The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Festiva Resortsadditional reservation charges

We bought with Festiva 3 years ago. I wanted to believe this company was "different" from other timeshare companies. However, in the last 3 years, more and more deception and misrepresentations have occurred to now I deeply regret buying my timeshare from them. First they convinced that we had to convert over to points or else lose the value we had originally purchased, we paid several thousand dollars more to not have the benefits we did before - unbelievably! We can now no longer deal directly with the location we purchased from to begin with, but rather are forced to deal with the Adventure Club (Festiva), who charge $89 every time you want to make a reservation (after the first call of the year). The whole sales pitch about benefits of points was to make those "last minute" calls and save point value... but if you have to pay for the call, you've lost your savings. I'm sick to think of how much I am paying for less benefits that we had originally (not to mention $300 more in maintenance fees - which they didn't tell us until we were just about to sign our name to the contract) - DO NOT BUY from these people - they are crooks.

Responses

  • Wi
    William Harvey May 11, 2009

    I just purchased in Festiva Resorts last year and I made one reservation this year so far. I just called to make another reservation for Thanksgiving week and I was told there would be a $89.00 fee for making another reservation the same year. This is gouging and is rediculous. I was told in order to avoid this additional charge I had to roll all my points over to next year, call back nest year and make all my reservations at one time. Who knows that far in advance when and where they might want to go? Things can happen and sudden changes can make those early reservations void. The more I learn about this company the less I like it and I am in deep consideration of giving my ownership up. I am not satisfied with this company one bit.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Festiva Rep May 11, 2009

    We have posted an answer to your concern about the multiple reservation fee on our blog. Please visit http://festivaresorts.wordpress.com/question-answer.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FESTIVA FANATIC Jun 28, 2009

    bonehead...read you festiva documents...it says the first fiscal reservation call you can make as many reservations for free...any additional reservations will cost 89.00. Solution...pick your places ahead of time. if you pay 89.00 at the beggining of the year two things will happen...you can cancel any reservation that year with no addotional fee. Also, you will be refunded 100% of your yearly maint fee if you do not use your points that year...if you roll or bank those points and try to activate those point, you will have to pay the maint fees. sorry about the bonehead part...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    R & T Gaskins Sep 09, 2009

    I just called to make a 3 night reservation (our 1st) and was told about the $89.00 fee for any other res. in 2009. I asked if it was possible to make my own reservations; of course not. Now, unless a member needs the expertise of Central Reservations, I don't see why they can't help themselves and save the $89.00 fee. There are those of us who are not internet capable, but I am. So I rec'd a point discount for late res. but will be forced to pay in inflationary money (not points) for any other res. this year, $89.

    As we were being wooed into buying this, our 1st timeshare, I asked our salesperson, Patrick Haag and his boss, Robert Cote, Proj Dir, this question. When we call for res, will Festiva nickel and dime us to death with any other fees? They said no and that's a benefit because then you know what your vacation will cost in advance. They also stated that the maintenance fees would not be going up any time soon.

    This should've been pointed out to us from the beginning. I just hope my first trip will be enjoyable.

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Festiva Rep Sep 24, 2009

    Mrs. Gaskins;

    We responded to you directly by e-mail on 9/11/2009. In case you did not receive it, there is information answering your question on our blog at http://festivaresorts.wordpress.com/question-answer/comment-page-1/#comments.

    There is also information in the members’ section of our website about the reservation process, including the fees. Once you are logged in as a member, you can view the Understanding Your Membership page, the Rules & Regulations page, and the Frequently Asked Questions page which all have detailed information about your usage and explanation of the multiple reservation fees.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SINGLETARY Oct 26, 2009

    MY COMPLAINT HAS BEEN REMOVED ??? IT MAY BE BECAUSE I WROTE OUT THE POINTS IN THE CONTRACT FOR ALL TO VIEW... DO NOT SIGN A CONTRACT WITH FESTIVA .. THERE ARE HIDDEN COST AND LIES IN THE FINE PRINT... READ READ READ THE CONTRACT. IF NOT YOU ARE GOING TO LOSS ALOT.. DEED OWNERS BE AWEAR THEY ARE REALLY AFTER THAT DEED AND YOUR WEEK. THEY WANT TO SELL YOU POINTS FOR A REASON. IT IS NOT FOR VACTION TIME BUT, FOR MONEY. IN 40 YEARS YOU HAVE TO BUY IT AGAIN IF YOU WANT IT. IT IS ALL IN THE FINE PRINT JUST READ...SAFE YOUR SELF A LOT OF TIME AND HEADACKE DO NOT MEET WITH THESE MONEY HUNGRY LIRES...

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    Festiva Rep Jan 28, 2010

    Cheynes;
    I'm sorry that you've had a negative experience with the Adventure Club. You will be pleased to know that we eliminated the $89 multiple transaction fee in November of last year. So now you can call us as many times as you wish or need for reservations, and there are no additional fees. If you have any other questions or concerns that need to be addressed, we are more than willing to assist you in any way that we can. Please contact us at [email protected]

    Singletary;
    If you have a specific complaint or concern, you can also contact us directly and we will work towards a resolution. We sent more than 90, 000 people on vacation in 2009 alone, and we certainly do want to address and solve any problems that our members have.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    ajcooper929 Jun 06, 2010

    Why does everyone al;ways complain about the sales process? Festiva does nothing wrong... as usual, it comes down to naive people not paying attention to details when they sign up

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.