SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

North American Bancard / Fees, rates, passwords

MI, United States Review updated:

Where to begin...their customer service has consistently placed me on hold for extended periods of time and even at one point did not even pick up after waiting for 45 minutes on hold! Their effective rate was part of a tiered program that came out over 4% even though I of course was promised to have lowered cost if I switched. I finally found an honest person in the processing business who exposed the high rates I was paying and told me about pass through interchange rates and even left me a copy of the interchange rates. Here is where the fun begins!!! I contacted both their customer service and terminal support numbers, as the processor that I wanted to switch to found that the terminals I purchased had a password that was not known. They consistently placed me on hold, I''m assuming so that in frustration I would hang up...I actually did on several occasions, as I have a business to run, not to be placed on hold indefinitely. I was then told that I would have to close my account first, and pay their cancellation fees before they would release my password on my terminals. Their business is built on fraud, scam, high fees and a total lack of integrity. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM...EVER! As a small business owner, they lack service, integrity and honesty, which I count as the necessary building blocks to success. If this helps at least one potential prospect, then I have been vindicated.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Rp
      Jul 28, 2011

    Dear Merchant,

    We at NAB are saddened to hear that you feel that you have experienced an unsatisfactory service level while working with our company. We apologize for any periods of high call volume, which may have caused you to wait on hold for an extended duration. As far as your rates go, our pricing is amongst the lowest in the industry. In switching to us for credit card processing, one should never encounter a situation in which they are paying more per month than they were paying previously. If you believe that your rates have increased, I definitely encourage you to contact us for a review of your pricing so that we can provide you with the rates you deserve. Passwords are in most cases placed on terminals that belong to NAB. This is done so that our property is not used in connection with another credit card processor. Unfortunately, I cannot gain enough information from your post to determine your specific merchant account number. We would be happy to research your terminal password situation, as well as the before mentioned pricing inquiry. Please feel free to contact our Research Analyst, Scott at (866) 485-8999, extension 1256 to discuss these matters further.

    Best Regards,
    Rebecca Paull
    Research Manager

    0 Votes
  • Ee
      Nov 15, 2011

    I closed my bus. checking account before they could steal anymore money from it. Total scam. Sales pitch is as worthless as the terminals that they supply. Fees are a joke. Non existent customer service. THIEVES. DO NOT SIGN ANYTHING WITH THEM!

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Nov 18, 2011

    E E,
    Closing your business account will most likely cause your account to go to collections. We'd love to speak to you further in order to review your account.
    Please feel free to contact me via email - [protected]@nabancard.com.
    Please make sure to include your merchant number.
    Thanks so much,
    Rebecca Paull
    Research Manager

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 13, 2011

    The NAB also refused to provide the (free) terminal (as the NAB’s advertisement) and refused to program PCCharge Software on our POS system as clearly indicated in the Merchant Application.
    On November 16, 2010, We wrote a letter to Rebbecca Paull, Research Manager of NAB trying to resolve the merchant’s issue, but I got no response from her. One year later, the NAB placed the merchant account in collection.
    MERCHANT No. 8788290220884

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 14, 2011

    We received a correspondence from you on 10/27/2010. On 11/01/2010, we responded asking to please provide specific information, as the letter your sent was simply asking for a copy of all contracts and that you would like to stop any charges.
    Again, we show that we shipped the requested free terminal and swapped it when there was an issue with it.
    I urge you to reach out to me directly so that we can actually assist you.
    My email is [protected]@nabancard.com.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 14, 2011

    Rebecca,
    We sent a letter dated 10/27/2010, and we specifically asked for the copy of origin contract, not illegible document. You responded, on 11/01/2010, that you want to resolve the issue without further delay, however, you did not provide us a copy of the origin contract as requested, but a copy of illegible copy of copy of fax (I understand that you would tell me that you didn't keep or lost the origin contract). On 11/16/2010, I response to your 11/01/2010 letter trying to resolve the merchant issue of the NAB refusing to provide the FREE terminal and software as clearly indicated on the application (I clearly understand that you already said you not receive it!). Since then, I heard no response but one year later, the merchant account in collection.
    Rebecca, since this is the first time I heard that the NAB sent us a FREE terminal as indicated on the merchant application, can you provide (or write) us a statement states that the NAB already send us a FREE terminal on date xxx? I want in writing!
    Assume that the NAB did send the "FREE" terminal to us, then why did the NAB refuse to reprogram PC Charge software as clearly indicated on the application?

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 22, 2011

    DukeL,
    We have received back the equipment that was provided for free, and we had also built a file for the PC Charge that was available for download and processing at your convenience.
    We apologize for any misunderstanding and will be sending you additional information via U.S. Postal mail.
    Thanks,
    Rebecca Paull
    Research Manager

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 24, 2011

    Rebecca,
    Yeah! It's misunderstanding that the PayProTech (forgery) turned the FREE equipment (of NAB) into the LEASE equipment.(of First Data), and the PC Charge was available that located (hidden) somewhere that we haven't known. The deal was the NAB reprogram our PC Terminal, not we reprogram our PC. I look forward to see what's in your additional information.
    Rebecca,
    The card service agreement without the Merchant's ACCEPTANCE is the NON-BINDING contract, and the NAB withdrew money from the merchant's bank account based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract was an act of a thief, and by sending the the merchant account to a collection based on the NON-BINDING contract was totally illegal.
    The NAB shall be responsible for any damages caused by its acts!

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 29, 2011

    Rebecca,
    According to the PayProTech who signed the Merchant's application, the equipment was the LEASE equipment of the First Data, and it's NOT the FREE equipment of the NAB. Until now, there is no reprogram PC Charge software setting up for us to perform any credit card transaction.
    Please read the last paragraph of the Merchant's Acceptance section in the Merchant Application. It clearly states:
    "A MERCHANT'S SUBMISSION OF A TRANSACTION TO GLOBAL DIRECT SHALL BE DEEMED TO SIGNIFY THE MERCHANT'S ACCEPTANCE OF AGREEMENT, INCLUDING THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS HEREIN." Hence, we've never submitted any transaction, therefore is NO ACCEPTANCE of the Agreement.
    The card service agreement without the Merchant's ACCEPTANCE is the NON-BINDING contract, and the NAB withdrew money from the merchant's bank account based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract was an act of a thief, and by sending the the merchant account to a collection based on the NON-BINDING contract was totally illegal."

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Dec 30, 2011

    Again, We have responded to you via email.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca Paull

    0 Votes
  • Du
      Dec 30, 2011

    Rebecca,
    Not only what you wrote but also the amount the NAB had been debited to our bank account before November 01, 2010, based on the term of the NON-BINDING contract should be reimbursed.
    Please understand that no one would do $ business with people who tricked and forged documents.

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Jan 03, 2012

    As I have advised numerous times via email, although your claims are not completely factual, we have canceled your account and removed all amounts from the collection agency.
    In regards to First Data Leasing, we are not party to any lease agreements. That would be an agreement with a third party provider, and unfortunately we can not assist with any aspect of that, however you are able to share with them our correspondences if needed. You would need to work with them directly.
    No credits are due to the business as we have cleared all previous losses.
    Again, we apologize for any misunderstandings that have occurred with your account and wish you the best going forward.
    Thank you,
    Rebecca

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 28, 2012

    Hmmm, seems to me everybody lost and everybody won. NAB you should have resolved this in a faster time frame. Duke you seemed to deal with this from a place of anger and in doing so i think you are part to blame for the length of time it took to resolve your issues.
    I am considering changing to NAB but am going to think hard on the matter now. This has been an eye opening read.
    Thank You both Duke & Rebecca
    p.s Rebecca great job

    0 Votes
  • Du
      May 31, 2012

    Mark,
    Rebecca said "No credits are due to the business as we have cleared all previous losses", and the NAB removed from the collection. But now the NAB have places the cancelled/clear account with another collection agent! (May 24, 2012).

    0 Votes
  • Rp
      Jun 13, 2012

    Hello DukeL,

    Your account has been removed from all collection agencies. A follow-up inquiry will be sent to each agency to assure that all loses have been cleared.

    If additional assistance is needed, please do not hesitate to contact me at 1-866-485-8999, extension 1251or via email [protected]@nabancard.com.

    Sincerely,
    Veronica Jackson
    Research Analyst

    0 Votes
  • Do
      May 17, 2013

    This company has scammed me out of $1141.01 in 6 months and I have not used the service ONE time! I have a small cleaning business and got the credit card terminal because it was supposed to be free equipment and $12 per month service fee plus a small percentage of the money processed. Instead it was $23-$37 per month because they added other services "as a courtesy"! I called and cancelled the service after they took $135.90 out of my checking acct in March. I asked the customer service rep where to return the terminal and he said he would get that info to me. Instead they STOLE $895 plus $135.90 out of my checking account the following month. I called and was told this was for the terminal and a stop payment fee. I said I want to return the terminal and was advised they don't want it-- and there is nothing I can do to get my money back!!! Any advice for me?

    0 Votes

Post your comment