The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Melaleucacan't cancel

J Review updated:

One day after signing up, I learned on the internet what a scam this was. following their instructions I sent a certified letter, FAX and email to cancel. After reading many of the online complaints I tried to cover all bases. On November 22, 2008 I wrote:

"Please cancel my agreement made via internet on Friday November 21, 2008. Please cancel all and any agreements including but not limited to the three that were on the webpage. Cancel any orders, cancel any kits even though I did not make any orders or order anything, please cancel anything and everything that would have to do with me being a buyer, consumer, distributor, member or any other terminology used by your company. To clarify further, I cancel any type of agreement I could have with your company and do not authorize any charges to my credit card. Reason: Research of your company was negative."

Everything seemed OK and surprise - only in March, 2009 a charge showed up (were they hoping I wouldn't notice?) I disputed it with the credit card company and it was reversed. Now in April the same thing. the credit card company got them on a three way call and after reading the content of my letter they said I failed to cancel on their website! The credit card company ate the cost as Melaleuca refused. I agreed with the credit card rep to go online and cancel according to the instructions we were given on the conference call. Guess what? there is no cancel instructions.

finally I was able to cancel at http://myaccount.itapp.net/mymelaleuca/cancel
Real easy to find huh? Even though we were told we could just go to the melaleuca site and easily find the cancelation instructions.

What a scam!

Responses

  • Jo
    Jon Snowhite Sep 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Useful piece - my colleague earlier today saw https://goo.gl/bf5bpU to convert pdf - It's pretty effortless to try out and it's practically peanuts . I was told that they are offering a 7 day promotion currently

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melodee min Sep 10, 2016

    If you notice the lame complaints on here, it sounds like the same person. I wouldn't be surprised if it's someone from another company just putting doubt in people's minds. It's crazy. Over 150, 000 people per month enroll in the melaleuca shopping club. Over a million people shop with them every single month. I am a marketing executive for melaleuca and I can tell you that these complaints are from ignorant people who don't understand how it works. They either didn't listen to an overview or they think their way is better. It is super simple to suspend your account if you so choose. But who would want to? The products are pure and healthy. They do not contain parable so ready formaldehyde as one person here claims. This company has been around and growing since 1985. And it's all made in the US. PERHAPS YOU WOULD RATHER USE THE CRAP MADE IN CHINA. HALF WATER AND TWICE THE PRICE. HOW ABOUT A NICE BIG BOTTLE OF TIDE. Contains 7 CANCER CAUSING AGENTS AND CRUSHED FIBERGLASS. I'll continue to use this great company and earn a very healthy income as well. WE AT MELALEUCA JUST NEED TO FIND MORE INTELLIGENT CUSTOMERS

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
    CheshiresBlazed Jun 03, 2016

    This I find to be false. I have been with the Melaleuca company my whole life and not once have I ever heard of something like this. I called the Melaleuca customer hotline one day, told them to temporarily cancel my account (something you can do with a preferred customer account, which it seems you "accidentally" signed up for), she asked me to write a letter and send them an email with a picture of the letter. I did. Boom. They put the account on hold, and I was still able to reopen it within the six month time frame.

    Melaleuca is NOT a scam. Melaleuca is a wonderful company. I literally live my life by this stuff. Do not set a bad example/review for something that could quite possibly be a "user error." If at any time you were confused as to what was going on, you could have easily called the Melaleuca customer number BEFORE you were "scammed." Good day.

    0 Votes
  • Vw
    VWP Jan 03, 2016

    Am trying to cancel...still can't get to the page where it has a PDF form, just a place where they will "email you the instructions" and when you click on the "helpful" link they send you it just sends you to the main website. Have been working at this for two days now.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whatever1000 Oct 21, 2015

    We moved out of the US and cancelled via written letter (they say they never received). We called them again, a month or so later, asking them to stop all shipments and sever the relationship. The billings continued, I have now emailed them a copy of a signed letter stating that we no longer wanted to be billed for products they continue to send to our previous address. I will follow up on this board and with legal authorities if they do not process the cancellation. If you don't hear from me, then Melaleuca have fulfilled their promise to cancel.
    thanks -- rr

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    perkygurlhere Sep 30, 2013

    Listen i dont want to be mean or anything but i seriously agree that Melaleuca is a bunch of bull****... its been 3 months since ive been getting texts and email saying this and that.. Like how am i suppose to get my reward points if i couldnt even quit my account... EVERY single month they tell me to order stuff and so im here filled with loads of stuff i dont need... seriously Im trying to get in contact with them but they always say theyre gonna call back or something and they never do!!! THEYRE JUST SCAM.. ireland doesnt need Melaleuca

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BIG DADDY 1242 Sep 05, 2018

    @perkygurlhere Why didn't you call your enroller, thats where your texts and email were coming from, as far as the LOADS of stuff you don't need WHY DID YOU ORDER THEM, better yet, if you ordered them, WHY DIDN"T YOU USE THEM!!!
    Ireland doesn't need perkygurlhere (if that really is you) who can't even spell your own country with a capital letter

    0 Votes
  • Am
    ambereye Mar 19, 2013

    I signed up for Melaleuca in 2011. I had to cancel during Christmas for two months and it was very easy to do so. I am the biggest skeptic of all and I kept waiting for a hidden charge to show up, and it never happened. I was able to return to them after Christmas and have had no issues whatsoever. They are really great products. They offer you to pay retail for them if you don't want to open an account, order every month, and get the preffered price.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I know its the internet and all but people take it too far. Almost every single so called complaint about Melaleuca in this entire community is from a person who broke their word or didnt keep their contractual obligation and because Melaleuca didn't roll over lose money and eat it the person suddenly shows up here and posts a so called complaint about how terrible it is.

    I suggest that anyone reading actually call Melaleuca and ask them directly about canceling. They will explain that is has basically been the same thing for almost 26 years now. You enter into a contract to buy from them. When you want to exit the contract you simply download the form fill it out and fax it in. Thats it, your done at that point.

    What happens is people get all mad because they didnt buy from Melaleuca like they said they would so then the get charged for a back up order so they try to cancel over the phone out of anger. When Melaleuca kindly redirects them to the web site they instead come here saying erroneously that they wont let them cancel.

    The other thing that is very common on this board especially is MLM people from Amway, Herbalife, monavie and others who are jealous of Melaleucas simple CDM business model come on here pretending to be customers of Melaleuca when they really aren't customers and never have been. They make all these ridiculous claims of bogus charges and how hard it is to cancel hoping that naive people will fall for their lies.

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Aug 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ive been on and off the website all day today and it has not been down at all. It's much more likely that you simply had a connection issue on your end.

    Secondly, to say they keep charging your account is a lie of omission. You entered into an agreement to switch over to them for at least 35 points worth of products each month. You failed to tell everyone here that. You didnt live up to your word to them yet I dont see them here posting a complaint about you. In fact they had the integrity to honor the very agreement that you did not and they sent you a back up order just as you requested of them when you signed up.

    To then come on here and spin it like they charged your account without you knowing is as I said, a lie of omission. Melaleuca is the victim here of your slanderous post. You are not the victim in any way.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    MattMatt Aug 15, 2011

    Melaleuca will not let you cancel and keeps charging my account!!! They instructed me to go online and cancel but said their website was down? They are a bunch of idiots!! I will never do business with them again.

    2 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Jun 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So you decided to cancel, went online and DLed the form, faxed it in and they cancelled you. Thank you for proving that anyone can cancel whenever they wish.

    As far as your accusation about their fax, they have a system that captures faxes that costs several thousands of dollars. The odds are much more likely that you had an inferior fax machine on your end as they process thousands of faxes a month with no problems. Ive faxed in dozens of documents and never had any issues at all.

    Getting the form is simple, they simply remind you of what your benefits are so you understand what you are really doing. Since people tend to not grasp the incredible benefits that come with a Melaleuca Membership, the company does point some of them out including how much money you have saved so far with them when you DL the form. That is just smart business.

    Good luck with those generic fish oil pills. You get exactly what you pay for when you deal with Omega 3s. Melaleuca uses coldwater salmon primarily which are much more expensive because they are much higher quality. You don't have to take the best, you can take whatever you want to.

    -2 Votes
  • To
    Too savvy May 14, 2011

    I had the same bad experience with Melaleuca. When you try to cancel via fax following their instructions, it is very difficult to get your fax to go through. I'm sure this is by design. Plus, getting to their cancellation form online reminded me of Maxwell Smart having to go through all of those doors in the beginning of Get Smart. Sorry folks, I'm not dumb enough to drink the purple coolaide with the rest of you Melaleuca groupies. By they way, my cholesterol level has remained good despite dropping Melaleuca's fish oil pills and buying generic ones in the supermarket.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Mar 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    and by the way

    I have canceled my account twice over the years with melaleuca and have never had any trouble with that at all so I know from personal experience what I am talking about.

    -1 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Mar 29, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ive had Amway and Mona Vie people both tell me that they come to this (and other) sites pretending to be Melaleuca customers just so they can make the company look bad. The post things like it being hard to cancel and about how the company charged them X dollars without permission etc.

    In reality over a half million people a month have no problems whatsoever shopping and doing business with Melaleuca so the only real buyer beware here is from MLMers that are mad at Melaleuca for building a better business model.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    riggz Mar 28, 2011

    [censored] im scared...just signed up, and now im not so sure!!! i hope its worth my while. oh my. hope its worth it. omg

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CAFETE Feb 18, 2011

    https://www.melaleuca.com/MyAccount/YourOptions.aspx?culture=en-US
    Enter your account name and your password
    Look for the little banner [DOWNLOAD CANCELLATION FORM]
    Every page try to take you away of this banner, don't pay attention, keep looking for the banner until you reach the PDF FORM, there are like 4 pages, go to the bottomof each page and click on the banner. Remeber you lookfor a PDF Form.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CAFETE Feb 18, 2011

    https://www.melaleuca.com/MyAccount/YourOptions.aspx?culture=en-US
    Look for the little banner [DOWNLOAD CANCELLATION FORM]
    Every page try to take away of this banner, don't pay attention, keep looking for the banner until you reach the PDF FORM

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    motivatedmom Aug 18, 2010

    Melaleuca is NOT a scam. I have been with Melaleuca for 2.5 years and I have made over $26, 000. From home, part-time. With 2 young kids by my side. We are also customers and enjoy the products. They work better than other products I have used, save us money, save us time and have helped out health.

    to cancel your account you simply write a letter with your name, address, phone number and reason for cancellation and fax it to them. It's a very simple process. But you have to make sure you have the right fax number and that it was successfully put through. Your fax machine will print out a paper after the fax giving you the confirmation number. You can even track your fax on the Melaleuca website to make sure it was received, or call them to make sure it was a received [protected].

    If you ever needed help cancelling just contact the person who enrolled you (who set up your membership) and they should also help you with this.

    -2 Votes
  • Ne
    nelsondr0225 Jan 11, 2010

    I think this complaint is all a bunch of crap. For those of you who have actually taken the time to read this far into this website please notice that most of these are just copied and reprinted several times under several different email addresses. They may be slightly changed but this is just someone who is vicious and has nothing better to do than to try to influence a stranger with their twisted stories.

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    Artfulmama Dec 02, 2009

    I agree there is NOTHING WRONG WITH MELALEUCA!!! We're sorry but you must just been the one that slipped through the cracks.. !! :( sorry for that.. it is a super wonderful company whether you are a Preferred Customer.. or a Marketing Executive like myself.. believe me I have been through the gamet of selling... internet companies.. wanna be work from home ideas... for the past 12 years.. and MELALEUCA is DEFINITELY THE ONE..THAT IS THE BEST!!! .. Like any other jobs.. you only get out what you put in.. so .. we're sorry about the problem... there are complete instructions.. on how to cancel before the 25th of the month.. and a complete address and fax number... and you can do both.. fax then mail the hard copy... things happen.. the world isn't perfect.. but Melaleuca has a wonderful upstanding.. award winning reputation.. the products are great and speak for themselves... Again .. we're sorry about the bad experience.. but things do happen.. Have a great holiday... Aloha & A Hui Ho!!

    -1 Votes
  • Js
    jsflorida Aug 13, 2009

    "Sometimes the Internet really makes me sick, ... when they don't have the facts, only their opinions. Which are just like A%#@Holes. Everyone has one & they all stink. And for Christ's sake, READ BEFORE YOU SIGN!!! That includes all Internet Websites' Terms of Service, End User License Agreements, Proper Conduct, Policies, etc."

    WOW You're Great ! You're my hero! You read all those software EULA's (and apparently understand them all.) You must have many years experience as a lawyer. AND you're an expert on opinions which you apparently don't use - OR perhaps don't realize??? who the "A%#@Holes ... for Christ's sake" are. Have you loked in the mirror?

    opions are things such as the words below "lovely products" (oooh and you LOVE them too) "Great company" "fabulous products" "They know how to care for people"

    keep getting those lovely products, because I love them too, & they're getting better with new scientific research everyday. They're continually expanding they're product lines. It's not only a great company that produces fabulous products, they know how to take care of people along with their children & their pets, & also the environment!

    None of these are FACTS, it's the same kind of BS that the people on the phone told us along with the "Easy to cancel for any reason"

    Just an update. Even AFTER I did the cancelation in a three way call with the credit card company, two months later they began billing again. the credit card company now agrees with me and put a block on my account to stop them from charging me ever again and did a chargeback to Melaleuca rather than just forgiving the charges as before.

    As far as using the internet, I'm spending my time doing this to help others avoid the same problems. Actually that's the purpose of sites like this.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Battenfield Jun 20, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @jsflorida Unbelievable!!! I have used these products since 2014 and have NEVER had issues with the things they do. And the things they are authorized to do, when you signed and read the terms of the agreement! At one point I was unemployed and decided to cancel my membership. I filled out the paperwork for my request, faxed it to them, and the next day my account was cancelled and immediately had no charges made to my credit card from that point on.
    Recently, I enrolled again with Melaleuca (because I missed using their products so much) and it's amazing how they have improved not only product offerings, but things in their presentation to ensure anyone watching the videos is clear as to the terms of the agreement. (One places an order just like they would from Amazon on line.) With times like this (Covid-19 virus) not many want to go to the store to shop. Online shopping is the way to go and I love having the products delivered straight to my door!
    I hope this has cleared up any misgivings the poor reviews on this page make. This is a terrific Company and many of you are missing out on the unbelievable products they offer. (Their vitamin supplement line is second to none! Actually the Company encourages customers to try their product for 90 days and if they are not completely satisfied, return empty bottles for 100% credit.) I don't know anyone that gives that type of guarantee!
    Further, there is NOT one person in their operation, whether on the phone to answer questions or make changes to their membership status, that is not overly PLEASANT to talk to. (And I'm talking overly pleasant.) Frank Vandersloot, their CEO has ensured anyone in his Company treats every employee with the utmost respect! (This from a very satisfied customer!)
    NOTE: If you look hard enough there is something negative that can be found in just about any business! Don't be fooled by a few unhappy customers!

    0 Votes
  • Mark777 Aug 13, 2009

    Well said gamegirl, I couldnt agree more!

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    gamegirl1856 Jul 24, 2009

    There is nothing, not a thing, wrong with Melaleuca!!! They are still one of the fastest growing small businesses with a AAA rating, & they are regulated by the FDA. They're 25 years old now. What the person above is complaining about are two entirely separate issues. First you have Melaleuca.com. That's who you sign up with as a member/distributor &/or preferred customer. There are two separate agreements as well, that YOU SIGN saying that you have READ & AGREE to the Terms. If you're not going to agree, then don't sign.

    Then you have the business tools which is MyMelaleuca. That is an entirely separate part of the organization. That is where you can order their services, & business tools. It's all laid out very real & simple, IF you read the
    agreements. It also says you have 60 days to return any product(s) for exchange or refund including any empty containers, & the same goes for any of the health products, only you get 90 days for them. So to say the company was committing unauthorized charges is a fraudulent complaint, when you didn't read what you had signed & agreed to.

    As far as "jsflorida's" research, there aren't many complaints against Melaleuca. If you do a Google search for instance, they deliberately look like complaints on the links you're reading, but when you click on them you find out they're not. It was just to grab your attention. As for making the statement "real easy, huh?" YEA it is real easy if you had READ everything that was given to you when you signed & agreed. All the information is right there in your face. You can also go to Melaleuca.com & sign in, click on the business tools, & it's all listed for you. You can also call the main # [protected], & the Customer Service Reps. can provide any of the information you need or are not clear on. They honestly have the best customer service of any company I've ever had to contact in my 50+ years on the planet! And it's so easy to cancel. Write a letter to Melaleuca stating why you want to cancel, & send it to them at their main address in Idaho. That's all!

    As for MyMelaleuca, call customer service, they'll give you the number to call & can transfer you. If you click on the business tools it gives you the numbers to call for each service. MyMelaleuca is [protected]. When it picks up a voice will prompt you what to pick. If you pick cancel, he tells you the website to go to, he spells it out for you, & tells you there is no www in front of the web address.

    So JGraceyStinson, you go right ahead & keep getting those lovely products, because I love them too, & they're getting better with new scientific research everyday. They're continually expanding they're product lines. It's not only a great company that produces fabulous products, they know how to take care of people along with their children & their pets, & also the environment!

    Sometimes the Internet really makes me sick, because anyone can just jump on here & think because they have the whole world at their feet, they can falsely trash & bash anyone or anything, when they don't have the facts, only their opinions. Which are just like A%#@Holes. Everyone has one & they all stink. Try doing some real research, like Fortune 500, Blue Chip Award, Dunn & Bradstreet. That'll give you the real answers you seek. And for Christ's sake, READ BEFORE YOU SIGN!!! That includes all Internet Websites' Terms of Service, End User License Agreements, Proper Conduct, Policies, etc. Frankly I'm glad the person who made the complaint quit. They don't need to have a business of their own of any kind. They wouldn't know how to conduct or manage it, especially since it's obvious they didn't follow the first simple & proper procedure. That being READ before putting pen to paper.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Truthhhh6 Dec 16, 2018

    @gamegirl1856 Your desperate attempt to sell junk is hurting gullible people.

    2 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Battenfield Jun 20, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Truthhhh6 I'm sorry to hear you were so unhappy using Melaleuca products. I've been using them since 2014 and have NEVER had a problem with any product they manufacture. This is the most HONEST and SINCERE company I have ever engaged with and really do not understand why you feel they sell junk. The vitamin supplements they offer are tremendous. I've felt so much better since I've started taking them. They have done nothing but improved the quality of my life. They continue to do research on their products to find the absolutely best ingredients to use.
    There are too many people that love the products they make to believe a few unhappy customers' comments to believe the entire company/products are bad. NOT! (From one very happy customer.)

    0 Votes
  • JGraceyStinson May 06, 2009

    That's really odd.

    I sold melaleuca for a number of years and never had a problem like this. I love their products. The only reason I quit was that a number of the products that were our best sellers could no longer be sold in canada because of FDA regulations. Since we could no longer have the products shipped to us, we cancelled our account, with great regret. When we travel in the US I look for an authorized rep so we can order a couple of the products to take home with us that we can't get here anymore.

    I didn't sign up on the internet though. We signed up through a local rep.

    It's a shame if such a previously good company went downhill like that.

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.