SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Pella Windows / Product failure

Troy, MI, United States Review updated:

Windows did not stand up to expectation. Window leak and sash rot within 12 years. Pella had been contacted several times about condensation between the panes while under warranty (10 years at this time); and was told it was a problem with my heating system and humidifier (which was installed due to dryness in house during winter months)---so tried to adjust for windows also, but condensation continued. Later after warranty and the discovery of wood rod, I was told via a certified Pella contractor that the condensation was probably the result of poor caulking allowing water leakage, thus condensation and the sash would have to be replace at my expense. While under warranty, I was never told to check the caulking nor did Pella Service rep. This was new contruction and every window in the house was a Pella--would never use again or recommend to anyone--very poor service department/reps.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Gs
      Aug 15, 2010

    We purchased over 50 units of Pella Architect Series Douglas Fir Double Hung windows and doors in August 2009. We paid 100% the day we placed the order. The units were delivered 3 weeks later than the contract delivery date. Pella did not care that they were unable to stand behind their own contract date, nor did they care that we had a month of expenses related to the late delivery date on our construction site.

    The windows were installed directly after being delivered. The windows leak rain, snow and wind. Pella replaced the order with a second set of products. Once these were installed, they also leak water, snow and wind. Pella will not answer our calls, emails or in person visits.

    We live 45 minutes from the main factory in Pella, Iowa and still Pella is not able to even pay any attention to our mess. We are unable to hang drywall as there is so much moisture in our home this year that we now have a mold problem due to the water that is coming in our house. Pella has our money and does not care!

    We are unsure where to go from here. If you think we could be of help to you or if you have any suggestions for us please let us know at [protected]@aol.com. We have dozens of pictures of the damage and many pieces of written correspondence between Pella and ourselves.

    Please DO NOT PURCHASE PELLA they LEAK and they don't care about the customer or their own product. All they care about is that they get their money.

    I am going to attach a photo of a large window unit which has two windows mulled (joined) together. You can see the daylight that shows through in the corner of the sash. You can also see the water that came in during the morning rain. We have an entire home full of windows just like this that leak water, snow and wind.

    I look forward to hearing from anyone who we could help or could help us.


    Thank you,
    Sharron McKee

    0 Votes
  • Gs
      Jul 08, 2011

    We would like to give you an update. We are spending the 3rd summer homeless because of our fateful decision to purchase Pella Windows. Pella has sent to our home teams of men. The last team of 4 Pella employees was in our home in January 2011. At that time, that team told us that Pella would be glad to manufacture a 3rd set of 49 windows and have them installed by the end of February 2011. We agreed to this process. It is July 7, 2011 and we have not seen anything from Pella since January 2011.

    We installed the first set of 49 Pella Architect Series double hung douglas fir windows in October 2009, the second set in February 2010 and are awaiting the third set. As you can see from our first post, we paid in full for our window order in 2009 and have been sorry for that decision ever since!

    We posted a Youtube video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8vYK2cy-9Y about our home and created a website at pelladecideforyourself.com. We hear from families on a nearly daily basis that are in our similar boat. Pella has proven, unfortunately, to hundreds of families that we know of, to be a company that does not stand behind their product. As a Christian family, we are extremely disappointed with Pella because they are located in a well known Christian Community. We have had to, after 3 summers, contact an attorney. We do not believe in law suits, but we are homeless, for no other reason than the fact that our brand new Pella Architect Series double hung douglas fir windows leak water/air/snow.

    Please make your window purchase from any other company than Pella. They are involved in a class action law suit involving their Pro Line Windows. It is obvious that they just cannot stand behind their product, as they have been cheating families for years.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
      Jul 12, 2011

    I have the same problem and have come to the conclusion that Pella sucks. Their marketing and pricing leads you to believe it's a high quality product. It's not until a few years after install that you realize it's complete crap. The hardware is somewhat heavy duty but the rest of the window is garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Gs
      Sep 25, 2012

    We have also found out, by purchasing 49 Pella Architect Series Double Hung windows, that Pella does not stand behind their products. We are now working out our differences in a court of law. As many of you may know, once you have been taken by a company, at least in Iowa, we only had 2 years to file with the court for help. We gave Pella the benefit of the doubt and nearly 2 years to fix our windows. They refused to even attempt to provide any communication unless we called every day or emailed every day. We then figured out that Pella was only "playing us" to run out their 2 year time frame. So here we sit, waiting on the Iowa Court System to play out. Our trial is set for Marion County Court, Iowa on February 12, 2013. This has been a long time coming, as we have been homeless since the fall of 2009 when we installed our Pella windows into our home. They leak water/snow so badly that we have an extremely awful mold problem when it is wet. You can see the videos that are posted on YouTube of our home under Pella Window Problems. We posted these so that other home owners could see the potential windows that they might be thinking of putting into their homes. We want to educate the population on our problems. Please do your homework!

    0 Votes

Post your comment