SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Shopperdiscounts.co.uk / Scam

England, East Midlands, United Kingdom Review updated:

Having made a purchase from a reputable on line company I was pleasantly surprised to learn at the end of the transaction that I would receive £15 cashback via Shopperdiscounts. All I had to do was signn up and my cashback and loads of discounts from many UK top brands would be mine. I got a shock when some days after signing up my credit card had been debited £10 as my subscription. I never agreed such a charge and at no point did there offer mention a joining fee. What a scam. Ive tried to call but the office is closed due to severe weather!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ca
      Feb 26, 2009

    i agree with you the same has happen to me, i am in the process of contacting them, let see what happens!

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 12, 2009

    Very similar situation with credit card being debited for £10.00

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 14, 2009

    The same has happened to me. I didn't notice any £10 monthly charge either until receiving my statement. What a shock. I am also going to try and contact them.

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      Mar 15, 2009

    Having just got back from holidays I was concerned to note a transaction for £10 had been debited from my account, on a date whilst I was away, with a company I had never heard of. Unfortunately I too, am unable to get hold of them via the telephone so have sent them an e-mail. I have also disputed this item with my credit card company who are investigating this. They appear to be aware of the situation, so hopefully, the money would be refunded. I guess the worrying thing is that such companies are able to do this so easily. Lisa

    +1 Votes
  • Ge
      Mar 27, 2009

    We've been had too - the first payment was post-Christmas and got overlooked. Our credit card people were less than helpful, saying that the payments could not be blocked, and we are taking it up with the trading standards internet fraud. If anyone has actually managed to get hold of shopperdiscounts, please let us know! Georgina

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Mar 27, 2009

    Us too. My wife was had through the Trainline, where she responded to an offer to get £15 off the next purchase - one wonders how much the Trainline is getting paid to be part of this scam. Probably in technical legal terms it is above board, through small print, but they do their best to conceal the fact that there will be future payments taken. I phoned and was offered first £10 back, and then when I went ballistic £30 back (it's been going on for months) but I was cut off when I asked how I could put in a request for all our money back.
    How can we get this publicised - yes for shopperdiscounts but also for their affiliates who doubtless share in the spoils, like the Trainline
    David

    +1 Votes
  • Yi
      Mar 29, 2009
    Shopperdiscount - Unauthorized charge
    Webloyalty.com
    California
    United States

    I have received two charges from this company. One was called shopper discount and the other one was reservation rewards. I wrote the company in Connecticut and disputed these charges with my credit card company. I also emailed webloyalty.com with similar information.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 03, 2009

    I've just noticed this scam on my Visa Debit account with Halifax Bank too (£8 a month since July). I have never consented to allowing shopperdiscounts or any of its affiliates to charge my account for any amount and certainly am not receiving any product or service for this fee.

    I checked their website and they are apparently a subsidiary of Webloyalty International Ltd., which is located in downtown London, near Oxford Circus station, as is seen in the small print of the shppoerdiscounts.co.uk website:

    "This website is owned and operated by Webloyalty International Limited ("Webloyalty"). Webloyalty is a limited company registered in England, company number 05922626 and its registered office is at Third Floor East, 47-50 Margaret Street, London, W1W 8SB, United Kingdom."

    The phone number for shopperdiscounts is 0808 234 1539 (at least that's what's on their website) and they're located in Kent.
    The phone nuber for Webloyalty International is 020 7291 8720

    I'm no longer living in the UK, having to deal with this from Canada, where I currently reside, but if anyone does manage to get through to these conartists, I would greatly appreciate hearing about their experience.
    Sincerely,
    Christian

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 05, 2009

    I too have fallen for this SCAM after buying electrical goods from a major on line retailer. I have contacted my credit card company and the on line retailer . I have also e mailed Shoppers Discount and Rewards . and even though it was late on a Saturday night did get a reply back cancelling my account (which I believe was never opened by me in the first place )
    How companies like this are allowed to operate beggars belief .
    Try contacting [protected]@shoppersdiscountsandrewards.co.uk.
    Their whole scam seems to be based on their expecting some people to cancel as soon as they see what is happening. They make their profit from the majority who never notice the small amounts --£10 per month going through their credit cards .

    Mike (IOM)

    +1 Votes
  • Li
      Apr 05, 2009

    I have just checked my visa statyement and have had £10 taken by shopperdiscounts!!! I booked on ebookers and got the £15 back but NOTHING was advertised about a membership fee! Anyone actually got their £10 refunded yet?
    LINDA

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Apr 05, 2009

    I have just cancelled my 'membership' through the shopperdiscount website - very easy to do - just go through:

    [protected]@shoppersdiscountsandrewards.co.uk

    and click on the link to cancel.
    What a scam!

    Linda

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 15, 2009

    This practice is well naughty and another example of having to be very careful when giving credit card info over the web.
    Ring Shopper Discounts helpline 08082 341539, take option 3 to speak to an advisor - they`re helpful and will refund the charge. They`ll also cancel future subscriptions.
    Chris.
    Huddersfield.

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      May 19, 2009

    I too have just checked my bank statement and realised that £10 pm was being taken from my account after booking a flight through Monarch. After ringing 08082 341539 i have received all money back with an apology and membership ( to what ? ) cancelled. I advise everyone to check their statements.

    Susan.

    Blackburn

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Jun 18, 2009

    Webloyalty - a parent company of shopper discount is a fraudulant company, they unwittingly hide information regarding membership fee and take your account details from the company that you made your purchases (yes - they too are selling your details to Webloyalty). I fell into their trap when i made booking with ebookers.

    I thought the company was similar to vouchers. co.uk which do not charge for informations of discount offers hence i fell into their trap. Once I signed in, I realised the scam 3 weeks latter when i surf their website for discounts offer and had sometime to read through their VERY CONFUSING webpage setting.

    DO NOT buy from company that sells your credit details. I will not buy from ebookers again.

    Do any one know how to get back their money that was taken out of their account for membership fee even though this fee is not clearly visible from their website - it is hiden in the membership zone only FAQ section. i.e., you have to join/signed in to find out that you're being charge! in-effect pay for the joining fee & then you'll find out that you are being charged!!!

    These companies are comparable to those steal from beggars.

    Fiona
    London

    0 Votes
  • He
      Jul 04, 2009

    I am absolutely furious as well, luckily i do check my account (I hve to cos I havent that much in it ) a company who glossily advertises such wonderful benefits to help everyone to purchase items with discounts and in times when everyone is looking for ways of saving, deserves to be highlighted in every way. I agree with most peoples' comments and feel they play the "hidden" card on membership fees - I am so annoyed and I am not a person who gets upset easily but this hurts and maybe it could have been worse, like 50.00 every month.
    I did try to cancel through the link as above, but no luck, it didnt work - how surprising!
    I have contacted them and hope all the adverse publicity will drown them as it has already- try typing shoppers discount co uk into browser, one link in 20 is in their favour - oh its their own! All the rest are highlighting complaints - sad that we have to waste our time and hope whoever is really getting the rewards will soon be highlighted in a real rewarding way - I am terrified that next month they will do the same and at leas I have learnt a real lesson

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jul 13, 2009

    I have just noticed a £10 debit from SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.CO.UK and immediately phoned my bank.
    My bank were unable to stop any further payments from then but gave e telephone number for SHOPPERSDISCOUNTS.CO.UK
    I phoned them and told them I wanted any subscription with them cancelled. They tried to tell me about savings I could make in the futute but I told them I wanted subscription cancelled.
    I have been assured y them that my subscription is cancelled and that no more payments will be taken from my account.

    Their telephone number is 0808 234 1539

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jul 14, 2009

    I have been contacted by SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.CO.UK to inform me that my subscription has been cancelled and that I shall receive a refund of subscription charges.
    I have to be honest and say that they have been really helpful and maybe if I had read ALL the small print I could have saved myself all this trouble.
    I shall post again when I have received my refund... and again should I not receive it or further charges are made against my account.

    If anyone is still having problems then I suggest emailing and telephoning them to solve the problem.
    Email address - [protected]@webloyalty.com
    and telephone number is - 0808 234 1539

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jul 17, 2009

    UPDATE:

    I have now received refund from SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.CO.UK

    0 Votes
  • La
      Aug 11, 2009
    Shopperdiscountsandrewards.com - membership cancellation
    ShopperDiscountsandRewards.com
    Shelton
    Connecticut
    United States

    Purchased product from Thompson Cigar. Filling out a satisfaction survey resulted in my joining this. The fee is $12 a month.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
      Aug 15, 2009
    Shopperdiscount800 - 88976 Ctus - who are they?
    Shopper Discount?
    Gresham
    Oregon
    United States

    I just changed my bank/debit card to get rid of someone who was charging me monthly for something I did not want, nor order...and look at my account today and find I've been charged $12.oo by someone identifying themselves as ShopperDiscount800-88976 CTUS. I have no idea who this is, never signed up for anything with a recurring charge, and do not know how to contact them to resolve the issue. Does anyone know who this company is and what they do, or how to contact them? If I don't resolve this I fear it will occur every month as I know I did not make a purchase from this company. Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Aug 23, 2009
    Shopperdiscounts C - unknow direct debit from my account
    Juliana Popa
    London
    England, Greater London
    United Kingdom

    Hi there,

    I cannot remember how I came in touch with this company. I never benefitted from any of their services.
    I think this misfortune began with an order I have placed for something. But when I checked my Halifax bank account today I was surprised to note that the SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.C REF 0808 234 1539 has been deducting a sum of £ 10.00 per month without consulting me. Please take action to persuade them to refund all the money they have deducted so far and cancel my account with them.
    My email address for any query- [protected]@yahoo.com
    Thank you very much,
    Best regards
    Juliana Popa

    0 Votes
  • Gr
      Sep 03, 2009

    This has caused me no end of aggro. I cannot contact them, their number says "cannot accept calls from your area...". I have had to cancel my card and am in the process of changing my card details with about 10 of my suppliers...BIG headache! The better news is, I'm working about 200 yds from their office next week, so a little visit will be in order.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Sep 23, 2009
    Shopperdiscounts.com - unauthorised debit payment
    shopperdiscounts.com
    P O BOX 450, sevenoaks, kent,TN13 9HN
    sevenoaks
    United States
    Phone: 08082341539

    I have just noticed that shopperdiscounts have been debiting my husbands bank account via debit card details for the last two months, thankfully another victim of shopperdiscounts left a telephone number to contact them. they told me that i could listen to what they had to say about the charge and decide what i would like to do after hearing what it was for. my husband had bought train tickets through 'thetrainline' web site and they had taken the details entered to buy train tickets. they explained to me that they are a company that could 'possibly' save you up to 20% on online transactions. though they did not give any details of companies you could save money with. I told them i was disgusted at the 'theft' of money from my husbands account and they refunded my two charges taken and have cancelled the future payments. i spoke to a lady called 'Debbie' and she told me the company owner is MR STILLWELL, and the company name & address is SHOPPERDISCOUNTS AND REWARDS, PO BOX450, SEVANOAKS, KENT, TN13 9HN

    CALL AND GET YOUR MONEY BACK, THEY HAVE STOLEN IT!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sp
      Oct 07, 2009
    Shopperdiscounts - TAKING UNAUTHORISED PAYMENTS FROM MY AMEX ACCOUNT
    shopperdiscount
    Middlesbrough
    England, Cleveland
    United Kingdom

    on sept 25 2009, there was an unauthorised withdrawl my account of £10 . i want that money returning to my account, i also cancel any membership of which i unknowingly subscribed too.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Nov 11, 2009

    I have just spoken to SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.CO.UK after noticing a £10 charge to my credit card. They said I had agreed to this after buying airline tickets with Ryanair. They went on to say there have been 3 charges made on my card. I told them I did not knowingly join their scheme. I have asked for a full refund and cancel all future charges.They have agreed and said confirmation of the refund and cancellation would be sent via email ( I got a reference number for the cancellation verbally just in case) . No email as yet but if it isn't here by the end of the day I will raise a dispute with my credit card company.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Nov 17, 2009

    Happened to me when I purchased an item through Misco. What a scam. I think the affiliated companies that allow it are no better...Ryanair, Misc0, interflora etc..Disgrace

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Nov 18, 2009

    I was also conned into signing for a £15 off the next order, and found that i had been
    charged £10 on my credit card.I never agreed to this charge, and i think that Trading Standards should take note of the number of complaints that this company are fraudulently debiting.

    0 Votes
  • Bb
      Nov 25, 2009

    I have just noticed £10 debited from my credit card, and checking back I have discovered that they have done it 8 times! So I have been charged £80, without my consent, and for what? And how did they do it? I read everything very carefully so it is a very devious and fraudulent trick. I will pursue all the avenues recommended by previous posters to get my money back. Why doesn't someone do something about this? It just can't be legal to obtain money from people by trickery!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Nov 28, 2009

    I have also been caught out whilst buying from a reputable company, i have asked my bank to cancel the card i used and send another so that no more transactions can come out of the one they have targetted. The Bank are now investigating on my behalf. I also tried to call shopperdiscount.co.uk and they ask for your credit card number in order for them to cancel with them, do not give them your details i have a very horrible feeling more money will be taken if you do.

    Sally

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Dec 07, 2009

    I too, booked my flight tickets via Rynair and noticed a £10 charge on my debit card. I rang SHOPPERDISCOUNTS.CO.UK (0808 234 1539) and explained that I did not subscribe to a membership. I was told that a £15. cash voucher had been sent to me as a 'thank you' for subscribing to their membership. I explained I would not pay £10 pm. They were, I must say extremely helpful after I said that I was looking at this sight and agreed to refund me three of the five months I had paid and that the payments would appear in my bank account within 10 days. So watch this space. Good luck everyone in reclaiming your charges.

    0 Votes
  • Is it time to stop this?


    PLEASE HELP STOP IT

    I have been reading over this after noticing SHOPPERSDISCOUNT.CO.UK on my statements.

    I think it is time it was stopped and that means that means it has to break through public awareness so that no one using any of the respectable feeder sites will click on them and that no respectable website will associate with them or with any new incarnation.

    I propose that a lot of people take their statements, their bank cards and anything with the names and logos of the companies that introduced them to SHOPPERSDISCOUNT.CO.UK and go and calmly queu up togather at their offices* after inviting the press. Remember how dramatic the Northern Rock pictures were?

    I think their address is Sevenoaks in Kent so there must be hundreds of people close enough to that who have been conned.

    If you think this is a reasonable approach please pass this sugestion on to anyone you know who has been affected and ask them to do so. It is one of these things that if one person passes it on to two or three others and they too pass it on to two or three others each there could soon spread.

    If it seems worth a go then please make sure it happens.

    I will set up a blog site or something to gather responses. I want to know how many tenners these people have been getting every month for nothing, how many they might get from Christmas shoppers and travellers, and I want them remembered so no-one is stung again.

    I believe they manage to operate by being reasonable to those who notice it and ask for their refunds with one hand while fleecing plenty of new cusotmers with the other so it is time to stop the new customers.


    Contact Us -
    Mail: Shopper Discounts & Rewards
    P.O. Box 450
    Sevenoaks, Kent,
    TN13 9HN

    Phone: Customer Service
    0808 234 1539
    Mon-Fri
    Sat
    8 AM - 8 PM
    9 AM - 4 PM

    *PS it looks like their physical address is less easy to get so a queue of hundreds holding letters to post st the Seven Oaks GPO might be the next best image.

    0 Votes
  • Sf
      Dec 16, 2009

    I have just noticed 2 charges to my account from shopperdiscounts and mytimerewards but have no idea how they have got my details or i have joined their 'scheme' as the only site i have bought anything off is ebay!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jan 02, 2010

    I have been charged £10.00 from shopper discount with i did not authorize please help!!!

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Jan 03, 2010

    i Have made a purchase from a reputable on line company wizz air, I have just noticed 5 charges to my account from shopperdiscounts,

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 07, 2010

    Same hapeened to me and can't get hold of them due to weather. Joke and should be illegal!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tx
      Jan 07, 2010

    I also made a purchase online with Ryanair and after a while got charged by £10, due to Xmas period I didn't paid enough attention to it, but after a short investigation I realised that other people had fallen under the same trick. I went to the website and requested a cancellation of the service, they have given me a ref number and said that I will get a refund shortly. Will keep you posted!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 11, 2010

    I have had similar problems but the telephone system is now working and a very helpful lady has cancelled my subscription and refunded my payments. Choose the 3rd option when you call. As they have my credit card number I must have signed up for the 30-day free trial but then forgot to cancel it. I was unaware that they would deduct £10 per month. I found their offer on the Ebookers site but did not purchase anything there.
    John R

    0 Votes
  • Bk
      Jan 18, 2010

    On 8/9/09 I purchased flight tickets on line from Ryan Air via Shopper Discounts. I paid via my Tesco credit card.
    Since this date on the 8th of each month I have had £10 deducted from my credit card account (£40 in all).

    Probably remiss of me but I did not pick up on these deductions until the other day at which time I contacted the company (automated service) and cancelled.
    I was blissfully unaware of this charge and would not have knowingly agreed to such a thing.
    This experience has completely undermined my already fragile faith in the use of internet transactions and feel that action should be taken against the likes of this company and its apparent partner My Time Reweards.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Jan 22, 2010

    complain to the OFT to stop this 08454 04 05 06

    I too fell for this on ebookers site. All I did was tick a box and enter my email for a further discount with ebookers if i booked again within 30 days. I did not give my credit card details to shopperdiscounts.co.uk, I was unaware that ebookers would pass on my credit card details I used for my booking onto shopperdiscounts.co.uk. shopperdiscounts.co.uk then deducted £10 per month until I realised.

    I have since contacted the Office of Fair trading which I advise everyone effected to do...08454 04 05 06 they have told me they will refer shopperdiscounts.co.uk to trading standards if they receive enough complaints.

    Lets stop this from happening again!

    complain to the OFT to stop this 08454 04 05 06

    0 Votes
  • So
      Jan 28, 2010

    The sum of £10 has been deducted from our account every month since at least April 2009

    0 Votes

Post your comment