Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Dollywood

Dollywood review: terrible employers 10

J
Author of the review
2:30 pm EDT
Review updated:
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

The company may seem great to visit if you go there every once a year. Sad fact is if you work there you learn the true side of those running the show. The business always is sided by the police when it investigates employees after a complaint by a supervisor. The employees have no rights and are threatened to take a polygraph or be fired. Seems like employers get away with anything nowadays. That is pitiful.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

10 comments
Add a comment
M
M
Madeline Hart
, US
Jun 03, 2023 8:31 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The ladies at wildwood Grove charged me for a wristband when I wanted to upgrade my current day cup to a season cup. She then told me it would be 16 dollars after charging me 7. She then blamed it all on me and wouldn't offer me a refund or exchange. Very disappointed. My order # was 2175. It occurred on May 25 2023 at 11:55 am.

M
M
Marvin McCoy
, US
Dec 03, 2022 4:23 am EST

I was completely dissatisfied at how the wait time for a ride almost doubled because of the fast pass line going ahead of people. Dollywood teaches kids that money will get you ahead in life. How sad for all people.

G
G
Gary E. Johnson
Powell, US
Nov 13, 2022 5:38 pm EST

I am a Gold Pass Ticket Holder...On Line purchased one day parking Preferred Parking Pass. Your info says being Gold Pass Holder receive $5.00 off purchase price on Preferred Parking.

Not an option when I purchased ticket.

11-07-2022

Gold Pass # 3420647

S
S
Snuzin
Watagua, US
Oct 20, 2020 9:21 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

The staff has always been pleasant and very courteous until yesterday, as we were preparing to leave the motorcycle lock tumblers had become unlined and was in need of noting more than a screwdriver longer than was included in the tool kit as to unlock . After several inquiries with security staff as to whom to contact approached Staff at main exit, her name was Sandra, short brunette and pleasantly plump informed me “ your mask isn’t on properly, ” “staff won’t lend any tools” etc very rude! She seemed very mad that I managed to find tools from vendor that we befriended. It was very trying to keep from making a scene! Very doubtful about buying 2021 season passes. What has happened to the courteous staff? Don’t they realize without the public, there employment would not be needed. I know working with the public is not an easy job, but if you don’t enjoy your job it’s time to move on

D
D
Donna2114
, US
Oct 27, 2019 3:15 am EDT

Got very sick at stomach a couple of hours after eating at Aunt Granny's Kitchen on 10-17-19. Been going to Dollywood for many years and this is a first. Just wanted to make them aware of this issue!

J
J
Jill Elliott
, US
Nov 05, 2018 4:36 pm EST

We enjoyed the delicious food on the buffet but I was cold and wanted hot tea with my meal. The waiter informed me that hot tea had been discontinued. Yet they had coffee. I do not drink coffee. Why in the world would hot tea have been discontinued?

M
M
Mizcrowe
, US
Oct 11, 2018 8:50 pm EDT

My son brought so many customers to the boring games area . He made so many people smile. The leads led him to believe he was moving up. And for three years he did everything ask of him only to find out he had been lied too. For 3 years at over 1, 000 hrs per season he was still not listed as seasonal full time. He was constantly accused of doing wrong things that he wasn't but then they would give him awards for service... Even made a commercial with him in it! Yet everytime he would talk about becoming full time or transfering they would find a reason to write him up. Today he was fired for giving away a prize though it is done every single day in that Dept just not admitted! He did offer to pay for the prize but that was over looked. Dawn Manning in hr always had an issue and attitude when he would try to go to her with how he was being treated. One day he had to go to hr for something and Dawn saw him and said it's wired seeing you here without a complaint. How professional is that. My son fired for doing nothing any different then a lead or coworker. Over the years we have seen people reported for sexual harassment keep their jobs! Steel money keep their jobs, play on cell phones and sit in games which the leads allow keep their job, don't call in when scheduled to work keep their job, take one hour smoke breaks keep their jobs! Last year my other son had to miss because he had a seizure. He has epilepsy. It's nited with HR and safety. He can't talk after having a siezure. But when I called in for him I was informed that if he wasn't at work action could be taken! And very early did he ever call out! Twice that entire year I think. Needless to say he did not return until he was able too ! But ipon returning two coworkers made fun of him for having epilepsy. One of those workers threatened him by telling him they would kill him. It was taken to Dawn Manning and absolutely nothing was done to this boy who later quit because he would a better job. He later did text my son saying he was sorry for threatening his life and admitted to my son that all manager and Dawn Manning did was tell him not to do it again but was laughing as they told him. So no write up or anything just laughter for my son's life being threatened because he has epilepsy. To me a persin who thinks that way is a danger to everyine yet he keot his job! And the other boy involved in making fun of him is still there bullying others I'm sure. My son who got fired today worked 3 point . He brought more money to that area than most have in years. But on another occasion recently he got dizzy while working. He had to ask to go to safety but then was told to wait. When he finally got to go safety didn't even want to deal with him. But they finally checked him, his BP was dangerously high but they told him to drink water and he should be ok. I heard about it after he got home. I immediately took him to the Dr and the Dr there stated that he should have been sent to ER sooner. He said my sin could have had a stroke. It was also determined that my son had been working three point all by himself, with no water, when he would tell the lead he needed water it was ignored, and on most days his shift would almost be over before he would get lunch break. Even the ER dr said that is against OSHA . At 3 point he was in direct sunlight, no water near by, one worker when the game requires 3, and late breaks. People at nearby games huddled up talking and playing on phones leaveing their games and would ignore him when he would ask if someone would bring him water. Now for a short time after I made this complaint they put a water jug out there for my son . That the water was never changed in . Stail water. But eventually resorted back to no water. ! My son is not and has never been a thief. The girl who ask to see the prize who works there that my sin handed it to is the thief. My son handed her a prize and she was supposed to pay him for it. She went to use the cash machine near my son's game but the leads had as they always had unplugged it early so people would leave and they could close early. She told my son she would go to another machine and return with the money and did not. My son tried explaining all of this to Dawn and Dan but felt he wasn't believed and just gave up.So he took full responsibility and offered to pay for it. Now this prize sells online for 30$ but they charge employees $137.00 But that wasn't good enough. He was fired. The real thief still has her job and the free prize she stole from my son. My son's inly guilt is letting her see the prize and trusting her to come right back and pay. I'm nit dine with Dawn Manning. I documented every incident as they occurred as my attorney told us to do. And I'm moving forward with it. The job want all that but the fact that you humiliated with if my boys laughed at them and even put them in danger by not taking the threat to life more serious which was reported by a lead who heard the threat (btw), and causing a 19 year old to work so hard in extreamly hot temperatures of up to 120 degrees in open sunlight on pavement with no help or water that his bp reaches dangerous levels. Is enough for me to not stop until you are fired so that this doesn't happen to someone else's son daughter or loved one. And it's very common in this park. But employees are afraid to speak up. But we mam are not and you will soon see. You have endangered lives, humiliated, belittled and broken the soul of my son who never gives up... today gave up . But not his mother. Nomatter what age someone always has a mother and you will be seeing us in court if your job isn't temanated as it should be. There is nothing what so ever Christian about this place! I will be posting pictures videos soon when I download them that I took as a guest to prove how much woing doings go in in this Dept .

A
A
Ape37
, US
Aug 20, 2018 2:11 pm EDT

We were.told by dollywood employee if u come in after 3 u can come in next day free.. and that did not happen we did not get to see 1 show or enjoy the park we got to ride 3 rides for 300 dollars.. we came fro. The upper peninsula of michigan here and am very disappointed in being lied to by dolly employees.

V
V
Vern1444
, US
Aug 15, 2018 9:27 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Both them park was amazing but it seams that on a hot summers day with 7, 000 plus people that it would be an investment to spend more money on splash county to expand an make more room for more people. My 6 year old daughter go to ride more bigger water slides at Disney world.

A
A
Amanda Anders
, US
Aug 15, 2018 8:00 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

This was my first trip to Dollywood and I had a terrible time. My family and I were in the park a total of 2 hours and left. I would greatly appreciate a refund. If we had known what to expect we wouldn't have wasted our time or money on this attraction. This wasn't something that we enjoyed at all!

  1. Dollywood Contacts

  2. Dollywood phone numbers
    +1 (800) 365-5996
    +1 (800) 365-5996
    Click up if you have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number
    Reservations
    +1 (865) 365-1900
    +1 (865) 365-1900
    Click up if you have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (865) 365-1900 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (865) 365-1900 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (865) 365-1900 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (865) 365-1900 phone number
    Resort Front Desk
    +1 (800) 365-5996
    +1 (800) 365-5996
    Click up if you have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Dollywood by calling +1 (800) 365-5996 phone number
    More phone numbers
  3. Dollywood emails
  4. Dollywood address
    2700 Dollywood Parks Blvd, Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, 37863, United States
  5. Dollywood social media
  6. Olivia
    Checked and verified by Olivia This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
Dollywood Category
Dollywood is ranked 7 among 14 companies in the Theme Parks category