Melaleucabought the vitamins and I got very sick from them

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I signed up for melaleuka and ordered the vitality 4 for women. I took them as soon as they came and eveytime I took a dose I got sicker and sicker. My rep told me that his rep told him that I was supposed to take only half of them and I would feel better. I was nausous, dizzy, short of breath, throwing up, had hives and welts on my body. Also I would get so sweaty the sweat dripped down my back. I can't even believe they would still tell me to take them. They told me this was normal!!!

Responses

  • Bi
    Bizness4you Oct 15, 2018

    I fight CFS/ME and MCAS started taking the Peak Performance Brain Pack after Frank beat 4world records in Sept of 2018 and have had amazing results. I was without for 10 days because my package got lost and I could tell the difference by the third day. I have taken the vitamins before and I use to get sick and then I watched the Freiburg study Video and follow the test protocol and now I don't have problems. I am so glad I have found Peak Performance.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rochelle Susan Tabb Merrell Sep 02, 2018

    It's melaleuca ...

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rochelle Susan Tabb Merrell Sep 02, 2018

    Taking the peak performance total health for women and I am having anxiety and neck pain. Has anyone else had this ?

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Valle Aug 20, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The vitamins are great however I have found that taking them with food is better. The omega 3 pill was actually the one making me sick so I stopped taking the vitality pack and switched to taking them separately. I healed faster after my surgery and am feeling better. The vitamins just might be too much for your system all at once.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shpo Dec 26, 2016

    I appreciate the persons who noted that one must take vitamins and meds with food. I have known it for 70 years.
    I really appreciate the people who took time to find the ingredient in a vitamin to which their system reacted. Very helpful.
    I have taken the vitamins for quite some time. I seemed to be well, as there were not big differences. However, I find that I do well with them.
    I have difficulty with the Renewal from one's card which has to be done to receive the better value. There have been reasons I discontinued the vitamins or the breakfast products. Came back from a hurricane and could not find where I put the vitamins, had to hurry and buy more, now I have too many products just sitting. I am on a limited income. I will be contacting M. to learn how to alleviate this situation. In the past, my parents and grandmother before me took Shaklee vitamins which are excellent. I take M. now because of a very knowledgeable Rep who has been available to help me.and the variety of products.

    -1 Votes
  • De
    Deniese Hodge Dec 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sounds like you have a grudge against Melaleuca, because of Alan. The companies products are really great products. The fact that you had a falling out with Alan is personal. Melaleuca is a good company that has helped me with my income since being released from my job due to an amputation. Melaleuca also sent thousands of dollars worth of products to Gatlinburg TN to help with all the burned out victims of this past fire that destroyed business and homes and left people homeless. This company gives back to communities plus since proctor & gamble has moved their operations to Asia. Johnson & Johnson is now under lawsuits for putting cancer causing agents into it's products for years. It only makes sense to buy American made products at wholesale prices. Melaleuca gives thousands of jobs to Americans. Just because you had a bad experience with Alan is no reason to slam the whole company, and those who are trying to make extra income with this company.

    1 Votes
  • De
    deniese78 Oct 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The vitamins have Florify in them. The sometime do make people sick. It is best to take them all but Florify. I got sick also and found out that if I leave out the Florify they worked great. For some reason the ingredients in Florify doesn't agree with everyone. But I take the Fiberwise that also has probiotics in it to help with the bacteria in the digestive system. Everyone needs probiotics because lots of diseases and problems are caused your digestive system.
    Give them anther chance without the floriffy you will be amazed at how great you feel.

    0 Votes
  • To
    totsrus33 Mar 31, 2016

    I have been taking the "performance peak for women" and I feel better than ever. I have tried numerous brands some did ok, some got me sick, but I have no reason to lie this have been by far the best. My kids take the kid vitamins and they are doing fantastic on them as well. My oldest son got neusated but I told him to take them with food and plenty of water and now he's doing well.

    Not all vitamins will do you good. Maybe you need to start with another type and not the multi pack. Not everyone does good with multi packs.

    2 Votes
  • Ji
    JimR0berts Mar 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Allergic reactions can be dangerous fast. Dizziness, nausea, vomiting, or anything that you notice out of order with your breathing or heartbeat is enough to call 9-1-1 and tell them you may be having an allergic reaction.

    But what do they mean? It does not mean the products are low quality or dangerous, it just means there could be just one ingredient you are allergic to. Unless your enroller is a doctor, they are not qualified to tell you what to do. Only your doctor can identify what you're allergic to. I have taken Melaleuca vitamins for quite some time. Doctors recommend taking a multi-vitamin, and these qualify as that. I do not take any other proprietary products or supplements, just the vitamins and that's it. My doctor actually told me that my calcium levels are high, not dangerously, but high enough that I shouldn't be guzzling milk or taking extra calcium products, so I don't order or take the separate calcium tablets.

    4 Votes
  • Da
    davidsheri Apr 20, 2013

    I have been taking the Melaleuca Vitality 6 for almost 7 years. I do need to take them with food because they make me a little queasy on an empty stomach. They are very potent vitamins and I have a history of stomach problems so a lot of things would have that effect such as fresh vegetables. I also have a history of not having much resistance to colds/flu. Since I have been taking these vitamins, I hardly ever get sick or if I do, it is mild and I can go about my daily business. I have only had one stomach flare-up since I started taking Provex and it was only because I had to take anti-inflammatories due to a shoulder injury. If someone has an allergy to a group of medicine or food, they should hold them all and just start taking one at a time to rule out which one is causing an issue. As a Primary Health Care Provider, that is what I would do! Also, call the company's 800 number for product support if your marketing representative does not know the answer.

    6 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary AP Mar 28, 2013

    I've been on the Melaleuca vitamins for 6 months never had a problem, but I always take vitamins with food. I have more energy; hair and nails are stronger; pain in my hip is gone! I could not ask for a better result. I am so glad I found this company. You should not to take any vitamin without food. There isn't a vitamin out there that is the quality of Melaleuca and I've tried them all. I won't be switching.

    7 Votes
  • Vi
    Vitamin88 Jan 28, 2019

    @Mary AP Is there any food restrictions when taking this vitamins?

    0 Votes
  • Nz
    nzapanda Aug 07, 2012

    Hey, I've purchased the Vitality Pack Total because I am a avid believer in today's environment we are lacking in nutrition. I have similar effects of nausea and feel lightheaded when I take the vitamins ONLY when I don't eat before hand. I've been told by my doctor the reason why pills are usually recommended to be taken after eating is stomach acid to start working more efficiently only after eating. I believe the nausea is from the high absorption rate of the Melaleuca vitamins, because other vitamins do NOT have this effect, which is a good thing so long as I eat before I take the vitamins. I just want to recommend to people from my personal experience to try to take the vitamins after a meal and see how they feel.

    6 Votes
  • Td
    tdshack Jun 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have had a rare and unfortunate reaction to the melaleuca product. I have had shortness of breath the past few days and this morning had nausea and ended up fainting. I believe it is a reaction to the vitamins, and after getting blood work that resulted in me not being anemic, hypoglycemic or diabetic - all levels were normal. My doctor recommended that I discontinue taking the vitamins. I am not on the vitality pack but after reading this initial complaint I'm glad that I was only taking the multivitamin/calcium bottles because I could have had a worse reaction.

    -1 Votes
  • Me
    melajenn Sep 14, 2010

    Melaleuca vitamins are the best anywhere. It's been proven by science and documented in esteemed medical journals. Your experience is isolated and unfortunate but is not a reflection on the effectiveness and quality of Melaleuca Vitamins. I would never take another supplement after being on Melaleuca Vitamins the last 8 years.
    Jen Baird
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • In
    INflea Aug 20, 2010

    Most people do great on the vitality 4 pack, but occasionally a person will not react to it well. This happened to my enroller, he switched to just the multivitamin and calcium separately and has had no problem since. That is what your rep should have advised you to try. There is something in the vitality 4 that a few people don't agree with, maybe it is the valerian as one person suggested. I do great with it as long as I take it with food. It will make you a little sick on an empty stomach, but the reaction you describe is not normal. Try taking them separately rather than the pack.

    5 Votes
  • Ri
    Ricktor May 23, 2018

    @INflea I've had people complain about being sick from them. If you listened to the person enrolling you, you would've heard something like, they are 6 times stronger than the average market vitamin pill and you will absorb 96% of it because of the oligo-fructose compounding. Unlike the average vitamin pill, that you absorb 40 % of and isn't strong at all...one has to take them with food and the body has to adjust to getting that much nutrients at once. Some people adapt, some don't. Switch to the Vitality supplements in the bottle, they are half the strength.

    2 Votes
  • Ken KloCke Sep 27, 2019

    @Ricktor Seriously? Get real!
    https://www.multivitaminguide.org/Melaleuca-vitamins-reviews.html

    guidance_FTC>FTC Staff Offers Business Guidance Concerning Multi-Level Marketing>

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Truth Teller Jul 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here are a LOT of testimonys about Melaleuca vitamins...

    http://www.melaleuca.com/Oligo/Content.aspx?Page=Testimonials

    3 Votes
  • Ken KloCke Sep 27, 2019

    @Truth Teller https://www.melaleuca.com/Oligo/Content.aspx?Page=Testimonial
    Error loading player:
    No playable sources found #RinseLatherRepeat

    -1 Votes
  • the real snarko Jun 20, 2010

    Does it contain valerian? Your symptoms sound EXACTLY what happened to me (not from this company) drinking valerian tea to "chill out", only to find I'm DEATHLY allergic to it.

    But I "ODed" on it, since my heartrate wouldn't go down and I thought I still needed to "chill out". The heart will wind up surrounded with water; the lungs will fill with it (hence can't breath). Lying down makes it WORSE.

    Just curious if listed in ingredients. Anyone else: this allergy is rare; valerian's not the Devil.

    3 Votes
  • Po
    PocketAces Jun 04, 2010

    I would also try taking after taking a few bites of food don't take them on an empty stomach as I have had the same reaction on almost any multivitamine. If that still does not help then resort to the coment above. To be honest though they really are a great company with great products so I would not loose hope right away

    7 Votes
  • Jc
    jc1219 Jun 03, 2010

    did you talk to your doctor about taking them...ou could b having a reaction to one of the ingredients...just cuz they say natural doesnt mean that you body will like them...I would stop taking them til you find out from ur doctor

    3 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.