The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

GrandGetaways.com / Rip off

1 Daytona Beach, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I am absolutely disgusted that we have been rip off to the tune of $5800 for this vacation package. We were totally taken in by the salesman and were expecting great savings on hotels condos cruises car hire and flights we have now been members for 1 year and have not used them as there pricing is no different than internet prices and some times more expensive. We are from the UK and know nothing of USA laws and would appreciate any advice there is out there.

Tr
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ca
      20th of Sep, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Me and my sister-in-law bought this in July2008 at Branson Mo. We went together and bought the 4, 400 package. They have not done one thing that they said that they would do. Everytime that we have tried to use it, there is always a problem, like you have to give a 14 day notice, or theres a black out on those days. We have checked on air fare tickets, and we can get them cheaper ourselves than going through them!!! So, I just want to know where the big savings is? If we knew a way that we could get out of this WE WOULD!!! They say that it is a binding contract, but it should'nt be if they are not going to hold up to their end of the bargain. We regret buying it because so far it has'nt helped us a bit.

  • Ei
      18th of Oct, 2008
    +1 Votes

    My husband and i were also victoms of this scam. I'll never know why I let a slick talking salesman talk me into buying this because I usually analyze things to death before I buy them instead of doing it on impulse. We have not gotten anything out of them either. They hyped eveything to be a better deal that you could get anywhere else; resorts, motels, airline tickets, cruises. When i called to inquire about the cost of a cruise I told them that the price they quoted me was no better than I could ge from AAA, and I didn't pay them the big bucks to match a deal I expected them to beat it. I was then told that if I bought it to get a good price on a cruise I should not have bought it;even though that was one of the things thay offered at the time.

    We are now in the porocess of trying to get one of our free hotel stays at Florida beaches and the tactics they are pulling will make it impossible to get a free hotel stay.
    Eveyone out there needs to be aware of how misleading this company is.

  • Do
      6th of Feb, 2009
    +2 Votes

    I totally agree with everthing negative said about GrandGetAways. They are very misleading and I totally regrete getting this. I'm going to see if I can file a law suit agianst them.

  • Ka
      11th of Feb, 2009
    +1 Votes

    My husband and I were also victims of this scam. I think we should all pull together and hire a lawyer. They have not held up to any part of their sales pitch. We have been members for two years and have not used the package yet! It cost more than a package easily found on the Internet. Has anyone contacted a lawyer yet?
    Karen

  • De
      8th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Yes this operation is a rip-off. Nothing they offer is cheaper than Orbitz or any such service. Everything you do receive is freebies you would receive from their time share clients if you callled them directly. Of course, its not very likely you will receive anything. Everything is "we'll get back to you in a few week". After a month or so you can call back and discover no one has heard of your requests and the person you spoke to is no longer there and they will transfer you to another number which will hang up after about 5 minutes.

    Dennis

  • Ke
      4th of Oct, 2009
    +1 Votes

    We agree...we have had similar experiences. When we first purchased our package, we tried in vain to contact Grand Getaways immediately to cancel our membership. I notified the credit card company because we were unable to speak to anyone or get any response from the Internet (supposedly they were updating the site). By the time a response was made we were told our time to cancel had lapsed. Our initial expense was $4104. and we have paid two annual fees of $199. each. We have repeatedly tried to book vacation travel and our calls and requests have not been answered. We believe this company is a scam and would be happy to join a law suit.

    Mary

  • Gn
      2nd of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    I am curious to see if anyone has EVER been able to use a HOT WEEKS deal? We have tried unsuccessfully to book, a week or two in advance for a HOT WEEK, but have always been told that they were no longer available. Why is it so hard to update these HOT WEEKS so that us clients wouldn't be so disappointed when we can no longer partake in the great deals? I feel like these are unfair advertising. Grand Getaways makes the claim that they have these HOT WEEKS deals for people who can get away quickly. None has ever been available when we check for them. Has this happened to anyone else?

    Merry

  • Gr
      31st of Jul, 2011
    -1 Votes

    We apologize for the experiences you describe. We would love the opportunity to speak with you. We do stand by our promises and pride ourselves on providing the best value to our members. Please call us so that we may work with you to resolve these issues to your satisfaction. Contact our Quality Assurance Team directly at 888-269-0182.

  • Me
      2nd of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    GrandGetaways, literally all you do on here is post the same impersonal comment on every single complaint. You don't actually address any of them or answer any of the questions people are asking. You tell people to call you, but you know for a fact that you will make them jump through hoops and will not really answer them anyway.

    As a fact, not a matter of opinion but a concrete fact, Grand Getaways/Coast to Coast/Every other name they go by, IS, indeed, a Scam. That cannot be legimiately debated.

  • Me
      2nd of Nov, 2011
    0 Votes

    They say they're not trying to sell you anything and then they try to trick you into stating that you agree to buy the membership, even though you never once agreed to it. They try to railroad you. (This is all via phone call, I have never attended a presentation, and, after reading all the comments all over the internet, am glad for that.) I was called by a representative a couple of weeks ago who kept saying "I'm not trying to sell you anything, " (which was definitely part of the script) yet she tried to sell me something the whole time and then tried to smoothly trick me into agreeing to pay $249 on the spot. When I said I needed to talk it over with my other half, she put her supervisor on the line, and he told me the exact same things, nearly word for word, as she had. Neither one was willing to let me off the call without agreeing to pay right then and there. I finally managed to get off the phone (WITHOUT giving them my money), but immediately after the call I had SEVEN EMAILS (all identical) from the representative and have received 3-4 (also all identical) more every single day since. I did give them my email address and was fine with giving that out, but expected I would receive one email. All of the emails are exactly the same, furthermore, they never once mention in the emails the airline tickets they said they would be sending me, and they quote me a $100 higher price than they had quoted on the phone.

  • Mr
      17th of Jun, 2012
    0 Votes

    they down right suck

Post your comment