The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Dorrance Publishing CompanyFraudulent company

S Review updated:

Dorrence found me by a manuscript that I sent in to be copyrighted. After they viewed my manuscript I was contacted by mail. They stated that they would like to publish my book. I was very excited immediately I sign on the dotted line. And sent in 500.00 dollars to get my book started.

They put me on a payment plan.They sent me the style of my book and the way it was going to look, and the needed my signature for my approval. And I signed it. Immediately after my first deposit I become unemployed and could not continue to make te payments I tried to contact some body in the finance department and let them know my situation. but every time I called I was giving to their voice mail.

I left several messages but never got a called back a few months later I received a letter stating that I owed a total of 7, ooo dollars. And that they were going to put my book on hold until a payment was made I felt that I was treated very unfairly considering that this is my first book that I dedicated to the devastating time of my life and I really wanted it to be heard it is about a women who fought long and hard for her children in the judicial system.

Responses

  • Sh
    sharknadoalert Aug 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A legitimate publisher would not ask you for any money. period.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sharknadoalert Aug 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Anything that asks you to pay $$$$ up front is a SCAM period. You should sue them to recoup the $7, 000 you paid them and more for damages and libel.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Jul 15, 2020

    Saga continues:

    Michael Knapp
    To:
    irene rodriguez

    Wed, Jul 15 at 8:35 AM

    Dear Ms. Rodriguez,

    If you wish to request early termination of the agreement, a letter to that effect can be sent to the following address:

    Dorrance Publishing
    Attn: Accounting
    585 Alpha Dr, Ste 103
    Pittsburgh PA 15238

    Based on the information mentioned in your email below, I would also like to point out a few details. Please know that termination of the contract would mean that Dorrance is totally out of the picture, not selling or distributing the book in any way, including fulfilling orders to you. Also, it would be possible for you to simply take over the Amazon account. Dorrance would stop fulfilling orders to Amazon, but we cannot do anything to set up an account for you. You would need to make your own arrangements for selling through Amazon and set up your own seller's account. If you are producing the book elsewhere, you would need a new ISBN.

    Michael Knapp

    ---------- Forwarded message ---------
    From: irene rodriguez
    Date: Wed, Jul 15, 2020 at 11:08 AM
    Subject: Re: Did you guys sell off my book to someone?
    To: Michael Knapp

    I would like to take over my Amazon Account and relinquish you guys. IT'S FREE TO EVERYONE and the royalties would not have to be shared with you guys.

    Especially knowing that is the ONLY VENUE OF SELLING AUTHOR'S BOOK ASIDE FROM YOUR WEBSITE.

    iRENE

    (DID YOU ALL GET THAT ..."You would need to make your own arrangements for selling through Amazon and set up your own seller's account. If you are producing the book elsewhere, you would need a new ISBN."

    This is an IMPORTANT POINT, SO IN THE EVENT WHEN MY CONTRACT HAS MET IT'S OBLIGATION, would they when I go with Amazon on my own - would I need to get a NEW ISBN and get this I would not be PROVIDED WITH MY BOOKS?

    Gee wouldn't it be nice if they would DISCLOSE THIS PRIOR TO ENTERING INTO CONTRACT WITH THEM.

    My advise - PUBLISH YOUR OWN BOOK TO AVOID THIS WHAT SEEMS TO BE OFF THE CUFF BAD BUSINESS LIAISON.

    To date Michael Knapp have PROVIDED ME A HISTORICAL SALES REPORT FROM AMAZON. I did not get one in Jan. 2019 (I don't care if it shows ZERO) - I am ENTITLE TO HAVE THIS REPORT. Michael interjected that they are only obligated to give it to me in Jan and JUly. I did not receive one in Jan 2019, and would conjecture that I would not see one in July 2020.

    I SUSPECT FUNNY BUSINESS.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Jul 10, 2020

    To date, today is July 10, 2020.

    I have been told that my book has not may any sales. However, when asked for a report of book sales from Amazon - my request has been IGNORED.

    Had I known, I could have uploaded my BOOK ON AMAZON MYSelf, and reap the 75 percent royalties with NO SPLITS WITH DORRANCE. Would like to see the historical SALES REPORT.

    Irene

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James DeCarli Jul 07, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dorrance Publishing accepted my manuscript, then at their first call they sent me a contract to pay $5, 000. upfront. I said goodbye, blocked them and added their emails to my SPAM folder. Run from them.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California May 28, 2020

    Well, like all the authors with dorrance publish - looser's club who made not one sale.

    Cut my losses - requested a refund on the recent payment to place a la ad classified ad.

    We shall see, if I can get to join the other looser's club - fck you - you don't see your refund.

    Anticipated this with everything said about dorrance publishing.

    Going to plan b immediately, cease writing my second book.

    Seems though no matter what publisher you use, you'll promised to be scammed, so the moral of this story "don't ever be an author"

    Importantly: warn others

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Jan 16, 2020

    Michael Knapp sent the above email on November 26, 2019 at 5:23 AM

    As I stated, NEVER TRANSPIRED.

    Irene

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Jan 16, 2020

    This NEVER TRANSPIRED TO DATE (Today is Jan. 15, 2020)

    ..."Dear Ms. Rodriguez,

    Our website designer is currently preparing the necessary files to be uploaded to Amazon.com and the other online listings. You should expect to see those listings in the near future, most likely within the next 1-3 weeks.

    Anyone who wishes to place an order in the meantime can order by contacting our Book Orders department at [email protected] or toll-free at [protected]. However, once the online information is available, interested parties would also be able to order through those outlets.

    We’re currently working on the various aspects of the promotion as outlined in the contract, but no promotional materials have yet been finalized or distributed. As soon as the book industry and media promotion has been finalized, we will send detailed reports showing you exactly what is being done in hopes of generating interest in the book. We’re also working on postcards for the book. Please keep in mind that this is an involved and time-consuming process taking place over the course of several weeks.

    Michael Knapp" ...

    (I imagine they are WAITING FOR RESPECTIVE FUNDS, AND HAVE DECIDED FOR ME WHAT TO DO FIRST. I won't be going with their suggestions, because it could be a WASTE OF MY FUNDS, if my book IS NOT WELL RECEIVED BY THE CRITICS.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Jan 16, 2020

    lol ----> check your spelling - GUILTY - LYME Disease (BIO-WARFARE) GOAL IS TO WIPE OUT YOUR MEMORIES AND YOUR DEMISE.

    Well, I went to Borders, as I wanted to see how NEW BOOKS (NEW AUTHORS) are previewed. Hard Backs are placed on a shelve directly where audience can SEE THEM, as they FIRST enter the store.

    While paperback books, are placed on a table adjacent to the check out line, which quite frankly are not seen as well as the HARDBACK BOOKS.

    No where in the store did I see being used the "Silent Salesman". I decided to forgo this option. I also decided to forgo the "Promotional Products".

    I thought to try another venue, and to my DISAPPOINTMENT appears to be one of those schemes to get you to BUY BUY BUY USELESS PRODUCTS. Same venue taken when I pursued Real Estate with the Dotson Group.

    I want to SEE THE COLD HARD FACTS REGARDING MY BOOK. I decided to go with the following:

    Clarion ForeWord Reviews – $995
    Clarion ForeWord Reviews magazine is an invaluable resource for bookstores and libraries. It was established to bring increased attention to the literary achievements of independent publishers and their authors. Each issue features dozens of reviews on forthcoming titles, feature articles that preview category trends, and peer editorial and opinion pieces.

    You’ll receive a professional review and critique, written with the quality readers expect from ForeWord Reviews. You’ll have the opportunity to read your completed review and decide if you’d like to have it posted and archived in top title information databases:

    Bowkers
    Baker & Taylor
    Ingram
    Google Books
    ForeWord Reviews Website

    It is my opinion, why go any further should I get BAD REVIEWS. Cut my losses and find another mechanism to raise my needed funds.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Dec 23, 2019

    Dorrance Publishing, I suppose met their contractual agreement where PRODUCING ONE BOOK. Though in the beginning, Shaina, I believe showed total disgust for having to work on my book. Is it TOTAL DISBELIEF that the United States could devise such EVIL upon the population? I don't know.

    It's my memoirs. Events encountered and all of it's TRAVESTIES impose, and the injuries continues to this date.

    For example, I was aghast that I would be DENIED MEDICAL CARE, AS SOMEONE HAS ME FLAGGED AS DO NOT SEE. THEY WANT TO PAINT THE PICTURE THAT I FABRICATE MY INJURIES IMPOSED BY A MURDER ATTEMPT ON MY LIFE.

    I have gone abroad to seek medical attention, and I was amaze to the extent of fabrication by all concern, that is, doctors, attornies and so on.

    Well, the long and the short, I did not appreciate the treatment received by Shaina. All the MISDIRECTION/REDIRECTION to be non-productive with my book. It negates all that is promised by Dorrance Publishing.

    I am now in the MARKETING stage of my book. Noted the cost could be upwards of $30, 000 or more. Why not disclosed this at the beginning of the contractual agreement?

    Sure, not every book is going to be successful in gaining market shares. But not every author is interested in that, really?

    I am glad though to see that I do not have to use their services for this stage. I am opting to try another service to market my book, as the angst of having to endure their DISTASTE OF THEIR STAFF TO work on my project.

    Though I am considering their WEB SITE and other affordable service.

    I am not interested in the Social Media as I don't see that as a positive marketing tool. Be careful with the book announcement criteria - they blurp Barnes and Noble and this can be misleading. If you read carefully, THOSE INTERESTED IN YOUR BOOK may ORDER your book from Barnes and Noble. Moreover, if you use their SILENT SALESMAN, you have to PURCHASE AT MINIMUM 50 BOOKS. This would be for me one thousand dollars added to their fee of $595.00 So, this would be quite a large sum should you use this for a handful of brick and mortar book stores.

    I know that I am coming into this on DISABILITY and it's pittance (far cry from what I should be worth had not this MURDER ATTEMPT had not incurred. Would be nice to have had the HEADS UP regarding the MARKETING COST.

    Dorrance a SCAMMER.

    Hmmmm interesting supposition - if they publish one book to your specification, then no.
    But in my case, they initiated in the beginning to annihilate my entire book. But in it's conclusion, the BOOK is something to be PROUD OF.

    Whether the profits are there, I AM HOPING SO. This is my next project - MARKETING at minimal cost (what I can afford) in it's beginnings.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Dec 19, 2019

    Ok this is how Dorrance scams work.

    Whoppers they reel you in, by it's AFFORDABILITY - 500 BUCKS.

    Throughout my contract, they have these snippit slurries ... "DORRANCE is prevented by DELAYS BY THIRD PARTY DELAY (THEY USED THE SCHEDULING DELAY FROM THE PRINTERS), ACTS OF GOD, FAILURE ON THE PART OF THE AUTHOR TO MEET ALL REQUESTED REVIEWED DUE DATES AS IN SECTION V"...

    Well, note above where they attempted to use not ever receiving the requested API, completed and sent to them Oct. 2017. Winter of 2018 the attempt to use this over and over as to the reason why my book has not been sent to the printers.

    Earlier on, like first requests FOR CORRECTIONS - the EDITOR ANNIHILATED MY ENTIRE BOOK (guess their hoping, I did not have a copy).

    As recent as last Thursday, Ashley had the AUDACITY to accuse me of not meeting with her, when in FACT, OUR APPOINTMENT WAS FOR TODAY 12/19/2019 AT 9:00 AM.

    What Book Promotion Services Phone Appointment (Ashley Austgen)
    When Thursday, December 19, 2019 9:00am PST (30 minutes)
    This is a reminder your appointment for Book Promotion Services Phone Appointment is on Thursday, December 19, 2019 9:00am PST

    Well, if you READ THE CONTRACT it is NOT CLEARED HOW THE 1K FOR MARKETING MY BOOK IS ADDRESSED - THEY STATE THEY PAY FOR A ENTIRE SLEW OF THINGS, BUT THEY EMAIL YOU A LINK TO THE COST FOR PROMOTING YOUR BOOK. THEY CAN BE COSTLY.

    http://dorrancebookpromotion.com/

    Our Exclusive Silent SalesmanTM – $495
    This one-of-a-kind display features you, the author! We take your image and attached it to a reusable, freestanding display that holds up to 50 books and features your book’s cover. The uses of this unique item are limited only by your imagination! (Books not included)

    (50 BOOKS NOT INCLUSIVE - COST TO ME WOULD BE 50 X 20.00 PER BOOK)

    1, 000 PLUS 495

    Wonder why this was not disclosed from inception. I can understand why the majority did not have your book marketed - THEY INTENDED TO SCAM authors such as ourselves.

    I did check out their Amazon Book site. Quite frankly, GRANDIOSE DISAPPOINTMENT - MOSTLY NO SALES.

    Barnes and Noble - well, if folks KNOW ABOUT YOUR BOOK, they can ORDER IT FROM THEM.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Dec 06, 2019

    Well, the saga continues.

    Definitely, Dorrance Publishing ensues tactics to milk you for more monies.

    Well, I was congratulated for my book being published. Then another email, delineating costs to market my book. Well, what happen to the first one thousand dollars? Moreover, what happen to my other twenty or so copies that I was suppose to receive, and have not?

    I paid them in full in September. So, why are they NOT MARKETING MY BOOK? It was stated it would be uploaded to Amazon this week, and this action item did not happen. Thus, my first check January 31 shall not happen.

    So, does this mean that I join the club of not ever seeing our book marketed?

    This does NOT MEET OUR AGREEMENT, that is, the authors and Dorrance who are not honoring the said contract entered into.

    Knowing the process of publishing, I shall publish my second book and avoid all Vanity Publishers.

    Write your book.

    Retain a PROFESSIONAL EDITOR who work under contract to review my book.

    Retain an Illustrator for ART.

    Push book to a PRINTING HOUSE.

    Upload to Amazon.com

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Nov 06, 2019

    From this site and other sites filing their concerns about Dorrance Publishing, I'll have contact the FBI Fraud Investigation.

    We have sufficient number of complaints to make this happen. Well, I'll look into it.

    Before I seek an attorney, I'll put this off through the end of November. But I contact the FBI, next week.

    Irene

    0 Votes
  • St
    Sticks California Nov 05, 2019

    Hi ..I too have experience what most here have posted.

    First, Shaina Ott keeps using that I have yet to turn in the BLURP, to which would be on the back of the book. Well, I emailed it to her numerous time, and to Mary Feraganno. So, I took the time to find the email to Mary, and voila - it was emailed to her Oct 2017. It is now 2019.

    Shanina also made a remark that have since BOTHERED ME TO NO END. She stated that I DID NOT OWN MY BOOK - DORRANCE PUBLISHING DID.

    When my book was FRIST EDITED, the EDITOR annihilated my book - it was unrecognizable.

    I have to discern that I have to agree with the assessment that they are NOT ON THE UP AND UP. I was give on more than one occasions that I DID NOT MAKE MY PAYMENTS, and this would STOP all PRODUCTION ON MY BOOK. I stated, you received a check and a MONEY ORDER (THIS MEETS MY REQUIRED MONTHLY PAYMENT, WHILE THE CHECK WAS AN EXTRA PAYMENT.) See below for common e-mails address NON-PAYMENT ISSUES:

    Hi Irene,

    Has this check cleared your bank yet? I am not showing it received. Please let me know so I can look into this further.

    Sincerely,

    Vickie Kowalecki
    Account Receivables
    *DORRANCE PUBLISHING CO., INC.*

    [email protected]
    [protected] Ext. 27154

    On Thu, Jul 11, 2019 at 1:35 PM irene rodriguez wrote:
    Inclusive is a check from my mother for $700.00 (Concepcion Mendiola). Please credit me for this as well.

    She is going to help me pay this off.

    Thanks.

    Irene

    Dear Rodriguez, Irene,

    Thank you for your payment on your Dorrance Publishing Services Contract.
    Payment Received
    $800.00
    Invoice NoINV-001755, INV-001756, INV-001757, INV-001758

    Payment Date07/10/19

    Note: The $700.00 PAYMENT WAS COMPLETELY IGNORED.

    Delays I believe are purposeful, and believe that Shaina Ott deliberately DOES NOT WANT MY BOOK PUBLISHED as she is finding DELAYS AFTER DELAYS. Another example, when my BOOK IS GOING TO BE PUBLISHED - SHE LEFT IT OPEN ENDED. Then adds it's BEING REVIEWED, THIS IS ABSURB - I have gong through the FINAL REVIEWS, AND I HAVE SIGNED OFF ON IT.

    After reading everything here, I have to say, I AM CONCERN that I made be dealing with a bunch of scammers

    Irene Rodriguez

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    barboo Dec 17, 2018

    I see the words scam and complaints. But has Dorrance Publishing/RoseDog Books been sued for FRAUD? The publishing house could use some good public relations! But, perhaps the time has come for a possible class action law suit for FRAUD.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCathey Nov 09, 2018

    Dorrance Publishing has screwed me over as well, I have paid them 4000.00 total to publish my book Lucas Whitney and the Inauspicious Deaths and so far I have not sen them do any real marketing like my contract says. Also, my contract says in writing with them that i will receive 100% of all royalties Now it has not been quite six months so they haven't paid me yet, but from all the things in which I have heard just on this site alone I do believe that hey are a scam. An d a true Publisher they like an author's work will pay that Author to do their book for them for a percentage of the royalties earned and the real publisher will pay for the marketing, printing and put the book in both stores such as Wal-mart and online outlets like Amazon as well. "Also, the Author has the publishi9ng rights not the publisher the hard part about all this is finding a true publisher to do it. I have already wrote two books and have self published them myself on Amazon in Paperback. I never even heard of a vanity publishing before in my life and after Dorrance g3etting a hold of me wanting to pay 4000.00 to publish my book Lucas Whitney and the Inconspicuous Deaths in Hardback copy and charging 30.00 for whomever buys it online it made me think after it was all over with and signed by contract of me receiving 100% of the royalties, then here yesterday they send me about 100 postcards for my own personal use to send out in the mail. All i know for sure is I feel that they are scamming me around and i don't like it if i have too I will hire a layer and sue them. I will never use them again or any other publishing service if i find out that they are a vanity publishing service for vanity publishers are scammers. I now am typing up the first book of a six book series called "Our Unsung Heroes" Volume One. Yours, Truly, Chad Cathey (Author).

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julienoelcubbagedevlin Aug 27, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I can't believe I have been scammed $4, 000 from a vanity press publisher. Everyone told me That you were a fraud. How can you get away with this for so long. First of all, I wrote a damn good book compared to many others. Over forty people told me they got the book, but I never got any money. I graduated with Honors, published thousands of stories and got paid. I worked for a newspaper and have dabbled into publishing in college. When I said to( rude) Melinda Where is my money. I have not sold any. Your full of it lady. And your tracking excuses are as lame as the company. Melinda. Mr. Knapp. he has no balls for he won't call me back. I have spoken with the BBB it is not over yet. I have told everyone I know and people I don't know that your a fraud and I am thinking of suing you. I have a donor set so I can get help, monetary wise. I am going to raise so much Hell as well in ways you would never think of. Karma!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Terrence Grossman Jun 20, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading the heartbreaking comments from so many authors, my advice to you is - write and polish the story for yourself and your own enjoyment!!! The list of scam publishing and literary agents is endless. The LGBT companies are even worse from my experience as a member of the LGBT community. After bringing home from the local library thousands of books which I classified as c-, I decided to write my own book which was pure joy writing about the things I love - animals, food, being in a happy and committed relationship ( no threesomes or four some thank you), young & old romance, the handicapped in romance, stuttering remedy, the homeless and women of domestic violence - stories intertwined with humor and laughter and compassion. Your copyright is good for 75 years, so do some good for the world and will the copyrights to your favorite charity who may decide to self publish it and use it to raise money. Money makes the world go around - not great literature or being a great writer. Good Luck & Live a Happy Life!!! Michael Terrence Grossman

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    Hussein Ally Sultani May 23, 2017

    Hussen Ally Sultani

    P.O.Box 24172

    Dar es Salaam

    Tanzania

    RE:SENDING ME THE LEGAL AID CERTIFICATE

    Thank for your interest writing to me.

    I am writing in connection with a letter dated Mon, May 15, 2017 that I sent you concerning activities and how you may assist me solve a problem that is bothering me.

    You wrote to me back Mon, May 15, 2017 that someone would have responded to me in Thank you for your email.

    We answer questions on the work, history and membership of the House of Commons and are unable to forward on correspondence.

    You may like to contact the Foreign and Commonwealth Office who may be able to advise. I have provided contact details below:

    I humbly request you and your team to look my documents and advise me according .

    I humbly remain yours,

    …………………….

    Hussein Ally Sultani

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Pearson Dec 06, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dorrance/Red Dog has just published my memoir, So far, my relations with them have been satisfactory. The
    printing is fine. I am doing my own promotion, so I cannot judge their abilities to promote the author's books.
    Next step is to see how the ordering process goes, for those who order by email or phone. Then, according to
    the contract, they will "square up" with me twice a year -- i.e. pay whatever royalties I have accrued.
    We'll see how that goes in six months.
    David Pearson
    Author of JFK and BOBBY, ARNIE and JACK...and David!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kamisha Ramsey Sep 29, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    September 29, 2015
    I recently receive a letter from Dorance Publishing telling me they would like to publish my book Life in the fast lane I am a first time author and I worked hard on this book I put my blood sweat and tears into my book. I am so scared they will end up being full of it. I have read a lot of the complaints that a lot of you made and now I regretting sending them a copy of my book. I have kept all emails that we sent each other I have not signed anything as of yet I am waiting on a proposal they are going to send me. I worked too hard for this I am just wondering if I made the right decision by sending them a copy of my book. I don’t want my book getting into the wrong hands and someone trying to steal it I worked too hard for this. I guess my question is have they ever stolen anyone works?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chitra Adjoodah Jun 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been courted by Dorance Publishing and Authors House. Luckily I did not fall in their trap. The asked for money upfront and I did not have that kind of money.
    I also thought I worked hard for my books, they should pay me for taking my work.
    Chitra Adjoodah

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stupid me! May 11, 2015

    They keep all earnings if you switch banks and don't notify them within 45 days. I wonder if they are affiliated with any "companies" selling my "book" on Amazon.com at 300% mark up.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steven Hutson Apr 21, 2015

    Not sure I understand this complaint. It says she's the one that breached the deal.

    -1 Votes
  • St
    Steven Hutson Apr 21, 2015

    It appears, from Susan's own complaint, that she breached the deal first. Am I missing something?

    0 Votes
  • Eg
    Eggshella Mar 08, 2015

    Before you sign up with a scam artist, google the name of the so-called publishing company with the words "scam" or "complaints" and see if anything comes up!

    0 Votes
  • Af
    afin7 Mar 05, 2014

    its a big scam i sent my full mauscript in and they said they had never recieved my story and i have my files saved all on my computer can i sue these ### everytime i call they say they never received it im going to call a lawyer for copyright infringement some man i talked to from the company told me no need to be copywritten we would send it back to you then afta they stole it they sent a letter sayign didnt receive it was erotic fiction and the people on here saying its not a scan i bet u work for dorrance

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jan 04, 2014

    This is not real publishing in any way shape or form why do you people not realize this? Real publishers never ask writers for a dime. They PAY them but your book has to be good enough.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jan 04, 2014

    Listen you bunnies real authors don't pay anything they get paid so stop being dumob.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jan 04, 2014

    Listen you dumb bunnies real authors don't pay anything they get paid so stop being dumb.

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jan 04, 2014

    Listen

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leonard McMillian Sep 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Before with Dorrance Publishing you publish a book,
    Please!!! have an attorney take a good look.
    Like the virus protection tells you WHOA!!!
    This is not a place you should go.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    User4987234 Aug 05, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Michael Knapp 4/8/2013
    Author Services Representative
    Thanks for your email dated Friday, August 2/2013 regarding the Rose Dog Team.
    Refer to my letter dated 03.08.2013 I say sorry to you while acknowledging the hard work that you have in your hands and head of you in helping build peace stability and prosperity to Authors in different nations.
    This is in respect to your you have only once you receive payment on the sales invoice would that sale be eligible for earnings to the author earlier
    Promise me to change the lives of the people for the better during your tenure.
    After all this I would like to know when I will receive my earnings. ? I would like to know when you will receive payment on the sales invoice.? Would like to know my charge I will be paid according to my contract or payment on the sales invoice?
    Beg clarification on only once you Receive payment on the sales invoice ? Please let me know soon.
    I humbly request you to look at my attached documents and advise me accordingly to my contract.
    Thanks and hoping to hear from you soon.
    Yours Sincerely.


    HUSSEIN ALLY SULTANI


    Sun, Aug 4, 2013 at 9:24 AM
    Sun, 9:24 AM
    Message starred
    Fw: RE; only once we receive payment on the sales invoice [Ticket: [protected]]
    Hide Details
    From
    • hussein ally

    To
    [email protected]

    ----- Forwarded Message -----
    From: LinkedIn Customer Support <[email protected]>
    To: [email protected]
    Sent: Saturday, August 3, 2013 10:06 AM
    Subject: RE; only once we receive payment on the sales invoice [Ticket: [protected]]

    [---001:002519:63418---]
    LinkedIn Customer Support Message


    Subject: RE; only once we receive payment on the sales invoice


    Thanks for contacting us. Someone from our support team will get back to you as soon as possible.

    If you can sign in to your LinkedIn account, you can check the status of your submitted tickets any time in the Support History section of our Help Center.

    Regards,

    Your LinkedIn Customer Experience Team


    *** This message is automatically generated by our system to show we've received your ticket request. ***


    Original Contact:

    Member Comment: SPAM SPAM 08/03/2013 02:06

    Dear Michael Knapp 3 /8/2013
    Author Services Representative


    Thank you for taking the time to submit your comment to me dated Friday, August 2 2013, regarding the Rose Dog Team.
    You wrote to me back on the Friday, August 2, 2013 that some one would have responded to me in Although orders may have been placed prior to the end of the earnings period, only once we receive payment on the sales invoice would that sale be eligible for earnings to the author.
    Until you have only once you Receive payment on the sales invoice.
    Please late me know till when will I get and how many days it takes is here and that only once you Receive payment on the sales invoice.
    Please late me know if there is any problem about in only once you Receive payment on the sales invoice.
    In your letter mentioning is when will I receive my earnings?
    Please forward to me information of my earnings.
    a body that will allow me to send my earnings definition notify me.
    L humbly request you to look at my attached documents and advise me accordingly to my contract.
    Thanks and hoping to hear from you soon.
    Yours Sincerely.


    HUSSEIN ALLY SULTANI


    ----- Forwarded Message -----
    From: Michael Knapp <[link removed]>
    To: hussein ally <[link removed]>
    Sent: Friday, August 2, 2013 2:40 PM
    Subject: RE: only once we receive payment on the sales invoice

    Dear Mr. Sultani,

    There is no question included as part of this email, so I'm not sure what action you might be expecting. If you have a question, please let me know what that question might be, and I can respond.

    Sincerely,
    Michael Knapp
    Author Services Representative

    Read our blog at [link removed]
    Like us at [link removed]
    Follow us at [link removed]
    Link to us at [link removed]

    In our efforts to provide clear and concise communication to our authors, we ask that you consolidate your questions or concerns into as few emails as possible. Please be assured that we will respond to your email in a timely manner, and duplicate emails are not necessary.


    ? Would you like to learn more about how to harness the knowledge and expertise of your LinkedIn network?
    Search for answers to common questions on the LinkedIn Help Center.
    Visit our LinkedIn Company Page and our Facebook Page.
    Check out our New Features Blog and follow us on Twitter®.


    LinkedIn values your privacy. At no time has LinkedIn made your email address available to any other LinkedIn user without your permission.
    LinkedIn Corporation © 2013 | Privacy Policy | User Agreement | Copyright Policy

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John A. Thompson, Jr Jul 18, 2013

    I have also submitted material to Dorrance for consideration for publishing. To date, many telephone messages plus written letters, all to no avail, have been made to Dorrance. They have sent nothing to me in the form of a written contract to publish, no apoligies for delay, absolutely no contact of any kind. This is all very dissapointing. I would think a reputable publisher would at least have some courtesy. Thank s for nothing, Dorrance. John A. Thompson, Jr.

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jun 29, 2013

    Please be warned the person on here pretending to be happy with Xlibris is an Xlibris employer trying to draw some of you into another scam. If your book is any good a REAL publisher will want it even if it is digital only at least youw ill never pay one penny and will get sent money even if it isn't a lot. instead of stolen from by thieves and you should always type the name of your publisher plus scam into google Xlibris Scam!

    1 Votes
  • Cc
    CCnothappy Jun 29, 2013

    You people need to realize that publishing is a job and that real authors never ever pay one penny they get paid. Paying for vanity publishing makes you a fool no matter which vanity scammer you go with. They are ALL scams. They flatter you to steal from you. You make a joke of yourself.

    3 Votes
  • Yo
    YourWorst Aug 28, 2012

    RoseDog Books (Dorrance Publishing) is playing a tiresome royalties-statement-got-lost-in-the-mail game with me and won't return my calls. Since my profit is a trivial $1.50 per book, I can only conclude that they are covering up profits to evade taxes. My book has almost 20, 000 likes on Facebook now, and I see they only have 2, 000, so this game of theirs will not last. I would be personally honored if my book itself, a study in personal and progressive devastation, became their utter demise. I'm very concerned that no one else is posting about this problem, but I guess with a statement due only every 6 months, the publishers get more comfortable with neglecting to mail one, then they're clear for a whole year! This is not the first time they've done this to me! It's a classic scam of sleazy vanity publishers that are put out of business, like Bookman Publishing, and I don't give a ### if they've been around since 1920...their days are numbered!!!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Laqaixit Tewee May 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was recently courted by Dorrance Publishing. I decided to look into their Publishing Co., and was glad I did before submitting any manuscript to them. Up until now I have submitted children's colored illustrated books through Xlibris and find them pretty reasonable for returning authors. www.magicalswanbooks.com Laqaixit Tewee

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Warrior Mar 30, 2012

    NOT A SCAM. Since posting my comment regarding the poor service quality of Dorrance, in particular the lack of any correspondence, progress reports or information other than notices when my (never invoiced) payment was overdue, I have been contacted by a Dorrance employee responsible for shipping 24 free copies of my book to me without any prior notice. The books were shipped to my old office address. Had I been informed that Dorrance was ready to ship the books I would have given my new address. (See my posting above).
    But, to the credit of Dorrance the lady concerned took quick action and was able to retrieve my package from the US mail service and re ship to the correct address. So I do not think there is a scam going on here. This one employee took the initiative, (thanks Katie), and responded professionally to my email. The problem I see is very poor management, poor systems for dealing with clients beyond "have a nice day" and far too much emphasis on getting their money with the minimum of time spent (wasted?) making their clients feel valued. Basically an author pays them to prepare a manuscript and print the book for a fairly hefty fee. But it is not a scam. Just lousy management and corporate attitude. I suggest the managers should talk to Katie and take some notes!

    -2 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Devlin Aug 14, 2018

    @David Warrior They are very rude. To do this to authors is a disgrace. Your publishing company should be put out of business.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David Warrior Mar 29, 2012

    I don't know if Dorrance is a scam but I have a book in process that I first submitted almost 18 months ago. The process has been very slow, with no correspondence or reporting on progress except an email to tell me my 2nd (and many months later 3rd) payment was overdue and work would stop on my book. The idea that they may send an invoice or some kind of reminder BEFORE the payment is due seems to be beyond their managerial skills. I just received an email out of the blue, informing me that they have sent 24 free copies of my book to my office. Unfortunately my office moved to a new building a year ago. Had they informed me that this shipment was ready to be sent I would have given them my new address. It is very possible these 24 books will be lost. So I would not say this is a scam exactly, but I get the impression it is run with minimum staff and minimum understanding of what 'service' means. If I treated my clients in this way my company would be bankrupt within 3 months. I shall not be a returning customer that's for sure.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.