iPAGE.comScam

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I signed up with iPAGE and paid them a total of US$126.76 on 29 March 2010 after reading on their intro page that they are affordable, dont tie customers up and most importantly "if unhappy in whatever way, 30 Days moneyback guarantee, 100% refund if cancel within 30 days+ easy to build free website builder tools

However, after 10 torturing hours and I still cant understand how to use their tools to build a website, I decided to cancel my a/c and hire a local web company instead to do everything for me.

The chatline operator told me that there will be a non refundable of US$15 and the rest will be refunded to me.

But when i look at my latest credit card statement i m shocked to receive a bbill of US$99.79.

iPAGE has charged $126.76 on 29mar and only refund me USD27 on 31 Mar!

I then contacted the billing dept who insist that they only refund hosting fees, add on services are non refundable!!

The guy also keep stressing on their "its all under our Terms and Conditions"

I felt really cheated and shortchanged. Because on their main website they do not have a column of terms n condions nor do they made it clear that theres no refund other than hosting charges.

For a IT idiot like me, I just follow their sign on procedure which auto includes all these so call add on services into my cart, i dont even have aoption to opt out as it will have red markings to warn me of the 'consequences'. Moreover all the services are calculated on a 12months basis, not one month or 3months.

I also wont get to use any of the services after my cancelling the a/c so how can iPAGE be so unreasonable and greedy to rip an innocent consumer off this way??

I feel this is outright robbing in a legal way.

Please, if anyone concern can help or advise me where to seek redress or complaint against iPAGE so that this Co cannot cheat other consumers any more hard earn money$$ and to refund me the full amount as promised on their website.

Responses

  • Ch
    Chris509 May 12, 2010

    something happened to me I asked for a full refund after only being with there company for 5 days, they gave ma a song a dance routine and said we don't give back on options just the hosting you bought, well the options are a part of the hosting, go figure huh. STAY AWAY from Ipage.com you are better off getting a hosting company in a 3rd world country.

    3 Votes
  • Ro
    Rorroh Aug 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reading over this, I can't help but laugh.

    For starters, it's apparent you don't know how to make a website in the first place. You admitted to being an "IT idiot, " and that's perfectly fine, but you probably should have started out with a free hosting service first. All hosting services generally use the same layouts. iPage is no different, so it would have made your life a lot easier to get used to being behind the scenes before you did anything major.

    Furthermore, you just need to know where to look for the Terms and conditions.
    http://www.ipage.com/legal/
    http://www.ipage.com/legal/legal_useragreement.bml

    All their services are calculated for a year because just a month or 3 months wouldn't really give a very good idea of how much you'd be paying. Plus, with a base fee of $3.50, that's absolutely amazing! The extras are absolutely optional, and you could just easily cancel everything to stick with the base fee. Since you're (may I say?) IT challenged, you probably should go with what was recommended to you. My personal recommendation, however, is to ask friends and family for someone who is familiar with such a thing and ask them to help you manage your site. There are a few options that I would highly suggest, although at this moment I honestly don't remember what options were available.

    You must realize that with many online purchases such as this one, it is impossible to give a refund. Such online transactions are uncontrollably easily exploitable.

    On a note related to my last point and as a response to Chris, the options are absolutely not part of the hosting. They are simply additions to make your website a little easier to manage, but they do not affect the actual hosting itself. Your comment is furthermore very immature and severely lowers your credibility. Good day.

    iPage is considered one of the best web hosting services available with virtually no complaints, especially compared to other hosts. I say get an IT buddy and try again. You won't regret it. ;)

    -3 Votes
  • La
    Lance Oct 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Has anyone tried to build a website recently? I have been with ipage, but am very unhappy with what i can only describe as a scam.

    Does anyone use a web host who is more honest and upfront than ipage, or do they all have these hidden fees that you only discover after you sign up??

    -3 Votes
  • Jp
    jpgaga Oct 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi...

    I can say only that Ipage is only a bunch of thieves.

    I paid for a ### service the ammount of $92 and only use them for less than 10 days and I decide to cancel. I request my money back and a stupid girl named Stephanie told me that Ipage only refunde me $20. Can you believe this ???.

    What the [censored]. Is necesary to stop this kind of scams.

    Please advert everyone you know that stay interested on Ipage. Ipage is only a scam. Ipage thieves your money if you decide to take any service with them. And the worst part is that the supposed reimbursement of money never happens.

    Please, please, please... avoid to use Ipage. Ipage is a scam in all the senses.

    4 Votes
  • Gr
    Grandpa Eddie Aug 31, 2018

    @jpgaga iPage may not be a total scam -- but it's close. I had to get my CC company involved to get a refund on a site that never worked, never launched, never had one second of life. $173.00. When I talked to iPage customer support -- every time they agreed to refund the fees. Then the billing showed up on my CC. After my CC got involved I received a nasty call from iPage saying I went outside the rules. Seriously?! This may simply be a poorly run company, but I haven't seen very many stella reviews. Stay away from iPage.

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    jpgaga Oct 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, its me again.

    If anyone want to see proofs that Ipage is only a scam, just check the attached image.

    Avoid Ipage and save your money.

    In next days I will going to create a lot of blogs with more info about this. It is necesary to do everything to stop Ipage.

    3 Votes
  • Jp
    jpgaga Oct 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If anyone want to read all that appears on the image, can go this link... http://flic.kr/p/8LRGVH

    Anyone can download the image in their really size and can read all the text.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    samiu1287 Nov 08, 2010

    I can't access the photo. I says it's private. Can you make it public please?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johnse413 Nov 15, 2010

    Maaan, thank Heavens, I was sooo close to purchasing this hosting service. I was basically about to put my credit card number and everything, when i saw this message. ipage are scammers. It sucks that you cant do monthly and its misleading to charge there customers for "extras" that they advertise as free. Its pretty obvious that guy rorroh is somehow tied to ipage so he should just be ignored. Ipage claims to be easy to use for beginners but then they just take advantage of them. Thats really too bad.

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Sucker Too Nov 20, 2010

    After 1 month with ipage i have to agree ipage is the worst host i have ever had the displeasure to use. their service is up and down like a $5 prostitutes panties, stay away, far away.

    3 Votes
  • Dr
    DragonDesign Nov 27, 2010

    Okay ipage will it works like this if you have a small site they will love you and you will like them. I it’s easy to use control panel, and they are up almost all the time. However If you have a site that uses a lot of memory they will shut you down quickly. I designed a lot of sites and i used a lot of server hosts, for example i have four sites with ipage.com for now. There terms of agreement states that they can shut you down when they feel like it. (User agreement part 18) They state that you may use as much memory as long you have it liked to the site that is a lie. The customer supports are rude and they may close the phone on you if they don't want to deal with your problem. Truly the only thing about this company they have a great control panel. My advice is to find other host for your sites. There is a lot of host that are better than ipage and cheaper. You can find a free one that will offer you more than ipage like http://www.000webhosting.com great for small sites or for cheap unlimited memory like http://www.hostinginsiders.com that will give you more than ipage ever will.

    1 Votes
  • En
    enfurecido Nov 27, 2010

    Too bad I learned about Complaints Board the hard way. Yesterday I oppened and account with iPage just to experience what you all have. Today I cancelled because I got scammed. They ripped me off $15... if not more... depending on what they will effectively refund in 7-10 days from today. I'm another victim of their scam scheme. I wonder how many hundreds of people do what we did... open an account... cancel it after discovering they are a scam ... and still have to accept a deduction of at least $15.

    2 Votes
  • Ag
    Against Fraud Dec 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My experience with iPage.com leads me to believe that it is shady at best and fraudulent at worst.
    They say the offer a free trial, but they really don't. There are other charges they add in and they charge you a cancellation fee when you do try to cancel within the first month.
    They tack on fees for many of their services, so be careful what you use.
    They add their second year in your account and are poised to charge you for it.
    They hide their full account charges from you and you stumble across them if you browse your "control" site thoroughly enough and if/when they let you know them, which seems to be when you want to cancel.
    They update their fees on their site information but don't necessarily send you a notice about it.
    Some of the services they offer for free are actually just links to sites who do offer them for free.
    While using their site, I found it sluggish, hanging up, crashing, etc. when trying to learn to use their tools.
    I've used computers for twenty years and created simple web pages for several years and found their resources too time consuming to be worth using at all.
    Since they say their current tools are beta, it doesn't seem cost efficient to "test" their tools, be charged fees while doing this, and then have them change the way they work or find them totally useless to begin with.
    Of all the web sites that I have chosen to give a chance, this is by far among the top of the worst in misrepresenting themselves, their fees, and quality of product.
    When you do a search to check for their quality, you will probably come up with an enormous number of pages rating them well and singing their praises. There's a high probability that they own or have a hand in most or all of these pages that are promoting their site.
    Thank you for this site that helps get out the truth about these types of companies.
    Here's hoping that this information will help others make a choice in their best interests and avoid sites like this who seem to have a primary interest of taking your money and giving you little or nothing in return.
    This company has changed my view about any real ability to determine the safety of a site or not. On all fronts, it appeared to be safe. I feel I was very sadly mistaken about this.
    Beware of a site having too many praises.
    All it takes is for the site to buy up some domain names and write itself a bunch of different positive reviews.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    hallmanbilly Dec 09, 2010

    I was always under the impression that a company CAN NOT include those other products (that have a cost separate from the original product or service being sold) by default as it must be up to the End User to select the options that they would like to pay for. I used to sell electronics retail and we COULD NOT BY LAW include extras in the price. We had to make certain that the customer knew that any additional product or service was optional and had the right to say no.

    Automatically selecting things is not just sneaky, it is bad business.

    I have an account with iPage and have experienced many MySQL connection errors that totally disable my site. I personally wouldn't recommend iPage to anyone.

    1 Votes
  • Ip
    ipagevictim Dec 17, 2010

    Agreed, iPage sucks. The best part is that they change their Terms of Service without notifying the customer at all. I just got dinged with a $35 cancellation fee after they renewed my account after I requested it not be done. My other account with iPage expires soon and I have set it not to renew... this time, I've got a screenshot to back me up when they charge my credit card anyway.
    If you have an ipage account, I have to recommend canceling. The very least they could do is inform customers about changing their Terms of Service instead of their weasel-like inclusion of " This Agreement may not be modified or amended except by another agreement in writing executed by the parties hereto; provided, however, that these Terms of Service may be modified from time to time by iPage in its sole discretion, which modifications will be effective upon posting to iPage's Web site."

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    saj9 Jan 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i switched from one.com to ipage, a mistake i will not soon forget.
    i thought one.com's offering was too restrictive (only 1 mysql), so i looked for another host after being at one.com for two years without much problems (extept being a little slow at times).
    So now i'm with ipage for only ten days now and i've already had TWO mysql database outages *_*. Unbelievable.
    in fact Right now my forum is down due to "General Error : Can't connect to MySQL server "
    I also discovered that they do not have a php cache like eaccelerator or Xcache, and their php version is only 5.2.12 which is out of date. i'll be giving them the benefit of the doubt for another few weeks but i think i'll have to go look for another host, even though my domain is now locked into the 60 day cannot move icann rule.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    paulmontreal Mar 08, 2011

    thank god for this forum. i will not be doing any business with ipage.

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    paulmontreal Mar 08, 2011

    thank god for this forum. i will not be do any business with ipage.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    John Dough Mar 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I never thought I would use Complaints Board to chime in with positive remarks about a company. I signed up for three years with iPage about a year ago having come from years at GoDaddy who I have nothing nice to say about. My personal experience with iPage has been outstanding. Everyone I've ever talked to there has been pleasant, knowledgeable and in no rush to get me off the phone. Whenever I've had a technical problem they've gone the extra mile to resolve it. The price is hard to beat for what you get. I find their web site and Control Panel far more intuitive and easy to use than the confusing interface that GoDaddy had. They have a toll free help line whereas GoDaddy doesn't. Their servers seem to work faster than GoDaddy. So far there has never been any downtime.

    My impression reading the complaints here is that most complainants are not all that experienced with web design or purchasing hosting services. That's not to say that people haven't had legitimate problems with iPage. As far as refunds are concerned, I wouldn't know but I was pleased to find them and I did a lot of research before signing up based on the ratings I found for them in multiple places. When I first signed up with them I asked many specific questions that they answered in a straightforward manner. After I signed up the charges to my credit card seemed more than I had expected even though I ordered more than the basic package. When I called about it they were very patient about explaining what the charges were and how they added up and I came away feeling that they had explained it all to my satisfaction. In fact, compared to GoDaddy, it was less per year even though it turned out to be more than I thought it would be.

    I don't know, I just felt like I needed to put my two cents in here because sometimes sites like this need some balance. I have used the Board before to make complaints about certain companies who have ripped me off but iPage is not one of them. (Don't get me going about Tracfone!) One thing I've noticed over the years is that message boards like this tend to have more bad remarks than positive ones (This is Complaints Board, of course) because all of us are usually more motivated to speak up when thing go sour. My suggestion would be to call them first and clarify all your questions about their policies BEFORE signing up.

    -2 Votes
  • Be
    Benny1951 Apr 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    IPAGE...i wont to throw up!! I bought their service in December 2010, supposed to have a web site up and running in less than 5 minutes, give me a break!! four months later I am still haggling with them...trying to get my money back...but so far no success...I bought, at their suggestion, some add ons that would help me design a great site...my site it still not up and running...after 4 months I have only the header...customer service? totally sucks, spent over 3 hours yesterday trying to reach a manager...still have not spoken to one...the "support chat"?? are they reading a manual...? takes forever to log on for one thing, then they ask the same questions over and over again, each time it takes at least 5 minutes to receive their answer...thought Bell was bad...but Ipage is even worse...well must run, got to try and catch a Manager before they go for the day...oh and the fully guaranteed refund? forget it...after they have pro rated and charged a cancellation fee of $15, there is nothing left...No, they wont refund the add ons...they say its not part of the web design package...good luck folks...

    0 Votes
  • Ip
    iPage Scam Jul 16, 2011

    I made an account about few weeks ago, because they stated on their website that they have real awesome website building tools. I had to pay about $50 to $60. (<- That was one of the Cheapest options)
    But when I tried using their website building tools, I was utterly, utterly disappointed. Their templates/designs are very out of fashion and very limited. very crappy. They were just horrible. And it requires you to pay double the amount if you want to have more template/design options. wtf..
    So The very next day, I requested for refund. The assistants were quite rude on the chat box.
    I was expecting a full refund without a doubt because it says "Money Back Any Time Guaranteed" on the page of registration. But then the assistant says oh you gotta pay $15 for cancellation fee.. I was like really? i registered just the day before. But I agreed to pay. and you know what? they only paid me $20 back. They stole my money.. I got about 65% of the original payment stolen. basically.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    nellzey Jul 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Save your money! Unless you want to deal with the headache of never knowing what iPage decides to charge to your acccount "on file", then stay away. I went on my bank account today and saw they charged my account almost $200, after I already renewed a few days ago. When I called they said they charged for "additional add ons" that I never selected. I also never selected for my account to be auto renewed. I had the screen up in front of me showing that the "auto renew" option was unchecked, and the lady continued to tell me that they had it on their end showing as "auto renew". I also never gave permission for them to keep my credit card information on file, which they took it upon themselves to charge. The billing person was very unhelpful and said she couldn't even verify what they charged me, but said they would refund me for the services they cancel. She said I wouldn't know the full refund amount until I get an email confirmation stating what I would be refunded. What sense does that make? This place really needs to have a class action suit against for all the money it's cheating people out of as a web hosting service. I will absolutely look into pursuing this.

    0 Votes
  • Sy
    ~Synthea Aug 18, 2011

    70$ then 50$ were stolen from my bank account after registering a domain with Netfirms! And it was used under a weird name "mtc touch beirut lbn".
    BEWARE!

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    preston29 Sep 17, 2011

    I have been with I page since 2010 and haven't had the best service from them. The templates they offer are really bad and don't fit the screen right after being published. They have renewed add-on's that I canceled by calling in to the reps. After canceling what I requested be canceled, I find out that not all add-ons were canceled and they continued to charge my credit card. I have been waiting for a answer now for 3 weeks as to whether or not they are going to reimburse me for the money they stole from me. At this point if I do not get a free year out of this I will definitely cancel any further business with I-Page. They are out right stealing my money. I would not recommend them to anyone.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thraganux Sep 18, 2011

    They actually are violating consumer protection laws by presetting payment accounts to "automatic payments". According to the Consumer Protection Code, they are required to get written or oral consent from someone in order to charge funds. Then they illegally use one's prior information, even if one had set one's payments to a one-time payment, and charge a person's bank/paypall account for "renewal". This is technically identity theft.

    Both are very illegal acts. *Not to mention* that the contract one signs *DOES NOT* give them the right to automatically bill the customer. And yet, strangely enough, it *does* require the customer to 'waive one's rights to a juried trial'.

    After illegally billing one for services - technically, under US law, one should not be required to pay and yet keep the services as a gift on the part of the giver - the company *then* charges 'cancellation fees' for a service one did not want in the first place. While the site claims the cancellation fees are 15$, there are also a number of other fees which they tack onto the cancellation fee.

    Solution for those scr3wed by Ipage: READ THE CONTRACT. Then, argue with the customer service for a few hours when you're sitting down to watch a good movie and/or have the time. Point out to them that you did not give them written consent for their services, nor are you obligated to pay and that they illegally used your private information. Note: this only works for renewal fees. I'm not sure about the legality of extra charges for the add-on tools (yet). Finally, call/complain to the FTC for illegal use of sensitive information (identity theft) and violation of customer rights (Consumer protection laws).

    Best solution: Never use Ipage.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    SiteGuy Jan 05, 2012

    These are some very lame complaints to be honest lol. They seem to boil down to "They say it's $3.95 a month but that's only if you pay for an entire year! They say their website building tools are easy but I couldn't figure out how to use them! I cancelled my account and they said there would be a $15 cancellation fee! And they have automatic billing!! What a scam!"

    For anyone considering any website hosting company, the biggest things to consider are:

    1) Whether or not their site is always up--nothing worse than going to your website and finding out the servers are YET AGAIN down.
    2) Whether or not their control panel/ftp is intuitive and easy to use.
    3) Whether or not you can get a hold of someone in customer service within a reasonable time.
    4) Whether or not the behind-the-scenes administrative stuff gives you a lot of options to work with to maximize your site's success.

    I'm about to check out iPage for possibly hosting my site. I decided to check first and see if there were a lot of complaints about the things that truly matter (I'm not even slightly going to use their site building tools, don't need to). Right now I've been to two different "complaint" sites and the overwhelming complaint on both boards has been about that non-refundable $15 fee when cancelling within 30 days lol.

    -1 Votes
  • Mu
    murphy_douglas Jan 06, 2012

    They do have to cover the bills for the outsourced boardscanners, so stealing becomes an option. Though, you know, they're making a profit on that, too. SiteGuy, you're not very good at this job.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    Joshie1 Mar 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    iPage.com is a total ###ing scam. they claim to have refunded me $154 but havent refunded a penny. Only an hour after getting a membership, I started to notice all of the "free benefits" were actually trials, really old and useless software. The customer service is not all that great either. Ive been communicating with them for the past 24 hours and theyve just given the run around, passing me off to other "specialists" and never giving me straight answers. And STILL I havent gotten my refund! Ripoff.

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Carisa Hendrix Mar 07, 2012

    I tried hosting with iPage, The tech support was insultingly bad and when I tried to cancel because I was sick of dealing with all the glitches and bad service they refused to honor their 100% money back guarantee.

    Out of what I paid for their service I was refunded less than $9 of the total amount and I’m still fighting to get the rest.

    If they were once a good hosting service I don't think they are anymore. Not recommended.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris71 Mar 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    File a complaint with consumer affairs by you or the better business bureau in IPages location:
    Ipage.com
    70 Blanchard Road
    Burlington, MA 01803

    This is what I am working on today. I'm postal mailing 1 complaint out and 1 was sent by email to the BBB today. The IPage ad clearly states refund anytime. The Facebook and AdWords are expired so they are a useless scam. I attempted to use them within 2 weeks. I called for a refund today and was told no refund my 30 days is past. IPanels refund policy isn't clear. Today an iPage link for refund policy led me to a blank area.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy F Dec 05, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had four websites with them. Each time I made sure the auto -renew was not clicked yet somehow they managed to pull monies out. Every time they did this, I would cancel my account and get them to refund my money.
    December 5, 2012 once again they pulled out money and it made my account go into the negative and accrue $120 in overage fees. What was there initial response? Well it will be 48 hours to refund money and then they will send a letter to my bank asking them to refund the overage fees, but I would have to get all the information for them and then call them back.
    This time around I have video showing me cancelling the auto-cancel and even my audio talking to them about my one account they did this two two or three months ago. Plus screen shots.
    I am sending it to the BBB and NYS Attorney General.
    They did, as I was typing this, say they would refund the amount, the original 108 bucks today within 30 minutes and not 48 hours.
    I am still putting the package together to send.
    They have repeatedly stole money from my accounts. They only return it when you complain.
    Timothy Ferraioli

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    AdamAdamAdamAdam Apr 18, 2013

    Asshoooooooooooooooooooooooles Mother###ers They keep putting my renewal option to Automatic + They charge extraordinarry fees that i never opted for and when you speak to them they want to charge you more for some reason.

    2 Votes
  • An
    AngryCustomerFromSingapore Mar 13, 2014

    IT IS A ###ING SCAM! DONT EVEN BUY IT!

    1. IT IS ###ING SLOW WITH LOUSY CONNECTIONS! YOUR AUDIENCE OR CLIENTS WILL HATE YOU FOR SURE

    2. THEY PLANTED ###ING MALWARES INTO MY CODES, AND SUGGESTED A ###ING STUPID MALWARE REMOVAL SERVICES TO ME. IT IS LIKE ANTI VIRUS COMPANY CREATINT VIRUSES THEMSELVES!

    ALL IN ALL, THIS IS A ### COMPANY, DO NOT USE IT AND CHANGE TO OTHER HOST WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe6tertr Mar 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do NOT sign up with iPage. Do NOT! BUT, if you have already signed up with them, open a "ticket" with them and tell them in no uncertain terms to cancel everything, and to never charge you again for anything, ever. Tell them to turn off all recurring charges AND never charge you for anything, now and forever. Take screen shots of these messages for proof. Now, cancel your credit card and make sure you do not get another credit card with the same number, and tell your credit card company to reject all charges associated with iPage, ipage.com, and its affiliates. Take screen shots of all of these messages and save them. If you do not cancel your credit card, then iPage will charge you for years in the future. No matter what you say to them, they will still be charging you in the future - guaranteed. I am talking from first-hand experience.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alexlux Jul 12, 2015

    iPAGE is a scam and now they even use promotion emails to steel your identity and credit card information. I did not have any site with them or any site building tools but I have been receiving emails with attachments which (my mistake) I have opened. And guess what? I am seeing charge from iPAGE bill for over 223 EUR!!! Thanks good that AMEX card from Belgium has actually refund money after I have reported scam and changed my card. It is shocking that after thousands of frauds reported on this company they are still operating.
    We must put web site just next to their official site with clear: Be ware of iPAGE scam,

    0 Votes
  • Ip
    ipage-scam Aug 27, 2015

    I hosted with iPage for one year and then they hit you with the renewal fee from around $10 to $144. I was not happy with the price rise and canceled my plan BUT the charged me any way. After spending some time talking to them I got a refund for the $144 hosting free but they charged me $16.99 domain renewal fee. Why they would renew something i had canceled? So I asked and they said it was not refundable. No i am nervous as I have read they keep trying to renew every year, years after you leave them. There must be a way to stop this if not you and i can set up a site charging for cheep domain name renewals take the money and run as there is not way stop it. Or is there a governing body? or who can you complain to or is it just a free for all scammers paradise?

    0 Votes
  • Ip
    IpageNoGood Nov 04, 2015

    Ipage is the biggest scam artist on the web. I signed up for the introductory rate for 3 years of web hosting. After one year I was charged a certain amount for the "domain" name, I thought it was for 3 years? I called and customer support did nothing for me, the best part is, I didnt check my credit card bill this whole time, so now my credit is ruined. Thank you Ipage for biling me and ruining my credit!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer34970 Jan 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today (01/07/16) I happened to find that iPage had stolen three times over two days period out of my bank account in total of $189.38. None of these were authorized. None consented. Tomorrow I am contacting the corporate office. Apparently they kept my bank account number without my knowledge. I have no trust on iPage billing department personnel.

    0 Votes
  • Xt
    Xtrem Zen Jan 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RENEWAL SCAM !!
    Account canceled in 2013
    Funds withdrew in 2014, refunded after a seriously insane fight
    Then, out of the blue, this 2016 bill!
    2015USD for basic plan when actually the website is off since 2013!!!
    Had to go back on their website, start a process of new logging, new password, and to dance with all kind -typical scam- jungle links, screens and warnings.
    Notice that i will again have to deal with them in 2017 or 2018!
    Trust me folk, stay away from these guys!
    I have made 5 screen shots to prove it!

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Xt
    Xtrem Zen Jan 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CORRECTION ! it is 215USD

    0 Votes
  • Bv
    Bvathi Mar 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello sir

    IPAGE - tech support office, Mangalore, INDIA
    Near Kings Park Layout, Mary Hills Kavoor Post, Mangalore 575015, Karnataka INDIA
    any persons have problems and facings issues with affiliate commissions, shared hosting plans, domain, credit card charges, please visit the above ipage address physically

    INSTANTLY solved by ipage

    here i given another more information about IPAGE BAD WORKS
    so visit again

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem