SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Selene Financehelping people stay in thier homes

Co Houston, TX Review updated:

Selene Finance is full of deception and falisifing promises. Offering suggestions of what to do which only leads to causing deeper problems in making your situation worse and in an attempt to make it easier for them to foreclose on your property. In the beginning they make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside (Yes that would be you Kevin...) making small talk, calling you all the time, and assure you that their goal is to place you in a more affordable mortagage when apparently their attempt is to do an appraisal to find out how much equity exists in your home. Once they find out the actual equity in your home they bully and try to force those that don't understand their rights out of their home. Now their story changes...See Top 10 Worst Companies in Houston, TXsaying, sorry, we can't help you, your home is worth too much! Or you don't qualify, after you have already committed time and effort to them and they have promised to have everything wrapped up within 30 days! Ultimately attempting to destroy your credit so that you cannot go elswhere for another loan! Then you are stuck with this BS scam whose sole purpose was to steal your home in the first place and NOT help you, just to find out how much they can make on your home when they sell it in a short sale or Sheriff's foreclosure. We all need to band together and take LEGAL ACTION against this corrupt group of scam artists that pray on trusting families. By the way...those of you that post the positive comments...we know that you WORK FOR SELENE! What goes around comes around...You know what they say about Karma...

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • To
      Sep 02, 2009

    They did the same thing to us.

    +1 Votes
  • Ra
      Nov 20, 2009

    I agree with you 100%.
    They did the same thing with us tricked us into BPO and said exactly the same words to the TEE.
    Just don't cooperate with these ###s and use every legal means to defend yourself. Letting them do a BPO is a big mistake.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Dec 21, 2009

    This is silly. no one needs permission to do a broker price opinion on a house - people want to live for free in their house - why? if you signed a mortgage, pay it. if you can't or won't then sell the house and rent.

    -1 Votes
  • N1
      Jan 09, 2010

    just because they were not able to help you doesnt mean they are lying. According to several articles I have read about them, their main business model is to SIGNIFICANTLY lower the mortgage principal balance in order to reverse negative equity and counsel families on their credit situation to keep them paying on the (reduced) mortgage balance. There are a lot of different factors that determine if a family can pay a monthly mortgage payment though and sometimes just reducing the principal and credit counseling are not enough. some times a family just cannot afford to stay in a house. The service they are offering is a direct solution to the whole mortgage problem we have gotten ourselves into so, while I have not worked with them personally, their idea seems to be a pretty good one to me. keep families in their homes if possible and keep creditors receiving revenue benefits everyone.

    -9 Votes
  • Ja
      Feb 05, 2010

    Selene Finance is bunch of Crooks. They have done the same to so many other homeowners.
    They purchased our loan from Citibank for pennies on the dollar. They contacted us and were very nice and said that they want to modify our loan. They sent an appraiser to our house to see the condition of the house and evaluate it.
    After we sent them all our paperwork they called and said that they will not give us any modification. Based ion their calculation at 6% we could not qualify for the modification.
    The only option that we have is to short sale or foreclose. They said they will even give us money to move out. They are just trying to steal the house from under us.
    I asked if I can try to work out a plan to pay my back payment of 5 month and they said “no”. Wither take our offer or we Foreclose. I told them that I am only 5 months behind and they can not foreclose. They told us that they can do anything they want.
    This is the kind of service these Crooks are offering.
    Do not take their offer to help. They are just trying to find out how much your house is worth and then steal it.
    I am contacting an attorney to fight them tooth and nail.

    -2 Votes
  • Fr
      Nov 05, 2018

    @jacksaa "jacksaa, " Chances are this response is way too late to be of any use. I've fallen behind myself in the past. Typically, foreclosure starts after the 3rd missed payment. I had Wells Fargo when I fell on hard times. They would not wait either. My family helped me get the money I needed just 2 days before auction so I could redeem my home.

    If you were 5 months behind and they did not foreclose, they were being kind in letting you try to modify, which gave you more time in your home. Ideally, that would have been the time to put aside those monthly payments and then some so you'd have a chance to pay all the past due if need be.

    My heart goes out to you because I know what it's like. It is a terrible struggle and losing the security of a roof over your head is beyond stressful. By the grace of God, I've managed to stay in my home, but it hasn't been easy. I'm dealing with an issue now and have fallen behind a payment. It's overwhelming and the hardship is real. I wish you all the best and hope things get better for you.

    +1 Votes
  • Mr
      Apr 16, 2010

    "jacksaa", they do not buy your mortgage but rather buying the servicing rights. What most do not understand is where the servicer makes their money. Servicers make their in the fees that are charged. So yes I do agree that fees can get out of control but show me anywhere in today's economy that does not do the same.

    Investors "never" make money on foreclosure. There are just too many people to pay once a house sells. Not to mention that even if a BPO shows a value of 200k they will most likely sell it at a 20-30% loss. Since the vast majority of people financed their home with little down it pushes the sell into a loss column everytime.

    Bottomline, if they offered to help it merely means they are willing to see if you have the ability to continue paying once you have received relieve. So, if they offered to help and then were unable to I am 99.5% sure that your financial position has not gotten better.

    +2 Votes
  • Wa
      May 13, 2010

    They don't care either way, whoever they bought the servicing rights from already got paid from insurance policies betting on folks to default.

    THEY ARE ALL CROOKS AND FOR YOU BONEHEADS WHO KEEP SAYING "PAY YOUR BILLS"... keep paying yours knucklehead.

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Aug 25, 2010

    Selene is the most unprofessional place I have ever delt with. Starting with their phone system that will not let you talk to a person unless you put in a wrong extion 4 times, then it will transfer you to a person, but you have to figure that out on your own. They have had me explain my problem 8 times to 8 different people in the company, and a different person calls me every few days. I have told them what I can afford, which is more than what they have said they are gonna short sell it to someone else for. This place is just plane full of BS!

    +1 Votes
  • At
      Aug 26, 2010

    Selene Finance said that they could short sale our house and give us 3, 000-10, 000 to relocate...does anyone know if this is true?

    -1 Votes
  • At
      Aug 26, 2010

    Selene Finance offered me a short sale and said that when the house sold they will give us 3, 000-10, 000 to relocate...does anyone know if this is true?

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
      Aug 30, 2010

    Selene Finance is the worst company in the world to deal with why do they want our homes when we can make the payments if they get you back on track. My mother had a very bad hardship and they still wouldn't help her and she is 78 years old with 2 kids 13 & 16 how about that for helping. The guy by the name of Kevin he is ruthless threatened my mother and told her all kinds of crap and I had to rush her to the hospital because of the these he said. I don't know how he sleeps at night. I hope the [censor] does and one of the days it will happen to him and then he will be in our shoes and no one will help him. What comes around goes around.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
      Sep 17, 2010

    I'm a professional consumer advocate and have just contacted Selene regarding a breach in one of their modificatiion aggreements. If you really want to succeeed against them, force to to take you to court to foreclose. The cost to them is very high, and the final decision is based on a jury of your peers. In many cases you will gain far more than just a modification. The goal is to get them to incur as much cost as possible in foreclosing so that they really do try to help you stay in your home. Obama has empowered these banks at the cost of you homes.
    What a crook!!!

    0 Votes
  • If your paper work gets on a guys desk by the name "KEVIN" please ask for another person to handle your paperwork or your loan modification. Because he is a JERK and A LIAR, [censor].

    Selene Finance is the worst company in the world to deal with I agree with all of the compliants they are CROOKS they spoke to my mother that is 78 years old like she was a dog yelling at her and this person was KEVIN so something has to be done about this company I don't know what we as customer will have to do but something has to be done to put them out of business.

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 28, 2010

    Selene Finance is certainly a crooked company and Kevin Wardlow is a sorry excuse for a mortgage professional - he claims to be a supervisor but he's really just a phone rep who has some supervisor duties. He is drunk with power and is not concerned with actually getting anything done. They are like 99% of the mortgage companies out there right now - completely and totally lost

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 06, 2010

    Selene Finance are crooks they made a forbearace agreement with us for six months. After the six months they promised to refinace us. We payed on the sixth month all on time payments of $3, 600. we payed via the telephone (check by phone). On the last and finally payment that is when they said they took the wrong number down from our checking account and did not receive payment on tim. Now we would have to start the forbearace all over again. Oh I also forgot to mention they love to say we have not payed them in months.

    We did not agree with that.

    Next they said they would reinstate our loan if we would give them $5000 on Friday so we said ok. When Friday came they said they wanted $10, 000. They forced us into bankruptacy to protect our home.

    The new one is give them $30, 000 and $4000 a month and they will give us a forbearance agreement.

    Or just go ahead and short sell.

    I say we should all ban together and have the US Aattorney General take a look at this company and there practices.


    Dana

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 06, 2010

    Dana - Are you in California?

    I think everybody should definitely ban together. Selene is a private company (not a bank), and is certainly not following proper laws in California. They are required to offer a modification before attempting to foreclose but do not do so.

    Go to www.HOPENOW.com and see if you qualify. Selene is supposed to offer this to homeowners but they don't because they are a crooked company.

    Also, everyone in California should go to www.ag.ca.gov and complain about Selene and their illegal practices. We have rights, and Edmund Brown is there to protect those rights for us homeowners.

    +1 Votes
  • Do
      Nov 01, 2010

    I'm a Realtor in Gilroy CA. I'm currently dealing with this unprofessional company on a short sale. To make a long story short, they said they were going to file a complaint to the Department of Real Estate because I'm advising my client not to pay them and telling him of his rights as a borrower LOL!!. Now I heard it all! I've been doing short sales for 4 years now and dealt with many banks. Never have I dealt with a company as unprofessional as SELENE. My client (borrower) is going to sign a 2 year lease on the home. Bank must honor lease. My client was willing and ready to go with the short sale, however SELENE wants 55k more then what the house is worth. If you are dealing with this bank or co please call me I can also advise you of your rights too. [protected] Doreen Ordaz.

    +2 Votes
  • Re
      Nov 17, 2010

    I'm about to put a property on the market that has a note serviced by Selene in Maryland. Any advice would be greatly appreiated Carolyn Thompson SFR [protected].

    +1 Votes
  • Sm
      Dec 29, 2010

    Please everyone if you want this company investigated, file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission.
    www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      Jan 22, 2011

    I am going through the same thing with Selene myself. They want more a month than what my mortgage payment is now. I told them I can't afford that much and the first thing they asked was "Can we help you with a quick sale" I told them no that somehow I was going to keep my home. They are not willing to work with me at all and want to charge me 230. for insurance that I already pay myself per month.

    +1 Votes
  • Fm
      Jan 24, 2011

    They are a horrible company! We can't get anyone to call us back! All of the previous posts are describing what I am going through now...is there anything I can do at all...or do I just give up and let my house go?

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
      Apr 06, 2011

    Has anyone experienced a successful Forbearance Agreement, made their payments on time and had their loan reinstated with Selene Finance?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Apr 22, 2011

    How does this Selene get peoples morgtages from the original loan holder ?

    0 Votes
  • Selene has helped many others, and the ones that are complaining are the ones who wants them to make a miracle happen over night when you have not paid your morgatge in over a year. YOU CAN NOT LIVE FOR FREE AND THEN EXPECT SOMEONE TO HAVE PITTY ON YOUR SITUATION. We are all adults and you are held responsible for all decisions you make in life, this is including when you signed your name on that dotted line and agreed that you would be able to financially support your monlty payment. SO NOW YOU HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT!

    -3 Votes
  • Ra
      Jun 21, 2011

    We are allowing these companies to take our homes. And being reimburst by our tax dollar. We don't want to live free in our homes-- but we do want a fair process to keep our homes. We have been in our home for 11 years and took out a loan that was design to create the opprotunity to loose our home. We spoke with Selene and as stated before they want to evaluate the home $$$. However to take this home they will have to come down to the local court house. We will have our day in court and be judged by peers of this community. Homeowners don't give up fight for the AMERICAN DREAM.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Sep 22, 2011

    hello All,
    if you want to stop them in their tracks - try every possible resolution in the modification program then push them to the very end of negotiations if you cannot get resolution then file a chapter 13 bankruptcy on the last day before foreclosure. Find out how to do it yourself without an attorney and save even more. This will only cost a few hundred bucks in fees if you do it yourself. After less than 14 days remove yourself from bankruptcy voluntarily. This is the only chapter that lets you do this. When they come at you again - perhaps your wife can do the same if she is on the loan or title. They cannot get around this - period. Also save each mtg payment and put it in your pocket. lawyers will charge you a fortune for this info- but its yours for free. I would love to give you all my tricks so we can collectively break their noses. It is a land grab by the rich so do not fight fair . Cash is power. use the time to find other income while holding onto your mtg. Trust no one. Use the cash and your time to start a business.

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 14, 2011

    Hey everyone! We have been trying to work with Selene since Dec. 2010. They set up our forbearance payments for four months. We completed the 4 payments. Now we are being referred to companies or banks for our refinance. The first company wasn't even licensed in Maryland to do refinances. Then we were referred to a bank that was to refinance us. After months of working with the bank. Sending all the documents requested to speedily get the refi done. we suppose to have been going to closing by November so that our new mortgage payment would be in affect. Our payment would have decreased by about 800 a month, compared to the elevated payment we are making now. We were contacted today by the bank stating that they no longer deal with Selene's Loans for this particular program!??? I asked why, what happen? He simply said he didn't know but he just got this info from his people. Now we are trying to get a hold of someone at Selene to help. The Bank person said that Selene will just refer you to another bank. I will post another comment after we find out what is next for us... Hopefully, we will be refinanced soon.

    0 Votes
  • Wo
      Oct 22, 2011

    Can someone on here start a webpage about Selene?? Based on my converations with my business and bankruptcy attorny, and my local and state gov't officials, there may be enough evidence to support a CLASS ACTION LAWASUIT!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Nov 01, 2011

    My loan was just transferred to them Oct. 11th. I was approved for a 3 month forebearance and just made the first payment today. WHat happens, if like Won't get my house above says- and after I pay 3 months on time, they reject my refi-- they foreclose right away?

    0 Votes
  • Tm
      Nov 19, 2011

    We are haveing the same kinda problems with selene.They bougth our loan from litton on Jan 2011 been makin payments and ins that adds up to 756.86 and they have accepted everyone until sept they now declined our payment and sent it back because they wont 920.00 now so i sent 1, 000 its been a month hasent posted to acc yet.They say dont seed anymore money until we here from them.dont know what happened to that money!! So now they wont 1, 400.00 a month this was on wensday we call someone else says that lady made a mistake its 2, 000.00 a month.Wonts to send someone to look at house inside and out So they say now we are 3 months behind.What the hell are peolpe like us subposed to do? Fixing to talk to a laywer any saguesstions on how to handle this!!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jan 09, 2012

    My husband and I just filed a lawsuit against Selene. We are in California. Anyone else here in California?

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 14, 2012

    Selene Finance, after 7 months of communication as my home was in foreclosure, ADMITTED that they did Not have to comply with the Presidents plan to stay in my home and I asked for a permanent loan modification amount, before I signed it, I was denied that, then I was told I would also have to pay the amount in arrears in addition to whatever amount they decided on for my payment. My home was included in bankruptcy and Selene Finance company told me that I had better take the loan modification. Unfortunately when third parties are involved and loans are sold off, we as the borrower have no control over what company decides to pick up the loan. Please stay away from this company, also, be aware that the representatives who are trying to force you into a forbearance also net 25% of the loan that is recouped.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 14, 2012

    My state is Colorado, and I am sorry for everyone in a hardship with Selene Finance. Just remember, God does see all and will deal with them in His time, and thank you Lord for taking me out of this situation! God is good all the time!

    0 Votes
  • Co
      May 19, 2012

    Wait wait. Someone actually said two posts ago that they are upset that their mortgage company wants them to pay the money they haven't paid in the past few months (so probably longer) Omg. You're living RENT FREE and you want that all excused. I don't understand your logic. Your congressman is going to help you? How about you pay your mortgage every month just like I do. I struggle every month to make sure it's the first thing I pay. You've decided it's too much to pay and probably paid most other bills. I bet they'd help you sell your house. I know you may not WANT to but maybe you have too. I don't live in a 350k house because I can't afford that. My 200k is just enough for me to afford.

    This attitude of "your screwing me by making me pay for my home" is absolutely insane. You lived in it pay for it. What do u do for clothes? Make them from tree bark?

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      May 21, 2012

    I came on to this website to see if Selene had treated other people unfairly. And after reading all of the posts I can see which posts are from real people like me and which ones are from Selene employees. I have paid my mortgage on time every month for 4 years and made one late payment, only because I deposited a check from someone that bounced so I have no caught up on my last payment that was only 10 days late. I have been trying to get a loan modification for three years and its nothing but ### from the last three companies that have owned or serviced my loan. They have no interest in helping anyone. I have talked to several people at Selene and I think they are truly a bunch of ###S!!! I hope there is a class action suit on this company, But I doubt it will happen. I cant wait to sell my house so I don't have to deal with mortgage companies ever again. I have several hundred thousand dollars of equity in my home but cant sell it in this economy and refuse to give my house away. Cant refinance my house cause my income has gone down sufficiently and banks are not easy to get mortgage money from now.The Obama plan is a joke, these banks don't give a ### about all the money they got a couple years ago. They just use it as bonuses to ### employees to screw over the public. They can do more than they are doing to help people out. I hope when someone they screwed over finds out they have a terminal disease they pack themselves up good and go to a Selene office and goes out with a bang. Maybe then Selene will wake up and smell the coffee!! Until that time FU Selene finance!! I will pay my mortgage and you will never get my home. I will call their office everyday and harass everyone that answers the phone. And I will pay my loan on the last day of the grace period EVERY month and when they call me I will treat them like ### and be a rude as possible to who ever calls me. Karma is a ### Selene!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Fr
      Jan 03, 2013

    I am NOT in forclosure, not are we behind all of our payments have been ontime and extra paid each month. Our mortage was sold from Flagstar Bank to Selene Finance. Do we need to be worried?

    +1 Votes
  • Hl
      Jan 03, 2013

    Dear FruseratedatVMF -- I'm in the same position. Been with Flagstar Bank for 5+ years, never had a problem and received the letter from Flagstar that my mortgage has been sold. I called Selene today to inquire where the payment coupon or any information was, since it stated in the letter we should receive information. Once I finally got someone, she just raved about how great their company is even though the system wouldn't be updated until Monday with my account info. I told her they've made a lousy first impression --- this board is really having me nervous

    -1 Votes
  • Gr
      Jan 07, 2013

    Also got the Flagstar letter. What's up with them? Perhaps it time to look into a refi, I sure get plenty of invitations in the mail... It certainly does not sound like this is a company I want to deal with.

    0 Votes
  • Do
      Jan 14, 2013

    My loan from FlagStar was sold to Selene too! Hmm... my wife and I hover at around 800 credit score. We have never been late on a payment for our mortgage, car, etc. I got my letter a month ago and I have not heard anything from Selene. I tried their customer service number only to get " this number has been disconnected or no longer in service (20 times in a row - checking and rechecking the number). I finally got a "back up" number from the complaints department. Here I am on hold for over 15 minutes now. WOW - WHAT A GREAT COMPANY THIS IS GOING TO BE TO WORK WITH! This is the kind of crap that pisses me off.

    +1 Votes
  • Ko
      Jan 17, 2013

    We were just transferred to Selene too and I just set up our first online payment. I don't see any option for automatic monthly withdrawal. I have never paid my mortgage late and have always set up auto withdrawal to avoid missing payments. I surely hope they have this option. Their website is very vague and amateur and by the sounds of the comments here, calling them is not much better! Not happy about this!

    0 Votes

Post your comment