Express Clothing CompanyDisrespectful, egotistic, worsome, hypocritical managers

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

Three out of four managers at the Express Clothing Store at MacArthur Mall are the worst. They harass the sales associates about harassing the customers about applying for credit cards when not every customer wants to be tied back to a store. One manager, is also disrespectful of an associates hours when I distintly heard that she had to leave when her shift was over. Instead he contributed to prolonging the closing process and told the associate that she can leave when he is finished. There was no way in leaving, because when the mall closes for customers, the associates are locked into the store straightening while the manager is making phone calls. Another manager, gets mad when an associate receives once to twice a week visitors in the store when the business is slow those days. Also, the managers are hypocrites on training. They give negatives marks for an associate not using something they have not even been trained to use. Something needs to be done before the company gets sued for having disrespectful, egotistic, worsome, hypocritical managers.

Responses

  • Al
    Allison Whaley Jan 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My complaint is a bit different but I am not suprised at all by the first complaint. Sales associates who work at Express usually are a little egotistical but, I have had a good amount of nice employees helping me. I just wanted to rant a little about how you can't order clothes from Express on-line nor over the phone. What gives? I don't have an Express in my town and I work full time so it is hard to find time to shop. I usually do my buying over the internet. These days almost EVERYONE buys over the internet. I wish these people would give in to technology and just do this favor for those who cannot always make a special trip to the store when in need of something to wear. ANOTHER reason they need to do this is because I myself wear longs in pants and it always seems like they are out of stock. How much easier would it be to just let people order from home???? GAH

    1 Votes
  • Im
    Imraan Jun 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am shocked by the lies and distortion schemes this company is using to cheat customers out of money.I have completely paid off my express card and called to cancel but somehow they put $ 10.00 on it altough I never used it and now that 10 has become 21.25 because they are charging me more than 50% interest on it.I have called repeatedly and told them but they keep sending me a bill with the interest going up every month.I will take it up with the authorities.Did any one else have a similar experience with this company.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jen Jun 14, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with Allison about the whole not-being -able -to -order -online thing. I think at this point in time, every store has that option. You'd think Express would want to keep up! It's very annoying. I just recently went to buy a specific shirt and of course they didnt have my size or a color I wanted...and usually I go online to check that out. Can't do that with them!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Ed Jun 15, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've never been so angry towards any store like today at Express. They had advertised buy 2 polos and get them for $24.50 each, instead of $34.50. Which sounded like a good deal. I went to the store because I received a coupon for spend $70 or more and get $25 off. Since I did not have enough, I was going to buy a pair of shorts for my niece for $44.50. This made it well above the $70. Well they rang me up, and it came to $95.80, and I left the store. After I walked out the door, I began to think, that $95.80 is a little too much, so I looked at the receipt, and sure enough, they had charged me full price for the 2 shirts. I was not surprised, because this is not the first time that they advertise a price, and then somehow their registers won't ring it up right. So I went back to the store, waited in line, and explained to the cashier, that they had advertise, buy 2 for $24.50, and they had charge me full price. So after going around for her for a while, she finally agreed that I was right. So she proceeded to start my refund, and when she gives me the ticket, it's only for $16.89. I explain to her, that the amount is a little too, and it should be more like $20. She says no, and I explain to her again, and again, finally someone else comes over, and the same thing. I'm the one that's wrong, finally they go get a manager, and she tells me that they are correct, and we go around and around for a while. She finally says to the cashier, "Just ring everything up again, because they're just not going to get it" I went off, and told her I know how to do basic math:
    Wrong price Shirt- $34.50 Correct price $24.50
    Shirt- $34.50 $24.50
    Shorts-$44.50 $44.50
    $113.50 - $25(coupon) =$88.50 $93.50 - $25(coupon)= $68.50
    plus 8.25% tax ($7.30)=$95.80 plus 8.25% tax ($5.65)=$74.15

    Total difference $21.65 not $16.89.
    What really got me is the managers comment, like I was stupid or something. So when the cashier tried to give my coupon back to use again, I said " I don't need it, because I will not be shopping here anymore". Trust me, I've spent over $5, 000 in that store in the last few months, for my new job. Their loss, not mine.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    shopper Apr 21, 2009

    I have to agree that their customer service is not the great reason why I closed my account with them, the managers are never nice and when you tried to talk to them they act like you owe them something I never had a good experience with Express and that is why I decided not to shop there anynore... they are the worst
    their clothes are over prices and they are not all that you get better quality for less price and better customer service

    1 Votes
  • Me
    Melanie24 May 18, 2009

    My husband and I opened an account with Express about 6 months ago. I try to pay over the internet but my payment is always sent back from the bank. Then, they won't let me pay over the internet, so I have to pay over the phone. I have toddler twins so, it's hard to get out and pay at the store. When I pay over the phone, they charge me an 10 dollar processing fee. This has been going on for 6 months. Now, they have our card on hold. We always have money in the bank so I wonder why would they not accept our payment by the internet but rather by the phone with a fee?? We decided to pay the card off in full and cancel it. This company is taking advantage of people and it's very wrong. We have been shopping there for 10 years and we aren't going back. Has anyone else had an experience like this?

    1 Votes
  • No
    NotSoHappy Jun 09, 2009

    I have recently left the company because I feel that all of the above is true. Not only have I read several other message boards dedicated to how over-priced it is, but that the management is terrible. I would never buy their clothes if it wasn't for the extra discount (only given once a month). It really stinks because I'd hate to think that I was one of those rude managers but at least I can say first hand - it ain't easy. I was forced to manipulate customers into buying more based on the promotions in order to make our daily plan. On top of that I was told to threaten the sales associates that if they didn't get credit cards they would get crappy shifts and less hours. On top of THAT I was held responsible for staying over payroll to straighten the store. Imagine 2 young lazy associates trying to refold an entire store, clean every window and mirror, vacuum, dust, mop, etc in 2 hours. Then I would get berated for leaving on time if the store wasn't perfect. Trust me - the associates and managers don't want to be there as much as the customers. I remember watching the people walk through the mall freely, feeling the anger build up inside like I was trapped in a cage of constant pressure, snobby wanna-be fashionistas, trying desperately to refold as much as possible before close. The clothes are ugly, cheap, and the management ride a very unrealistic high-horse.

    3 Votes
  • Sw
    Sweetiger Aug 27, 2009

    They have very bad customer services at Express customer service number as the matter fact there is no customer service but their recording machine with very few options or repeat the recording machine. Only choice is pay online or check in mail, buy very few credit card will accept unless pay with check in mail. Not worth using their credit card no matter what you think. Not worth the hassle!

    2 Votes
  • Hs
    HSS Sep 01, 2009

    A friend shopped at Express on Monday, Aug. 31. She noticed a shoplifter stuffing shirts down into her pants. She alerted the clerks and was told they would not approacher the woman because of a possible lawsuit. The same shoplifter had been in the day before doing the same thing. The employees were aware of it the day before also. So now when I shop I will have to pay the high prices to compensate for shoplifters who are not stopped!!! Or should I just start shoplifting. Then I wouldn't have to worry about the high prices of any of your products.

    2 Votes
  • Tn
    tnkg1rl Sep 16, 2009

    I placed an order online, payed the extra to get it in two days. It's been 3 days since I ordered it and still haven't recieved it yet. It's my fault I waited until the last minute, but I needed this outfit for an event. so I call customer service and he says well it's not like it's a week late. I said well I wouldn't have paid extra if I was going to get it in 5-7 business days.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    most displeased Sep 19, 2009

    My son took out a credit card at Express when he made a purchase. He did receive a card, but we didn't hear from them for two months. Finally, in one day, we got three calls from credit agencies and when we called to find out what was going on, the Customer Service person said they had sent two bills by email and there had been no payment. I asked him what the email was because I was then looking at the email account to see if the billing was there. It was not! When I told him it was not received at this email, he did admit that the email address was different, but that the extra money was owed. I said how can you add extra charges when the billing was sent to the wrong place. He said he would take off the $20 charge for past due. When I said I would pay it over the phone, he said how would we pay it and I told him my credit card. The response was "There will be a $10 charge". I told him to close the account and my son would go to the store and pay the bill. I hope after reading the above notes that we will not hear from Express again, but I fear we will. This is a company whose policies are taking advantage of people and, of course, the youngers ones are just getting their credit records established. We pay our bills, but this situation is impossible. Something really needs to be done about this. If we receive more contact from Express the Attorney General will hear about it.

    1 Votes
  • Up
    UpTownDogg Oct 16, 2009

    I am really not going to defend a company that I really don't like very much. About 2-3 months ago I lost my job and was well pretty much willing to accept anything. Next thing you know is I am working at Express. I was one of those floor ###. and I find things pretty sad. I never stepped foot in that store before I handed in the application. People ask me for advice, and to be honest I don't know anything about fashion, i don't even know why they hired me since I totally don't fit in at that store. There is 8 males employees and I am the only strait one. Express states they are soo strict on conduct, trust me I hear more gay jokes than I could count or even care to hear. None the less, I feel bad for many people who work there, the holiday season of 2009 is coming up and they are hiring the seasonal help. I understand that, but they are killing the hours of the people are supposed to be sticking around after, Like 1 girl was only working 13 hrs this week when they called and cut her off for Friday, so now she has a whopping 8 hrs this week. Also, as stated before the stupid credit card bit is really annoying, 2 weeks ago a letter is posted in the main hallway for employees saying you need to get atleast 1 credit card per shift or they are cutting your hours, I figured they couldn't cut much out of 16.5 hrs a week I was getting. So, I decided to screw the cards and didn't get any, while the girl stated above did 9 in 4 shifts and it shows her great hrs. I got 0 cards in 3 shifts. They now pushed me to Inventory ( I Love it, You can dress however you want and listen to an mp3 player) My sched for this week and next week is 40+ hrs. I guess me getting the 0 cards really paid off for me. I just don't recommend working there, go to Target they even pay better, so what that you don't get your 30% and add. 15% 1x a month.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arianna827 Oct 16, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a short stinct working for Express this past summer and let me just say, it's the worst job I ever had in my life. I've worked retail before, among other jobs, but this one really took the cake. They never went out of their way to make me feel comfortable as a new employee and they were downright ### and mean (I even heard them talking about me on several occasions, and it was only my first week)!! Not only did they barely give me any hours unless I practically begged for them, there was one occasion where they put me on the schedule for 7am when the mall doesn't even open until 10am!! I'm certainly not a lazy person, I used to work the 6am to 2pm shift at JcPenneys with no problem, but Express would jump around. One night I'd be working 5:30pm to 10:30pm and the next day they'd put me on at like 8am and think nothing of it. They don't care about the well being of their employees and they just want to sell, sell, sell... credit cards, etc. Also, their sweaters are terrible now!! I kept waiting for their Fall line of clothing to come in and everything just seems so flimsy and thin! I live in New York, not California, and I don't know how they expect people to wear this stuff in the kind of conditions we have up here. No amount of layering could help me! I also regret signing up for their credit card and being suckered into it... I just hated the whole experience... pushy and horrible. They even told me to flirt with the guys to make sales! What kind of a place is this?

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharron Williams Oct 23, 2009

    I am Shocked to be Reading any of this!!
    I live in MIAMI, Florida and Shop at the store in DOLPHIN MALL. Let me say that every time i walk in to that store the employees there no matter if they know me from before or not make me feel special!
    they are not pushy or anything of that sort. however i have opened the EXPRESS CARD and i have become a loyal customer of this brand because of the magnificent customer service that is offered.

    I think every store is different. and I am sure that they all do not offer the same experience i receive at this location. For example the store across the street from this one i visit when i dont find a certain item in stock at the other and i walk in and walk out without even being acknowledged! Needless to say I dont think anyone there can speak English.

    All this ties down to the Managers and how they run the store. But Overall i think EXPRESS's Vision is to Protect their customers to the fullest Extent! And their Customer Relations Over the phone service is magnificent! They have helped me even retrieve a Lost receipt so that i can make a return and have been able to help me out with a gift card i had lost. Many places you loose your gift card and you are S.O.L. ([censored] Out of Luck)

    =)

    0 Votes
  • Qb
    qbr33 Jun 22, 2010

    Prior to working at Express I had loved the clothes and the company on a whole. However, after my short, yet painful, one month of working there, I have completely changed my opinion. Let me just start off by saying that I never thought in a million years that I would abruptly quit a job due to my managers and co-workers personally victimizing me...but that is exactly what happened. Coming out of my freshman year of college completely broke, I desperately needed a job and thought I would try something new (I had previously worked at a supermarket for 3 years and although I loved it, I needed a change of scenery). My first day at Express, I was thrown into the job with little or no direction. I understand that different establishments train people in different ways, but whatever they were doing to me...it was not training. I was instructed to complete a task and basically left to guess how to do it. When I would ask one of my managers or co-workers to help me, they would either laugh or become angry and just do it themselves. That obviously did not help me grasp the concept of what I was supposed to do. I thought that things would become easier, since i was essentially learning by trial and error, but it appeared that there was always a new task and I was ALWAYS doing it wrong. One manager in particular was SO unbelievably rude to me that it was unbearable. She would watch me do my job and then criticize me on everything that I just did. Although she was said to be the "top seller" of the store she did not acquire this title through benevolence or courtesy. She was always bad-mouthing the customers and the employees. What a lady to work with, huh? Although I would HARDLY call her a lady. Not one person I worked with was polite to the customers or myself. And honestly that's something I have always took pride in; my politeness (I may not have gotten anyone to open a credit card while I was there, but I had been told on three separate occasions that I was the most helpful employee at the store). Honestly, everyone who worked there was egotistical and downright ###. They would spend more hours complaining about their jobs than actually doing it. During the duration of my stay there, I worked in fear of all of them as they were highly intimidating; I was quiet and kept to myself, yet envisioned myself drop kicking them in the teeth on several occasions. I digress... overall, working with these people made me hate the company, hate the clothes, and worst of all..they made me HATE Lady Gaga. I am currently begging my managers at my previous job (who I love & respect) to take me back. NO ONE deserves to be treated the way that I did while working at Express, ESPECIALLY if they are new and inexperienced in retail. Not only were these people cruel, but they said the most brainless things that made me want to gouge my eyes out. In the future (after I complete school), I hope to work as a clinical dietitian with a concentration in cancer treatment and I can honestly say that working at Express made me more motivated to achieve this goal than ever. So I guess I should be thanking my managers at Express, if it wasn't for them, I wouldn't have realized that I don't want to be a stuck up snob selling retail and wallowing in self pity for the rest of my life. So thanks for contributing NOTHING to society except your disgusting attitude and some cheaply made garments that are FAR too overpriced. Eat ###.

    Oh, and one more thing, regarding the new contract to not "bash Express via facebook"...coincidence? I think not.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blossom123 Sep 16, 2010

    I went to the Express store in Novi, MI today because the shirt my mom got for my dad still had a security tag on. She actually took it back to Japan and we didn't realize that the tag was still on until a month ago. Of course it has been like 3 months since she got that shirt and didn't have a recipt for it any more.

    Once I got to the store, there were nobody at the register and I could not find anybody working there. I heard a voice from the fitting room and I went over there and found a lady (looks like a manager) talking on the phone and sounded like she was talking to her friend. She was like "go ahead and try it on" and kept talking on the phone. I waited until she was done with her call and told her that the shirt stiill has the security tag on. She asked me if I have the recipt for and I said No because it was 3 months ago.

    She did not want to take the security tag off because I did not have the recipt with me and she was not sure if I bought it or not. I was super pissed because it is NOT my fault that the security tag was on and my dad could not wear that shirt right away. And I finally got her removed the tag out and she said "here you go" and threw the shirt at me! WHAT A [censor]!

    I really like Express clothes, but after that I would never wanna go back there and shop! And this is not my first time realizing that they forgot to remove the tag out. What kind of dumb employees do they hire? Is it THAT hard to check if the shirt still has the tag on or not!?

    1 Votes
  • Re
    ReasonablePerson Mar 04, 2011

    This company has major problems! They now have online "shopping", but have a limit of no more than 20 items in the cart or you can't complete your transaction -- which of course you have no way of knowing until you have spent an hour shopping. Their solution is to delete items, then go back and place another order. Seriously? What retail sales company would want to limit sales?! I order online because it is less hassle, but Express gives a whole new meaning to the word "hassle". However, the biggest problem is that less than half of the "buy 1 get one 50% off" items actually reflect that price when you purchase. This is absolute fraud and deceptive advertising. You must call to get the accurate pricing, however, your order may not be processed for hours, so you have to keep calling. They must make a killing on people who overbuy because they think they are getting a better deal, but actually are not and don't notice or have the persistence to keep calling. Total scam.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    ReasonablePerson Mar 04, 2011

    I really don't know why no one has brought a class action lawsuit against Express. I am certain that an audit would show hundreds of thousands in over charging consumers.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    CharlesWhite123 Mar 24, 2011

    Today, I went to hand in my employment application towards the Express Store in Stonestown Galleria in San Francisco. The associate I first saw was nice and friendly but after I told her that I was here to turn in my employment application, her face changed. Then she contacted the manager and pointed at the manager so I can turn it into her directly. The manager was young and around my age. She looked intimidated by me, perhaps it's because I'm a workaholic and feared that I might take hours away from hers or even take her spot. Regardless, she wasn't friendly because she kept pestering me for references which I included with my resume and statement letter as to why I should be hired.

    I bet anyone $100 that I won't get called back because the managers at Express are mostly women (no offense) and have serious ego and hormone issues. I stated in my app. that I can work any position and any hours. The store's going down in flames!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    TheAruna Apr 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I used to work at Express, and there was already a Class Action Lawsuit filed against them while I was employed.

    The store that I worked at in Woodfield Mall used to require their associates to wear "head to toe current season Express Fashion" to work. Associates from stores in Illinois and two other states sued them for reducing the paychecks to below minimum wage by forcing us to buy their clothes. EXPRESS denied that they ever required this, even though I saw them enforce it. I heard them impose this policy at meetings. I saw managers send employees home - myself included - for not being in the newest EXPRESS clothing, and I saw managers demand employes to buy an outfit on the spot if they arrived wearing merch that was not current enough.

    The case was quietly settled out of court, and we received an EXPRESS gift card of $475.00, which could not be used with our employee discount.

    Later, a snooty manager I worked with smugly told me that the dress code was never a corporate policy, and that the Woodfield store made it their own policy and enforced.

    2 Votes
  • Bc
    bchanel Apr 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading this I see I am not alone in people that have some SERIOUS issues with the Express clothing company .Especially there darn credit card customer service represenatives. I thought I paid off my complete credit card bill in Feb. however, I put in a wrong number for my Visa account and the payment did not go thru. I was unaware of this and assumed that my bill was paid and everything was ok. I find out two months later to my surprise about the wrong account info thru a very irate phone conversation. I mean seriously they called my phone 100 times while I was at work. Thinking this was only a minor error I asked for the late fee to be removed and they refused to do this ; and dealt with my situatuion in a very rude and unpleasant manner. In fact they even charged me an addidtional 10$ fee to process my payment since they suspended my account on line. ( all together 40$ extra) They were beyond rude to me and made me so mad that I decided to just close the account forever.

    This minor situatuion put a very bad taste in my mouth about the Express store and I might be done shopping with them for a while.

    1 Votes
  • Vu
    Vuka May 27, 2011

    Whatever you do not attempt to make a a payment on your credit card at the store! I Had problems all three times i made a payment at the store. They only take a check or cash, so I would make a cash payment. Month later i was going through my credit report and saw that i was reported by Express 2 times for non-payment (i never skip a payment). So I called, of course they asked if i kept a payment receipt. Luckily i found a two month old receipt. Turns out that an associate at the store did not apply the payment correctly. It did not get "lost", but since he did not follow the procedure it took month for them to apply payment to my account. So two times that i was reported to a credit bureau by Express were due to their own stupidity. After they finally applied my payment of course they didnt correct their report to a credit bureau. That happened in late 2009. I paid my card off and stopped using it. Two month ago i decided to buy a shirt and a belt. It came to about $90, so I decided to pay half in april (at the store again) and then in may payed the rest (at the store). I get a statement at the end of may for $70, that includes the amount i already payed in april + $25late fee. It s a miracle that i found that payment receipt. I dont understand how complicated can it be to screw up a payment so bad. This happend to me at two different locations, with three different associates. I dont know what those people malfunction is, but it s stressful to have to straighten out their mistakes. I am going to call today and complain until their ears fall off.

    1 Votes
  • Ex
    express no more May 22, 2012

    I placed an order for express online...didn't get any of my clothes except one shirt...I ordered 6. Called customer service they refunded . So ok...then place an order online again...order didn't come...called customer service they said oh...there s some problem..I ask why I didn't get an email or a.. phone call since they ask for all that information..so items were reordered luckily my items were still available ..and again...no email no phone call...I had to call to make sure everything was fine...the customer service person waived the shipping charges ..but still...I don't think I ll ShOP again...their clothes are not good quality for the price...mostly for young ppl who just gotten a job..Now I remember why I stopped buying their clothes 10 yrs ago.

    1 Votes
  • Kw
    K. Wagner Dec 03, 2012

    I too had a complaint with the rudeness of the associates working there and not only the associates but all the way from the manager, assistant manager and the corporate office people that I spoke with twice. I was told there would be someone calling me back and have never heard another word from anyone. I not only made two phone calls to corporate, but sent a letter and asked to be sent an email asking for someone in complaints email address and have heard not one word from anyone. I don't think they realize that the customers is what keeps them in business and without us they won't have jobs. I for one will no longer shop in their stores. Signed be DONE!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ex
    ExpressSucksBigTime Dec 15, 2012

    I would never buy from express stores or online. I got the wrong size in the mail and now I cannot exchange it in their stores. The sales associates here in the Avenues Mall and St . John's Town Center Jacksonville Florida are so dumb and lazy that they don't know how to deal with their customers. I will make sure all my friends know about my experience and that nobody shops at Express. The store managers are stupid people with 0 IQ... Express you just lost at least 5 loyal customers today...

    1 Votes
  • Di
    disapointedshopper Dec 28, 2012

    my complaint is for the Alexandria La mall Express store. White, blonde older woman. The horrible rude woman who checked me out not only made me feel completely uncomfortable but she made my sister and law feel the same way. This associate was rude, snappy and when asked any question she would interrupt me abruptly to say " uh huh and what is your question?" well if you would stop interrupting me you would know what my question is. The woman did this with every question that was asked of her. She then proceeded to throw the items i was trying to purchase. I felt completely uncomfortable. I don't know how to report this person- but my receipt sales ST0061 REG003 TRN1456 CSH251 SLS028
    So if someone could help me file an official complaint, perhaps with this information, i would tremendously appreciate it. I am NEVER rude or disrespectful to ANYONE. Nor would i ever treat anyone the way i was treated in this store today. I understand people have bad days at work, but i do not feel that taking it out on PAYING customers is the way to go. I am very passive, therefore for me to leave the store, drive and hour home and still take the time to get online to file a complaint, says exactly how horrible my experience was. Terrible terrible service.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sammmm Feb 04, 2013

    Just so you people know- the credit card is NOT controlled by EXPRESS!! It's the bank! They have NO control over anything that happens.. So you're actually getting mad at the WRONG people. It's all personal and confindential. :) that is all.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    matadorexpression Mar 02, 2013

    I WAS a happy customer, because their dress pants and dress shirts fit well.
    But now I AM NOT!

    It all started when I tried to return one of my shirts for a looser fitted one. From an extra slim, to a fitted. Nope they didn't let me exchange it because it was worn.
    Okay fine, but there is no fine print on the receipt suggesting that the clothes had to be pristine in order to be returned or refunded.
    Management dropped the ball.

    Worse of all after wearing those shirts a few times, they lose their quality, the material is too thin, they get wrinkled, gosh they just suck.
    I'll be in the market for Brooks Brothers.

    Express go to hell and kiss my ###.

    0 Votes
  • Fd
    fdslbj43943 Mar 04, 2013

    There are a lot of bad things to be said about Express, especially from an Associate's perspective. Of all the jobs I've had, working at an Express in southern Pennsylvania was one of the worst experiences of my life. My first complaint is the management. I was hired by a self-centered, snobbish Manager who rudely told me she couldn't give me better than minimum wage. (I should have said no then and there.) We Associates had very little "formal" training, and we were launched into our work without any detailed direction. Our Manager loved threatening us with fewer hours if we didn't meet her standards. This boss eventually showed us her true colors when she quit without letting anyone know in advance. All she did was send our Assistant Manager a text message saying, "Tomorrow is my last day at work." She got away with it because she had been running the show, and her abrupt quitting really impacted our store's success. We had no time to find a new main Manager, and since none of us had very good training, our business started to fall. Our Assistant Manager was always unhappy and she told me many times how she was desperate to leave. The new main Manager we hired complained about her job more than she should have and sat in the back office, doing very little to help us on the floor. Our District Manager always found fault with us and his complaints never ended. Our DM's demands on our Manager got dumped on us Associates, and then we got yelled at for not doing "our" part. Higher-up employees were too scared to be held accountable for their failures, so it was easy for them to blame the underpaid Associate. But, if you pay your employees crap, you can expect crappy work in return. My second complaint is the product. I was so tired of unpacking cheap, flimsy, ugly clothing and accessories that smelled heavily of manufacturing chemicals. Just about all Express clothing is made in China or another developing country (just check the tag). Express as a corporation has money by the armfuls, but it insists on outsourcing work for jeans that probably cost $5 to make and selling them for $79.90. It's just outrageous. I get better quality clothes in department stores and pay much, much less than I ever did with my laughable employee discount. My third and most important complaint was the lack of respect I gained at this job. It's sad and offensive that customers and management are so willing to push around Associates who, in the case of most of my coworkers, only started working there in order to make ends meet. We might as well have worn name tags with "Retail Slave" on them. Very few Associates in my store stayed longer than a year, and some didn't even make a few months. I quit after eleven months on the day of my scheduled raise. Furthermore, there were not enough good customers in that store to make up for all the offensive ones who bossed us around, ruined our hard work, behaved like animals, insulted us, ignored us, and -- above all -- looked at and treated us as less than human. It's bad enough to know that your job selling clothing is unimportant and unrewarding without people rubbing it in. If you're considering working for Express on any level, do yourself a huge favor and look for work elsewhere.

    1 Votes
  • Aj
    Ajitas Jul 03, 2013

    Express customer service is the worst customer service i have ever had ... i had order shorts and shirts online and was time sensitive so i did 2 days shipping and paid for it ... i didn't receive any shipment confirmation so i called and talk to a associate she said she can call and will talk to Feddex about changing the shipping to a one day shipping and will call me to notify me ... she asked me for my billing address to verify my account and i had different shipping address and she changed the address somehow to my billing address ... and when i called second time the associate was very rude and was trying to help but when i asked about the shipping address she called FedEx to change it and says I'll be charges $11 to change the address where i never asked to change my shipping address and the email shipment confirmation i got have the same address that i wanted my order to be shipped then who changed the address and why do i have to pay for someone Else's mistake ... they lost a customer after reading all the reviews against them i don't want to do any more business with them ... when i received my items i am going to return them with a note explaining why

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diana ju Sep 28, 2013

    Honestly, I love the clothes at express. Amazing! I don't mind paying $100 for one pair of denim. But Express at Stratford Mall in Illinois needs new employees and managers. They are so rude. It's ridiculous, because I know the managers need to make their segment each hour. But how do they expect to make it if they're rude half the time. My mother and I are always shopping at express so the employees know us very well there including the managers. My mother and I stopped going because whenever we go in the managers don't greet us like they're supposed to and tell us about the promotions. Instead they spend their time ignoring us, giving dirty looks, says stuff to the employees while staring at me and laughing. Now I don't step into an express for that reason.

    0 Votes
  • In
    Indigestion Nov 20, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tonight I placed an order online @ Express. Before placing the order I called customer service to let them know that I disagree with the fact that they are charging $5.00 per gift box when I am spending over $130.00. If at the store boxes are free, online should be the same. After speaking to the customer service rep she told me to go ahead and press the complete your order button. She said to wait for about 15 minutes and that she would remove the gift boxes charges from my total. I contacted the company back after receiving my order number and for my surprise another customer service rep told me she wasn't able to do that. I demanded to talk to a manager and the manager said the same thing. She also told me that I already redeemed an online coupon to which I replied that Express is a multi-million dollar company! I told her I want to cancel my order and she said it was impossible to cancel! I proceed to ask her for her name to write a report to the company but she refuse to give me her last name. She told me: "My name is Melissa, , I am not going to tell you my last name, I am the only manager with that name at this time (11:20 p.m.)" Go ahead and complain". Express sucks!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    CECE12 Mar 25, 2014

    My complaint is a bit different. I placed two orders on their website within a two month period. For whatever reason, I didn't get neither of the orders. Their were very accommodating and replaced my first order, but would not do anything about the second order because of their "COMPANY POLICY". I am beyond frustrated and furious. Spoke with their customer service, filed a complaint on BBB, and spoke to with customer relation ppl at the corporate office. Still will not give me a refund of $98.15 for the second order. I basically paid $98.15 for ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I've been shopping at their stores for over 10 years and this is the kind of customer service they provide for their consumers.

    BUYERS BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nooor Jun 01, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WOWWWW!!! All of these complaints are true. Express Management and customer service is horrible. I went to the store in Great Mall, Milpitas, CA and the atmosphere within the associates and managers was unsatisfying. No one smiles in the store and the managers talk to their associates like they are slaves. I honestly dislike how they have very young managers because at that age they are immature and do not have much experience. The managers are very rude to their own employees as well as their customers. Some managers and workers were nice but most did not care about the customer at all. One worker who looked like she was 16 approached me and asked if I needed help with anything. Her name was mandeep I believe. She was an indian girl. When I said no I don't need any help right now she just made a rude face at me and left without saying anything. I felt very hurt as if I did something wrong. I later approached a very tall man who was a manager and I asked for help. He was kind at first but then started saying rude remarks and was not paying attention to me but talking on his walkie while I was talking to him. He then asked that same girl to help me out because he needed to do something that was more important than helping me I guess. Mandeep came up to me and asked what I need and I told her I need a size 10 in the editor pants. She again didn't answer anything but started looking for it. She said they didn't have any on the floor but will check in the back. She never came back after that. I just left the store because of the lack of help and rude attitudes the managers/associates had. I will never walk into that store again and advise everyone else not to shop at a store where they don't care about their customer.

    The people who were polite and I felt comfortable talking to was William and a manager named Nicole was very polite and helped me as much as she could of while Mandeep, Shaun and another employee (I did not get her name) made me feel very unwanted.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angry big spender ! Jul 31, 2014

    I just left the Crossgates mall Express and a manager by the name of Erica refused to let me pay my boyfriends credit card bill. He was on the phone with me at the time and I have paid his bill for him numerous times. We hhave lived together for four years now and even know his social security number. I don't care what kind of rule is set into play for looking up someone's information if I already know it by heart they aren't looking up anything in there little computer that I don't already know !! & since when won't you take money ?? I wasn't trying to purchase anything and like I said they have done it for me in the past. We are big time spenders there and they lost about 1000 dollars in sales a month !! Maybe the company might rethink there rules after seeing this !!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anryan Oct 27, 2014

    My fiancé went to express to buy a shirt and the girl who checked him out (in more ways than one), looked up his cell phone number from his rewards membership in their computer and texted him after he left. She told him he was gorgeous and asked about his relationship status. So unprofessional and innapropriate for her to contact a customer through the business' records about her personal interest in him... Not to mention how desperate and creepy.

    0 Votes
  • Wt
    WTFFF Dec 07, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My complaint involves shopping online. I just purchased a pair of leopard print heels on clearance that I was super excited to receive. I ordered them in size 7.5, which it stated online that they were only available in sizes 7, 7.5, and 8. So why do I receive them, and all the tags say 7.5, but the inside of the shoe says 9??!! So they are clearly a size 9, and my feet practically fall out of them. How asinine is that? How do you place the wrong tags on the wrong size shoe? What kind of bums do they have working for them? Yes, I can take them back to the store to receive a refund, because I clearly won't get them in the correct size, being on clearance...but a) what a hassle, and b) I believe I speak for everyone when I say, it sucks being excited to receive merchandise online, and it comes to you completely wrong. WTF, get it together Express! That's ###!

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    KKK2013 Dec 14, 2014

    I was humiliated and robbed by express store manager in board day light today. I ordered two dresses online and since they did not fit right went to store to return. Store location - Stanford Mall, Palo Alto, Ca. I went in and found that I had only 1 dress on me and the other was in car. So I returned one and told the last I will be back with the other. When I went back with my mom, the lady took the dress and kept it behind. I asked her for refund she said she already did. I showered her prev return receipt and said only 1 was returned. To which she said well touch luck! And I should consider it returned aswell. I asked her to give me back my dress, she refused and threatened to call security when I asked her to give in writing she had the dress. She robbed me of my dress and money.. Right there in the store.! What should I do?

    0 Votes
  • An
    ANGRY LANTIO Jan 17, 2015

    I hate express it has to be the worst place ever! I go to return an item and ask for the change to be put back on my card, yea this guy hands me a Gift Card when i specifically mentioned i never want to buy anything from that store again!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adriana32 Mar 29, 2015

    Very unprofessional managers. I got terminated with no reason and have worked in the company for many years. The Express store manager in San Antonio Tx #314 (DJ) is unprofessional, racist, and disrespectful to the employees. I want to fair results and I will get them.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions