The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Credit AcceptanceIntent of repossession

U

Okay here I our story in April of 2007 I had a bad car accident total my car, the other car kept going. Within a week or two we purchased a car in Frederick. We have had the car now for 3 years and have never ever been late on a payment since we had the car. We are close to paying the car off and frankly I had not realized how much we paid for the car. I somehow thought we paid on $8350.00 not true the car was in the 15, 000 range and it was a 1995. To make a long story short my spouse was laid off recently and is awaiting his unemployment checks while looking for work. I called Credit Acceptance and I was informed them of the situation. The representative acknowledged that we had been good an faithful with our payments but in her words … “but when can you get the payment in we are a sub-prime lender and we are about to repossess the car. I explained to this woman that we are in such a state right now and I was honest with her. It has been just my income holding things together for a little while now. I have gotten calls at work mind you from a woman and …. I have all the dates she has called me. In the mail I receive series of letter stating that I broke a promise? What promise? The woman tried to goad me into making a promise but I informed her that I did not and could not agree to anything that would make me to be a liar and to please work with us. We are one month behind.

I don't know the reposseion process but if it works as I am about to state these people are scammers!!! All they talk about is reposeion and that the can disable the car.

You know what I believe that Credit Acceptance is making the attempts to take the car back sell it again for a higher price after we have paid more than a third of the car. If being a good customer gets you this then what can we expect for being a bad customer? I will never use these people again. Also we did not realize it when we brought the car what type of company this was. The next time we will not be so gullible and we will be better informed.

Responses

  • Ja
    James Buckley Jul 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thease people are [censor]. and the people that make comments about 1 late payment and repo are. without a dought working for those losers. the people they get to work for them. they just pick up of the streets. low lifes and losers. they dont know 1 thing about how to treat Human beings. You can Hear them laughing in the background. Thease people are no better then Terriost.. Iam starting a class action suiet against thease people. i know have 45 people and more are joining. time to put thease [censor]mbags down. oh bye the way the people taking the call will also be supeoned to court so we get to meet thos losers.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jasmine Hylton Jul 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Everyone write to them asking them to prove three documents.
    1. Validation of the debt (the actual accounting) and
    2. Verification of their claim against you (a sworn affidavit or even just a signed invoice- signed is important), and
    3. A copy of the contract binding both parties. That's you and CREDIT ACCEPTANCE not you and the person who processed the loan which they will try to use lol
    write that you would be happy to pay any financial obligation you might lawfully owe as soon as these three documents are received.

    For more information and reading into this look up Mary-Elizabeth Croft and read her book. WE CREATED THE CREDIT WITH OUR SIGNATURE and they never fully disclosed that with us and that breaks one of the requirements of a lawful contract.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    raquelita123 Nov 08, 2017

    @Jasmine Hylton did you get your title using this method?

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jacqueline Sweeney Jun 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They ok as long as you make payments on time...helped build my credit so I really can't complain even if their interest rates are high.

    -2 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms. Tiish Apr 10, 2016

    Okay... I paid off my car, when I called to find out were I could, pick up title... the very rude rep told me that I couldn't pick it up, that I had to wait on it to come in the mail... this was on february 8, 2016... it is now april 10 and no title... when I called to find out where it was and what was taking so long, this rep tells me that it was sent out february 15, I tell her that was not right because I had not received it yet she tells me that she would send out an paper for me to take to a title company or bmv to get a new title, but I would have to pay for it. I asked her why do I need to pay for a new title when they never sent out the title to my car... she then got really nasty, so I asked her if I could speak to someone else she told me to call back monday... I will never use this company again and would never recommend this company to anyone...

    3 Votes
  • Je
    Jerome Phillips Mar 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Jerome Phillips
    My car was repossessed today while I was attempting to get gas. I parked the car at a gas pump, got out of the car and on my way in to pay for the gas a tow truck had come into the station, dropped the hoist, slid it under my car and was on the way out before I could do anything. this was less than 1 minute, there was a woman there who claimed to have a valid repossession order, which she pulled up on a screen and showed my address. When I informed her that I had made my payment on march 4th, she just told me that her order was legitimate. I told her my house keys, work keys, work cell phone, personal cell phone, recently purchased food, and my jacket were all in the car, the best she could do was say she would try to call her husband to see if she could get the keys. Mind you I may not have been able to get in my house, my cell phones were taken meaning I could not call anyone to come get me. My jacket was in the car as well, and I was never given the chance to retrieve my personal belongings yet I was no more than 15-20 feet from my car when they took it. It felt like my car was stolen, despite having paid my note on March 4th, my car was taken along with my personal belongings and the repossession company did not even have the decency to let me retrieve them. I do not know where my vehicle was taken so I will not have any information about where to retrieve my belongings until Monday. I could have been locked out of my home until Monday but fortunately my son was home and a good Samaritan drove me home, otherwise I would have had to walk several my without a jacket. This is a horrible way to treat people and I will be filing reports with the Better Business Bureau, and a complaint with the company. There are better ways to do this, the company has been taking money from my account every month, I believe the problem stems from a payment missed in October or November but they have deducted from my bank account every month with the exception of that one payment, and as stated earlier they received a payment on March 4th. This is a horrible way to treat people, the 24 hour number that the contract says you should have is non existent, so again there is no way to retrieve the keys to my home.

    3 Votes
  • Ja
    Jasmine Hylton Jul 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Jerome Phillips I hope u went after them.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barrd Feb 22, 2016

    My experience with Credit Acceptance has been good. I've had my SUV for nearly six months now...and yes, I did miss two payments, but they never even threatened to repossess my vehicle. They simply asked me to get my payments in on time...a perfectly reasonable request from anyone you owe money to. Yes, they charged me a high interest rate...but that is to be expected when you have bad credit, as I did.

    2 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate credit acceptance Feb 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a vehicle and was financed with Credit acceptance. I wanna say 1-2 months in my cars was disabled even with all my payments made on time. When I called the company they told me that I owed them $100. I was so pissed bc they couldn't even tell me why even though my payments were in on time. That was the start of the bs. The car was a 2010 ford fusion with high interest rate worth more than the car. I was young and dumb for signing my name on that line I know. I drove the car for 3 years. Within those 3 years I made payments after my payment date and went through the bs off the car being disabled and as well as repossessed. There were 2 occasions that I can remember that my car was repossessed but I had no outstanding late car payments. The repo guy and I became some what associates and knew each other on first name basis. He would call me and tell me that he was on his way to pick the vehicle up bc the car was in repossession. Even though I told him I had no late or outstanding payments due. He came to my house, we both called the company, on my end I explained that I didn't owe them anything but they could not verify it at the time bc there systems were down or some bs, so they tell him to take the car any ways. 2 hours later with me looking through my bank statements I was right and called the company back. They apologized and told.me that the only way for me to get my car back was to pay the $250 repo fees. I was so pissed and felt scammed. The 2nd time that happened I voluntarily gave it up and went to a dealer and bought a brand new car. When I told them I didn't want the car anymore, they left it sitting in my driveway for a month and a half trying to get me to keep it. I have since filed a complaint to the consumer ppl, haven't heard anything back...but now they have filed a civil lawsuit against me, but I no longer reside in that state and have not been served a summons. I don't know what to do and absolutely don't want to contact them..Can they serve me out of state or is that part of the statue of limitations?

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tonja Brooks Aug 04, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Since May 2015 I have been unemployed due to being laid off. During this time I have attempted to make my payments but when you have not income coming in it is very hard to do. I have been talked to very inhumane regarding my account. I am constantly being threatened by my car being deactivated. I am constantly asked if someone can pay for me. If that was possible, I would not be behind. Even though my sister cosigned with me, she does not help me at all with this even though she knows my situation. I am on my own right now. I am daily looking for work so I can get back on track with you all. This is the second vehicle that I have purchased through Credit Acceptance and I had no problem with my previous purchase. I want to keep my car but I need some assistance right now and no one in the organization is willing to assist me or work with me except for demanding that I make a payment. I need a deferment so I can get back on track and not ruin my sister's credit because that is her main concern right now. I appreciate any assistance you can give me.

    2 Votes
  • 14
    1445636 Jan 21, 2015

    They are such a rip off! I made my payments on time every single month! Or so I thought. I get a call from an investigator saying my loan has defaulted, yet I have been paying my loan, they are taking the $ out of my account, but all of a sudden stopped getting statements. I told them come get the vehicle because I was fed up with this rip off finance company. I got into a brand new vehicle with only 100 miles on it and payments so much lower. Yeah, but my credit is horrible, lol. Well, obviously now I will have a repo on my credit but I would rather have a repo on my credit than deal with these ###s anymore.

    3 Votes
  • Go
    Go6 Nov 14, 2014

    I bought my car in 2012 and have made payments to them as promised and even made agreements with them if I could not afford the whole note. A few weeks ago they repoed my car with the payment only being 12 days late. I went and got it out of repossession and told them I would make my next payment if I had not refinanced it through my local bank. The payment was due today and I have been talking with them for 2 weeks now trying to get them to fax my 10 day payoff to my local financing institution. They finally received it TODAY! So when I called them today to let them know that the 10 day payoff would be mailed on Tuesday they told me I still had to make todays payment even though it is included in the 10 day payoff. They told me if I didn't pay the note today that they could not secure my vehicle and could be repoed after 11pm tonight! I will never use this company again! They are money hungry, rude, non-professional company! Also, purchase price fro my vehicle was $16, 995. I have paid this company $16, 503 to date and still owe $9500 on my vehicle! They make it almost impossible for anyone to pay off a vehicle with their interest rates!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DontBeTaken Dec 05, 2013

    Report these people to the cfpb - consumer financial protection burea www.consumerfinance.gov

    Whether a late charge can be accessed, when and the amount a lender can acccess depends also on state law. for instance, in the state of ma, for a mortgage, a lender can only charge 3% late charge if the payment is not made within 15 days of the due date. so... I would assume that the same would apply to a car loan is due on the date it is due. and even if you pay, one day after that - technically you are late. black and white folks. however, if cac can charge a late payment, the amount and when will depend upon the state you live in. so, check with your state. a couple of other things - the credit bureau's (i.e. credit repositories) will not report on anything other than over 30... so when these pos' try and pull that one on you, don't believe them. and call them on it - tell them that the major credit repostories do not accept anything other than starting with over 30. finally please report these people to the cfpb - consumer financial protection bureau. www.consumerfinance.gov. this is so important folks and unless we all start reporting them for unlawful, predatory lending this will never end.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    linzie robinson Sep 26, 2013

    I will never go back to credit acceptance they is some low down people I got into a car accident I made my payment on time, but when I lost my job, I could not make my payment ...I call them to let them what happen first thang came out of her was when come make a payment I told her ma i'm not working yet, so they kept calling me I keep telling them the same damn thing well we repo the car, mind you I had a accident in the car they came got the car sold the car ...now my payment was 320 a months I ole on it 8295 them dirt people is not fair at all now...check this out they got a lawyer on me from Jackson, Mississippi now lawyer charging 2000 more dollar onto what I ole them that's 11, 000 dollar I will not go back to them ever I tell anybody do not go with credit acceptance they are the bigg is lier they will not work with you at all . if you don't make any payment they will put some else on your credit report, now they put another repo on my credit report I pull my credit report and seen it on there they are some dirt people and low down .

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    MS_LG47 May 17, 2012

    Why dose your payment booklet give you 10 days after you due date to make the payment? but credit acceptance informed me that I don't have a grace period and that the 10 days after is when it go to collection... hmmmm... I thought so then I ask so why do it say after such an such date payment is late and I will ole a extra fee she says well what day can you make the payment and why aren't you making it on your due date.. I stated because I get paid after my due date which is approm: 7 days after she say well your payment is late I said well im sorry I was informed of the wrong information regarding my car loan with you all however I am grateful to be riding in style but my payment booklet says after the 10th day after my payment was due is when I am at fault if I am wrong prove me wrong if not I have documents to prove other wise. I hate I got a car loan you guys because I had no idea they would put everybody in your business such as you referances I mean as long as im not 10 days behind don't call exspecially not on the 1st day after the due date... build my credit and trust us to do what we are suppose to after all some of us came to the company to have a fair chance like myself a first time buyer with no credit not bad credit I am 30 yrs old and by the time im through with my car loan in 4 yrs I want a 6.9% intrest rate

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr.Feelgood May 15, 2011

    ### creditors should not be able to put kill switches in the vehicles computer systems it should be against the law!!!

    -4 Votes
  • Do
    Domin0 Mar 02, 2011

    Maybe if you all would read your contracts, and make your payments ON TIME, then your car wouldn't be repossessed. Duh... READ THE CONTRACTS!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    james buck56 Jan 27, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Domin0 You prob work for them. you ignorant ###.

    1 Votes
  • No
    notperfectyet Feb 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so upset with this company 'Credit Acceptance' - they do not honor a 'grace period' so that customers can get their payments in...when I said well can I try to refinance and they said we do not refinance, you will have to take the car back to the dealership where you purchased the car and have them do it. If, I do that I will definitely never use this company again! My son used this company, also and is currently in 'REPO' status...much similar are this companies practices as was Charlie Falk Auto...which he I believe went out of business or operating under an assumed name. I had a car repossed by Charlie Falk Auto and then when I went to go and apply my delinquent amount onto my car...they had already sold it! And I said to them - you need to provide another car in it's place immediately! I think I am gonna start riding a bike everywhere! I am done like my son is with these mamby pamby car dealerships! It was actually through Toyota unfortunately that my son and I got bamboozled into...HORRIBLE!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janie parrish Nov 23, 2010

    yes yes yes...my payment was due the 1st of the month...with a 15 day grace period...to me that means I have till the end of the business day on the 15th!!! they told me on the phone I did have until the 15th at the end of the business day to get my payment in... well on the morning of the 13th the repo mail towed my car from my drive way!!! I either can't count or they can't ...such a crooked company...now I got a letter today they are gona sue me for the balance...

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Tasha M Jones Oct 22, 2010

    Good Morning, My vehicle was repossed yesterday and I am very upset. I purchased the vehicle in April, 7, 2008 and have never been late. I understand the contractual agreements, however I am extremely dissappointed in the lack of customer service. My payments are due the 8th of every month and if payment wasnt in your office by the 9th I receive a call. No one ever contacted me regarding the late payment NOT ONCE. I also spoke with my daughter who pays the bill and she states she made arranges on the 9th of October for your company to take half the payment out on Oct 13th and the other half on the 20th, and it wasnt done, resulting in my car beging repossed. When I called into custmer service to speak with someone they told me that managers dont talk inbound calls nor do they listen to calls, when I told them I wanted to hear the call my daughter place on October 9th. I am writing this email because I need action taken on my account ASAP. I need to hear the tape of this conversation ASAP, otherwise legal action will be taken. I except a response within 24hrs, otherwise I will use every avenue possible to put the word out to Never Ever use your company because the Customer Service is awful.
    This is the email I sent to The Board of Credit Acceptance...They are scammers--DONT USE THEM EVER

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.