ExploreTalent.comNightmare

1

I feel really stupid now after reading another report about Exploretalent.com. I had signed up on a free membership a while back and in late January/early February received an email saying that a casting director was interested in me. When looking to see what it was, it turned out to be for a local hair show and it paid $100. I was really excited about the audition and I looked up the company and they were legit. When I had called Explore Talent to get the information, they looked on my page and said, 'oh you're not a pro-member, I can't give you that information unless you sign up as a pro-member.' I asked how much it was and they had said something around $33 a month or I can get a 'deal' and pay around $70-75 for three months and that I'd have more of a chance getting more work with a longer period of time. I thought it was kind of weird that I had to pay to get information and told him I'd have to call back because my funds were low so I'd have to ask my boyfriend if he can spot me the money. He then said 'you have to ask your boyfriend?' So I then told him yeah and explained again because I had no money at the time. My boyfriend said to save money I should do the three month thing and when I had called back, the guy took my information and 'set up' my pro-membership and started giving me all these compliments like 'you have some pretty pictures' and even told me once that 'did you know you have other casting directors interested in you too?' I thought he meant I had others who had sent me emails that I hadn't gotten or something. So this made me even more excited. Well I didn't end up modeling for the one company that emailed their interest to me, but did model for another one I met at the show anyway. When I was looking at my 'pro-member' casting page, I saw that they had these pretty 'generic' casting that you would find in a newspaper or on a theater website or something. Another thing I found odd and I didn't appreciate was that the 'booking department' would 'submit' me for these roles that I didn't even fit! One that I remember was for an MTV True-Life that wanted lesbians and another MTV True-Life that wanted people going off to war or coming home from war. First of all, I see these castings already on the MTV.com website. Second of all, I'm not a lesbian and I haven't been to war nor come home from any kind of war so I was wondering 'why am I being submitted for these?' I felt mad because I didn't know before reading the other response to this rip-off that they don't actually submit anything to anyone. I was thinking that they were submitting me to these and that I would be getting calls or emails or something and have to explain that no I don't actually fit their criteria they want. Another thing I didn't like was that they had me list three cities that I prefer working in. I live in the Midwest and had locations such as Missouri, Iowa, and Minnesota. I was getting casting calls for New York, Pennsylvania, Michigan, etc. I feel totally ripped off and wish I would've just turned down the offer to become a 'pro-member' so that I could get that audition information. I hope that something gets done about it like a class-action lawsuit or somebody puts their foot down that has a powerful say in the matter because Explore Talent don't care about their 'models' and just worry about how much money they can rake in.

Responses

  • Da
    David Dec 09, 2008

    Why do you feel you have the right to make this kind of complaint? It's like you just wanted to express yourself to anyone that might listen. There is nothing to this complaint. You wanted to work, you saw the auditions, you upgraded your account, you went on an audition, you got work.

    You don't think Explore Talent should charge for the information it provides it's pro members? Then why don't you hire 60 people to put the information together and not charge for it?

    If you know anything about these auditions, then you know the time it takes to get the information. Why don't you use your membership to the fullest?

    Start networking and advertising your profile on Explore Talent (which can be found on Google as well). Why don't you check available auditions every day and submit, submit, submit? Why don't you create video clips and upload them. Explore Talent gives you UNLIMITED uploads and free hosting of your page. You know that!

    I really don't see the problem you have. You just wasted space to ramble. If you want auditions, then Explore Talent is the place to get them.

    I hope you take advantage of all that Explore Talent offers you.

    -8 Votes
  • Or
    Orlena Dec 30, 2008

    I agree with the complaint about Explore Talent. I was told by Explore Talent that I was going to get acting jobs. They took $119.64 out of my bank account in which they were not supposed to take anything out of my account. They told me that everything was going to be for free. They withdrew all of my money out of my account and went over $49.00 which I have over $200.00 in fees from the bank and I am going to lose my account now because this is not the first time that Explore Talent has done this. On top of that I am not getting anything from this company. I am not going to give them my photo because I know that they are scamming just like they did to the person above in their complaint. I have tried to log into the account and every time I can not log in. Every time I try to log in they want more money out of me. So now I am out of money and getting nothing for it. I have taken them to the Better Business Bureau but Explore Talent has not responded to them. Don't give them your account number no matter what! You will not get your money back and you will lose everything because of it.

    5 Votes
  • Da
    David Jan 02, 2009

    Orlena,

    Your concerns are very important to Explore Talent. While Explore Talent does encourage upgrading to Pro Membership which has subscription fees, we offer a free account which you probably originally signed up for. Free members get a free personal profile page and can upload photos and videos at no cost. Free members can build a really nice page designed for the entertainment industry and use if for networking and exposure. All member pages are listed in Google so you can be found.

    Certainly when you upgraded your membership you knew you were changing from your free account to a Pro Membership. This allows you to submit for the auditions and audition for work.

    Explore Talent Customer Service is always available to walk you through using the web site and making the most of your membership. As a Pro Member, there are many tools that can really help you in your career.

    The Toll Free number on the front page of the site (upper right) will get you to customer service. They will gladly assist you.

    I hope you take advantage of the many benefits of membership. There was, after all, a reason you opened your free account. You must be interested in performing. Good luck going on auditions and good luck with your career.

    Please call Explore Talent if you have any questions.

    -5 Votes
  • Or
    Orlena Jan 15, 2009

    I figured as much! David is an employee with Explore Talent. Everyone do not listen to him. I recently have been receiving emails, text messages, and phone calls still from this company. They have recently claimed that they have an audition for me but when I ask where, they hang up the phone-when I call them back they give me the run around. I also have not sent them a photo of myself so why are they giving me auditions? Everyone don't be stupid like I was. Don't give any money to these cheats. They are a scam. If no one believes this then they can search the Better Business Bureau in which I have turned Explore Talent in. Explore Talent has not responded to the Better Business Bureau and they even have a Giant F on their record please don't be scammed.

    4 Votes
  • Da
    David Jan 15, 2009

    Orlena, you are not being truthful about your experience and this is not the first time you have tried to take advantage of a good service. You are well aware that Explore Talent gives thousands of talented individuals a free profile page with unlimited photo uploads and video uploads. Free members also use the Resume Builder and other tools. Each and every talent that is a free member of Explore Talent gets exposure they otherwise wouldn't. There are thousands of auditions listed and Explore Talent is doing more and more each and every day.

    I have tried to be open and honest about the service. If you would like to discuss your concerns, you should call. If you would like, you can even ask for David.

    The company provides value and just because Explore Talent encourages talents to upgrade to paid subscription, it doesn't make it a scam. Your accusations are ridiculous and not true. I urge you to call and discuss your situation. And, of course, your complaint will be answered. Good Luck

    -4 Votes
  • Da
    David Jan 15, 2009

    While you are checking Explore Talent on the BBB, why don't you also check out Ralph's Supermarket or Trader Joes. Ralph's has a "D" and Trader Joes has an "F". You see, any organization that has millions of customers certainly will have some complaints. What is important is how the company deals with the complaints. Explore Talent has answered all complaints and most often finds excellent solutions to achieve customer satisfaction. Believe it or not, Explore Talent competitors even make false complaints to try to hurt the company. This company does everything to support its members and this is the reason for its growth and the reason it is the largest audition submission service in the US. Again, please do not hesitate to call.

    -4 Votes
  • Or
    Orlena Jan 15, 2009

    David, why do you keep bringing up other people in this. Ralph's, Trader Joe's, who cares about them. All I know is that you people have cheated me out of money, bank account, and now my credit is ruined. You people are scams if you are so sure of yourselves then why don't you tell everyone that you are going to give me my money back. I am willing to show anyone who would like to see my statement that my bank account has been closed because of your business and this is not the first time that your company has cheated someone. As soon as I put Explore Talent through to the internet you don't see your web site. The first one is Explore Talent scam! If you are so sure of yourself then why don't you let me tape record while I am on the phone with one of your representatives and then we will see what kind of scam artist that you really are. Also you owe me money so where is it and don't say that you don't because I am even taken your company to the Better Business Bureau and your company refuses to acknowledge the complaints. Bottom Line David Give Me My Money Back! Also what in the heck are you talking about this is not the first time that you have taken advantage of a good service. HMM something is fishy here. I have recently put my name through another company claiming to be a talent agency too. Now how would you know that with just my name? HMM! Seems like you are using two different companies names. Now how about my money back! Scam artist!

    4 Votes
  • Or
    Orlena Jan 16, 2009

    To everyone who sees this complaint. I contacted the 1-800# for Explore Talent and they told me that there is no David that works there. That proves that this is nothing but a scam artist company. RIP OFFS! People don't be fooled by these people. DO NOT GIVE YOUR ACCOUNT INFORMATION OUT! IF SOMETHING SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE THEN YOU CAN GUARANTEE THAT IT IS!

    4 Votes
  • Da
    David Jan 19, 2009

    orlena, Explore Talent has more than one office. I'm not sure what number you called but I didn't receive any message. It appears you called on a saturday, which would make it very difficult to reach me. Try again during regular business hours. I would be happy to speak with you.

    Our goal is always to have a satisfied customer. We are very proud of the service we offer and we have many, many happy customers.

    -4 Votes
  • Or
    Orlena Jan 25, 2009

    I have recently have complained again to Explore Talent. One of the supervisors Jennifer told me that she did not care about my complaint. She told me that she had about 2.4 million other people so she didn't care. Then she hung up the phone on me. I called back and I got another supervisor whose name is Ben. He is refusing to give me my money back and wanted to contact my bank and wanted to get my bank account number with my credit card information. I said no way. He hung up the phone and that was it. Nothing! I am not getting my money back and I hope that more people see right through these people and do not give them any of their information.

    2 Votes
  • Er
    ernie Apr 13, 2009

    This is very sad to read this . Explore talent it seem has no moral fiber. I'm sorry to say. That it is your fault for not checking them out before you gave them any money. This blog has been available
    for a very long time. If I where you I would compose a very nasty blog against there endorsers ie...Snoop Dog, Mr Pat Boone, and the rest of the celebs on explore talents home page. Boycott there music say bad things about them. After all it is their testimony that
    really makes this co. seem legit.
    If you really want to break in to showbiz do this. Go to Barns and Noble by a book called CALL SHEET by BACK STAGE. It will give you a list of legitimate Casting directors and talent agents cost to cost.
    Send your head shots and resumes to them this does no cost any thing
    and it is the way business is done in Hollywood.
    good luck.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Monroe Apr 27, 2009

    Violated by Internet Scavengers
    A Specialty of Explore Talent.com

    My 17 year old daughter and her best friend fell victims to these internet sewer rats. My daughter goes to school full-time and works part-time as a clerk in a department store to support her modeling and acting dreams. She does volunteer work at an animal shelter on the weekends reads to the elderly twice a week. The funds illegally extracted from her bank account amounted to almost a week's salary. When she tried call she got the proverbial runaround and eventually was hung up on. "Like taking candy from a baby", huh guys? Bet you got a nice yuk out of that one. It is not only the money but also the gross violation of a kid's sense of trust and decency. These are predators that will rape the dreams of young hopeful talent. The only thing lower is a pedophile. They steal call sheets from other sources, list outdated casting calls, or just post their own phony auditions that they write up themselves.

    Explore Talent.com is by far the sleaziest and most disgusting talent scams operating on the internet. They lie, they cheat, and are constantly breaking the law by double and triple invoicing members. It is just a matter of time before the authorities catch up with them

    Being a journalist it didn't take much digging to find out who these insects are. The company is owned by Ami Shafrir, an ex pimp and porno broker. He keeps Exploitation-Talent in the name of one of his employees we found out. The coward hides behind other people because there are so many judgments against him. They are located at 4312 Woodman Avenue Suite 301 in Sherman Oaks, California. One of the major network news shows has them under investigation along with other intrnet modeling scams.

    Mr. Shafrir owns hundreds of websites between here and China all steering traffic toward Explore Talent.com. This, by the way, is against the policies of Youtube. They have been branding and posting phony endorsements by celebrities. I was told by a someone who attended one of these events that these Celebs had no idea they were endorsing a commercial. These clever thieves used the "old bait and switch." The unknowing celebrities were smooth-talked by a sweet hostess "can you give a little advice to our young members out there?" Then asked to give "a shout-out" to Explore Talent. Essentially getting them to say the name of the company. The clips were then cut to make it look like an endorsement. I will personally send this blog link to each and everyone of those celebrity's managers, agents and publicists. Some of who I work with on a regular basis.

    THE SALES PITCH IS A LIE FROM BEGINNING TO END. If someone calls you hang-up the phone before they can even get out the word talent!! THEY ARE NOTHING BUT A BOILER ROOM filled with desperate young sales people trying to get money out of your pocket.

    http://www.exploretalent.com/model_page.php?talentnum=661702

    Even their own employees are not safe from their vicious tactics They make agreements then decide to "change the terms after the job is done", I was told by a young model-actress . They indiscriminately steal clips from other websites and upload them to their own. Are you listening Youtube?

    Shame on you Explore Talent . Something must be done! Folks, these people are nothing but lowlife cowards hiding behind aliases and lies. These are ruthless cyber -scorpions ripping off easy prey, the young and the vulnerable. I'm not done with you Explore-Talent.com THAT IS A PROMISE I INTEND TO KEEP!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ry
    Ryan May 12, 2009

    feeeewwwl...
    I just talked to a person on the phone who named himself as Craig. Listened for about 5 minutes how cool I am, and "since I am so tall I will be flooded with offers"... But when he told me that I have to pay a one-time fee of 69.99. And something (that I didn't get what exactly) will be absolutely for free for me... I immediately suspected something wrong here and told him that if just in case I decide to be a model of theirs I would "definitely" give them a call.
    The only thing that confused me that they have my address and phone number. Do you guys think it's bad enough to worry about?

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Are you Serious? Jun 14, 2009

    To: "DAVID" and "EXPLORETALENT.COM" you ought to be ashamed of yourselves. What kind of human beings are you? You think everyone is a stupid, low-###, nobody because you are?? That our IQ's are incredibly SO low that we would ACTUALLY BELIEVE WHAT YOU SAY?? "David" Do you not have a family that you would hate to see fall prey to someone's outrageous claims and have a scam company stealing money from them?? YOU HAVE NO LIFE. I feel sorry for all of you, you are the failures in this world, you are the people we have pity on, because they are worthless pieces of trash littering this world with their inhuman and unbelievably detestable practices. You spend your precious life scraping at the heels of strangers for money, did you grow up poor? Was it such a tragic and traumatic experience that you said you would do anything to make sure you would never be in that situation again? You have psychological issues that a therapist needs to evaluate. Perhaps you guys can go and sign up and pay somebody else to help you with your troubled mind. YOU DISGUST ME. WHO CAN LOVE OR LIVE WITH SOMEONE OR PEOPLE LIKE YOU. YOU ARE THE ### OF THE EARTH. GO GET REAL JOBS...YOU NO GOOD LOW LIVES. DON'T BOTHER RESPONDING TO MY COMMENT, YOU HAVE NOTHING INTELLIGENT THAT I WOULD EVEN BOTHER READING. WHAT A CRYING, CRYING SHAME.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    Are you Serious? Jun 14, 2009

    Also, Snoop Dogg had no knowledge of these complaints before he endorsed them. He was approached and without a hesitation began to advertise for them, because he thought they were a legitimate talent scout, he had no idea that they made money off of bogus and outrageous promises. He regrets that he had not been informed of the above intolerable activities.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Are you Serious? Jun 14, 2009

    I at least I believe that Snoop Dogg regrets it now.

    1 Votes
  • Er
    ernie Jun 15, 2009

    HEY GUYS,

    LISTEN. WHAT YOUR TRYING TO DO IS COOL LETTING EVERYONE KNOW JUST WHAT IS GOING ON IS COMENDABLE. BUT, THE GOOGLE LINKS ATTACHED TO THIS E-MAIL BLOG ARE JUST AS BOOGIS.

    1 Votes
  • Ol
    Oliver08 Jul 24, 2009

    First of all whenever I hear people get so wound up and visceral to the point where they sound like they are foaming at the mouth about anything, my guess is they are very likely that way about many things from road rage to the service they are receiving from just about anyone like the phone company or a car dealership or a mechanic.
    Ok, I like all of you checked out Explore Talent. And I looked into many of the other similar companies and there websites and claims. And many of them where clearly not offering a whole lot of functionalities let alone much of large volume of continuous auditions. Then I focused on Explore Talent. The layout of the site. The search engines and data it was laying out for me to look at. And the layout of the resume builder and the process of building the over all profile page. Then I checked out the legitimacy of the auditions they had laid out. The sign up process and the due diligence that I was responsible for that was explained to me ( and that I read about ) that was a big part of the process of getting the whole thing to actually work. Like: Fill out the profile and put up serious pictures in complete and professional way. Then actually get a response from someone casting something. Then actually get an audition. And then if I was good enough at my audition that maybe just maybe I would get work. Well to all those angry complainers and lynch mobs with pitch forks in hand, I just have to guess your still wondering how to change that blinking 12:00 on your VCR from the 80's. You see, I'm one who actually is a doer instead of a complainer. I signed up and followed Explore Talents clearly layed out process for getting a career going. And I got a response, a call back, and not just one, but several parts from just my first audition. But then again you see, I didn't expect it all to just happen for me. I worked hard and really filled things out. And got very good pictures from my own digital camera. I knew it was about focusing on my career at least an hour a day and submitting for a lot of things. And learning what was the best way to come across to the casting people. Then I networked at the audition and gave everyone a sense of my energy, commitment and most of all my talent. This actor is sick and tired of the kind of people who complain about spending 69.99 or a big 119 (about the amount you'd pay for toaster oven, cd palyer or for going to the movies 4 or 5 times) while they so little to understand the acting and modeling industries and the egos and the rejections and pure lack of talent and grainy camera phone pictures so many people have who think someone would actually want to even see them when there is so little to go on on their profile page and they have done so little to train or really get ready and prepared for a career in show business. I mean give me a very very big break. You should all try actually learning about your craft and the over all nature of the beast you are dealing with. As far as I am concerned Explore Talent has many things that are really, and i mean really helpful about it. First of all I thought it does a great job organizing everything you need to pull together for a career. That works especially well for nubies who are totally naive about the whole acting modeling show biz world they think they will get a career in. It was easy and straight forward. Then I actually compared my own ability to get lists of auditions in just some the categories they had and open calls etc. Forget it!! My time was worth way way more than that effort and better spent training and other stuff. So for me just the pure organizing, the resources and the huge volume of auditions and even just the process of learning about the jobs out there was worth the $199 I paid. Which is about the same as I would pay for a 2 hour photo shoot or a couple of acting classes. FYI. I got free monologues and scenes off the web and then used my video camera to practice my work on. I read all of the industry terms and other stuff they had to read and understand about auditioning as well studied and practice doing cold readings etc. So please. Just shut the traps and complaining and either get to work or get back to your day job and leave the show biz stuff to those of us who are paying attention, doing the hard work and actually getting results with help from companies like Explore Talent!

    -2 Votes
  • Kj
    kjlive Jul 30, 2009

    I am intrigued by those who are posting complaints against Explore Talent agency. I must come straight out and say, the complaints are not fair. In fact, I notice a pattern in all the complaints. (1) The complainers tell us how they paid to upgrade to a professional website, but they blame Explore Talent for not making them famous? Get real people! Explore Talent did nothing wrong in 'selling their promo -upgrade package. They understand that to become a successful model, a musician or an actor it's all about EXPOSURE, EXPOSURE, EXPOSURE! You need to put your photos, your video samples and biography out there! Market yourself! The Explore Talent website gives you all the tools and resources to do just that. I can't but help to mention they publish all the various auditions that you need to go to as well. Look at the homepage of their website. There are well known, BIG-TIME celebrities giving you sound advice. Come on people...use the tools they give you! (2) There is a girl on this forum who complained, remember the hair model? She was skeptical at first, but paid to upgrade her membership, she went to the audition and made a NETWORKING CONTACT THAT GOT HER A PAID MODELING GIG! That's called networking. Is anybody listening? I am a professional pianist/keyboard player and actor here in West L.A. I have a professional package with Explore Talent and I promote my website, I go to auditions, I network, I keep my site updated and use the tools! If you are not prepared to invest in promotional tools necessary to help yourself succeed, find another industry. But stop bad mouthing a legitimate talent agency that has helped me put food on the table.

    -3 Votes
  • Sn
    Sneekiewonders Sep 17, 2009

    well I agree with the complaints its really ###ed up that ppl take advantage of any one whos trying to make it in this industry PEOPLE ANY AGENTCY THATS ASK YOU TO PAY IS A FROUD first they book you and then when you get a gig you work out all the money issues and i bet ll you mofos that agree with jack ### that are doing this work for them you guys are worst then drug dealers at least they're up front about what they do but all y'all hide behind a computer scream n a phone and dare talk shet about what I had to say I dont care at the end of it all you still are worthless pieces of shets

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    Havok Sep 18, 2009

    Odd how it is assumed they are complaining simply because they didn't get work. I have visited several websites myself, as well as ExploreTalent.com. Even on this very page we have someone who is dissatisfied not exactly because there was ExploreTalent did not "make them famous" but because her young daughter was taken advantage of, and her bank account was charged without permission. I also see that it appears the same person keeps popping up to defend ExploreTalent. If you guys are so adamant that all companies as "large as yours" get "some complaints" then why not just drop it? Business is going to keep on going if that is the case. It seems to me for being a professional and reliable business you guys aren't really handling anything either of those ways. You are seeing what you want to see in the complaints posted here. You obviously have some very unhappy customers, or ex-customers.

    But like I said, if it just comes with the deal to get some complaints, instead of attacking them for voicing their experiences, why not let it go? Standing up to each and every dissatisfied customer who has the guts to say something makes you guys look even more shady, but that's just my opinion. I also see a trend in the fact that you like to wave your numbers around in peoples' faces... but as they say, you can make statistics say whatever you want with the proper education on it.

    1 Votes
  • Tb
    TBott Oct 15, 2009

    I recently signed up for the free membership, with explore talent.com. I got a call today, about a possible minor role in the 4th movie of the Twilight saga; Breaking Dawn. I am excited! The voice mail that was left for me stated I met the criteria, and to give him a call back. But before doing so, I need to activate my account. I came home to tell my husband the news, he of course right off the bat, was suspicious. I told him I would research the company before making a decision. I agree with the guy on the first page.

    On your page it says matched auditions, you click that and it takes you to a page where for your age, height, etc. you fit the criteria. I don't believe explore talent knows whether you are a lesbian or not, or if you have gone to war, or what ever the case may be. They know your name, your weight, your height, your credentials... So if you are matched with something like MTV true...what ever and it is for lesbians, does not mean they want you. You have to actually submit...wow shocker..SUBMIT your profile to which ever audition/s you are interested in. You can not expect this company to do ALL the work for you. They don't know what kind of modeling or acting you would be interested in. So if you are serious about chasing this dream, pay the money, everyday check for new auditions, submit yourself for them, and see if you get a call back. Worse case, you don't...but you at least tried and gave it a good shot. So I think I might give them a chance as well. I am going to do a little more research on them, and we'll see. Maybe you will see me in the movie Breaking Dawn...then you will know whether or not they are true. My name is Tara...be looking for me. :)

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    screamingvocalist Oct 31, 2009

    Hey aspiring actors: I'm an actor too. I've been on TV and Movies. Don't ask my name, I prefer to keep my anonymity.
    I started on my own with no help. I AM from Hollywood...since a young teen. I've seen almost every kind of scam out there.

    The reason I'm typing here right now, is a friend of mine said she just got hired by a internet casting company...I asked "Not Explore Talent I hope, and she said oh my God" She and I plan on exposing these lowlifes and will be putting together a class action. I know the history about everything having to do with this company and its aliases.

    LOOK PEOPLE!!! Never ever cough up money up front to a company to get exposure!
    The REAL business NEVER EVER works this way! Once you've paid your dues...like everyone else (not born into the industry) The only time you should ever pay anyone is to YOUR AGENT. YOUR AGENT DOES NOT GET PAID UNTIL YOU DO...AND THAT IS A STANDARD 10%...SOMETIMES 15%

    OK WITH THAT SAID,
    Here's my suggestion:
    Get headshots cheap to start off of craigslist...until you can afford better(I don't care what anybody says here) then go to one of the KNOWN self submitting casting websites:

    1.) Casting Networks (they're in L.A., New York & Chicago) $10 bucks a month
    2. Now Casting $10 bucks a month
    3. Actors Access $68 bucks a year

    These 3 ARE especially helpful to those who are NON-UNION and have not joined AFTRA or SAG yet.
    (although they all list both union AND non-union gigs/auditions)


    While busting your a** putting feet to pavement on these sites and going to auditions from these sites EVERYDAY,
    go register at Central Casting...yeah, it's low-brow, but I did it and eventually landed my 3 NEEDED "union" vouchers in order to join S.A.G. It's only a ONE TIME REGISTRATION FEE OF $20 BUCKS

    IF YOU REALLY HAVE GOD GIVEN "TALENT" and are not grandiose you will eventually get somewhere...
    and start racking up I.M.D.B. credits...

    THEN, go shop for an agent.
    Any good agent will not even look at you until you have a bit of a resume.
    Land roles in student films from the above 3 mentioned sites as well.

    REASON? To start building your "REEL" to present to prospective agents.

    ****** IN THE MEANTIME, AVOID THESE SCAMMING F***'S AT EXPLORE TALENT AND ANYONE ELSE LIKE THEM.
    IF YOU HAVE A GOOD HEADSHOT, AND ANY COMPANY SAYS YOU NEED TO USE THEIR PHOTOGRAPHERS...RUN IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION!

    Break a leg...

    Thank you for allowing me to be of service anonymously,
    1 talented humble guy

    2 Votes
  • Tr
    TruthTeller59 Nov 01, 2009

    Explore Talent is a SCAM! Go look them up on the Better Business Bureau (bbb.org)

    Explore Talent STEALS free castings from sites like Backstage and Craigslist and CHARGES money for them. I have also seen them steal from LEGIT sites like Actors Access as well.

    Some of my friends have posted castings on Actors Access or Backstage and have found their stuff listed on Explore Talent WITHOUT their permission. I remember seeing a friend's casting on Explore Talent a week after she posted it on Actors Access. I called her and she was like "What the heck?! I ONLY posted on ACTORS ACCESS!"

    One such Casting Director who has had this happen to her is Bonnie Gillespie (http://more.showfax.com/columns/avoice/).

    Explore Talent also MISLEADS!
    They entice people with bogus links such as:
    http://disney-channel-auditions.com

    Some kid thinking he or she will get Disney Channel Auditions will end up at Explore Talent and not see any Disney Channel Auditions.

    Explore Talent has been around for 5 years. In EVERY Acting Reference/Business Book written no earlier than 5 years and even in the books written or edited in 2008/2009, there is NO mention of Explore Talent!

    Let's reference some of the Top Acting Business Books out there:

    In "Acting is Everything: Gold Edition" by Judy Kerr, she mentions LA Casting, Actors Access, and NowCasting.

    In "How to Be a Working Actor:5th Edition" by Mari Lyn Henry, Lynne Rogers, and Joe Mantegna, LA Casting, Actors Access, and NowCasting.

    In "Making it in Hollywood" by Scott Sedita, LA Casting, Actors Access, and NowCasting.

    WHERE ARE YOU EXPLORE TALENT?

    2 Votes
  • Pa
    paulad96 Jan 24, 2010

    I myself to fell to explore too.I signed my son up and we have been them for almost 8 months and have not got one call.When i called thwy offered me 3 free months becouse she said becouse of were i livw is in alabama there is not much around here but i have tennessee and atlantla i even said we could travel but nothing i think they just make up the audtions. i tried to contact some of the members the have gotten work but it seems like there are fake too. But good luck to those of u who have got work from them.

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Him Feb 27, 2010

    Sooo glad I came here before I signed my three daughters up! See ya Exploit Talent.com!!!

    1 Votes
  • Hi
    Him Feb 27, 2010

    Just got off the phone with an agent that said to "Run as fast as possible from this site". And if you possess any talent, go to an agent and get involved with them. THEY... do not get money until you get paid... the way it's supposed to be. Unlike some of the postings previous to mine stating otherwise!!!

    1 Votes
  • Gy
    gypsybluedog Mar 05, 2010

    Stay away from this place!

    I signed on thinking after my profile was complete, I could try their 7 day free offer. When it asked if I wanted to activate it, I clicked "no, " because I wanted time to set up my profile first. I did so, they called me today pressuring me to pay for their service now. I was actually on the air when they called, I told him I thought I hadn't activated my service yet and he said I had and now it was time to pay. I had a live break coming up, told him it wasn't a good time to talk and hung up. He called back saying it was too bad I'd "hung up" on one of their representatives, because they were going to offer me a voice job from Disney. (Cough "bullsh*t" into your hand at this point.) The snotty message told me to have good luck in my radio career and to never in the future hang up on an agent again if I want to get anywhere, they deleted my account. Now that I've researched the company more, I'm glad to have gotten out when I did!

    Friends don't let friends join exploretalent.com!

    0 Votes
  • Gy
    gypsybluedog Mar 05, 2010

    Stay away from this place!

    The only phone call from this place was them trying to pitch their services! They called while I was on the air, to grill me about why I'd not paid, I told him it was not a good time to talk and I'd have to talk later.

    They called back with a snotty message, saying I'd never make it anywhere if I "hang up" on agents, and too bad, because I'd lost a Disney casting they'd now have to pass on to someone else (cough "bullsh*t" into your hands at this point), and they deleted my account.

    Thanks goodness I got out before getting in too deep!

    Friends don't let friends sign up for exploretalent.com!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    naomiw01 Mar 28, 2010

    After reading all the complaints online I am astonished that exploretalent.com is still business. I should have read all those complaints before because I to have fallen for this scam. I canceled three months ago and am still being charged with out my permission, so I called my bank and filed a complaint against these scammers. I went online and sarted doing google searchs and found a bunch of stuff about them like that they own hundreds of websites to try to confuse people into thinking it's another company so they can scam the same person multiple times.

    I even found out that thecutekid.com is also owned by the same scammers. I found one of the owners his name is Ami Shafrir and he has quite a reputation if you just search for Ami Shafrir scam. What really bothers me is that there are complaints dating back years and no one has done anything to stop this guy! Isn't this America where the rule of law is observed! I feel like I am n the twilight zone, you have a proven scam, tens of thousands of victims, going on for years, no law enforcement or media effort to stop it!

    I am getting my money back because this clearly a scam and I called my bank about and if you have been scammed you should to! I am so angry at myself for falling for such bs, I should of known! Well next time I will know better. Hopefully my story is helps others avoid my fate. God Bless

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    aero32 May 17, 2010

    Ami Shafrir and Ben Navon are two of the biggest slime balls in human history, they have no compassion for their talents or their own employees... Not Only are they using explore talent as a front to fund their other "operations", but he also runs hundreds of scams all over the world. I personally know some people that worked there, and its nothing but horror stories! They just shut down the L.A. Office "On the Run" from lawsuits and the feds and fired every single person that was working for them! If you do your research you will find that the original owner actually raped a 14 year old girl and is in Jail right now! When Ami took over the company he actually put a guy from the Mafia in jail, and put him on the line for a credit card fraud they had going on before that! He sued him for over $40, 000, 000... Also Ami is under investigation for child molestation and bank fraud, over the last couple years they have stole over $100, 000 illegally from YOU. If you give them any information, let alone a credit card number, you are another one of their victims! I suggest to sue sue sue sue!! Get your money back! Their auditions are 90% Fake, if you actually look up some of the projects, most of the information is all false if you do get work you can get the same ad on craigslist! They have no idea how the entertainment industry really works and is victimizing America! They want to take advantage and steal money without giving you anything back! They need to be Deported, or better yet locked away in Jail! THEY ARE FAKE!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liza_Carlson May 31, 2010

    Amazing. First of all, many of the people on this site who use phrases like "they look my money" when its usually followed by "... they said it was free...".

    Let us take a step back. If it was free ... like hotmail, Gmail, or Craigslist ... they would never need you to enter credit/debit card information. Usually, when something says, Free Trial or Try It for Free; it means just that, you can try it out for free. What do you think happens after the "trial period" is over? You get charged for something. You can't expect a free trial to be free forever.

    They didn't take your money; you paid them for a service. Now, whether or not you allowed yourself to get caught up in the emotional "what if's" and forgot/declined to listen to/read the terms of said agreement ... well then that's your fault/lack of attention/sheer stupidity.

    And finally, many people on this site say words like "scam" "fraud" "cheat" when you really have no idea what goes into the websites/companies you're talking about. Nothing is free. There is a cost to everything. Regardless of how/where they get their information - they pool it all together in one neat resource. Sure you can look all over the internet yourself, or you can pay someone else to compile it all on your behalf. The information may be free and readily available ... but you're not paying for the information, your paying for the service of someone else finding it all for you.

    Its not a scam if you don't pay attention. Its not fraud because you had unrealistic expectations. Your not being cheated just because you didn't get EXACTLY what you wanted. And to be really honest, many of the people on sites like [redacted] & complaintsBoard expect the world for a few $$$.

    And What is wrong with making money? Do you think that Bill Gates would have declined going to grad school if he didn't think he was going to get paid? No. Business are here for one reason:

    To seperate you from your money. That's it.

    To go about doing that, they usually provide a product or service. They want to keep customers happy because it allows them to continue to operate, thus bringing in more money. Business are not here as a social service to the people they serve. So when someone says, "they just want your money" they're 100% correct. They may be nice about it but that is the ultimate goal of any company; and because your broke, uneducated @ss is jealous of others' success, you trample on the motivation of money.

    The US is not a socialist Society. We base things off of capitalism. Businesses are here to make the owners rich, the investors a dividend, and supply jobs to people who complain on these boards. That is their only obligation. They follow a code of ethics, only to stay in business, not to be "right" "fair" "honest"; those are bi-products of their want/need to say in business.

    I've digressed from the original post. I will close with this:

    Yes, they want your money; but so do I and so does everyone else, wake up and join reality ... its really great down here. So when you decide to leave your bloated, self-entitled, victim of the world attitude back in never-never land (or as most of the smart ones call it; your imagination), you will realize that you get whats coming to you. You need to read things before you hand over financial information. Understand what you are paying for. Learn common sense or find a friend who has some and spend more time with them. LISTEN, don't just wait for your turn to talk. LISTEN, because when your daydreaming or formulating your response, you're probably missing one of those details that you're going to later claim they didn't tell you ... a la (bait & switch, fraud, scam, cheated me).

    And to the lady who was asking if someone thought you were stupid, with a low IQ ... most people are, 90% of the people who post on here are, and without people like you ... well these sites wouldn't exist because us smart people cruise these sites for a lunch-time laugh at your expense.

    -2 Votes
  • Kl
    Klestekoff Jul 15, 2010

    It appears that employees at Explore Talent have a remarkable amount of time to spend on many, many blogs and websites posting long messages that attempt to rebuke posts citing their bad and fraudulent practices. Need I say more? Or is it they have a lot of time because they are wealthy now. Again, need I say more? Legit casting companies will take a percentage. They will not charge upfront. Ever. Be sure to read Explore Talent's response to me connect the dots. I am sure it will follow...BTW: I am an actor, and not unknown. Stay away from them. (Now read Explore Talent's response attempting to discredit me).

    1 Votes
  • Su
    summers4 Aug 03, 2010

    I used to work for explore talent. and all i can say is david your wrong.

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    summers4 Aug 03, 2010

    i used to work there all the complaints are true.

    0 Votes
  • Yi
    ying_ying Aug 11, 2010

    summers4
    if you are really work for a compnay but after you dimission but you talk about the bad words to the compnay which you work for in used . then you lost your respect to yourself too...remember, you work for them before! you take your income from them! you lost a human nature. if i were your new boss and i will fire you at once, no one can stand the kind people like you ! that just could hurt the copmany, and remember, one compnay not only boss can get money, all the people who work for this compnay all get money from this company too, they need to subsistence to their family or their samll children, so you are fire if i were you new boss .
    i am Chinese, and manage the trad compnay for my boss, if my underling all like you and i can say... all of them i already let them go home !
    and all the complain people in here for a compnay and i hope before they complain and need to do 2 things before go to complain others . 1st. before you give your money out and need to sure why you need to pay out the money, if you pay out and the largest what you can gain and the largest what you will lost, thinking it well before you action to pay money out, dont do act the stupid like fool after you pay money but can not gain what you want back. you should know youreslf well before to do anything, 2. before you complain anyone and you should know well youself if your complain really come into existence, your complain maybe will let the an innocent person into the trouble condition even maybe lost their life if you done the compain not real .

    why i be here ? why i saying this in here? as i told above, i am chinese, i go on net to get the info. from over the net and get well more knowledge to work well the compnay where i work for, and the complain is the good way let me know more about the people thoughts . but today i just waste one morning to be there to read the compain about a compnay . then i check this company's web too, i found they already statement well to everyone whom want to be the members there, they seems just give a chance to the people to find more chance to get what they want, but not promised anyone they must let anyone get what they want . see...this compnay write so clear in there, why they complains not saw them before the go to anywhere to complains? just act like a fool .

    today's china if all the people like the complain in here, i can say our life maybe just saty in 5000 years ago, like primitive communes ... goog luck our chinese ...our know well whom we are, we can account what we can get or not get before to do a thing or talk too... now i understand why our china can be so strong today in world!

    tell the true, i really look down to those people who just no pay but can get what the largest want in their mind!

    our china have a old word mean, no pay no gain, , , hope anyone who want to complains a thing or people and have better to sure what you compains is a reasonable .

    too poor those people whom complains like that way!

    too poor that compnay have to fact thouse fool complains and get F rate by those fool complains!

    good luck i live in china and work in china, and dont need to face thouse stupid things each day. i am good luck i have good employee work for me, good luck i have unite with all forces that can be united team, good luck i have good employee still stick up for my work even the leave my team. if there are have member like summers4 i would rather go to hell not hire the people like summers4 .

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy1123 Aug 30, 2010

    Well Well. I applied to explore talent like 5 months ago just because I wanted to wing it and see how it would go. Then I forgot about it, and 5 months later they called me and complemented me and all the same BS. Funny thing is, I believed it. But as soon as he mentioned the fee...I was on the phone with him at the time, and I immediately searched for a review of them, and I didn't find what I liked, hence forth, why I'm typing this right now. So I told him, I would call him back, and he said " Ok that's fine, I'll wait on the line", So that was more suspicious, and I told him a second time I would call him back, he responded, "is there a particular reason?", I played it smart and told him I couldn't find my credit card and needed to call him back but he was still persistent and said he would wait, so I told him, in a more serious tone, "I will call you back". He finally let me go but not before he made sure I had his number. Sooooo, when I hung up, I placed him on my block list xD. 5 minutes later, I got a voice message. I wonder who its from? :)

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ellen Webb Nov 16, 2010

    I had an incoming call from a weird number so i picked up and the person said my full name and i hung up. And then they tried calling me back again but i let it go to voicemail. I just listened to the voicemail 30 min ago and it was some guy named Lemar calling for me and to call him back with his extension. I called back but he was not in his office but i talked to the receptionist and she told me a little about it that they were a worldwide company. I said oh well I'm not even from those states and she said that it was worldwide so it didnt matter, but she also did say this guy would be calling me back. But after reading all these comments about ExploreTalent...I feel like i got TOO excited for nothing, for just a scam.. So now i feel like an idiot. Does anybody know legit sites to sign up for modeling etc.? I got asked to be in a calendar shoot but i wasn't able to make it but i think i would have potential. I am also 19 years old.

    1 Votes
  • Br
    BruceKonev Nov 18, 2010

    I feel really stupid now after reading another report about Exploretalent.com. I had signed up on a free membership a while back and in late January/early February received an email saying that a casting director was interested in me. When looking to see what it was, it turned out to be for a local hair show and it paid $100. I was really excited about the audition and I looked up the company and they were legit. When I had called Explore Talent to get the information, they looked on my page and said, 'oh you're not a pro-member, I can't give you that information unless you sign up as a pro-member.' I asked how much it was and they had said something around $33 a month or I can get a 'deal' and pay around $70-75 for three months and that I'd have more of a chance getting more work with a longer period of time. I thought it was kind of weird that I had to pay to get information and told him I'd have to call back because my funds were low so I'd have to ask my boyfriend if he can spot me the money. He then said 'you have to ask your boyfriend?' So I then told him yeah and explained again because I had no money at the time. My boyfriend said to save money I should do the three month thing and when I had called back, the guy took my information and 'set up' my pro-membership and started giving me all these compliments like 'you have some pretty pictures' and even told me once that 'did you know you have other casting directors interested in you too?' I thought he meant I had others who had sent me emails that I hadn't gotten or something. So this made me even more excited. Well I didn't end up modeling for the one company that emailed their interest to me, but did model for another one I met at the show anyway. When I was looking at my 'pro-member' casting page, I saw that they had these pretty 'generic' casting that you would find in a newspaper or on a theater website or something. Another thing I found odd and I didn't appreciate was that the 'booking department' would 'submit' me for these roles that I didn't even fit! One that I remember was for an MTV True-Life that wanted lesbians and another MTV True-Life that wanted people going off to war or coming home from war. First of all, I see these castings already on the MTV.com website. Second of all, I'm not a lesbian and I haven't been to war nor come home from any kind of war so I was wondering 'why am I being submitted for these?' I felt mad because I didn't know before reading the other response to this rip-off that they don't actually submit anything to anyone. I was thinking that they were submitting me to these and that I would be getting calls or emails or something and have to explain that no I don't actually fit their criteria they want. Another thing I didn't like was that they had me list three cities that I prefer working in. I live in the Midwest and had locations such as Missouri, Iowa, and Minnesota. I was getting casting calls for New York, Pennsylvania, Michigan, etc. I feel totally ripped off and wish I would've just turned down the offer to become a 'pro-member' so that I could get that audition information. I hope that something gets done about it like a class-action lawsuit or somebody puts their foot down that has a powerful say in the matter because Explore Talent don't care about their 'models' and just worry about how much money they can rake in.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    ReggThorston Nov 25, 2010

    There is no EASY road. Unless it's an agent you aren't going to talk to anyone who can really help you. If you live in LA grab a copy of all the local rags...this is about work and paying these crooks $70 to look through the want ads is ridiculous. To all the people that said, "well you paid for a service", very true, unfortunately when you as the provider have no intention of providing the service it is fraud. You can be certain Mr. Shafrir knows the ropes. Just like finding any other job, you can't wait for someone to GIVE it to you, if you want it bad enough, hit the bricks. It's not easy, but well worth the effort.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem