The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Magazine Rewards Plusfraud

N Review updated:

Wow! Someone needs to stop this scam! I ordered a product called clear tv from a tv commercial (Not qvc; shop nbc or anything like that). When I called to order - there wasn't any person, just automative ordering. After the order for clear tv was placed, the next thing they asked is if I wanted a three free month trial of great magazines like martha steward, men's health, reader's digest, taste of home... And i'd get a $50 gift certificate for walmart. I clicked okay. I was waiting for the prompt so I could pick which magazine, and it just went into some other questions about more products. Ithere was no mention of cost! Pushing "0" or anything didn't help. There was no way to get a real person!

The magazines started pouring in - all five of them, which also included la cucina italiana which I never heard of!!! (They may have mentioned it on the auto phone call, but it went sooooo fast with no option to repeat and no summary of what just happened!)
So, I figured i'm getting all of them for trial. After the fourth one came for martha steward and men's health, I knew i'd been scammed. Of course, still no gift certificate.

I found this little card within my junk mail that says "our records show that you accepted our membership offer on 4/10/2013 to enroll in our program and get 4 years of club benefits for monthly payments of $14.95 starting 5/10/2013." it listed all the magazines and "values" and said "all for a total of $360..." what!?!?

It read "please send this notification with your initials on reverse as proof of acceptance during the trial period and we will send you detailed instructions on how to claim your gift card and cash back bonus."

"what trial period!?!? So much for any gift card!! They have charged me over $76 already.

I called the [protected] phone number on the card and cancelled my order - I was surprised they had that as an automative feature! Then I called back and pushed for a customer rep. Some"rep."I told her I never enrolled in this. She said was she'll forward it to quality control and they decide if I get my refund. I tried to tell her what happened, and she just repeated herself. I said if they decided, I want what happened on my notes for the request. She just repeated herself again. Wow!! I told her they will return me my money. She repeated herself again. (I wonder how much she gets paid just saying one sentence? What kind of"customer service" is that?!) I told her that these magazines aren't even open and you can come by and pick them all up.

We'll see what happens, but I have no faith in this. Thank god I have citi; they've always helped with scams like this.

There needs to be a federal law prohibiting this kind of fraud and these guys need to be held accountable for what they've pulled!!!

Responses

  • Ma
    Marvin Martin Jul 18, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company takes advantage of the elderly with dementia and starts sending magazines that they are unaware that were ordered (phone contact). They connect with other companies were people may be interested in a product and not realizing there is any cost, they start receiving these magazines and are surprised when they get them. All of the magazines promptly go to the recycle bin! We have now joined the others in their complaint and notified the company that they are working with a Medicare fraud operation called "Prosvent". Prosvent gets people to agree to get DME equipment that their doctor did not approve, and when it comes to them, they find the "braces, etc." totally useless. What's more, Medicare is paying a large part of the cost!
    Bobby R Barnes
    1104 W Spurgeon St.
    Fort Worth, Texas 76115

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Russ May 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I filed the papers, received the $100 Hotel Discount eCard #[protected]. When I tried to use this they did not know who I was. What the number was for etc. I have called the magazine rewards number [protected]. They know nothing. ( I spoke with Rita and super Bridgette).

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Draper Feb 25, 2017

    Thanks for that information, i just joined the thing, and your'e right it's a scam.

    1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisaannech Dec 14, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also was scamed. I don't talk to a live person when I ordered these unbreakable lanterns for Christmas. I accepted the "Free" magazines because of the gift certificates. I received NO gift certificates nor NO magazines. So before the end of the trial I called to cancel the "FREE" magazines before trial was up. I received a confirmation cancelation number and the ladies name Sharanda. An hour later when I checked my bank account, I noticed that $24.95 was taken from my account. I promptly called back to speak with a Supervisor Paul (90925). He told me that my thing was never cancelled and my confirmation number was a valid cancellation number, but he just can elled it. I mentioned that I was charged illegally $24.95 and he said a refund will be credited back to me. I called back the next day, to find out WHY my account had not been credited "Keith" told me it was a "different" company that charged me and gave me a false phone number, so I called the number that charged me. I spoke with Louie. Only to find out that I had to wait 5 business days for it to be credited back. They stole my money seconds after I canceled, but I have to wait for them to return my money to me. Why should I be penalized for them stealing my money. If i don't receive my money back, I am contacting my lawyer and suing. I've also been told to contact the FBI since they are using the tv to committ fraud and stealing people's money.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spacface Jul 08, 2015

    I work in a call center that offers Magazine Rewards along with other of what we call "3rd Parties" (Value Plus, SaversCity.ca, etc.). Our main client is Beachbody(21 Day Fix, PX90). Also, NuWave ovens and Little Giant ladders. My advice to those of you who want to order something off television is learn to say no. We will offer you a bunch of stuff you didn't see and then try to get you to sign up for these scams. Try the Internet before you make any phone calls for placing the order. Most of us who work at the call center know these are scams. I certainly feel awful knowing I may have scammed some of the nice older ladies who just wanted to order some wrinkle cream.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cainsmark Mar 24, 2015

    Magazine rewards plus is a ioke!
    They lied to mae about the gift card. Didnt explain the trial fees. Charged my account without my recieving anything at all. Then agreed to refund my money. This was a lie too.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Patrick Joseph Tayman Feb 24, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was told that the company has been in business for 5 years since 2010. That was [protected] stating that I would receive a $50.00 Walmart Gift Card! with three issues for free. That they would charge my credit card or debit card $19.95 per month. So why not is the Better Business Bureau checking these companies out to the letter. The company name was Magazine Rewards Plus some place in Atlanta, GA.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JustHelpingPlus Feb 05, 2014

    Here's some insider information...
    I work for a company which take calls for items such as nutribullet and many of these other as seen on TV products.
    Best advice I can give you is DO NOT accept any of these gift card offers. They give you a 30 day trial to magazines and it can take up to 2 MONTHS to receive the magazines.
    You'll jump through many hoops to receive the gift card and if you take notice we always say you'll get a gift card VOUCHER not an actual gift card.

    The reason you get such horrible customer service is because we dont actually work for the company. We are independently contracted and receive calls for various products. Most times I have no clue about the product I'm actually offered. I'm just given FAQ's which i read verbatim and hope they ask no more questions. And if they do I just say something that doesnt really answer the question but its not technically wrong.

    Oh and another thing I'm sitting at home in my underwear when I take your call as well.

    If you do want some of those products here's the best tip I can ever give you. When you start the call just say "I will hang up if you offer me any additional products." We get straight to the point after that and most of us hate offering those extras because we know its a scam anyway.

    Hope this helps

    -1 Votes
  • Ag
    Against SCAMMERS!! Jan 08, 2014

    Magazine Rewards Plus is a total SCAM!!! We ordered the NutriBullet and we were asked if we wanted a free trial of magazines. We said yes. Magazine Rewards got our credit card number from NutriBullet and charged us $19.95 for this "free trial of magazines"!!! I called twice and was told that I did not cancel within the 30 day "trial period". I cancelled 4 days after that and they will not refund my money!!! I am now in an email debate with this company trying to get my money back. TOTAL RIP OFF ARTISTS AND SCAMMERS!! How is this legal??? THEY NEED BE STOPPED!! They say we "agreed" to the 30 day "free trial" and didn't cancel within the 30 days ?????? and it's okay for them to charge us as we "gave them our credit card number"!! NutriBullet is in cahoots with them because they must have given them our credit card information!!! NutriBullet is also a SCAM!!! We returned their machine that doesn't even work like the infomercial and we have yet to receive any credit. THEY JUST KEEP BILLING US!! Ridiculous. I guess the moral of the story is don't buy anything off the TV. I will be contacting the Attorney General and Better Business Bureau and complaining. Unbelievable.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mildred Paulson Jan 02, 2014

    I also place and order where it was an automated voice and after ordering the item I wanted I was repeatedly encouraged to buy other things. Mag rewards plus was one. I declined every item they kept offering and I was kept on the phone for nearly an hour. This is a terrible scam. I am getting money taken out of my card and I can't afford it. Who can we get in touch with to help us? They need to be arrested.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.