SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Lincare / deception

15460 Lakeside Village Drive, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 5867386172

I have no problems revealing my name. I recently went to order some cpap equipment. Lincare was one of the names provided by my doctor. The woman i spoke to got all my past information, as far back as my original sleep study to the one i had the latter part of 2010. She asked all about my equipment. I even explained to her that the reason i was not going to get the quipment from the prior company was because they were giving me the tubing that was stiff like an elephant hose. She even said to me, that's because they get the cheapest stuff.

However, the next morning, she calls and leaves a message on my recording. First of all, you should not leave personal medical information on someone's recording because of the hipaa law. Second, don't be a coward. Talk to the person. So i had no problem in calling her back to ask her to clarify herself.

She said, and i quote, i had to get my cpap equipment from the original place i ordered it from, which has been the once company until recently, for the following reason: uh, the equipment you have is still owned by medicare and so therefore you have to order all of your stuff from the first place, sorry. I also wanted to get a folding walker too.

I told her i was going to call medicare because i didn't believe that to be true. Then i said, wow, wait a minute, when i initially got the cpap machine, i had medicaid. I know the policy of medicare and medicaid, that you must use this for a complete 13 months. They come check the equipment to make sure you have been using it. A lot of people do not. If you have been doing as prescribed, you then own it. If not, you must return it. So when i originally received it was in 2008 and i had medicaid, not medicare. The gentleman from medicare said you've only had medicare since april of 2010 and have only received cpap supplies once while having medicare. He also explained to me their rules, just as i know it to be.

So this woman out and out lied to me. I'm not sure exactly why, so i called back and spoke to a woman in the respitory department. She said she would check into it. No return call. I called back again and got the lady on the phone who i originally spoke to. She was dumbfounded that a patient / customer could actually be so smart as to know what was what and was speechless. I told her i was going to be going else where anyway and to make sure she ripped up my personal medical information.

I'm writing this complaint because she out and out lied to me. I don't think you should deal with a company that lies. I even said, hey, i'm an adult, just say the reason the real reason why. So because of their cowardness and what i feel is a corrupt way of handling business by lying, i would recommend not doing business with them and will tell everyone i know not to. It's just plain wrong to lie to people when you're doing business. Everybody you deal with is without a brain. I am one of those people i was not born under a rock or born yesterday.

I have not hidden my name because i have nothing to hide. I live in michigan. That is my story and can prove it.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sc
      May 13, 2010
    Lincare - No response to three orders
    LIncare
    Kentucky
    United States

    I have called in two orders for equipment and we placed an order with the automated order line. We have never received any of the orders. I can't even find a number to call that isn't defunct. But again tonight we get a recording asking if we need any supplies. YES WE DO but you sure are not sending them.

    0 Votes
  • Ln
      Nov 09, 2010

    Did you contact your local LinCare office and speak with the Center Mgr? If not, that would be a start - no response from there - ask for the AREA Manager's name and #. If all else fails, contact LinCare corp office in Clearwater, FL. Perhaps they can get this mess taken care of for you. Hope all is well now.

    +1 Votes
  •   Jul 14, 2011

    I have no problems revealing my name. I recently went to order some CPAP equipment. Lincare was one of the names provided by my doctor. The woman I spoke to got all my past information, as far back as my original sleep study to the one I had the latter part of 2010. She asked all about my equipment. I even explained to her that the reason I was not going to get the quipment from the prior company was because they were giving me the tubing that was stiff like an elephant hose. She even said to me, that's because they get the cheapest stuff.

    However, the next morning, she calls and leaves a message on my recording. First of all, you should not leave personal medical information on someone's recording because of the HIPAA Law. Second, don't be a coward. Talk to the person. So I had no problem in calling her back to ask her to clarify herself.

    She said, and I quote, I had to get my CPAP equipment from the original place I ordered it from, which has been the once company until recently, for the following reason: Uh, the equipment you have is still owned by Medicare and so therefore you have to order all of your stuff from the first place, sorry. I also wanted to get a folding walker too.

    I told her I was going to call Medicare because I didn't believe that to be true. Then I said, wow, wait a minute, when I initially got the CPAP Machine, I had medicaid. I know the policy of Medicare and Medicaid, that you must use this for a complete 13 months. They come check the equipment to make sure you have been using it. A lot of people do not. If you have been doing as prescribed, you then own it. If not, you must return it. So when I originally received it was in 2008 and I had Medicaid, not Medicare. The gentleman from Medicare said you've only had Medicare since April of 2010 and have only received CPAP supplies once while having Medicare. He also explained to me their rules, just as I know it to be.

    So this woman out and out lied to me. I'm not sure exactly why, so I called back and spoke to a woman in the respitory department. She said she would check into it. No return call. I called back again and got the lady on the phone who I originally spoke to. She was dumbfounded that a patient/customer could actually be so smart as to know what was what and was speechless. I told her I was going to be going else where anyway and to make sure she ripped up my personal medical information.

    I'm writing this complaint because she out and out lied to me. I don't think you should deal with a company that lies. I even said, hey, I'm an adult, just say the reason the real reason why. So because of their cowardness and what I feel is a corrupt way of handling business by lying, I would recommend not doing business with them and will tell everyone I know not to. It's just plain wrong to lie to people when you're doing business. Everybody you deal with is without a brain. I am one of those people I was not born under a ROCK or BORN YESTERDAY.

    I have not hidden my name because I have nothing to hide. I live in Michigan. That is my story and can prove it.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      May 07, 2012

    Why are you calling Apria regarding equipment billed to you by Lincare???

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Jun 05, 2012

    i've been using lincare for years and all was well until recently. my c-pap machine is malfunctioning and i am due a new one. can i get it from them? no. i've been run round and round. finally one service person told me that the company is in turmoil. anyway, i have not had a machine that works properly for a couple of months and they keep telling me it my insurance company. they promise to call me back and never do. this is putting my health at risk. why do i have to fight for my health?

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Apr 13, 2013

    I got a bill from lincare, stating that I owe them 50.12 more than my deductable. I called and explained I paid all my deductable as soon as I got the bill, as I always do. They then informed me the bill was for 2012. That is not true, I pay my bills as soon as I get them. I do not owe them any money. Who should I call, my lawyer?

    0 Votes
  • Ai
      Apr 29, 2015

    I challenge ANYONE to find the PHONE NUMBER posted on any Lincare web page for customers to order c-pap supplies! Even their web page dedicated to sleep therapy and cpap therapy shows NO phone number to contact them for supplies and support, only the CORPORATE offices number for the whole Lincare company is buried in fine print on the very bottom!!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Nov 14, 2017

    I had to rent a unit that I could take on the airplane and the local store ordered it from Florida. Two weeks later they called and said they had it in and I picked it up at the office here in Rock Springs, WY. It was a larger machine than I had rented before and heavier. When I got to the airport and went to go through checking my ticket and checking in my luggage, they questioned my machine. which I was using at the time. (had put it on a the curb when I got there outside with two full batteries) and said it wasn't airplane approved. They looked all over it for some identification and finally rubbed off a sticker to see the picture of an airplane. Then they had to see the order that I had to have oxygen. I finally called my doctor and he had to fax permission and I was able to go to security. I am in a wheel chair with this large machine resting on my feet as there was no place big enough to put the machine in or on. At security, I had to let them have the machine where they checked it thoroughly, made phone calls and said the machine was an older machine and was going to let me go through, but didn't like it. I finally get on the plane and it won't fit under the seat in front of me. The attendant and I push and shoved and could not push it under the seat. Now it is under my feet with my legs straddled over it for the flight. There again they did not want that "machine" on the plane. Now the battery I had put in at the curb was run down, so I get the other battery out to put it in and within 30 minutes into an hour and a half ride, the battery was dead. It was set at three. I just kept taking deep, deep breaths to get me to my destination, where I did not need oxygen at all (sea level. As soon as I got off the plane I started breathing good air. Two and a half weeks later on my return flight...same thing..I was charged $375 for this machine and needed a receipt for my insurance. I called the office in Rock Springs, WY and told them I needed a receipt. They after waiting for over a week gave me "receipt" with no name on it except mine, and some various numbers my name, my credit card infor. No name of a company or address or anything to identify who you were. I called this office when it was refused by my insurance and they said they would try to get me an invoice type receipt. After two weeks of that, they said they didn't get any response but would keep trying...I started calling on my own and found when it said you guys handle problems. I called the 1-800-284-2006 and talked to a Rosa about it and she was going to handle it and get back to me. That was two weeks ago. I called back three times and they said two times she was on the phone and the last time she was out to lunch, they would give her a message to call me... Still waiting, no call, no nothing. I wonder why you folks can't just give me a receipt with your name and address on it, or an invoice marked paid...Please do me the honor of receiving a call back from somebody. I am going to change oxygen suppliers anyway, but I have to get a lawyer to get you people to act. My name is Doris J.Davis, P.O.Box 1843, Rock Springs, WY 82902 telephone 1-307-382-6866/ Thank you.

    0 Votes

Post your comment