. Carpet looks soiled, almost black and awful. Mohawk sent out an inspector who wasted my time. He took a white rag and repeatedly rubbed areas until the rag looked dirty, although the carpet appearance never changed. He blamed me and everything under the sun, except the carpet. Mohawk denied my claim because dirt was transferred to the rag, it must not be the carpet. What a joke and insult. SMARTSTRAND CARPET IS JUNK. Mohawk DOES NOT honor their bogus warranty. I am warning anyone I can, not to waste your money like I did.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Mohawk Industries complaints & reviews

Mohawk Industries - Bad service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - Carpet fibers coming out leaving holes
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - Defective Carpet
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - carper fibers coming out
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - Defective carpet
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - Awful service
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Mohawk Industries - Defect in Carpet/Warranty refusal
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
16 comments
Add a comment
M
Feb 27, 2021 1:28 pm EST

I am looking at Karastan Smartstran- Triexta. Is it as bad as the Mohawk version? Are those companies products the same product now?

C
Feb 03, 2021 1:01 pm EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Installed SmartStrand carpet in June 2018. Had the carpet professionally cleaned as required for the warranty. Spent $4500 for the carpet, top rated padding and installation. After two years it showed extreme wear patterns so we had it inspected by Mowhawk's technician and then waited almost a year to hear back from them. They would do absolutely nothing to honor their warranty. This company doesn't deserve to bear the name Mowhawk as they used to be a real stand-up company.

A
Oct 24, 2020 4:58 pm EDT

Just had my 11 month old smart strand carpet professionally cleaned and am I disappointed. Vacuum three times a week and the darkening of the carpet was something we thought a cleaning would take care of. But the traffic trail never came out. I am extremely unhappy with this product. I will contact my installer and mohawk but based on what I’m reading on multiple sites it probably won’t do me any good. Boy did I make a mistake not going with nylon

D
Sep 25, 2020 12:16 pm EDT

Worst carpet ever.
Faded.
Stains don’t come right up, water does not stain.
Mats.
Crushes.
Horrible.
Avoid.

P
Nov 27, 2019 9:23 pm EST

I have had my smartstrand carpet down now for around 5 years and I am absolutely delighted with it. Anything spilled on it comes out straight away using the Mohawk carpet cleaner. I couldn't be happier. The feel of it beneath my bare feet is luxuriously soft. And it looks as good today as it did when it first went down.

M
Jun 03, 2019 7:48 am EDT

I just had mine installed last week and I can already tell that it is cheap. I hate it. I had carpet that had lasted 10 years on my stairs before and it was in better shape (in terms of thickness) than this new carpet. This carpet is so thin I can feel the wood underneath and all of the nails underneath. I actually [censored]ed my toes when walking on it. I have never seen such a cheap product in all my life. It looks nice upon first glance, but as soon as you walk on it you can feel the difference. Sooooo disappointed. :(

H
Aug 15, 2018 8:09 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have the same problem. Look at what my smartstrand carpet looks like four years later. I put remnant of original carpet on top of the four year old carpet. Carpet is now another color.

S
Jul 09, 2018 10:03 am EDT

Spent 7000.00$ on mohawk carpet it is the biggest worst carpet on the market called customer service was told not there promblem (nancy) matting was caused by wheel on chair my chair has 4 wheels problem not there under other 3 one month old when issue occured they sent inspector to look at carpet of course bad area was my fault this guy (david zak) gets paid by mohawk do not let this clown in your home tell everybody you know not to buy mohawk carpet going to hire attorney if any body else wants to join my effort please write me [email protected] I will pay fees this company is nothing but aripoff again tell everybody not to buy mohawk carpet steve mryncza

H
Dec 26, 2018 5:37 pm EST

I just had it installed after having a dixie nylon carpet for 15 years.This smartsrand was highly recommended bottom line its a cheap carpet ! It might greta for clean up but its a thin cheap carpet no real weight to it do not waste your money get nylon you will be happier .

K
Aug 29, 2010 3:50 pm EDT

MoHawk carpet turned our vinyl floor yellow. They said it was cheap vinyl flooring but other brand rugs we have on the vinyl did not yellow it. I believe they have a manufacturing procces issue and don't what to admit it. We bought it from Target and they don't stand behind what they sell either.

P
Oct 16, 2015 2:12 am EDT

I had this carpet installed in April, this year. It is impossible to vacuum. My dyson literally will not move, it gets stuck to the carpet. I went back to the retailer who bought me a cheaper, smaller vacuum with less suction. Even this machine is hard to use. The result is the carpet is looking dull and getting dirtier. There are footprints all over it which makes it look cheap, which it most definitely was not. It was top of the range price wise.
I was seduced by the softness and the advertising which claimed it was a luxury product, stain resistant in the extreme. It came with no care instructions and no warning that a dyson vacuum would not work on it. If it had, I would never have bought this carpet. I am very disappointed and having this whole thing replaced this weekend.

J
Jan 02, 2019 8:55 am EST

The carpet is cheap! They claim its stain resisted put the quality of the carpet itself is cheap. I purchased 154 yards for 5 bedrooms. The first bedroom was laid out i knew right away it was cheap no density its garbage I was able to get another carpet which I chose Masland stainmaster a 100 times better. Do not but smartstrand its garbage.

M
Mar 28, 2015 12:14 pm EDT

Our carpet is holding-up beautifully. What I have noticed immediately after installation in 2009 and since then is a light bluish colored film on any and all glass in the home. I wash the windows and mirrors and within a month the film is quite visible and only gets thicker and dirtier. Even the underside of our glass table tops gets just as filmy as the windows. I never had to wash the windows as often before we got this carpet. I thought the filming would get less noticeable with time but has not. If the gas released from this carpet is causing filming on the glass, then it is on the walls, ceilings, furniture, everything. Worse yet, I'm breathing the air with this film causing gas. Anyone else notice excessively filmy windows?

G
May 14, 2014 10:29 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I am experiencing the same problem. After the carpet was installed it looked dirty. The adds sounded so promising, the reason I purchased it. I have heard you get no where with the carpet inspectors so I didn't bother to call them. I would not recommend to any one to purchase smart strand.

C
Jan 31, 2013 11:54 pm EST

If dirt transferred to a white rag after rubbing your carpet it obviously came from the carpet. Dirt on the rag = dirty carpet. Sounds like the company who "cleaned" your carpet did not do a very good job.

G
Sep 29, 2012 2:34 pm EDT

We had a very similar experience. After one year the carpet looked dirty, matted down in several places and had two spots which would not come out. Mohawk sent out a carpet inspector which was an absolute joke. He found that there was no manufacturer defect. Now I am not a carpet inspector, but I am smart enough to know that stains that will not come out of a stain proof carpet is not right. After two years we began shopping for a replacement. At that point we went back to Home Depot where we bought the carpet. They interceeded and replaced the carpet without question.

Mohawk was absolutly terrible. Your comments are right on target.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

24 complaints
13 resolved 11 unresolved

Mohawk Industries contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
160 S Industrial Blvd, Georgia United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT