Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Cosmetics Mitchum bleaching

Mitchum  -  bleaching

A
Author of the complaint
1:40 pm EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

To Whom it May Concern:

Today I used your lovely Mitchum gel deodorant, only to discover it left bleach marks all over my shirt, it’s ruined. I find it very unethical that your company does not even list this as a possibility on the back of your product. What’s even more ironic is that it says “Leaves no trace on clothes.” I can’t imagine how embarrassing it must be when this happens to one of your consumers when they are out in public, or even worse, on a date. Couldn’t somebody sue you for emotional distress because in the middle of a date they developed massive bleach stains under their armpits? Furthermore, your delighted customer is out of money for their brand new shirt your product just ruined! What disgusts me on top of this is how many complaints about this product you can find online. Your company knows this is an issue, but is chooses to ignore it. I used to be a life long customer of your Mitchum and Revlon products, but not anymore. Don’t be surprised when somebody gets pissed off enough to put this on youtube.

Sincerely,

Miss never buying from you again

ADVERTISIMENT
17 comments
Add a comment
D
Apr 26, 2021 7:06 pm EDT

OMG. My husband has been blaming my laundry skills! Ruined one of his blue shirts. Bought and one and OMG. Same issue. Bleach spots. Googled Mitchum "issues" and discovered this page! Why?! Trying the vinegar solution fingers crossed it will work. If not these two shirts are garbage. Urg!

F
May 23, 2020 12:07 am EDT

So bloody mad today I have just put on a fairly new jumper only to find out the under arms have been bleached I think Mitchum should pay for a new jumper I’m so disappointed spend hundreds of $’s on nice clothing for it to be ruined by MITCHUM DEODORANT what does it do to our bodies?

View 0 more photos
W
Jul 05, 2019 12:13 pm EDT

I have had the same problem 4 blue work shirts that have bleached to white using mitchum.
As I suffer from hyperhidrosis I am already self conscious enough without drawing further attention to myself!

V
Oct 24, 2018 2:51 am EDT

thank you for the vinegar solution. it worked. saved the shirt!

V
Oct 24, 2018 2:50 am EDT

it is true. the vinegar works... i poured some directly on the stains and added a cup to the wash basin. it is an expensive linen shirt no machine washing would i do..but why should i have to ? why is this product sold ?who would buy it if they knew ? why should we have to go through the embarrassment ? i can only reiterate my earlier post, screw you, mitchum, screw you. but thanks to the reader who submitted the vinegar solution! saved my 99 dollar shirt. i took the mitchum back to riteaid. they know of the problem. i wonder why they sell it. oh. yeah.whatever the market will bear...

V
Oct 23, 2018 5:52 pm EDT

youve known this all this time, mitchum. and you a still selling this crap? brand new 99 dollar linen special occasion i had no idea. none, screw you mitchum. why be gentle with you? it was a special shirt. it wa a special occasion. you ruined it. i bet you dont use your own product. screw you, mitchum, screw you

D
Nov 26, 2017 6:03 am EST

You are all hilarious.

Clear gel deodorant is high in alcohol content.

All clear gel deodorants do this... Unless you just started using deodorant, I don't understand how you all don't know this...

Y
Mar 19, 2018 2:03 am EDT

Hm, let's see... it's not in the ingredients (unless it's undercover as one of the 26 letter long ingredients) so that could be why.

You didn't magically know it had high alcohol content either until someone told you or you looked it up so stuff it.

M
Jun 13, 2016 6:55 pm EDT

I have to arter'ex polls and both are ruined after wearing them for maybe a couple hours each...ridiculous!

X
Mar 16, 2015 6:04 pm EDT

I am currently sitting in my office, wearing a brand new t-shirt, which now thanks to Mitchum has bleach stains under both arms. Thanks for that! I will try the white vinegar trick, so thank you to whom ever posted that.

M
Sep 24, 2014 10:20 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

How about you all google 'Old Spice Chemical Burn', you all think that you're suffering?! I would give anything for just a few bleached shirts! These deodorant brands and the chemicals inside them are getting crazy! It's time for a stand!

T
Jun 23, 2013 8:15 pm EDT

I think it is time for a class action suit against Mitchum. Today my wife asked me, "Can't you use a deodorant that doesn't destroy all your nice polo shirts?" She's right. Shame on you Mitchum. I'm going to go looking for some type of compensation.

K
Jul 08, 2011 4:49 am EDT

I agree why does this bleaching happen, what is the purpose in making a product that will ruin your clothes it doesnt make any since...im very disapointed in this product i went out and bought this mitchum clear gel powder fresh for a very expensive dress i was wearing to a wedding and it ruined the dress there is nothing i can do to fix it..it was beautiful hot pink dress and now it has bright orange arm pit stains (bleached out) and so i thought im going to test this deodarnt to make sure that is what it was so i got an old green t-shirt with blue sleeves and i swiped a clean sweep of this gel on the green and the same on the blue and yes it was the mitchum and it had nothing to do with the reaction of my body chemistry becasue my body wasnt near this shirt i had this shirt on a table and these bleached stains appeared with in the hour..so i am contacting this company again and i dare them to say its my body chemistry again!

S
Mar 18, 2011 7:42 pm EDT

You can get rid of the "bleaching" on shirts from clear gel deodorant by adding white vinegar to your washing machine with warm water and detergent. The "bleaching" is caused by a reaction of something in the deodorant with certain types of fabric dyes. Vinegar reverses this for whatever reason-- I'm not a chemist, but it works. I just did it.

B
Nov 09, 2010 1:13 pm EST

Mitchum destroyed five or six shirts before I discovered the cause of the bleaching. I've lost over $100 to their product. Don't ever go near it!

I
Jul 11, 2009 12:48 pm EDT

I recently switched to Mitchum Power Gel. It bleached a brand new Banana Republic shirt turning green to yellow. I cannot wear this shirt again.

N
Feb 10, 2009 11:55 am EST

Ok people... I finally found a phone number to contact Mitchum about their lousy product! Make sure to save the deoderant because they will only refund your money if you have the code on the bottom of the tube.

[protected]

Good luck!

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

204 complaints
20 resolved 184 unresolved

Mitchum contacts

(added by reviewer)
One New York Plaza, New York United States
ADVERTISIMENT