The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Windstream / fraud and scam

1 Brooksville, KY, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I am very upset with Windstreams service! After long calls with their service department (no knowledge or help on their side) and with field tech's at my house (no hardware issues) for the last year. My DSL is still going down daily. Last night our DSL went down again. My wife called (again for the 6th time) windstreams service. Instead of trying to fix the problem he said it was our software. Again, it is not my software or hardware, etc. It is on their side; validated repeatedly by their field tech's.

Also, and this upsets me so greatly. Their foreign service person instead of fixing the issue; tried to sell my wife a new modem with a new one (1) year agreement!

I am Senior Quality Assurance Manage this is the poorest customer service I have ever seen in my life.

Wi
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • So
      2nd of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    Windstream should make no claims about good or even acceptable customer service. I have reached this opinion based on how Windstream has treated me over the past 8 days.

    Contact with Windstream on 7-25-08
    I called my local Windstream office to see about telephone and internet service. I gave the lady my information (name, address, cell phone number, etc) She read back the information with the wrong street name. I corrected her saying it was South not West. She told me that someone would call me on 7-28-08 with my new phone number and scheduled installation date and time. As I work via the Internet, I will have to delay working for one week and take a loss of $1000 wages.

    7-28-08
    I did not receive a phone call from Windstream.

    7-29-08
    I went into the local Windstream office. The lady couldn't find my information in the computer. Finally she found the handwritten form in a cupboard. She wrote my phone number and installation date (8-1-08) on a blue post-a-note and gave it to me. I asked what time on the 1st would the technician be out. She said "Oh, they will call you before they come out". Then she verified my cell phone number.

    8-1-08
    Ok I have planned my whole day to be home and available for the Windstream service technician. At 2pm, I call the office wondering if the tech is coming or not. The lady tells me that they work until 7pm and yes the tech will be out. She doesn't verify any information like name, address or contact number.

    8pm on 8-1-08
    No technician, no phone call from the technician or the Windstream office. I contact the repair department as they are the only ones available. The lady there informs me that I am not in the system and would have to contact the business office on Saturday morning between 8 and 5 EST.

    8:15am EST 8-2-08
    I call the phone number I was given by the repair representative and get a recording that tells me I need to call back during business hours. So I call repair again. The lady there tells me I have to wait until 8am my time (MT) to reach the business office. So I go to Windstream.com. There it says that the business office is open from 8:30 to 5 Eastern. By now it is 8:40 Eastern. So I call the business office number again. I still get the recording that I need to call back during business hours.

    So I call repair again. I ask to speak with a supervisor. I explain to the supervisor that I am very upset and I really need to contact the business office. She places me on hold while she gets someone from the business office on the line. The person from business finally finds my installation information. He is upset with me because I don't have the work order number. I was never given a work order number.

    Finally he finds my information and tells me that I gave them the wrong address so my installation was placed on hold until I contacted them. He informed me that it was my fault that the tech was sent to West instead of South and that I would just have to wait until the next available time for installed. I asked him why the technician had not called me when there was a problem; he said "We don't do that. We wait for the customer to call us when we don't show up."

    I went to where I had Internet access to look up the corporate information for Windstream. I find 501-748-7000 is the main office number. I call it and as I expected, got a recording. The male voice said to leave a message and someone would return my call during the next business day. Then a female voice says "This number does not accept messages".

    So the poor communication and customer service starts right at Windstream corp headquarters.

    So here I sit waiting until 8-8-08 sometime between 8 am and noon to maybe, possibly, have a technician appear to install my phone/internet service. I wonder if Windstream will reimburse me for the second week of lost wages or even apologize to me for the physical and emotional stress their poor customer service has caused me.

  • Ho
      22nd of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    Hi, I also hate windstream ! But today I got a phone number that's impossible to get, thought I would pass it on !! Windstream corporate complaints department 1800 326 6314 Enjoy, H

  • Pa
      29th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    Mabey you can believe the crazy week ive had with windstream, i called to get my phone turned on 10/21/08 was given a phone number, and a time that everything would be turned on. Everything would be turned on by friday 10/24/08. Between 8-12 Well by 130 i was calling to see why no-one had shown up...I was then told it would be Mon-10-27-08 that it would be turned on. Well, heres Monday, and again i call to find ou why my service is not turned on, i get told it will be thursday 10-30-08. A friend gives me a phone number to someone who can help me get my phone and internet on, today is wens.10-29-08 iI have my phone on and there gonna try to get my internet on today to...I have a son who is a United States Marine, he just got back from his second tour and is stationed in hawaii, i like to be able to leave my son emails when i cant talk to him on the phone, anyway i am not happy...

  • Th
      12th of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    I live near a river, about 1 mile away although pretty flat. When the river comes out of its banks I lose my phone service. Not just me but the four others who live down my gravel road. This has been occuring for the past 11 years and we have contacted them multiple times requesting that something be done but we are ignored for the most part.
    It leaves a family happy to know where you live you have very limited area where cell phones work. If we had an emergency and had to call 911 someone would have to run out up to the pasture to make that emergency call. Cross your fingers for us. Keep them crossed because the problem happens several times during the summer and has been going on for the past eleven years. We have been lucky as well as the neighbors. Hope luck holds out. Brighton, Iowa

Post your comment