The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Hobby Lobbyawful experience

V Review updated:

My wife visited Hobby Lobby on 11-4-09. Went to front counter to pay and was immediately accused of trying to steal money from the company. Assistant manager further accused her and stated she did not want to see my wife in her store again. Very rude, exceptionally arrogant. Would not patronize Hobby Lobby for any reason nor recommend it to anyone else. There are far better companies to give your money to that would appreciate having you as a customer. Nobody should have to be treated in such a manner because a mistake was made to patronize Hobby Lobby.

Responses

  • La
    LAR1 Nov 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is my favorite store, I was appalled at the condition of the rest room today. I'm sure you can see from the picture's it was a nasty health hazard. They only have 2 stalls, both in the same condition.

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • In
    In Fairy Dust Dreams Sep 14, 2012

    Entering the store - I went to the jewelry isle to find crimp beads and I picked some items off of racks; As I was looking at other things in the store, I remembered that in my purse was a plastic bag of tools, crimpers and wire used to hang my carvings in a show last weekend. I removed a couple of packages from my bag to compare the others with and realized that I had picked up more of the same size, so I returned the ones that I had picked up to the jewelry isle and picked up some key rings instead, I then proceeded to the check out counter with my purchases and told the young man that I was putting my things back in my purse, paid for my purchases and started to leave the store when the manager and security accused me of stealing and took me to the office. We watched the videos and they showed me taking the items from the shelf, it showed me returning to the shelf that is all - it never showed me concealing anything, never any intent to steal anything - I tried to tell him that the items that he took from my purse was mine - paid for at a store in Austin, told him that I had receipts, but not with me as I was just passing through town to another showing of my art works. I offered to provided them if he would only let me go get them. But instead he never ever offered any proof of his accusations, never asked the sales clerk if he could back my story, but rather had the officers write up a citation to appear in court and would not let me leave the room without signing a paper stating that if I ever enter another Hobby Lobby I will be charged with trespassing! I did provide the receipts to the judge and she dismissed the case, but the manager stole my belongings; literally "kidnapped" me into signing the paper (that is what the Judge called it)-and embarrassed, frightened me and harassed me as I have never been treated before. What can a person do to regain their pride after something like this. I teach crafts and woodcarving and show my art work all over Texas and New Mexico - I have spent a lot of time and money with this chain of stores - and now to be banned from all of them without probable cause?

    2 Votes
  • Ed
    edinburgh Mar 16, 2012

    Why is it so easy for people to generalize every single store of a company when only one or two locations may be at fault? There's always going to be a disrespectful store just as there's always going to be that one nasty customer.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    mickay Feb 10, 2010

    I'm with Maggie on this one, without more details I would find it difficult to believe that someone would arbitrarily accuse a customer of stealing anything. People in retail are told over and over that they have to follow a certain procedure if they think that someone is stealing and that you never actually accuse someone of doing it. The only thing I can think of is that she ran into a problem with that system they have to try to catch shoplifters but the people in the store know that there are false alarms occasionally and while it might be inconvenient to have to stop so they can check out what happened even that won't usually get you accused of stealing.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    monica070583 Feb 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And I'm sorry to all people who are reading this comment, but I'm really angry, it is unjust to treat the people like that

    -2 Votes
  • Mo
    monica070583 Feb 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    NO, THE IDIOT ARE YOU MOMTOBEKRISTE, that person is not an idiot. I was a victim of hobby lobby employees too!!! On dec. 10-2009 i was on hobby lobby on Denver (7000 w. Alameda Ave) IT IS A NEW STORE, and i was trying to make and EXCHANGE, but the stupid cashier gave me a ticket of REFUND and she told me: go to the store, take your merchandise and came back whit this ticket, is valid like cash. I was on the store walking arroun and i saw A ### BLACK OF ### follow me on the store, but i didn't take care of it because i was focus looking for my merchandise. When i was with other cashier explained about the ticket, the black man show me a plate and told me "you are under arrest" I was asking why and, but he didn't answer. We went to an small room, checked all my body and asked me if i had a knife, gun, etc. Then, he put the brazalets and pushed me to a chair (I NEVER USE RESISTANCE). Then, entered to the room the RACIST MANAGER and was asking me how i offten the ticket, my english is poor, but i explained her perfectly what happened, and i told her: You have to ask what happen to the cashier who gave me that ticket, but she refused, saying : she is left, went to home, The STUPID SECURITY was callig to the police, acussing me of trying to make a fraud, trying to change the ticket for cash and using a false ID (my ID is a drivers license for Mexico, but is NOT FALSE). I was beging to the manager: you have to talk to the cashier. and she, verry arrogant told me: let me try, but is obviously, we have the proofs, you want to make a fraud. The black security was subsracting all my stuff of my wallet, and asking stupid questions like: are you legal on this coutry, who is this guy on this picture is your complice? and after the stupid interrogatory, the ### MANAGER entered to the room saying: NO, NO, NO, WAS THE FAULT OF THE CASHIER, SHE IS WRONG ABOUT OUR POLICES OF REFUND AND EXCHANGES!!! I never hear an IM SORRY, or something like that. Of course, I put a complaint, AND JUST YESTERDAY I RECEIVED A LETTER WHERE SAY: "DEAR MONICA, WE WOULD LIKE TO APOLOGIZE FOR THE PROBLEM YOU HAVE EXPERIENCED IN OUR STORES, WE ARE TAKINGMEASURES TO PREVENT THIS SITUATION FROM HAPPENING INTHE FUTURE. ENCLOSE, YOU WILL FIND A 50 DLLS GIFT CARD FOR ANY INCONVINIENCE THIS MAY HAVE CAUSED YOU. Are they thinking, whit a gift card i'm going to forget my experience on that store?OF COURSE NOT!!!AND FOR YOU, ### MANAGER AND SECURITY, GO TO DRAG TO THE ###!!!

    -3 Votes
  • Mo
    momtobekristen Dec 26, 2009

    there had to be a reason your wife was targeted...they dont just come out and accuse random people of stealing...either your wife is guilty of shoplifting and you dont want to admit it and blame a nice retail store...or there is more to the story YOU arent telling. dont blame Hobby Lobby you are an idiot.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Tiffany Dodd Sep 10, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @momtobekristen You are wrong there. They do indeed. I know from experience

    0 Votes
  • He
    HeaenLeigh Jan 13, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @momtobekristen Oh yes they do.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.