Having problems with Ectaco?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Ectaco reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Oct 15, 2008. The latest review Spam was posted on Oct 1, 2020. The latest complaint Scam was resolved on Apr 21, 2009. Ectaco has an average consumer rating of 2 stars from 8 reviews. Ectaco has resolved 2 complaints.

Ectaco Customer Service Contacts

31-21 31st Street
Long Island City, New York
United States - 11106

Ectaco Complaints & Reviews

EctacoSpam

about 6 yrs ago I bought a translator from this company. That was ok but in 2019 I wanted a replacement battery. I was only offered new products so I left it. Since then I have had a stream of sales spam from them every day and I sick of it. There unsubscribe does not activate and gmail filter does not get rid of it either no matter how many configured filters I put. The address is new+ (then a figure which keeps changing) @ectaco.com As the figure changes it means it's a different address essentially. I have emailed the Company directly with no response. A disreputable organisation.
K

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Ectaco International Inc.Ectaco Partner Lux 2

    Let’s cut to the chase. Here is a link to the New York Attorney General Office (Ectaco’s office is in New York) for anyone who is foolish enough to buy an Ectaco product.

    http://www.ag.ny.gov/complaint-forms

    Ectaco gets 1 star because 0 is not an option. This product flat out doesn’t work as advertised and the company knowingly sells products that don't work.

    I purchased the Partner Lux2 translator for Thai-English directly from Ectaco.com. It arrived promtly but I immediately noticed less than stellar craftsmanship with the product. Hardware concerns soon faded as I quickly discovered that the product CAN'T PERFORM MOST of the translation functions that the company claims.

    Photo Translator and C-Pen Scanning – Ectaco’s website claims these can translate to or from any language you purchase, but both the User Manual and subsequent emails from Ectaco state that this feature only works with European languages. TOTALLY USELESS FOR ANY NON-EUROPEAN LANGUAGE!

    Text Translation - Ectaco’s website and the User Manual claim you can type any text you want and have it translated right away to or from the language you purchase. The keyboard contains Thai characters but some language other than Thai (not sure what language it was) appears on the screen when you type. Ectaco acknowledged via email that this feature only works with European languages. TOTALLY USELESS FOR ANY NON-EUROPEAN LANGUAGE!

    Voice Translator - I can't say this feature doesn't work at all but it does a fairly poor job. I spoke to an Ectaco rep who told me that this feature simply uses Google voice translator. I PAID $300 TO USE FREE GOOGLE TRANSLATE?!?

    After receiving the product, I emailed the company and left voice mail messages every day for about 2 weeks attempting to get the defective product replaced or returned. Finally, after threatening to place complaints with the New York Attorney General Office (Ectaco is in New York) the company finally agreed to give me a full refund but they have yet to give me a method to return the product as their return policy for defective products states.

    Complaints have been placed with the state Attorney General Office in both New York and my home state and my credit card dispute is currently ongoing.

    Summary – Most of the main features don’t work at all! The ones that do work aren’t that good and are simply using services offered for FREE online. As bad as this product is the company is even worse! They basically hope you'll get tired of complaining and eventually go away. Don’t waste your money on this product unless you have extra money that you don't need. In that case just send it to me instead. I'll at least try to make you feel good about throwing your money away.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Ectaco.comScam Fraudulent Advertising

      I want to warn you about a "Bait and Switch" scam by ectaco.com. I ordered from the ectaco.com website the SpeechGuard TLX 31 language deal. My credit card was charged $799.00. After waiting over a week, I called and I was informed by the sales rep that the SpeechGuard was no longer manufactured. He talked me into taking the LUX 2 instead. I tried it and found it was garbage. I called for an RMA number and the sales rep was belligerent and insulting. He tried to bully me into keeping the order. The SpeechGuard TLX 31 deal is still on the website to entrap other buyers. Before buying from this company, check out the many complaints on the BBB website.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Ectaco Partner Lux — Fraudulent Scam Device

        ECTACO PARTNER LUX SCAM REVIEW This complaint has been filed with the United States FTC investigation...

        Ectaco InternationalDon't buy from them

        Customer service lied about return policy and would not let us return their 400 dollar electronic dictionary. i called over 20 times only to be put on hold for enless amounts of time. the worst customer service i have ever dealt with. this is a scam.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Ectaco International Inc.Scam

          Below is an account of my experience with Ectaco International. I believe this company is out to scam people. I am still waiting after two months for the "chip" to make my translator work.

          Thank you for posting my complaint on your site.

          Michael Shea

          This letter is to inform you of a company doing business Ectaco International, Inc.

          On 12-12-05 I called Ectaco International to order their model TL-2G Greek language translator. At the time I gave my credit card number I was told that I would have my unit before Christmas. This did not happen and so I called the company on 12-26-2005 and was told I would have my unit within the next few days. I received the unit on 12-28-05 only to find it to be defective and would not function properly. I again called Ectaco International and told them of the problem with the translator. They told me send back the unit and they would replace it with a unit that works. I packaged my unit and sent it back next day air at a cost of $40.00. I also explained to Ectaco that I ordered this in December as I had a trip planned to Greece on 1-12-06 and needed it by then and that they needed to send me my new unit overnight or next day air to which they agreed. After a week of waiting I called to find out that they had sent it out ground. I received it the day before I left on my trip. On the plane I discovered that the unit was also defective in exactly the same way. After use of just a few minutes it freezes up and ceases functioning. I spent three weeks in Greece carry a piece of dead weight around with me. Upon returning to the US I again called Ectaco and spoke with a Mr. Boris Krol who first acted like he hadn't heard of any problems with this particular unit. He then promised me on 2-7-06 that he would ship out a new chip for the translator and I would have it by 2-10-06. On 2-22-06, after not recieving the chip I called again and again spoke with Mr. Boris Krol. He assured my that the chip would get shipped right out and I would again have it by thursday 2-23-06. On friday 2-24-06 I called again and was told that it was shipped fedex 2nd day air. I asked for the tracking number and while he was on the phone I went online and tracked the package through the FedEx website. I found out that the tracking number was not a valid tracking number. When I told Mr. Krol that the tracking number was invalid I started getting all sorts double talk. He said that I would get the chip by Friday (2-24-06) even though he knew the tracking number was not real. He told me that he would get ahold of his shipping department and get this cleared up and call me back. He never called back. I again called today on 2-27-06 and Mr. Krol told me as soon as he heard from FedEx and got the chip back from them he would then ship it out to me. I told him that I should not have to wait until Ectaco and FedEx figure something out and that he needed to ship the "new chip" (if one really does exist) out immediately or I will file a complaint with the New York State Attorney Generals office. I also asked for the name of the president or ceo of Ectaco and was given a name of a Mr. Joel Edmunds. When I asked to speak with him or to be placed into his voicemail I was refused. I hung up and called back and asked for Mr. Edmunds and was denied a voicemail or an e-mail address. I was told I could send a fax, which I refused and again asked for Mr. Edmunds voicemail or email address and was again refused.

          At this point it is very obvious that one of two things are happening; 1) they don't have such a "new chip" and are trying to buy time or 2) they are a fraudulent company and have screwed me out of $349.99.

          I would like a reply to this email and also acknowledgement that your office will contact Ectaco International, Inc. or a form that I may fill out a formal complaint with guaranteed action of some sort from the NY Attorney's General office. I believe something as simple as a phone inquiry from your office could provide a solution. All I want is what I paid for From: Michael

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Me
              Melody 4757 May 29, 2013

              May 29, 2013...essentially the same thing happened with my purchase of Partner Lux 6 with an added language Greek that was supposed to be installed on the Lux 6. The Lux 6 came with out the Greek Language installed on it and then after charging and turning it on the screen did not function. I regress, I ordered the Lux 6 2.5 months early so i could get over the learning curve before we left Greece on May 11, 2013. I sent the Lux 6 back got a new one but again the Greek was not installed nor did I get a MSD card. So I called and called and finally was able to get the Greek SD Card in Greece. It was impossible to load. I asked for help and received
              instructions that again made it impossible to use. On May 10, 2013 I asked for a refund. On May 11, 2011 I left for Greece with out the
              translator. When i returned on May 26, 2013 I resent the letter, no response so i sent the letter again and there was response was it has been to long since the order and we will not process a refund number. Do not do business with this company. They are graded "F" by the BBB. Who can I send my complaint to. NY Attorney Generals office????? They screwed me about $600.00.
              By the there Tech help people could care less about your problems. Indifference is very hard to communicate with

              0 Votes
            • Pr
              PRLBF Feb 22, 2013

              I ordered an English to Russian Translator and it was supposed to be covered by a year warranty. When I received the item in the mail it was damaged. I returned the item to Ectaco and it was signed for on October 31, 2012. I never received any sort of response from Ectaco regarding my returned item. They made no effort to correct the damaged item and they had it in their possession since October 31, 2012. I called them and they always gave me the run around. The item was supposed to be covered by a year warranty and I never received a new item when I sent it back. When I called in February to try to handle the problem once and for all I was given the run around and told to call back multiple times. I was told to call after 10:00 because that's when the Customer Service department opened. I called after 10 and was asked to call back 20 minutes later because the Customer Service Representative was not at their desk. I called back and I was told the only person who could assist me was the person who sold me my device. I was transferred to him and he said he was in the corridor and wanted me to call back in 30 minutes. I called back. He said he had to transfer me to a supervisor. The Supervisor, Dimitri, told me that the year warranty does not cover the product. The year warranty should cover the product. They did not offer me a refund or a new item to replace the damaged one I received

              0 Votes
            • Js
              JSSmith Oct 23, 2009

              Absolutely agree--this company is nothing but a sham. I found a Latin-English translator online which proclaimed to have pronunciations--a real benefit for anyone studying Latin. I ordered it, gave it to our daughter as a birthday present and when she put in the batteries and attempted to make the translator pronounce in Latin, it did nothing! I called to return the item and the company informed me that it could not be returned after 7 days!! What a rip off--I warn you...DO NOT purchase anything from Ectaco International.

              0 Votes

            ECTACO/Deluxe ER850&Ectaco C-Pen scannerEasy to order, PAINFUL to return defectie products

            The representative of Ectaco, who spoke in Russian managed to convince a 77 YEAR OLD RETIREE, who hardly speaks English, that this “product” would help in learning and understanding English. Since the Ectaco representative never explained the return policy while talking to the elder customer (my father in law), my wife and I requested this information from a sales representative who informed us about the 7 days available for the evaluation of the product, and NEVER MENTIONED A 6.5% RESTOCKING FEE. When the merchandise was delivered, it became clear that the PRODUCTS WERE DEFECTIVE. First, all attempts to scan anything with “Ectaco C-Pen scanner” failed. Then, no one could understand the voice of the “Deluxe ER850” – it completely failed in voice synthesis in both Russian and English. Finally, instead of sending a Russian electronic book (a promised bonus), Ectaco managed to send one in Polish! On the day 6 of the “7 day evaluation period” we called Ectaco, explained that we did not want this merchandise, received an RMA number, and sent it back via UPS. Simultaneously, we started a dispute regarding the restocking fee, which was not been revealed to the customer prior to the purchase. Moreover, how could my father-in-law understand Ectaco’s policy if he was solicited in Russian, but the fine print with the policy on the invoice was written in English? FINALLY, ECTACO REFUSED (stated in the UPS tracking report) TO ACCEPT THE MERCHANDISE WITH RMA# WHITHIN CUSTOMER EVALUATION PERIOD, and sent a letter to the Credit Card Company stated that customers did not contact Ectaco for RMA number, and that the merchandise was never returned. This case, which is currently under investigation by a Credit Card Company, clearly demonstrates that customers have difficulties in returning unwanted and defective merchandise even when following Ectaco’s rules. We feel that both English and Russian speaking customers should be aware of all of Ectaco’s practices that we faced recently. Think twice before placing your orders.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              • We
                Werner Koehler Feb 21, 2016
                This comment was posted by
                a verified customer
                Verified customer

                Ectaco is a rogue Co. When I tried to obtain a RMA# my calls were blocked. After finally returning the item with RMA# 3 month later no refund. I'm presently considering legal action. Werner Koehler

                0 Votes

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Ectaco — Scam

              Be careful if you intend to buy something from this company as I got scammed with one of their product...

              IN THE NEWS

              Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
              If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
              One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
              A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
              ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
              You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
              Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.