Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Dick's Sporting Goods

Dick's Sporting Goods review: Return policy 6

D
Author of the review
10:15 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I purchased a new Benelli over/under shotgun. The salesman disassembled and packed the gun in two pieces inside a case then in a box to leave the store. When I took the gun out of the case at home to reassemble I noticed a crack in the wood prior to reassembly. Being that I paid $1000 for the gun I expected it to be in perfect condition. When I called the store to let them know I was bringing it back the store manager said that they would not take it back, their policy did not allow it. They could sell me a defective gun but it was my problem once it left the store. Now I have to work with the manufacturer to repair and can't use until then. So Dick's has my money and I have to fix their gun.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Dick's Sporting Goods reviews & complaints

Dick's Sporting Goods - Bad product, worse service 8
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dick's Sporting Goods - Return policy 38
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dick's Sporting Goods - Very poor attitude by store clerk 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dick's Sporting Goods - corporate headquarters 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Dick's Sporting Goods - customer service needs inprovement 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
6 comments
Add a comment
K
K
Klubovakn
, US
Jul 14, 2016 3:08 am EDT

I recieved a coupon 10.00 off a 50.00 purchase to complete a survey. Guess what THERE IS NO SURVEY SITE.

W
W
Withme234
, US
Jul 14, 2016 3:08 am EDT

I am always frustrated trying to get help at Dicks Stores. Today I had to walk all over the store trying to find an employee. This employee said they'd find someone to come to the chair department but then came and said that person was busy (there's only one?) and would come when they were done. I got tired of waiting.

T
T
THOMAS6933
, US
Jul 14, 2016 3:08 am EDT

I purchased what I thought was a Remington 12 guage pump on 12/15/09 at the Pineville, NC store. (this is what I asked the clerk for) As I had a car load of out of town friends waiting for me in my cars I did not take the time to recheck my purchase then and only found out days later, and the first time I did check that this was in fact not a Remington but a Pardner/Pro 12 guage. Although I don;t feel I was over charged, but still they were many sales, rebated, etc. going on that would make the price of the gun I actually wanted about the same. Your customer service was less than helpful with my problem and actual a little on the rude side. So I guess return will be my only options!

U
U
Unhappy Dicks Customer
palmyra, US
Dec 02, 2010 2:01 pm EST

I was also treated poorly during a recent firearms purchase at dicks. First I was delayed by the check system. I know thats not dicks fault, but I waited 3 weeks and never got a call back. They told me they would call me back within 15 days. They never called. I went in after the supposed 15 day waiting period for the background check and they finally called the fbi back to confirm I was cleared. I went in to purchase the gun 3 weeks before deer season started. I waited till 3 days before deer season to get the gun. I asked them twice if they would bore sight the gun and they said "absolutely". When I was just about to pay for the gun I said "are you going to bore sight it?" they said they can't do it for free and would charge me. I was upset, but I took the gun and left. I figured I would sight it in at the range. 5 boxes of shells and and afternoon later I find out I have a bent scope mount, was damaged in shipping to the store. In my opinion dicks ruined deer season for me this year. I have to wait till after deer season to get the part fixed from the manufacurer. What a waste of time. Don't buy guns from dicks unless you want to be treated like a dick.

H
H
Helpful_Soul
Somewhere, US
Jul 14, 2016 3:08 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Klubovakn,

I am a employee at Dick's Sporting Goods and I am sorry you were having troubles locating the survey from your reciept. I really hope I can be of assistance. From my experience from logging in complaints and concerns for the online survey I have noticed that 85% of the customers are searching it through google, bing, yahoo, and many other search engines and unfortunatly it cannot be found in that manner. The other 15% try to locate it within the website which the survey is not located on the site due to the fact the survey service is provided to us by Maritz Research Inc. a private survey organization that Dick's Sporting Goods uses. So here are some helpful tips for you I have used this to help every customer that calls in with the issue and its worked everytime.
1. Go to the Dick's Website
2. Now on the top of your internet server it should show
http://www.dickssportinggoods.com/home/index.jsp
3. Now ERASE home/index.jsp and ADD the word feedback
then press your enter key and it should take you there.

If that does not work I have also attached a picture as well as visual guidence for you as well and anyone else that views this page. If then your still have issues locating the survey PLEASE feel free to call our 24 hours customer service at 1.877.846.9997 and a live agent would be more than happy to assist you in the issue.

I hope you future experiences with us are more pleasant then what you ran into with the survey.

View 0 more photos
M
M
mytwocentsforyou
Toledo, US
Jul 14, 2016 3:08 am EDT

Unfortunately there are several stores with this understaffing problem and there's one reason why: payroll.

These stores procrastinate in changing up the floor plans to the way that corporate wants them to look, all depending on what sport is coming to season, or winter/fall clothes vs. spring/summer clothes. This procrastination leads to pulling people in for last minute overnight hours (most likely because the regional/district manager is coming in the next morning to inspect the changes that should have been done well ahead of time in logical time managing ways). This forces the store to go over their payroll for that week, thus causing many hours, and associates, to be cut for the following week. This means that one person, whether their expertise be in bikes, hunting, apparel or team sports, has to run the whole floor for every customer's needs, several nights that week. It is frustrating, as a cashier, to have to watch the customers get angry while you helplessly page the one person who is already helping several people in every department.

I agree, it definitely sucks.

  1. Dick's Sporting Goods Contacts

  2. Dick's Sporting Goods phone numbers
    +1 (877) 846-9997
    +1 (877) 846-9997
    Click up if you have successfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (877) 846-9997 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (877) 846-9997 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (877) 846-9997 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (877) 846-9997 phone number
    Customer Service
    +1 (866) 677-4771
    +1 (866) 677-4771
    Click up if you have successfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (866) 677-4771 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (866) 677-4771 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (866) 677-4771 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Dick's Sporting Goods by calling +1 (866) 677-4771 phone number
    Customer Service
  3. Dick's Sporting Goods emails
  4. Dick's Sporting Goods address
    345 Court St., Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, 15108, United States
  5. Dick's Sporting Goods social media
  6. Michael
    Checked and verified by Michael This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
Dick's Sporting Goods Category
Dick's Sporting Goods is ranked 1 among 40 companies in the Sporting Goods category