The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Iobit Advanced System Carescam, fraud

I
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Beware of something called Advance System Care. It's a free download initially, but they supposedly upgrade it every few months and then charge for the update. I paid for the PRO edition. Now I'm told my key is no good and I'm shut out.

RESOLVED

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

  • IObit's response · Nov 14, 2017

    Dear Customer,

    This is IObit Support Team.

    Thank you for your feedback. We didn't call our customer and we won't provide remote access help. So please don't trust any call services although they declaim they are from IObit.

    And could you please provide more information about the call? So we can further investigate it.

    Thank you for your support.

Responses

  • Da
    David258 Sep 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been using iObit products since 2013. No issues to date. Yes, they place ads of their products within products, it's an irritating upsell.

    Also, after reading most of the negative reviews here, I am tending to believe that those people are scammed in general. Now since the computer maintenance scam is such widespread, it might be a general scam which indicated or misrepresented iObit.

    Also, guys, to avoid such things, please be aware of what you are doing and from where you are doing online. You need to be as careful as you are in a physical store.

    -1 Votes
  • Sg
    SGT Clubba Sep 08, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been using ASC for years without any problems

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    markal01 Nov 09, 2017

    India or Pakistani have infiltrated the IObit system...they knew I recently upgraded to IObit Pro...they had all the symbols and IObit markings but, they were not for real. IObit needs to investigate this and shut them down. The Hindus contacted me a week or so after my upgrade and told me the software was corrupt and they needed access to my computer to fix the problems. I said send the fix in an e-mail and I would install it...no, no, no...we must have access to your computer to fix individual files...yea...right! They would also reimburse me for the purchase 180.00...I only paid 29.99. I felt uneasy but, they continued to harass me with info on my accounts...I felt it was wrong but, gave in...what a mistake. My bank called me with a fraud alert...did you approve a 750.00 dollar money order from western union and another 750.00 money order from western union...and also 400.00 from Walmart.com for 2 cards theme: Thanks for your service...that takes the cake!!! Another for a 56 dollar bill from Skype. I have never used skype or Walmart.com. Thank God, Walmart, My Bank and Skype saw these thief's for what they are and shut them down...no money lost!!!...c'mon, lets stop this [censor]! I think IObit is for real and the Hindus have developed a scam...IObit WAKE UP stop these hindu thiefs!

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    David258 Sep 25, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @markal01 Unfortunate remarks

    1 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce Wyche Feb 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Definitely SCAMMERS No doubt in my mind

    -4 Votes
  • Br
    Bruno Ferreira Aug 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You can always contact their support if you bought the key from their official website. Sometimes they giveaway 6month or shorter duration keys and then of course, when the "pro - trial" ends, it asks you to buy more time, as any other product on the market.

    So, just contact them, and they WILL help you.

    Been using their products for the past 5 years, and currently am a PRO user of Advanced SystemCare Ultimate, and I do not have a single complaint about the company, they constantly update their products, and always improve what needs to be fixed, when I need to reinstall the product and my key only activates one PC, they can easily replace your key with a new one, so you can reinstall the software if you need to, like for example, when you reset your computer.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jay32988 Mar 19, 2016

    i simply disagree with most of this firstly i use only the free installs of advanced system care which sometimes give you a trial for pro and number one if you dont know how to use a computer to begin with you honestly cant blame ASC for ruining your computer if you used it in the wrong way such as using it for defragging registry it should be common knowledge to never do this and ASC doesnt force you to do it its an option. Number two dont use the game booster if you obviously didnt set aside the right services for it to stop plus if the computer crashed as a result of this you shoulda deleted the restoration data and load a new boot up option on windows which would have made the computer work again the only reason why the computer wouldnt start up again is if it had other issues or errors to begin with pre existing . Three i understand they stole from maleware bytes but then again malewarebytes is really good at what they do and their sucessful as well so its not much of jump as to why they did it which by the way makes them smarter than the norton team by far granted i also wish they woulda made their own detection keys and definitions but hey it works i guess. Four you dont call microsoft to stop facebook posts in emails you just go to face book or your email and opt out of them avoid phone scams with computers just hang up. All in all i been using ASC for years and years and they been keeping all my computers stable honestly just dont use the defragmenters ive never really had a problem unless a virus showed up and then i delt with them as they came along.

    2 Votes
  • Pi
    Pipilongstockings Jan 28, 2016

    I called Microsoft as I wanted Facebook notifications taken off of my Outlook Email. The girl did so by going into my computer. But now I don't have any emails coming in at all from anybody...I got ahold of Microsoft on my computer and into a chat line, same thing into my computer but now the tech scanned with Advanced SystemCare and it reported over 22, 000 problems on my computer. The Tech then said it would be $199.99 US to fix. Said I couldn't afford so one time fix was $99.99 US which I agreed on. They were putting through and I used my RBC Credit card but it wouldn't take. The Tech wanted me to phone my bank to OK it. So said it wasn't in my community so used another Credit card I had just got and it wouldn't take either. He said he would do the fix and their support team would figure out the Credit Card thing. I got really scared as he shut down my computer and then on again but I had no screen to see what was going on. I shut down my computer and called both Visa's and cancelled my cards!!! They told me not to trust anything like that...DUH Here I'm thinking this is a good thing with Microsoft but is this onto a scam. Now I have both Advanced SystemCare 9 on my Desktop and also IOb something. BEWARE OUT THERE FOLKS!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Bi
    Bivens PC Dec 30, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Pipilongstockings I am sorry but you were scammed from the start. Because Microsoft does not offer that sort of tech support. Anytime you see something saying that Microsoft can remote in. It is not legal.

    Scammers make fake sites (phishing scams) and they will pretend to be someone else. Then try to get you to pay.

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    jimmy k Nov 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I to was scamed by IObit, after years of service with them. Never, ever call them, they will lie about anything and everything. Big scan, and Many, many $$$$$$, and probable now a new PC.

    -3 Votes
  • Az
    Azsartaj Nov 09, 2013

    OK, my entire hard drive just failed because I downloaded something called "Game Booster" (which may be now known as "Razor") and now all my work... IS ALL GONE. Windows had failed and got shut down, and my computer wouldn't even boot up. So, after many MONTHS (maybe even year(s)) my computer was just, TRASH. So I tried to reinstall windows, and guess what? IT DID EVEN LET ME INSTALL IT! So, as time passed by, I installed Linux on my computer. It worked fine, but guess what (again)? MY HARD DRIVE FAILED SO BADLY THAT IT CORRUPTED IT PHYSICALLY. Thats how bad IObit corrupts your system. So now, I may have to get a new hard drive, or a new computer. PLEASE SPREAD THIS COMPLAINT TO EVERYONE SO THEY WOULD ALSO KNOW THAT IOBIT IS A HUGE SCAM.

    -5 Votes
  • Co
    compwork2 Nov 23, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Azsartaj Sorry for your loss.
    I have been using iobit for 10 years and never had a problem with any of their stuff.. when I started with them it was advanced system care 3. I still use it today.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    Bivens PC Dec 30, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Azsartaj It actually sounds like you had another issue. Granted the program is just awful. But it woulod not prevent you from doing a clean install of Windows. (Since the proper way is to boot to the disk you bypass booting into Windows)

    It sounds more so like you had a failing hard drive. People often blame issues on software when in fact they had a hardware issue.

    (I.T. Consultant, Microcomputer Specialist, Electronics Tester, for over a decade)

    Always be sure to run a hard drive (or SSD) Diag. And be sure to test you RAM.

    I recommend using Seatools from Seagate (Yes it can test any brand.) And Memtest86+ for RAM.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.