The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Gem Shopping NetworkWorthess Bracelet

M Review updated:

I bought a multi-sapphire bracelet for $1200 from them. One wearing and it was kinked. I sent it back. The supposedly fixed it, but then the clasp wouldn't work. I sent it back again and it came back exactly the same, the clasp still woldn't work. Because of medical problems I just let it sit in my jewlery box for a month. Then I took it to my jeweler who draped it over my wrist, and it kinked again. He said the bracelet could not be repaired. It would kink every time I wore it, so he gave it back to me.. When I called Gem Shopping they said the 30 day warranty had expired and that was that. I was stuck with a bracelet that was unwearable. In addition, I returned one other item to them. It takes 90 days at least for them to refund your money to your credit card.. 3 MONTHS!. That is unreasonable!. They do not stand behind their products. I feel I was ripped off since I have not been able to wear this bracelet.

Responses

  • An
    ANGELEYES Nov 12, 2009

    I hear lots of people have been ripped off by them. File a complaint with the BBB and the FTC. You allready did the Atty. Gen. Also, find the complaint sites that let you mark the box that says is if ok if an atty., etc. wants to contact you. For the amt. of money, something should be done...LOL

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    willowred Apr 19, 2010

    It' like floating a loan to the company...you pay your bill in 30 days but they keep and use your money for 90 days...cute huh?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Jones III Apr 05, 2013

    I think gem shopping is great. 8 have bought beautiful, valueable gems and jewelry, and never had a problem. I bought a ruby ring I wore evey day for 3 years, and I hit it really hard, and knocked out a ruby, and broke off a prong. They repaired my ring at NO COST even though it was well over their warrenty

    0 Votes
  • Of
    Off the cut Jul 19, 2013

    I worked for jewelry company. You should know all jewelry prices are inflated at least 1000%. Even at your local store such as K's and Z's so when they "raffle" off estate items that they bought for pennies on the dollar why so surprised that it is not top quality. It is like a casino-you are taking a gamble. Go to your local jeweler if you want to see what you getting. They are not always truthful either. I was told a Russian Alexandrite was worth $80.00 when the dealer knew it was about a $12, 000 ring. Vintage, 8 carats, etc. Said it was worthless yet wanted to purchase it?!!! So who do you trust? My motto is if you love it, can afford it, can't live w/o go ahead and get it. But buyer beware as with anything anymore. Quality does not matter anymore, it's all about $$$$$ and quantity.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    GIAGEMOLOGIST Nov 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I own a jewelry store. and I would love to know where I can find jewelry I can mark up 1000%. I am sure that low end silver and costume jewelry from China could be marked up that way, but I am lucky to get double on my nicer goods. What spaceship did you land on? In accordance, I had to match a diamond deal with Bluenile the other day, and i made a whopping $1000 on a $7500 sale. Get real!

    1 Votes
  • Ug
    Ugogemexpert Jan 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey a $1, 000 is nothing to sneaze at on a $7, 500 sale. However, GSN could not stay in business if it only marked up their items 15% or less. The overhead and the comission they have to pay the hosts requires that they mark up their items at least 250%. They deceive buyers by stating unrealistic ticket prices which they then discount to what appears to be a more reasonable price. If your smart always negotiate the prices they offer by at least a half of what they ask.

    2 Votes
  • Db
    dbg1984 Feb 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a multi stone necklace. The first time I wore it one of the stones fell out. I was fortunate to have found the stone. I am afraid more stones will fall out. I would like to have your service dept repair it and check out all the stones. It was a $5000 piece.thank you. dianne glick

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    TinyAnne Feb 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been complaining to GEM SHOPPING about their return policy. I personally think that some of the problems began after Sun Capitol bought the company. For me the confusion came when the hosts continued to tell us about the wonderful return policy. Well..not so. During early orders, I just must have been lucky. I never read the FINE PRINT @ the bottom of the invoice...saying you only have 7 days just to call them for a return number. Then, in smaller print...you have 30 days to return the item. And if you are 1 day off, or have a death in your family, etc. no matter HOW LEGITIMATE your lateness may have been, they SHOW NO UNDERSTANDING RE: THE CUSTOMERS' NEEDS. One would assume that they want to make their customers happy. I believe they only care about profit & greed, and care NOT AT ALL FOR THE PEOPLE WHO ACTUALLY BUY THEIR PRODUCTS.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    Wise in Texas Apr 17, 2018

    I have purchased numerous items from them as well as loose gem stones. But I always do my homework and I also only work with particular hosts. I have returned items and always had the refund show in my next credit card cycle. Please be advised some CC's are slow to post refunds because they get your money and use it before refunding it.
    My long time jeweler and gold smith that I work with on designs for the loose diamonds I buy from Mark is very impressed with their quality and when I told him what I paid for a 1.02 fancy intense yellow he wouldn't believe me until I showed him the line on my credit card bill. He pulled his wholesale book and said he can't buy it for what I paid. Like I said at the top, do your homework, know what you are interested in and what others charge for same quality. The purchaser bears some responsibility for the transaction.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.