The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

HP Pavilion DV5218NR / notebook broke down after 32 days of purchase

1 United States Review updated:

Purhased a Pavilion DV5218NR Notebook on 8/26/06 from Best Buy. On 9/27/06 the notebook display went dim/dark. I called tech support on 9/27 and from this point the nightmare started.

Tech support took me through several techniques to try to fix the problem, but nothing worked. 9/28/06 -HP sent a Fedex box and shipping label for me to send back to them for repairs. I was told it would take 3-5 business days for service and return back to me. Today is 12/7/06 and I still have not received a fixed notebook. HP repair received by notebook on 10/3 according to the Fedex tracking number. Called 10/5 to followup on status. Tech support had to place a product call and said to call back later. 10/10/06 - I gave it a few days and followed up. I was told the repairs were done the notebook was going through the final testing phase and that I would receive an email with the status of shipping which would probably be that day (10/10) or the next. 10/11/06 - checked email and nothing was there about my notebook. Called and tech support said the order was canceled and it would take other 3-5 days to repair. I received no explanation for the cancellation. I was told to call back between 9-6 (MT) for a quality case manager to express my concern. I called back that day and was placed on hold for 20 minutes before I hung up because no one returned to the phone. 10/12/06 - I finally spoke with a QCM and received a case number. Followed up 10/17 - 11/6 - no notebook. On 11/7 - notebook was sent back to me unrepaired and a replacement was suppose to be sent. It was suppose to take 14 days to build and send. My QCM said I would have it the week of Thanksgiving.
Thanksgiving can and went - nothing. 11/28/07 - Called and spoke with another QCM and was told the order was shipped to Burlington, VT and it was received on 11/20/06.

I live in Virginia (VA). I left a voicemail for my QCM that day. 11/29/06 - my QCM left me a voicemail stating my unit was shipped to the wrong place and they were sending shipping labels to that person and having them ship the unit to me. 12/4/06 - Spoke with my QCM and she said the according to the tracking number the unit had not been shipped yet. She would call me by 12/6 -- I didn't hear from her, so I called on 12/7. She wouldn't take my call so I had to leave a voicemail. This has been the worst experience of my life! This has been the worst customer service I have ever witnessed. I am going on 3 months without a notebook that I only had for 32 days. They were only suppose to fix the display and through it all they couldn't repair it because they calm it was the motherboard which was on backorder for long period of time and the parts was coming from overseas (which could be held up) -- I am living in the "HP Twilight Zone" and it is not fun at all.

Va
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jo
      16th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I bought the same - HP Pavilion DV5218nr laptop - from Best Buy in Sept. 2006. In October 2007, just over 1 year, my display was not working - horizontal lines. if this is the type of quality that HP now has, I will never buy an HP laptop again.

  • Ch
      10th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have had my DV5218nr laptop for over a year and use it everyday. Other than the w key sticking for a brief period a few weeks ago I have had no issues with my laptop.

Post your comment