SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Keranique / dishonesty

Review updated:

I just received their product yesterday and I am sending back it in the mail. Your great hair regrowth product is nothing more than what is found in Minoxidil (Rogaine) for women and can be purchased over-the-counter, AND is does not cost almost $80.

Also, I am very dissatified to find an additional $3.00 charged to my account when only the $7.95 Shipping & Handling was supposed to charged just to try this "amazing new product". The $3.00 was billed in two seperate charges of $1.50 each for "yourbeautyadvisor". I did not ask for that. What this company did was made the promotional offer, I accepted and gave them my charging information. From there it one promotion after the other that I keep telling them, all I wanted to try was the Keranique. A 2-3 minute phone call ended up being almost a 30 minute phone call. I was very upset. My first gut feeling was not to bother with this, and I now see that I should have gone with my first thought. All this company has done was to reenforce to me that purchasing anything hurried and without research almost ALWAYS spell disaster and discontentment.

This promotional offer is nothing but a front to offer 10 to 15 other offers, that if you are not careful, you will say yes to something unaware. If you are taking part in this offer, please check your account for other sneaky charges (ex. $1.50 charges that added up)

Heated in Helena

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • wow ...helena you must be pretty dumb. i read your post and wanted to see if the company was as bad as you said. i went through the automated call..which was long but very specific and clearly put. I was informed of everything i was charged as well as any additional offers. once i received my products i called for my return which was handled very well . i then called 5 days later to see if the product was received and it was and my account was closed. so helena if you failed to listen to the entire call because it was long that is your fault..but stop trying to put down a company just because you cant follow instructions of have adult add..grow up and take responsibilty for you actions...they didnt call you ...you called them...

    -6 Votes
  • He
      May 27, 2011

    Thank you for your Comment to my Comment. That is your right. However, your experience is yours and mine is mine. The point of my complaint was that this company is not honest in there disclosures about this "NEW" product. The only thing new about it is the name Keranique. Minoxidil, which is what they are packaging, has been around for years and it does not cost 79.95. When you read the active and inactive ingrediants on Rogaine and Keranique, they are identical.

    Also, to your charge that I did not listen to entire call. I do not know HOW in the world you would think that unless you was on my call yourself, ease dropping and then you hung up before the call was finished. Perhaps you work for this great company...(just a thought). I talked to a live person for over 30 minutes. I said no to ALLLLLL additional promotions. At the end of my long call, I to was informed of my charges which would be 7.95 for shipping and handling. THAT IS ALL. The product cost of 79.95 would be billed to me after the trial period ended if I did not cancel. For your information, since your brought this up, my subscription was cancelled and handled very professionally and in a timely manner. THAT IS NOT MY COMPLAINT. My complaints are about the failure to disclose what this wonder product is really made of and for making the unauthorized $3.00 charge to my bank acount in two separate transactions of $1.50 each one week apart. Unfortunantly for them, I balance my acount to ensure my transactions are correct. You MAY think, what is the big deal about $3.00, but look at it this way; say this company fraudulently charges me $3.00 and theydo the same with 1, 000, 000 other customers who do not report it or demand a refund. That is an extra $9, 000, 000 they would collect without selling a thing or service. Hyperthically speaking. There are thousands of company who have lost Class Action Lawsuits for fraudulently charging customers too much or without their concent.

    I want to alert future customers and warn them to keep check of their Charge/checking account for charges they did not authorized.

    Again, your experience is yours and mine is mine. However, I do appreciate you directing your comment to me because it assisted me in clarifing so things and to bring out the point of my complaints. I am just an honest consumer who expect and demands an honest product and honest service. Charge me for a service I requested and that is all.

    Have a blessed day Take,

    V/r
    Heated in Helena

    +2 Votes
  • Ri
      Jul 02, 2011

    This company is nothing but liars. I received the product did not like it, could not tell it did anything for my hair. I called to get returning information I was told I had til the end of June to return product even if product was used. I return the product, knowing they received my returned product and they charge me for the product. That's right I have been charged $59.95 for a product I returned. I am very upset how dishonest can one company be. When I called to get this matter straigthend out the represtative I spoke with was VERY rude. Stay away ripe off.

    +3 Votes
  • Bo
      Jul 05, 2011

    I'm just reading reviews on this product. Seems to me the Keranique company or employee might have replied to this original statement, who else would be so bold as to call someone dumb for posting their experience. Therefore, I will never buy this product. Thank you "Heated in Helena" for posting your complaint. You are one of many I've read today. No way they will get my business. Angela in South Carolina

    +3 Votes
  • Ka
      Aug 03, 2011

    how long did you use the shampoo and conditioner? im not using the minioxidal just the follicle booster and after just one week i have noticed a change in the look and feel of my hair. my hair is soooo thin and light like feathers and after this product it has gained some weight so i can actually feel my hair on my shoulder and back. it looks soooo shiny and smooth its wonderful!!! its too early to notice any regrowth but this product as def given me a confidence boost. i have tried every single product known to man my shower is overflowing with bottles of half used shampoos and my dresser is covered in thickening sprays and creams its ridiculous. ive spent sooooo much money on maintaining my little head of hair and now im so glad to have found something that actually does wat it said it does. its not a miracle product but i got good results. btw my hairloss was due to genetics and stress... i have very thin temples and a slightly widenening part. got b12 shots which sloweed the telogen effluvium as well.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 11, 2011

    Ok, all i have heard was everyone complaining about the money part of it. Has ANYONE actually used the product and got results from using it???

    +1 Votes
  • La
      Aug 30, 2011

    I called this number last night ... as soon as they said the words "shipping" and "credit card" I backed out and hung up Still, I am concerned that they now have my cel phone number (which they never give out) my name and address. My spidey senses said, "scam."

    +1 Votes
  • Si
      Sep 06, 2011

    When buying a product it doesnt work for everyone. It is key to listening to everything before you order. I use it and its a great product I have not had one problem with the company and if you are sending back after one week you havent used it enough to know what it does or doesnt do. Price isnt free its free to try. it is wonderful and i will continue to use it and have beautiful thick hair at 50. No i surely do not work for the company either.

    -1 Votes
  • Aw
      Sep 07, 2011

    Thanks to Helena and the others who complained about Keranique. I wanted to look into Keranique for my wife. If it is minoxidil, it will work for some, but try Rogaine for women (no, I don't work for Rogaine's maker, Pfizer, and that product was unpleasant for me to use; see online reviews of Rogaine). Another note about Keranique: I saw their ad in the USA Weekend for Sept. 2-4 and noticed that they supplied no web site address. When I look at a new product online, I check for reviews, too. Clearly, the people at Keranique do not want you to see the reviews. To Mammabear, see online reviews of Rogaine; the product works for some women apparently but not for all. Just reading the warnings and notes on a container of Rogaine is off-putting, e.g., "Ask a doctor before use if you have heart disease." Oh, boy. But again, the monoxidil in Rogaine works for some, but not for others, and I understand it takes a while to work. Finally, skip Keranique. The reviews and comments here tell any reasonable person why. Even if Keranique works, it's too expensive and Rogaine for women, tho' not inexpensive, is in a nearby drugstore.

    +1 Votes
  • Aw
      Sep 07, 2011

    Let me add a note here. I clicked on a hair-loss-prevention ad at the top of the page here and this came up: Hair Essentials™ for Hair Growth. It claims to block DHT. This product has no complaints here, just glowing reviews elsewhere. Hair Essentials web site even lists all the ingredients in the pills. Hmm. BTW, do not use apostrophes or quotation marks in your comments; they turne into something else.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Sep 07, 2011

    Wow I think"take responsibility for your actions" must work for this company. They obviously think it is their right/privilege to really chew someone out.
    That alone has turned me off, and I will not be buying this.

    +2 Votes
  • Lu
      Sep 08, 2011

    I saw the commercial today and got very excited, but after reading all the negative reviews in my research, I will NOT try this product!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Oo
      Sep 08, 2011

    I just want to add a quick note to Heated in Helena's comment. I got it from the very start that your main complaint was they were basically selling Rogain.. my issue is I've always looked for something in a shampoo form because simply applying Rogain to my hair makes it greasy and I can't go through my day starting off greasy and ending a nasty oil pit. I've always wanted a shampoo form of something to help. For years I used Nioxin, but that doesnt do anything for regrowth.. simply stops the hair from falling out so fast.. and after a while, that didnt even work anymore! :( My hair loss is genetic, and I'm sure stress induced.. Anyhow, I'm excited to try the product. I hope I do not get a lot of those $1 charges because I will agree with you there.. it was aggrivating to sit through all that BS about No, NO, NOOOOO! And I hope the return process is not a pain, in case I need to.. *crosses fingers it works*

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Sep 11, 2011

    I believe products like this should be ordered online, I ordered mine on the site that was provided and there were no other offers, I hope it works and If it doesnt, easy I will cancel my card before the 30 day trial period expires.

    0 Votes
  • Dj
      Sep 22, 2011

    The newspaper ad and the company representative both lied about the offer. I was told it would be a free trial not a pay the whole cost of the product after using it for 30 days. I was told that I could call to cancel it and keep the product. I am mailing it back today and should be charging them for the shipping costs. It takes seven weeks for any signs of hair regrowth, just ask your doctor.

    This product also made my scalp burn and breakout.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Sep 28, 2011

    I haven't tried this, and after hearing all this I won't - was tempted but I hate the 500 question answer crap; why can't it just be about the product at hand? I don't say this without having been there, I have. I won't go there again; I've been roped into my share of things I've had a hard time getting out of, and a harder time explaining the bill to my husband LOL. NOT that some weren't worth it. Hey, it's all what works for you, THAT's what should matter right? I tried Nioxin, but have to be honest, haven't really given it a fair shake. Then guess what? Went on Jenny Craig, started eating a BALANCED diet, and low and behold, my HAIR STARTED GROWING!!! Might try getting your vitamins in... drinking your water.. EATING if you skip breakfast and lunch and are stressed all the time.. for me, my hair STOPPED falling out! I realize this isn't the majority of the problem with people, but with others, it IS a legitimate cause. DIET can cause this. So... check out your diet people, (maybe your thyroid!) and give your diet, a check up. Good luck!~ ps... I've lost 70 pounds, and it's NOT hair! LOL! woo hoo!

    +2 Votes
  • Bl
      Sep 28, 2011

    PS - I have to agree with oOsukieOo and hope I am getting your point as well Helen... no one should have to sit through the B.S. those operators put you through (no offense to them, they're just doing their jobs) .. .. If they say something, they should stand behind it, I don't want to hear another 40 offers potentially tricking me into signing me up into something else. Not cool; especially at 3AM, that's sneaky. The product may be great - the advertising shouldn't keep people from something that might actually work for them. (no, I DON'T work for the company! LOL!) But, I find that sad - I was ready to pick up the phone as well... even though diet has helped me, I'd still like to try something, and the thought of the drudgery and possible hidden charges (cause I'm a sucker) completely hedged me off. Nope, if I try this? I'll get it on Ebay. ;) xoxoxo! In the meantime, I should probably give my Nioxin a chance, since I really haven't... but I still love Ojon... the thickening shampoo... GOOD stuff Doesn't regrow hair, but wow, makes your hair beautiful! That's the other problem, I love trying new shampoo's/conditioners too much! Do what's BEST for YOU :) You're worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
      Sep 28, 2011

    @Annol - reputable products - like Nioxin, and some of the others, can actually be purchased in Salons, you can have them even "test" them on you, you can feel them, see how they work before you buy - not trying to discourage you from buying online. However, sometimes - if it sounds too good to be true - it might just be. It might be worth the while to go to a salon, by a small trial sample - see how you react to it. I know in the case of this product you can't, however, you could rule those out before trying yet another - AND, I do know, things like Nioxin, and Rogaine, DO work, for alot of people ;) And eating your vegetables lol. EAT PEOPLE! EAT! DRINK your water! lol~ Take your vitamins! I'm telling you! But I know.. these shampoo's and treatments are definately something that help show some "immediate" results. Good luck!!!

    0 Votes
  • Oo
      Oct 02, 2011

    I purchased another product from this company. It was garbage and so was their service. It took getting the BBB involved. Amazing once you file a complaint with them, how everthing turns around. Warning to all: This company has many products, Hydroxatone being their big lead for other products. I did not try it because of the bad reviews, however did not realize they are the same as Celtrixa, which is BS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY WANT YOUR MONEY, PERIOD.

    -1 Votes
  • Oo
      Oct 02, 2011

    THIS COMPANY IS A CROCK.

    0 Votes
  • Na
      Oct 04, 2011

    i just got the product 2day i just wanna to know if anyone who used this product ever regrade for using it after the 30 days or lost more hair then ever??? cuz Rogain my husband used it and it was good for while until he stop using it and now my husband is bold because he stop using it so i am kind of worry if i start this product that has the same staff that is in Rogain will it make my hair fall out more then before does anyone has a answer for this

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Oct 05, 2011

    Hi there.

    Keranique offers a risk-free trial. We do this to give customers a chance to try our products before buying them. We are sorry your experience was not what you expected and we really hope you give our products another chance. Our risk-free trial comes with a 30 day money back guarantee. This means, if you aren’t satisfied with your results, you can call our customer service and return the products to avoid being charged for the merchandise. It is our goal that our customers have a positive and rewarding experience with both our products and our service.

    We’re also sorry that we have been experiencing some difficulties with our international phone lines. This issue has been resolved. If you have any further questions please, please contact us using the information below:

    USA/Canada [protected] am – 10 pm EST)
    Australia [protected] (24 hours)
    New Zealand [protected] hours)
    Great Britain [protected] hours)

    You can also email me directly at [protected]@hydroxatone.com to let us know how we can help.

    Please note that some mobile phone carriers do not allow toll free 800 numbers to the USA to connect. We suggest using a landline if you are having trouble with your mobile carrier.

    0 Votes
  • De
      Oct 07, 2011

    I do believe the dishonesty about this product and I thank you for your report. I have decided not to go with this on account of what I have read and don't want to handle the stress.

    -1 Votes
  • To
      Oct 18, 2011

    I also purchased this product. I am left with a huge spot in the middle of my bangs that has absolutely no hair growth now. The shampoo was so harsh that it broke my hair near my scalp. I now have barely any hair. I am very upset. And the serum is even worse. I had blisters on my scalp for over a week. I should have known better. There are no before and after photos, and no testimonials anywhere on the commercial or in the pamphlets in the box the product comes in. What a waste of my money and time, and hair. I hope my hair grows back in. My fingers are crossed.

    0 Votes
  • I0
      Aug 08, 2012

    Their 'risk-free trial' costs $160.00!!! which they refuse to refund!!!
    They let 'third party' companies call with offers they want to charge on your credit card.
    Of course, Keranique has done NOTHING wrong. YOU didn't read to listen carefully. It's not up
    to them to explain or write clearly.
    And tell me how these 'third party' companies got my credit card number.
    This whole thing STINKS.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Nov 19, 2012

    I don't remember when this ordered, but after reading the paper inside box, the decision was made that I wouldn't use the product. Several days later I called to cancel it. They
    were suppose to send information to return it, but I didn't receive anything. They were called again in October 2012 to have it canceled. Then on 11-15-2012, they charged on
    my card $79.95. When I called them again, I was told that I didn't follow their rules, and
    wouldn't refund the $79.95. When I tried to talk to her, she told me that I did get a letter, I responded that the letter never came and was told it did too. I don't like being told I'm being dishonest . I'm really glad that I didn't use it, as I would have less hair then I have now. It's sad that we have to put up with dishonest people.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jan 27, 2013

    I just checked, and this is the same ingredient as Minoxidil. EXCEPT, this product has 2% minoxidil while Rogaine has 5%. Just a heads up!

    +1 Votes
  • Pa
      Jan 31, 2013

    Many people, especially women, think that Dr. Oz is some kind of prophet. His promotion of Keranique is where I first heard about the product. In reality, he is a huckster who will sponsor just about any product and give it a great, positive spin if he is paid a six-figure dollar amount to do so. The shampoo and conditioner are not any different than those you could purchase in a store (and they don't carry any seals of approval with respect to animal testing or animal ingredients). The product itself is the same as Rogaine for women, whose active ingredient is also 2% Minoxidil, which by the way has some potentially dangerous side effects. Also, once you begin using Minoxidil you can't ever stop or the hair growth will reverse. This company has had many complaints filed with the Consumer Fraud Division of the Attorney General's Office in various states, but they still advertise and exploit consumers. Once you start the "trial offer" Keranique will automatically send you more of the product and continue to charge your debit or credit card even after you tell them to cancel your card. A friend of mine had to close her bank account to stop them from taking her money almost a year after she demanded in writing that they stop sending her any more. My recommendation is to see a dermatologist who specializes in women's hair loss. Some women, like me, have inherited a tendency of thinning hair as they reach their 50's and 60's. But if you can find a good dermatologist, go and see him or her. They have answers and can identify your type of hair loss. Sometimes it's as simple as changing your diet or switching to a different prescription for hypertension medication or it may be another medication you're taking that needs to be modified. Don't fall for this baloney. This company will eventually go out of business if enough people complain. And the place to lodge a complaint is not with the Better Business Bureau; instead phone your state's Consumer Fraud Division at the Attorney General's Office. They can even get your money back if Keranique or any other fraudulent business has taken advantage of you. They can also send the principals of these businesses to prison. Nobody had to pay me to give you this information. I'm just another female consumer who is sick and tired of being preyed upon by these types of businesses who hire celebrities like Oz to hawk their products.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
      Mar 08, 2013

    It's both the same product. Rogaine and keranque, only it's by two different manufacturers. It does work u should c hair growing within five weeks or so
    Rogaine is a lot cheaper than keranque, and IT does the exact same job. So go to ur local Walgreens, cvs, etc and purchase it there

    0 Votes
  • Sg
      Aug 27, 2013

    Thanks for posting the active ingredient in Keranique. I searched their site and could not find it so I figured it was something available OTC. Also, no price is mentioned, so I knew it was pricey. I am going to the dermatologist instead of buying Keranique at this time. Also I have purchased one of the "red light therapy" products made exclusively for hair loss, and it is working, even on my eyebrows, but I would like even better results if possible .
    The operators from these companies are trained to get every last dime out of each caller, and earn premiums or raises for saving a customer cancellation. Please be civil and clear when calling to cancel, they insult you and make you wait and wait because they WANT you to hang up so they win!

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Jan 20, 2014

    Ladies if you like wasting money, by all means buy Keranique. But if you want to really re grown hair and make your hair thicker, go to Wal Mart and buy a 3 month supply of Equate Hair Re growth Treatment for Women, a 3month supply is $18.76 plus tax. It has the same active ingredient as any other hair re growth treatment. The only ingredient proven to re grow hair is Minoxidll, the active ingredient is all hair re growth products. Rogaine is the same thing as the WalMart brand, & other generic brands & is much less expensive then Keranique in case you're to good to shop Wal Mart or a comparable discount retailer. Also don’t get the product for men, it contains 5% minoxidll, and the women’s product contains 2%.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Feb 02, 2014

    I'm so glad that I did some research before buying this product. I rather try the Salon, and Rogaine, like suggested in the comments. And Helena, that individual who responded negative to you must work for Keranique company. And Yes them $3 dollars do add up, you did the right thing, and got your money back

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 22, 2014

    none of you have to order this product by calling- you can order it online; and I'm sure Amazon carries it if you don't want to deal with talking to anyone. I was looking into it for my mom and its pretty hilarious seeing you all complain about the sales reps and people hyping the product :)

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Feb 15, 2015

    Helena, You are not "stupid"! Who even says that anymore?! Anyway when they called for a trial from filling out a survey for shopping at home I spoke to a man, wont mention his name here. He sold me on Keranique and when I asked If my hair would fall out if I stop using it, like the way Rogaine works and he insisted "no, no, no" it'll stay after you stop using. Then one thing said you'll see a difference in 2wks while their instructions on the paper says it takes up to at least four months to see a difference and you will lose your regrowth if stop taking it. SOB! This is SUCH A WASTE OF TIME! I do like the texturing spray but it sometimes tends to make my straight hair more tangled and frizzy after I do the comb thru on damp hair. This is my first week and I'm just sending it back because of false advertising. It came with a return label so I'll pop it in mail tomorrow, wonder if it'll freeze, we're in the negatives here digits here! lol

    0 Votes
  • Ji
      Jan 19, 2016

    i am really disappointed about this product .Initially they told me to pay only $7 for 30 days trial, after one week i noticed that nearly $200 deducted from my account .How it happend ? I want to claim my money back .my customer id is SPTV2015120205003149., MY INVOICE :IC9189D24CB88C4F4

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Mar 07, 2016

    I've lodged a Customer Incident report (Incident: [protected]) before. Your people DO NOT answer me, instead they keep sending me the same automated response. If you want your money (which has been obtained by trickery, deceipt and fraud), then you better respond to my complaint in person and stop sending me automated responses. I WILL NOT PAY unless my questions are answered and as long as you keep sending me automated responses!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      May 23, 2016

    You don't know what you talking about, as a Group user of Keranique we All satisfy and absolutely amazed with this product. We all see the results, and you lie!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      May 31, 2016

    Omg I just had a call from a sales rep. When trying to find out the cost of the product you can't go further unless you enter your details. So I proceeded. I didn't buy the product because I don't like the fact they can just take money from your account monthly I would rather pay for it when I need it. So I didn't continue. I just received a phone call asking if I want to continue I said no thank you I don't want to pay for something every month when I may not need it. And asked to have my detail removed from the data base she told me it would take 30 days and you will probably still get calls, When I asked why? She hung up on me... Rude ###. NOW I won't be buying this product even if I can buy it as I need it. Gets some manners your trying to sell a product to me

    0 Votes
  • An
      Apr 02, 2017

    Just found this blog...And have to agree with most of you that THIS COMPANY, Keranique, should be investigated by each state's attorney general, I received an empty package stamped with "RECEIVED WITHOUT CONTENTS" and "RECEIVED IN DAMAGED CONDITION" that only had a rubber band around the package (no TAPE of any kind). They billed my account after the date of shipping; and was billed again after I had complained about not receiving the items ordered. i have been billed twice within 10 days for over $54.00; that's over $108.00,
    This is a new way to deplete funds of individuals; and is a scam. All of these folks should be investigated by the FBI, CIA; homeland security. SEC and IRS.
    Disgrunted in CALIF,

    0 Votes

Post your comment