Menu
Cheap Caribbean company logo
Cheap Caribbean
reviews & complaints

Cheap Caribbean
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

62 complaints
44 resolved 18 unresolved
File a complaint Table of contents
Claimed
This account has been claimed by Cheap Caribbean customer service / representatives through our verification process.
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Cheap Caribbean. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share
ADVERTISIMENT
J
5:20 pm

Cheap Caribbean - 6DM500CJ This is our trip booked though you.

We booked a trip for our 35th wedding Anniversary and stayed at Mystique St. Lucia by Royalton. We were extremely upset with our accommodations. I have pictures of the ceiling outside our room where it had collapsed and it laid there the entire week we were there. We had no hot water in our shower for 3 days and could not get any wash clothes for much of our stay. There were exposed electrical wires and cabanas that were half falling down because the screws were missing. These are just a few of the issues that we had. The manager of the resort had us sign a document to not release these photos and we were to receive partial refund for our trip. I have a copy of this document and the photos. I have tried contacting you at 800-915-2322 (which is the number I was given) and all I get is a run around. I would like to get this issue resolved without having to go the legal route. I have enclosed just 2 of the many photos. Please contact me at [email protected] or 716-785-5819. Thank you Jean and Robin(Bob) Chant

Read full review
View 0 more photos
Hide full review

Cheap Caribbean - $200 refund that I was promised and to which was owed to be for a past trip

Went on a trip to Punta Cana 7/10/21 thru 7/17/21, and was promised by Mr. Steve Dumaine that $300 refund would be sent to me, which was owed, and I only received $100. I thought he was a man of his word but apparently this was not the case as I have sent several letters to him regarding this without a reply--very disappointed and definitely will not be using this company in the future.

Desired outcome: Please refund and I would greatly appreciate a response, thank you

Read full review
Hide full review
C
3:28 am
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Travel cancelled due to covid - strict rules and unreasonable expiration on credit which was given due to cancellation

Made a phone call to customer service recently to discuss our

travel credit and the expiration. The hold time to get to a person is

extremely long it took almost 2 hours of our

time to try to get resolution over the phone, however, there was no

resolution - it was very frustrating.

We wanted to extend the expiration but we were told, "sorry, we already extended too

many times". To back track, we had a DR trip booked in 2019 but cancelled as it was in the midst of the mysterious deaths of vacationers at the resorts at that time. We were given a credit which we used to travel to Jamaica in 2020, however, there was a balance remaining which was not refunded but given as another credit, so we booked a trip to Turks and Caicos. Then, the pandemic happened right at the time that trip was booked for - there were travel restrictions and we couldn't go even if we wanted to. My husband re-booked for the trip for this year in error (he meant to book it for next year, but when he called back they said it couldn't be extended that long) and we just received notice that we must travel by next month or it will expire. There is no way we can book a vacation out of the country for next month.

I'm not understanding how there can be an expiration on a credit that

had to be given because of the pandemic? We would have used it

long ago if it wasn't for the pandemic - that is not our fault a pandemic is out of our control. And, now we are told we

have to travel by next month or we will lose our money. Close to $5K. I'm hoping this is all just a misunderstanding. We eventually would like to travel, but not in the near future. Right now there are still new cases of Covid, a rise in cases, new variants, I care for my elderly father in

my home - he is high risk, so I don't feel safe traveling anytime

in the very near future. I don't understand why we can't be refunded in this case. During the last phone conversation with customer service, we were told sorry, we can't do anything for you - you will have to email custom[email protected] I have emailed that address 3 separate times now, but I get no response. Our "deadline" is approaching and I feel like our money is being held hostage with a demand to travel by a certain date whether you want to or not. That does not seem reasonable. Booking number is 32639085.1

Desired outcome: All I am asking is that Cheap Caribbean work with us on this. We can't travel in the near future. A refund of our balance would be appreciated.

Read full review
Hide full review
ADVERTISIMENT
A
10:24 am
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Flight cancelation

My booking Reservation:  4DX600CJ, flight were canceled from Frontier airlines and now i am being asked to pay additional $1200 to rebook with a different carrier. I have been on the phone with different departments multiple times holded for hours, been lied to to call back here and there, have asked multiple times for a manger and they are never available and will never call me back. I am horrified and extremely upset how this company is handling an issue they created, not ME. I will follow this legaly and all over social media if no resolution is obtained

Desired outcome: Want my flights rescheduled to my original booking dates whe i don't have to pay any extra fees.

Read full review
Hide full review
C
9:19 pm
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Cheap Caribbean - Credit

I received an email from Cheap Caribbean "Hello! Thank you for choosing Cheap Caribbean! We reviewed your reservation as requested and found there was an error on the part of our agent. While the agent advised you could book your air credit until 3/31/22 and travel later, that is not the case. American Airlines does state that you must complete your new...

Read full review
N
3:27 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Worst vacation ever-rip off

It would take me a day to write everything that went wrong from the begging.

Long story short… I spent 6500 for a trip that’s an absolute nightmare - our place has a leak in the room, broken bed, we can’t eat anywhere for 4 days because (everything was booked for restaurants) i’m in dr with 2 kids. The day we arrived we tried to make reservations to restaurants and they said we can’t go anywhere because they are booked. The food at their “bar” is nasty, no one here to give me info about our transportation coming back. For covid test… well it’s at same room as their daycare with million kids. I’m only here 2 days and have 3 to go but so far… the worst experience ever for a lot of money. And yes… I did email cheapcaribbkan. No response yet. Oh and I did forget to add that we were not allowed on our flight because we were “late” (we arrived 2 hours before) had to wait 5 hours to get on a next flight that was a “stand by”…

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
B
10:41 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Hotel accommodations grand palladium jamaica 3/22-3/26.

Mini bar empty. called three times to get it stocked, came 2 days into 4 day trip w/water and soda only. No alcohol. Fridge didn’t work Only sheets on bed. Called 5 times>Got blanket on day 3. Never had clean sheets. We did not have bath mats. Reused coffee mugs. Much of vaca spent trying to get services they had offered in their website. Terrible

Desired outcome: I would like to have at least a credit toward another vacation with Cheap Caribbean. (Could not list all in above explanation due to character limit)

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
Z
8:20 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Payment not received.

Hi. My name is Joanna. I bought vacation packet February 16 -22. When we try to come back from Cancun to New Jersey our flight was cancel 3 months ago. The lady told us Frontier airlines don’t fly to New Jersey from December. Nobody inform us. Even 5 days before our trip starts I got email from cheap carribbean agent with confirmation number of that flight. I traveled with 8 family members. How we can got refund for 8 tickets? If you need more information please let me know.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
C
1:46 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Cheap Caribbean - No refund / no extension / no service

Booked 2/18/2020 Canceled 4/11/2020 Travel date 7/14-22/2020 Hotel Rui was closed because of Covid I booked this trip for my family and was not able to attend because of Covid therefore we canceled as soon as possible. Shortly after I got pregnant and was unable to travel. I contacted Cheap Caribbean and they said I would have credit with them. I told...

Read full review
ADVERTISIMENT
L
12:38 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Rip off poor customer service

Had an issue and contacted them on 02/1/2022 and as of today 3/8/2022 still no response nothing has been done. Book a hotel only to get there and the whole room is flooded with mold! Been calling since 02/1/2022 to this company and hotel. Even contact the ceo Steve Dumaime still no help. I wouldn’t recommend this sorry ass company to my worst enemy!

Desired outcome: A full refund!

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
N
4:01 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - cheap caribbean -false advertising- booked resort based off of the beach and arrived and beach was completely different

We booked the resort based off of the beach pictures cheap Caribbean provides. we arrived and it was COMPLETELY different. They literally built a concrete rock wall, enclosing the beach/ocean, so we could no longer snorkel or swim, (which is literally what we came to Mexico to do- we are avid snorkelers and brought all of our equipment with us to snorkel).

so we spent our first night and the whole next day trying to get ahold of someone, and then finally got transferred to another hotel. the hotel we paid for and the hotel we ended up at are completely 2 different levels of hotel. and also very different in price. the one we ended up staying at goes for at least $1,000/week LESS than the one we booked. not to mention the inconvenience and loss of vacation time.

Had we known the truth from the start, we would have saved over $1,000.

this was not our fault and hate complaining. But we were completely deceived and are entitled to a refund for AT LEAST the different in price.

Desired outcome: Please refund me or provide me with a travel credit for the difference in hotel price.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
R
12:49 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Refunds/Customer Service/Post Travels

Our flight got cancelled. We were in Mexico. Call Cheap Caribbean about staying another night. They told us we would have to pay them $211.01 for an extra night and they would send over the credits to the hotel. We paid Cheap Caribbean with our credit card. The next day on checkout, the hotel made us pay $129.00 because they had never received the credit from Cheap Caribbean. When I tried to call Cheap Caribbean about the refund. They said they needed documentation from our bank that we paid. We emailed them with receipts. Still have bot received a refund.. Our flight got cancelled also, the airlines sent over our refund to Cheap Caribbean and the said it would take up to 60 days to send a refund to us. Even though we got confirmation from the airline they sent the funds to them. When you call.. you are in hold and on the phone for at lease 2 hours. A lot of apologies, and no actions. This company is non caring, irresponsible and unreliable. I will never use this company again. Please beware people…….

Desired outcome: I want follow through action with this company! And most of all we want our refund!

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
B
10:13 am
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - travel credit

I have a travel credit because of COVD. The credit is set to expire the end of March. Because of health reasons I was told that if I got a doctors note I would be able to extend the credit four months,

I got the doctors letter and set it to Cheap Caribbean. I was then notified that I had to send them a copy in PDF form. I did that and was told that they could not read the note in the PDF form.

There have been many e mails back and forth. I am trying to extend my trip through June when hopefully I will be okay to go outside the US.

Desired outcome: I am just looking for the four month extension that customer service told me is available with a doctors letter. My balance has been paid in full and I am not asking for any money back.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
A
5:50 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Cheap Caribbean - No services received for the money we paid

In 2020, we paid cheap caribbean over $3,500 for a resort vacation. It was canceled due to the pandemic. They offered us credit towards a rebooking. We tried to rebook but were unable, again due to the pandemic. Not our fault. After one year of them having our money, they refused to rebook us and refused to refund us our money. They told us to contact our...

Read full review
ADVERTISIMENT
H
5:29 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - No results

We booked a trip to Aruba which we saved three years for. When two people in our group tested positive for Covid and also was impossible to get back a PCR in 24 hours in our area and Aruba was having 300 positive cases a day, we decided best to cancel until it was safe, We made our resservation on line and canceled the same way it was also days before our final payment was due. We were charged $311 per person to cancel which no one can explain the charges. I spent weeks trying to reach someone on the phone to no avail. I finally got their accounting department and was on the phone for 3.5 hours . They are trying to tell me that the airline is taking $200 per person and they are taking their fee too. When I called the United Airlines they said that in if you booked in 2021 or 2022 they were giving full refunds. This Cheap Caribbean is a rip off. You cannot speak to a supervisor and they are trying to give me excuses that are not true such as I needed to speak to a live person to cancel which you cannot get through to and that the airlines were charging them. When I told them I wanted a receipt the bill from United Airlines that they are charging Cheap Caribbean they told me no.

do yourself a favor do not use this site. When doing the math all i asked for was $348 to be added to my refund. A cancellation because of Covid should not cost me $934.

I wonder if Cheap Caribbean even reads this. Would be nice to get an answer.
Helen Rubbo

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
M

Hi Ms. Rubbo.

We are living in unique times. If you elected to purchase trip insurance for your trip, that is something that may be able to assist you in getting a full refund.

Before canceling, check with said insurance provider. They will likely provide you the best way of rescheduling your vacation.

Happy sailing!

Helpful?
0 0
Z
10:48 pm
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Travel credit

June 2021 I had booked a vacation to Jamaica which we unfortunately had to reschedule for January 2021. The cost was around $3, 163 and the travel credit was going to be applied to my new reservation in January with a balance of $800 due to some upgrades. October I booked a trip to Cancun which was great and really enjoyed the way my vacation was so simple using cheap Caribbean, I was so excited for my upcoming vacation. I called two weeks ago to make my final payment and to reassure everything was ready to go. Today while at work I received an email that if I didn't pay $2004 by 5pm my reservation would be cancelled. A guy answered and he tried to say that my travel credit was applied to my October vacation even though I have bank statements stating that's inaccurate. I asked to speak to management and after two hours of him denying he just hung up. I got ahold of another kind representative which took another two hours couldn't explain the situation and was going to verify with another department the situation. Now I'm here one week away from my vacation stressed out and wondering what I'm suppose to do?

My reservation number is MM7500CJ the credits that should've been applied are from 22D200CJ.

Desired outcome: My travel credits need to be applied to my current reservation.

Read full review
View 0 more photos
Update by Zuly mercado
Jan 15, 2022 12:50 pm

My vacation is supposed to be next week still nothing is figured out. I just spent a total of 3.36 hours on the phone still with them and they have no idea what happened with my credits. They refuse to let me speak to a supervisor. All they offered was apologize and a credit of $1000 dollars when i I initially had a credit of $3163 plus the payment of $800 that I just made. Please do yourself a favor and don’t book with this company! If something goes wrong no one will be able to help you.

Hide full review
J
5:10 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Travel Credits

Good afternoon, In January 2020, we booked a hotel & flight package with Cheap Caribbean (CC) for our family of 6 (ref: ZDRRAH, $4, 969). In March 2020, we had to cancel our trip due to Covid. CC canceled our trip & provided a travel credit for Delta airlines & CC credit for the hotel to use until 2022. So, in February 2021, we called CC to rebook our trip. They were able to book our hotel portion, but the Delta flights were 2.5X the original price. So, Miguel Angel Bola from CC, assured us that we can use our hotel credit now, pay for another 6 airline tickets, and then we could re-use our Delta credits until 12/22. We agreed to this proposal, asked Miguel to document our conversation and the details around the Delta flight credits & email the details to us which he did on 3/3/21. Today, I attempted to use my Delta travel credits with CC & was told a completely different story. After a long 2 hrs & 6 mins on the phone with different representatives, I was told that CC CANNOT book flights only. The only way that I could use our $2, 154 Delta credit was to book a vacation package with hotel and flight. I explained that we already booked the hotel, and now just need to use the remaining flight credit.

Desired outcome: Please issue Delta tickets for our trip, per our travel credit agreement. If you cannot book the flight only, please issue a refund for $2,154.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
J
Jan 12, 2022 12:40 am

I am dealing with the same issue. I have spent five hours on the phone over a handful of call in the last two weeks. My credit is about to expire, and every time the person on the phone has to check with someone while we wait for an hour to "request to apply the credit". Then after all this time, they say the credit is ready to use. When we try to book, the "credit won't work", so I am told to call back the next day. I call back, and go through the same thing all over again. The company is perpetrating a fraud, and I hope the federal authorities become involved. Any class action attorneys out there should really look into this.

Helpful?
1 0
C
Jan 14, 2022 12:40 am

Hi there, we are sorry to hear this. Please email us at [email protected] with your contact information and booking number so we can further assist you. Thanks!

Helpful?
0 0
J
3:09 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Hotel/ destination

Good-evening, I had a trip planned from Tuesday December 14- Friday December 17, 2021 at the OCEAN CORAL SPRING RESORT, in Jamaica for my birthday and was absolutely unhappy with my stay. I picked a rooftop suite, and upon arrival I called the front desk to inform them of the jacuzzi being dirty, and other problems. I called back multiple time that day and the next until someone finally came. The jacuzzi wasn't clean until late on the second day, I then called to get the jacuzzi filled with water so I could enjoy it, and it wasn't filled until the third day, mirrors were dirty and had to be cleaned as well. I really was looking forward to this trip and feel Like I didn't get to enjoy the full experience I had booked. I paid extra for each person to have the jacuzzi in our suite and didn't get to use it at all. I was in the lobby everyday asking for a manager, and finally got a chance to talk with a manager on the third day. I spoke with Earl the guest services manager and he wasn't able to help, so I asked for his manager, and he Couldn't get in contact with him for hours. He told me the best thing to do was contact you for a refund, and I've been trying to contact cheap Caribbean for 3 weeks. I sat in the lobby over three hours on my birthday trying to get a resolution for something I paid for. This whole experience was unacceptable, I would greatly appreciate if you could email me back.

Desired outcome: I would appreciate some accommodation or refund for the extra money spent to have a rooftop suite with jacuzzi.

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Cheap Caribbean - Payment not refunded/no extensions

Me and my husband had spent close to $4k for my 50th bday.Which btw was a disaster! trip was cancelled and we had our money put in their company future credits!! what a joke and we had insurance on the trip as well. Did we get the refund no we were denied. Imagine that?? then we tried to rebook another trip to puerto rico and guess what??? covid hit!!! had...

Read full review
T
12:24 pm
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Cheap Caribbean - Reservation Modifications

Short story… If you purchase a trip for you +1 and need to cancel, that person now owns your travel credit even though I paid and I paid for travel insurance. Your money now belongs to the other person.

Long story… Be prepared to NEVER be able to escalate your issue and speak to a manager at this company. To start I have been a loyal CheapCaribbean customer for years and I have even planned group trips of 10 or more whereas others have started using the website as well and I am extremely disappointed in the level of customer service I have received over the past couple of months. I feel completely disrespected at how my situation is being handled and it will definitely impact my decision to ever use CheapCaribbean again. My family and friends will definitely be made aware of my experience. There are thousands of websites to use to book trips and I have always used and referred people to CheapCaribbean. That will change with this experience. As I became aware that I only had until December 15, 2021 to use my CheapCaribbean Travel Credit, I called on October 19, 2021 to replan a trip to avoid losing the Travel Credit. I called and used my own credit card to purchase and booked a trip to Jamaica for myself and a friend. I purchased the protection insurance because I was concerned about whether my friend would be able to travel with me. At no time while I was on the phone with the customer service representative, did he tell me that if my friend cannot travel my personally paid Travel Credit, that I purchased with my credit card, would be transferred to to my friend. I purchased this trip with my credit card why would he be entitled to MY money or Travel Credit? There travel protection plan is misleading and does not clearly define what will happen if changes are required. The customer service representatives do not explain how the Travel Credit will be distributed nor was I made aware my credit purchase will now become the ownership of my friend. It is unfair and doesn't seem lawfully legal to transfer my money and credit under his name but only my lawyer can confirm. My friend is in the hospital with COVID. I have no way of getting in touch with my friends family to obtain a letter from the doctor stating such. This seems like an unnecessary requirement seeing as I purchased this trip with MY PERSONAL CREDIT CARD nor was I told my purchase will be transferred to the ownership of my friend. I don't see how yet hey can legally give my money to someone else. I'll speak with a lawyer to see. When I called yesterday and spoke with Julia Leo Horrible customer service when you call that needs to be addressed. It is common for me to experience struggles with communicating with their customer service representatives because of the language difference and accent dialect, but to reach a completely un-empathetic agent was a shock. I asked to speak to someone above her or for my case to be escalated at least 50 times and she continued to tell me "it was not possible". She even as far as to tell me I need to call back and continue to call back until a supervisor is available! Seriously? Again… Horrible Customer Service. To learn that Cheap Caribbean does not have an escalation process or managers available or even an escalation team is very unsettling. Takes 3 days for them respond between e'mail communications l. All I wanted to do was use my entire travel credit that I paid for. I wasn't expecting a refund but for them to give my money to someone else was a huge shock!

Desired outcome: I want to use my entire travel credit

Read full review
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
ADVERTISIMENT

Cheap Caribbean contacts

Phone number

+1 800 915 2322
ADVERTISIMENT

Cheap Caribbean representative

CheapCaribbean
ADVERTISIMENT