The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Electrostim Medical Services - EmsiBeware, nickle and dime you for medical services you never used

W Review updated:

Beware of electrostim medical services, also known as emsi. They provide small electric shock devices if you have back pain - which doesn't even help i bet. We went to our doctor who apparently ordered one for us but didn't really explain to us what he was doing and that it would cost so much. We have good insurance coverage however this medical unit still costs thousands of dollars even with insurance covering much of it.

My wife didn't even want this medical device or services and never used it at all. We were finally able to convince them we didn't order it nor want it and sent it back. However they sent a 'supplies' packet in the mail which i refused and sent back to their office and they are charging us $300 for it even though we never received it. It makes me sick to my stomach how medical service and medical insurance companies can get away with so much and normal people get stuck with bills. My insurance company basically said it was our word against their word if we received it and the big company always wins.

Needless to say this company has terrible customer service and will try and nickle and dime ever penny from you even if you never even used their stupid device. Beware!

Responses

  • Do
    dorothyann Feb 21, 2019

    I also had problems with this company. They kept billing me a fee every month, which I didn't know that was going to happen. I called them and asked why I was getting a bill every month, I was told that I was gonna be charged like 4 payments and that would be all and the unit would be mine. But the billing did not stop so I told them I no longer wanted the unit and was going to send it back, they told me that I could not send it back and that it was mine now and I had to keep making the monthly premiums, this is crazy, , , , i could have purchased one from somewhere else and paid for it and it would have been much cheaper. They also said that if I was to send it back that I would still have to pay. I'm still being billed.

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    ScammedVet Dec 20, 2018

    We are having the same issue right now. I got the stim pads, bioice, and batteries (never even used it). It was covered by Tricare insurance. As soon as we were switching insurance companies, I called to cancel the services. I was told that all products would be canceled and any pending orders would be canceled. I just received yet another bill saying I owe them AGAIN! I called them to dispute it, and they are now saying that the pending order was processed and they are holding me liable for the bill. This company is a total scam! EMSI absolutely preys on military members to scam them out of their money after being taken off of Tricare.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    armeda manieri Mar 27, 2018

    very bad business of ripping off customers and insurance companies! BEWARE! EMSI Electronic Medical Services

    -2 Votes
  • Hi
    Hilden Aug 19, 2017

    I finally got rid of this company. They billed me for the unit that I returned to the physical therapist for a couple of years. My insurance paid them over $800 for it and they wanted $292 from me. I decided that if they kept sending a bill with a postage paid return envelope, I was going to make it cost them money. I stuffed the envelope with heavy things including pennies and nickels, an old cell battery and cardboard. It must have cost them over $1.00 for postage. I was planning on doubling the weight each month, but that stopped the billing. I had tried everything. Talking with them, filed a complaint with insurance, lots of texting. Nothing worked until I sent them the heavy envelope.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    JustAVet Jun 20, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I actually have this same problem and will be calling my State's Insurance Commission. I asked them to send me the authorization I gave them to bill me for items I was not requesting. I will then show that they were billing me full price even after the insurance had paid while the agent on the phone, a very polite and calm young woman considering the situation, claimed that I was receiving 80% paid for by my insurance which is still a ridiculous amount.

    I don't think I have it as bad as some of you, but I just wanted to tell my story: I was in the military, a PT handed me a TENS unit. Military Health Care is 0 cost so I didn't even really see a bill. I used it for a couple months, the pain went away. I moved a lot, but I did receive one package of electrodes and batteries while I was in before I got out. I'm sure they billed my insurance several times because they knew they'd pay even if the envelopes were getting returned to them because of old addresses (I moved 4 times in 2 years). I separated from the military, as a disabled vet but there is a transitional health care plan so we aren't just tossed out without insurance. We have 180 days of additional coverage, but with some out of pocket costs. EMSI "sends" about 3 packages. I hadn't even updated my information in the military for my tri-care to know where I was (in a different state). Eventually, they find me and I get a lovely care package that would have been severely underbid on The Price is Right. I think to myself, that's their mistake, I don't even have this unit anymore because... get this... I bought a better one off Amazon for a tiny fraction of the cost they billed the insurance for and it's better. I can actually get replacement electrodes and batteries for less than $10. But I digress. I move for a second time, the invoice I read said they shipped two more to my old address- again billed with no packages. I finally get my first padded envelope and I open it up here at my new residence, with them sending one somehow every month (different supplies I never needed) with the invoice saying I owe them $500. I never signed anything. I never ordered anything. I never authorized anything. The only contact I've ever had with EMSI was getting their 2 envelopes. The only thing linking me to this company at all was being handed the unit by my PT. It was off their shelf. I'm pretty sure EMSI just sent supplies and the TENS unit was purchased from someone else.

    As for the positive posters on here, get a life. Nobody goes to complaintsboard.com looking to leave positive messages about a company. It's painfully obvious your gushing words are paid for. Even if you are at home in your EMSI shirt about to go to bed and say prayers for the amazing entity that is EMSI, you cannot morally justify their business practices. If a company is charging this much for cheap supplies, it is because they either know they can which is just poor business ethics, or they have to make the loss up for people not paying for their products, which they probably never asked for, again very poor business ethics. Both insure that the company makes a profit, but on the backs of people who are in pain. So think about that while you come on to a complaint message board to tell all of us who've been taken advantage of with ridiculously shady business tactics that "it depends on the situation, or blame it on "luck of the draw, " or blatantly call us all whiners (seriously... what a tool).

    I have personally never experienced this from countless other insurance contractors. I guess I'm just as unlucky as everyone else who have been stung so hard that they found a place online to spend their time warning others how a boring Medical Supply Company is ruining their lives.

    I'm actually genuinely curious at this point if people are just cruising this site looking to disagree with complaints.

    -2 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeyDenver145 May 23, 2017

    My Physical therapist ordered a the device and it was fine, until I started to receive supplies and batteries in the mail each month that neither I or my PT requested. I called EMSI immediately and they promised to close my account and stop billing me. However, four months later I am still receiving both supplies and a bill. I have called multiple times, left multiple messages, and I hear nothing back. I have also notified the company my PT works for and they have had so many similar complaints that they are no longer using EMSI. EMSI is a shady company with even shadier business practices. Stay clear!

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    Suzanne Panneta Oct 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    BBB has received a pattern of complaints alleging business continues to bill the customer. The business continues to ship supplies after they have been told to stop.Customers also allege not receiving any products however they continue to be billed. The business does not return phone calls.
    The BBB contacted the business requesting information as to why the business believes the customers are filing the complaints, and what actions the business has taken to help eliminate the basic cause of the complaints. As of this date the business has not replied to this request.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suzanne Panneta Oct 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, they certainly earned their "F" rating from the BBB - beware!
    http://www.bbb.org/west-florida/business-reviews/medical-equipment-suppliers/emsi-in-tampa-fl-62002808

    -1 Votes
  • Jn
    jnfrmouse Apr 27, 2016

    I just talked to them today, for the 10th time in 2 years, but this time I got an actual person, not a machine!. I have been returning supplies for over 2 years, have asked them repeatedly to close account. They are now saying they haven't logged anything EVER being returned and that you cannot send supplies back to them 'return to sender' as they don't have enough postage on the shipment to cover it, so it is 'lost' and I need to find it. They are also now saying that the previous bills I have sent back to them with an annotation to close account, that everything has been returned for over 2 years and there are no funds due, have never been received by them (even though it is sent in their prepaid return envelope). Horrible company with horrible customer service.

    -1 Votes
  • Vi
    Victoria Hardin Apr 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting on a refund from them for going on two years now my insurance company paid 1365 for the one they sent me o only used when the pt put it on me the first time they sent me 9 supplies any way all together it was almost $2400.00 talked to them on phone they said send all of it back and we will send your refund so i did that was 2-7-15 talked to them on the phone i don't know how many times and even emailed them they say we sent your check to the big guy to sign and when he does we will put it in the mail they are all lairs because that was in January of this year. And to top it off they said that i rented so the refund would only be for $1364.00 they make me sick how can they keep getting away with this bull

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorirr Mar 05, 2016

    My physical therapist ordered a tens unit for me without me knowing at all...How I found out was Workers Comp called me and wanted to know why they ordered a tens unit that cost $1, 500
    I didn't even know what she was talking about...I told her to call PT and ask them!...Your sick and in so much pain...I find it so hard to do any talking about anything...It's so hard to concentrate when you're in so much pain... I hope you never understand that >>>(XtremeD69)
    You're in the line of work that calls for compassion and understanding something you lack...Everyone has stories and no two are alike...
    Next time you should get the whole story before you post something that wasn't very nice...I wonder what it feels like to be you...NOT...

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    msdimps Oct 14, 2015

    I'm not sure who these people are responding on this company's behalf but if the complaints were not true there would NOT be so much hostility in your replies. You are doing no justice for this company. And to SickofWhiners, you talking about someone's grammar, you should do spell check before posting anything because their is NOT spelled thier as you have it in your post. And, I agree, THIS COMPANY IS A FRAUD, LET'S GET THEM SHUT DOWN. THEY WILL NOT GET A DIME OF MY MONEY. LOSERS!!!1

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Disatisfied in PA Jul 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been waiting since January 2015 for the refund of $114.66 sent as an overpayment. "Laura" the customer service rep tells the company is "slow" in processing refunds! That is her only response. I told her I was going to contact our local TV consumer advocate and she told me to "go ahead". I would never recommend this organization to anyone. Very unprofessional staff and poor business practices. Next step is contacting our local station!

    -1 Votes
  • Hi
    Hilden Jul 02, 2015

    I feel that I was conned into taking the Flex-it tens unit by my physical therapist. I was told that I could try it out and if I didn't like it, I could bring it back. Also, that my insurance would most likely pay for it. He told me to wait until the invoice comes to see if there was a balance after insurance, that I could decide then if I wanted it. 3 months later I finally got the invoice. The bill is almost $600. I only used it a couple of times. Found it ran out of energy fast and was more trouble than it was worth. I can't get ahold of the representative. She is probably gone on vacation. (July 4th) Called the company and got them to reduce the cost to $292, but I am still not happy about it. I don't use it. Called the therapy office, they are sending an email to rep. Probably will not hear from anyone until next week. Frustrated.

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    EMSIsucks Aug 22, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have dealt with this company for months for them charging me and sending supplies without my permission. I spoke to my doctors office and they did not authorize the charges either. My doctors office has spoken to them several times on behalf of their patients stating they are not allowed to automatically send supplies to their clients and bill them.
    I have talked to customer support via phone and email. I even sent the products back to them and still have a bill for $248. I do not see how it is legal for them to send products you did not request and send you a bill.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
    rplant May 28, 2014

    My physical therapists supplied me with a EMSI Tens unit. The first month I received supplies with no paperwork so I assumed that it was supposed to be given to me when I got the unit. Now a month later another package shows up but this time a letter from EMSI comes at the same time and it is an invoice for the first shipment!!! I contacted them and they said they automatically send out supplies monthly and it is our responsibility to notify them that I didn't want the supplies. Really nice scam.
    Here is the wording that is buried on the 2nd page of the Patient Information Form "It is the patient's responsibility to contact EMSI in order to stop the mailing of any additional supplies and/or the return of the unit if it is no longer needed." It does not mention monthly mailings or give you any idea of what the supplies are. DO NOT BUY, HAVE YOUR DOCTOR OR PT PROVIDE ANYTHING FROM EMSI. YOU WILL REGRET IT.

    0 Votes
  • Mg
    mgmmad Feb 04, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received my unit thru my physical therapist. I was told out-of-pocket expenses would only be $50 after insurance. Then I find out they are out of network and were trying to charge bc/bs $995.00 for the unit which was knocked down to $450. I can get this unit thru a chiropractor for $70.00. This is ridiculous. My friend called them and they said they would send me a bill for $50.00. I can also get the pads for a fraction of the cost thru them also. This is fraud against the insurance companies and us. Yes it helps with my pain, but give me a break. That little unit, the size of my cell phone is not worth $995.00.

    1 Votes
  • Fd
    FDW Jan 04, 2014

    I also have had a problem with this company. Was given a tens unit by my physical therapist and told no charge to me. At the time, I was injured, on pain medication, out of work on short term disability, and didn't even know anything about EMSI. Thought it was being provided by the physical therapy company. I asked the PT if she was sure there would be no charge as I was out of work at the time and could not afford any more medical bills. She told me not to worry, no charge to me but I do need you sign this form saying you received the device. I never gave permission for anyone to obtain a prescription from my doctor beforehand or for my insurance to be billed. I never received a copy of what I signed or any paperwork except the manual in the box with the unit. Some time later (maybe a couple of weeks), to my surprise, I received a call from the EMSI sales rep. My wife answered the call and then asked if there would be any charges. The rep said no, don't worry, I've verified your insurance will pay in full for the unit. This was the first time I heard of EMSI. We made the mistake of taking his word for it. Some weeks later, I received an EOB from my insurance showing there would be a co-pay. My wife called the rep back and he gave her a number to call someone at the company. She called and was told again not to worry, our insurance would be covering it even though the EOB showed a co-pay. I understood this to mean they would accept whatever our insurance was paying as payment in full and they would not be billing me the difference. Some weeks later, I received a bill. In the mean time, I had also been receiving an envelope every month with replacement pads. When I received the first envelope I opened it not realizing what it was. I did not use any of the pads and didn't open any more of the envelopes. I was first given the unit in May and did not receive a bill until August. My wife then called and spoke to the same person at EMSI and asked if I could return the unit, and requested them to stop sending the replacement pads. She said I could return the unit and supplies but we would need a bag which they would send us to return the items in. She said it would take about a week for us to receive the bag. A week passed and no bag. My wife then called the sales rep back and he promised we would be receiving a bag within another week, which we finally did. I then went to the post office to mail everything back so I could obtain proof it had been sent. About two weeks later my wife called the same person at EMSI and was told they had received the items. It was now nearing the end of September. About a week later I received another envelope from them. My wife called again and said she was sending that envelope back and was told they would send another bag to return it in. We then received another bill from them. My wife tried to call and speak to the same person again several times. She no longer answers and has been left messages but not returned the calls. My wife then called another number, got a different person and was told we should have returned the items within 60 days!!! What? How was that even possible when I didn't even know I would be charged until WELL AFTER the 60 days had passed? This was the first time we heard about the 60 days. My wife the called the sales rep again and he said that was wrong, there was no 60 day return policy. This company is most definitely unethical. I am still receiving a bill every month. My question is; why would they send us a bag to return the items in, not mention a 60 day return policy, and confirm receipt of the items, and then still expect me to pay? Also, I believe in Ga if you sign an agreement you MUST be provided a copy of that agreement at the time it is signed. I will be contacting the BBB and if that doesn't resolve the issue I will file complaints with the offices of the Attorney General in the state where I live and in Florida and the FTC. I recommend anyone else who has problems with this company's deceptive business practices do the same.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grandmabean Dec 16, 2013

    I'm thinking a class action suit would be the way to go. Have had the same issue. Billed my insurance $1566.00 for the tens that was supposed to be a couple hundred dollars. Then began sending supplies and billing our insurance over $200 a month even though we never ordered them. I contacted the Insurance commissioner in my state and my insurance company is not investigating EMSI. The doctor that provided this product is just as much to blame as EMSI. Probably getting a kick back for each one sold.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    saddisonrisk Nov 22, 2013

    I am writing today from a Self-Insured company in Maryland, and we have had the same issue with EMSI. We are the Workers' Comp carrier and have had horrible experience with them for years. What I have experienced is that the doctor's office and PT have these items on the shelf and will prescrbe them to our claimant. Then after the fact, EMSI tries to obtain authorization for their unit and claims "they are the only provider of this product and No substitutions". They bill a TENS unit at $1495.00, when I cam order the same thing for $50.00 or so, and the supplies they send on a monthly basis without our knowledge. I'm so glad I ran into this site, I knew something was not right with this company.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Steven S. Smith Nov 07, 2013

    Hello, My personal experience... I had an injury and my doctor rx'ed physical therapy. The physical therapist suggested I might want to try this EMSI gadget. Well two weeks of physical therapy resolved the problem. The gadget showed up on the door step after the fact. Called the 800 number to get return instructions. Their voice mail said leave a message and someone would return my call in 24 to 48 hours. No return call, I did not take further action. Then a BIG FAT bill arrived in the mail. Called again got the same voice mail, left a message. Set it aside again until a month later supplies showed up, then another bill. Called 3rd time. They answered my call said it had been greater than 60 days and it was my fault for accepting the product. They reduced the bill from a couple hundred to $159. I said they were committing fraud and had they returned my first two calls we would not be discussing 60 day policy. Still not resolved. So if you had success with this group, lucky you. The only thing I'm guilty of is... nothing.

    -2 Votes
  • Em
    EMSI fan Sep 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Folks,
    As far as supplies, you can stop them anytime. Also, this company works with people. Finally, the unit works. Maybe it is you

    2 Votes
  • Kr
    KronicKare Sep 13, 2013

    To the earlier poster, XtremeD69, and others whose replies have been putting-down those who complain about EMSI -- I'll relay my experience. Have been seeing a Dr., and receiving Phys. Therapy -- at PT sessions, have been using deep electrostimulation of a joint in my arm, which has been helping me a great deal in pain-relief. At the suggestion of one of the PTs, I thought to ask my doc for a
    Rx for a TENS unit, so I can continue care at home, and hopefully progress movement, etc. I had mentioned the variable costs I'd seen, as I did research on these devices, online, earlier. When I suggested the units were reasonably priced (around $50), he immediately countered w/ comment to the effect that, "Oh, no ... the devices cost in the hundreds. . ." At that point, I'm thinking, "Really? -- whose
    device?? Anyway, a couple days pass and I get a call from an EMSI sales rep. She says to me "the doctor ORDERED you a unit. . . "
    Much to my surprise! I had ONLY asked the doctor for a script - a generic script -- for a device, in the event I wanted to get something like that! I checked the EMSI website, and they offer virtually NO information - no specs - no prices - NOTHING on their units. Already I don't trust them b/c of that alone. I also have to wonder if "my doctor" has a vested interest in EMSI . . . will research some more. I sure hope EMSI isn't going to start sending me something, w/o my knowledge or verbal/written consent. I told the sales rep. I didn't want the dr. to order something for me -- that I'd only wanted a Rx for a device! Will let you know how it turns out.

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    EMSI fan Jul 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hope some of you realize that YOUR Insurance Company sets the prices.
    As for supplies, you can stop anytime. You don't have to get monthly supplies
    Finally, EMSI cannot collect from you, they are not affliated with collection agencies or credit reporting.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    catchinfraud Apr 25, 2013

    They are CROOKS... bottom LINE!!
    Zero ethics in business and give honest healthcare providers a really bad rap!!
    But thanks to this message board and the numerous customers who have taken time out of their day to make those calls to Better Business Bureau and file those complaints, EMSI has come under a lot of scrutiny with the big man.
    EMSI took Aetna (of Florida) to court several years ago for failure to pay their claims, upwards of 1, 000, 000. Looks like Aetna was the first of the insurance companies to catch on to their game.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khc Apr 23, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Our experience is that EMSI's TENS unit is good therapy [if you respond to electro-stimulation, which my wife does]. However, the company itself, EMSI, has HORRIBLE customer service, and severely OVER-CHARGES for its pads and battery packs. Also, they will send you, without notice, so-called garments [a wide belt, that holds the electrode pads], and charge you almost $500 for this. Also, the routine electrode pads & batteries are over $130 [these have a true value of about $10].
    We also have military TRICARE, but there is a co-pay unless you are currently on Active Duty; my wife, as a dependent was charged about $30 in co-pay for these periodic deliveries. I called our TRICARE administrator, but they have a very casual attitude, as $100 or so is very small potatoes to them. Even if your claim TRICARE "fraud, " they will just tell you to call the company, and TRICARE will STILL PAY EMSI's bill!
    EMSI will NEVER admit that you have returned ANYTHING to them, so you must trek to the Post Office, and ensure that packages have Tracking Numbers [our last packets from EMSI had USPS tracking numbers, and will show [on the USPS website] if the addressee "refuses delivery." ].
    I had written to EMSI, and called them on the phone. They DO NOT respond to any calls or letters. The ONLY WAY I got them to cancel our account was to involve the Florida state Consumer Protection Agency that has jurisdiction over EMSI [you can do this on-line]. Plead your case to them, and they will force an EMSI vice-president to cancel your account [you won't get your money back, but EMSI will stop sending you over-priced/unwanted things, and billing your healthcare plan, with subsequent out-of-pocket co-pays]. Our experience is that EMSI will IGNORE letters [they will claim they never got them], phone messages [they will never respond], and still charge you for returned merchandise. EMSI is an absolutely unethical company [in our experience] that is milking the health insurance community & its clients.

    0 Votes
  • Cg
    C. Gitter Feb 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After I posted my complaint in January I e-mailed EMSI, they didn't even have the decency to write me back.
    After that e-mail I even received another bill for my husband & myself!!
    I'm going to write them again but I already see it doesn't get me any anywhere!!
    So with this, they can bill me to their hearts content, they will not get another dime from me or my insurance!!

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    kdfjk Feb 06, 2013

    Well, I just called EMSI, you can find their number on google and cancelled my services, it took about 10 minutes, now all I got to do is wait and see if they keep charging my insurance. I never had any complaints about EMSI.

    0 Votes
  • En
    eniramdoog1 Jan 06, 2013

    Okay, I am not an employee of EMSI. I read blogs on all the products that I use and when it is warranted, discredit those that are worthy of it. I have been in the military for 15 years and I suffer from constant back pain. after years of PT, Sports MEd and Chiro my Doc recommended I try this new unit that they were trying on service members. I, myself, was a little reluctant for the simple reason we (the military) are always used as test dummies, but I went with it. After receiving my unit and a brief orientation on it's use, i took it home and started using it as prescribed. WOW!!! is all I can say. This thing trumps any flexoril, percocet, and every other muscle relaxer and pain pill I have ever received.

    Now, dont get me wrong. This unit is expensive but TRICARE insurance for the military families covers all of it. I have seen the invoices and I am glad I don't have to pay out of pocket. But don't judge the company for doing what every company in the world does. Market and push their product. no one complains about the dealership marking up the prices on the car parts and that thing will be gone in 4-6 years. your body will run as long as you take care of it and good medical care, most times, will be expensive. Stop complaining people, I've seen some horrible things and people who live with mangled and maimed bodies. Like painsolution stated "pick up the phone or better yet, email so you and they have written records of what has been done" Thank you.

    1 Votes
  • Cg
    C. Gitter Jan 04, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have had problems with this company. I have called them many times, either no one answers and you have to leave a message, which you may or may not get a call back on, or a rep listens but doesn't do anything to correct the problem. Then you have to try to call again & again.
    My chiropractor ordered the tens machine for me & my husband a few years ago. He advised me our insurance will cover the machine and EMSI WILL ACCEPT whatever our insurance company pays them as payment in full. Guess what, after the insurance company paid them EMSI started to bill me & my husband for additional charges. They started to send us supplies monthly which we never ordered, billed our insurance company then started billing us additional charges. I called them several times to tell them they were not suppose to charge us any additional money, just accept what my insurance paid them as I was told by my chiropractor. (He also has a business with them, by recommending them). I also told them they were not suppose to send us any supplies, I did not need or request them, nor charge us for them. It has been like talking to deaf people. They finally stopped sending me supplies after a year of numerous calls to them. I have never used the supplies, was going to return them, but as I read your remarks, evidently they would not have reimbursed my insurance company for them, nor would they advise me that they received the supplies. Glad I still have them in their original envelops.
    I will not send them a cent. If they want they can have their supplies back but they will have to close the case with no expectation of getting any money from us.
    Yes, I also feel they are a fraudulent company and am thinking about reporting them also.

    So EMSI if you're reading these complaints, my name is C.Gitter acct. no 28187, bill amount $745.90 and husbands name is A. Gitter acct. no. 26871, bill amount $532.73, you can check your records and close our accounts with your company, stating paid in full as promised with monies received from insurance company!!!

    0 Votes
  • My
    mylove4you Nov 13, 2012

    There are tons of people that have complained about how awful and crooked EMSI has been and still is. When the majority of the people are upset and feel like they have been lied and cheated, then it should make future customers really ask themselves if going through EMSI is a risk they are willing to take. My issue is as follows, EMSI created their own batteries for the TENS units making it impossible to purchase a $5 replacement battery on line. So instead of buying a $5 battery, you are now required to pay over $60 for a "packet" only through EMSI. All I need is the battery and I am certain this was done on purpose to force customers to purchase "packets". When I called the customer service department, the lady was extremely rude and not helpful, she even laughed at me. In a business, it is important to respect the customers and act professional, which was not the case.

    0 Votes
  • Xt
    XtremeD69 Jun 06, 2012

    To all of you who say your doctor ordered it and you knew nothing about it, shame on you for not being more involved in your plan of care. I have been to the doctor for various reasons and there was never anything the doctor wanted to order for me that I did not know about. I don't know how you choose your physicians but maybe throwing a dart at the yellow pages is not the best way. Take some responsiblity for yourself and do the research. Any of you ever heard of this little thing called Google. No I do not work for EMSI and I have no vested intrust in the company. I have worked in the home medical equipment field for over 20 years and it has always amazed me how thins get prescribed for patient's and no one knew about. I guess Ron White is right "you just can't fix stupid"

    1 Votes
  • Wm
    wmagg Apr 21, 2012

    AVOID this company at all cost
    Paid my bill in full over a year ago for a unit that did NOT work
    Now a Year latter they are sending me bills again for parts I never ordered.
    I am not paying this bill and am seeking legal action
    again AVOID this company at all cost

    1 Votes
  • Ks
    kseattle Dec 07, 2011

    As a relatively satisfied patient, I agree with many of the complaints here. They are a company engaged in some of the most egregious exploitation of the American health care system that I have seen. But, to address issues here one at a time:
    The devices are very helpful and, for the medical field, more or less reasonably priced.
    The agents tend to be very polite and helpful.
    The company is very, very poor at providing information on charging and seems to intentionally conceal the costs involved.
    The supplies are a horrible scam. They are, in essence, charging huge amounts of money, something like a 3000% markup for relatively mundane items. It is nearly impossible to get them to not send or charge you for these items, however often you talk with customer service, however often they acknowledge that they are, in fact, sending and charging you for more supplies than is explicitly on their forms for you. I have even had them tell me that I really shouldn't worry about it, they won't charge me for all the extra stuff, just my insurance (I am fairly certain that this is fraud on their part). Whether or not all of this is actually illegal (not much is in America if you have enough money), given the state of health care and insurance costs, it is incredibly, unbelievably immoral of them. For the supply kits alone, regardless of their questionable charging practices, they ought to be forced out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    glennbeck Oct 07, 2011

    Ummm scampoepoe, lol, did the voices in your head tell you to put a post on here?
    Also, I though the tens unit was giving to people by PRESCRIBING doctors. Ok, well you just said it was given to you be your neighbor. Which means, by medical law, you should not use in the first place. EMSI's website has all necessary information to contact them, feel free.
    Thanks for the laugh. Tell those voices in your head I said hi

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
    scampoepoe Aug 19, 2011

    These employees lurking here sure are funny! Cant please anyone you mean!!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scampoepoe Aug 19, 2011

    I was given a unit by my neighbor whose doctor ordered her one without her knowing and is experiencing the same big charges and 10 packets of pads she didnt order.In fact, its never been out of the box. Its funny, this thing says it wont charge if the charger plug is plugged into an outlet?? Should you "WISH" it charged?? I found this forum looking for instruction other than the instructions that are in the box. This company is probably in a P.O. box somewhere in Tampa!!LOL !! The website is very vague and that is suspect in itsself!! "SIXTEENTH ANNIVERSARY OF F**KIN FOLKS" !!!

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    Painsolution Jul 28, 2011

    If you have problems, please address with EMSI directly. Their phone number is [protected]. 4 years is a long time and why after so long did you not tell EMSI that you or your husband is no longer using the unit. EMSI will work with you, you just need to let them know. I can't believe all of the people on this board complaining about their issue with EMSI. Why not pick up the phone or better yet, email so you and they have written records of what has been done. It's amazing a handful of people have the time to write long complaint log, but don't have the gall to speak with someone live!! They like hiding behind the keyboard. EMSI has serviced tens and thousands of people. To have a few complainants is a very small percentage. I guess in the end, you really can't please everyone. Here are other contact information that can help those that are on this board complaining: [email protected] USE IT!!

    3 Votes
  • Sa
    samathar1469 Jun 23, 2011

    Wow. I guess I am not the only one with a BAD experience with EMSI. Their units are a piece of junk. My husband had one and only used it a couple of times. I went to use it (about 4 years after we purchased it). And the thing didn't work. I called EMSI to find out the warranty already ran out and they wouldn't do anything. And amazingly enough, they were STILL sending me electrodes. I am still being sent MONTHLY supplies after I have asked NUMEROUS times for them to NOT send them. I have already contacted the BBB and my insurance company. I will not pay their bills.

    -3 Votes
  • Th
    Thoracic Avenger May 20, 2011

    Karen... Just because your issue was not taken care of right away (insurances take time to process, sometimes up to 180 days), you go off and complain about a company that has provided great care to many patients. It's sad that you can't just settle your grievances with the company directly. EMSI has great customer service and will work with anyone with issues, billing or otherwise. Have you spoken with them regarding the payments because if you can't afford the device, EMSI will work with you one way or the other.

    4 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.