The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Emusic.com / Unauthorized charges

1 UnknownNew York, NY, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 866-847-0719

I began receiving monthly billings of $19.99 for services I never ordered. I attempted to cancel any future charges but the web address that they give on their phone message is not accessible and they speak the mailing address so quickly that I cannot copy it correctly.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ar
      28th of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    where can i cancel this

  • Ro
      30th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    cant cancel my bill. monthly charges continued for three months so far!

  • Li
      23rd of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    Two months of unauthorized charges $9.99 each. I want the subscription canceled and i want credit to my account. I have canceled in april and still receiving charges!

  • Rc
      9th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    With eMusic, it happened to me as well. I was given a promotional offer to download 25 songs and 1 audiobook. Even though I did not completely use up the offer, they charged me 9.99 $ on the next day I opened an account with them.

    DO NOT trust these buggers!!! eMusic is fraud...

  • An
      25th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    i wanted to cancel my subscription, i even not downloaded 50 music you offered and not used you services since, i filed my subscription t to accessed the pni*freelotto fast svc freelotto.com.

    i filed last 1 month ago canceling my subscription but still you billed me for the month of august 2008.

    i hope for the month of september 2008 i will not see your billing in my credit card.

    and i dont need your services since i am not interested to the services you offered, if ever this request is granted i dont care if you include the cancellation of my free lotto since it embedded into your offer.

    i hope this request is granted.

    thanks but no thanks,

    andres teodoro

  • Jo
      30th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    i would like to cancell my account

  • Ka
      12th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    emusic.com has been charging my credit card since March 2008. I attempted in April (around the 25th) to stop the charges. There are 6 charges in total and still in November I am fighting with them to stop the charges and refund my money. The 212-201-9420 "corporate" phone number is just a phony voice mail system. I am seeking to contact them directly - but have had no luck. I'm hoping someone (in the country) starts a class-action suit (I would be willing to begin it) against emusic and their "stealing" our money.

  • Ke
      11th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    My American Express card had an unfamiliar billing from EMUSIC.COM in the amount of $24.99, dated 1/01/09. I called their telephone number and after being questioned as to my credit card and email address information, I was advised that since the charge was initiated in my household, they would not issue a credit-card refund. After I threatened the representative that I would report their company to Consumer Governmental Enforcement Agencies and also asked to speak to a supervisor, the representative relented and said she would issue a refund in 5-7 business days.

    As I initially suspected, had I not disputed the charge, my credit card would have been billed monthly as part of a 'subscription'.

    During my conversation with the rep, I was asked if, since I already had an account that was 'opened' with them, perhaps I would want to remain a customer. That, is apparently part of their M.O. They figure that they will either get new customers in such a way or for people who don't analyze their credit card charges thoroughly, they will continue monthly collections at no cost.

    Conclusion: Dispute these charges with your credit card company right away and encourage them to look more closely into this fraudulent company.

  • El
      20th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    MY CREDIT CARD WAS CHARGED $ 95.90 FOR A FREE 50 SONG DOWNLOAD THAT WAS GIVEN TO ME AS A BONUS GIFT FROM TOSHIBA WITH THE PURCHSASE OF MY NEW LAPTOP. THATS B.S.!!!

  • Ap
      20th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    lol i knew this was coming that's why i never used them. contact aol and or winamp those are the founders of e music. aol got to big on wanna be's so they bought out winamp, emusic is or was win amps so now its aols baby. ill look to be sure let you all know how to get them brb

  • Ap
      20th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    OK SERVICES WENT SOLO NOW HERES THE WHO IS CONTACT WHO YOU CAN TO GET WERE YOU NEED TO BE

    I DO IT ALL THE TIME THEY FREAK AT FIRST THEN ARE SCARED OF YA, I HAVE HAD LUCK DOING IT THIS WAY A LOT

    Registrant:
    eMusic.com, Inc
    Inc eMusic.com
    100 Park Avenue 17th Floor
    New York, NY 10017
    US
    Email: sysadmin@emusic.com

    Registrar Name...: CORPORATE DOMAINS, INC.
    Registrar Whois...: whois.corporatedomains.com
    Registrar Homepage: www.cscprotectsbrands.com

    Domain Name: emusic.com

    Created on...: Tue, Feb 27, 2007
    Expires on...: Wed, Apr 21, 2010
    Record last updated on..: Fri, Apr 18, 2008

    Administrative, Technical Contact:
    eMusic.com, Inc
    Inc eMusic.com
    100 Park Avenue 17th Floor
    New York, NY 10017
    US
    Phone: +212.2019240
    Email: sysadmin@emusic.com

  • Ba
      13th of Jun, 2009
    0 Votes

    Stupid emusic.com charged me 11.99$, even when they said they would not charge during 30 day free trial. I was very paranoid of registering with emusic and my fears have come true.When contacted thye simply give reason saying you exceeded hte number of downloads, . so we went ahead and accounted for a total of 50 downloas which were free then they come up with an additional 30 downloads which I never did, nor their s/w on my system never downloaded.

    So how can I be charged for 32 downloads when I haven't clicked nor thier s/w downloaded . EMUSIC SUCKS!!. As thier manager said, if we are doing anything wrong we would not be in business long, . yes and I want to make sure they will not. EMUSIC is fraud, rip off, after all this i searched online and found tons of same fraudulent activity by emusic.

    Time will tell, and Emusic will go bankrupt soon!!. meanwhile i have disputed the charged on my credit card and filed a compaint with BBB.

  • Mi
      7th of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    I have cancel this emuisc account months ago and I 'm still being billed for this account. My last eight digits of my Visa card is as follows
    2103 0231. For the last past few months you have still been billing my credit card. Please reverse all charges to my card for the past few months. (2). Total of billing periods. My email address is mhopper08@comcast.net Please cancel my account and stop billing my visa card as soon as possible.
    Respectly yours, Michael A. Hopper
    Michael A. Hopper
    6737 N. Wayne Road Apt 224
    Westland, Michigan 48185

  • Po
      22nd of Jul, 2010
    0 Votes

    My credit card was fraudgently charged by someone else for services with this company. After several times of contacting them regarding this issue they have declined to remove the charge. They have declined to give a supervisor when requested over a 100 times and that's not exaggeration. They have later after calling reputable 20 times after being hung up on, they placed a so-called supervisor on the line by the name of "Mary" with no last name, no Employee ID number, No Location, No other info to identify her with. She stated that the issue is not her responsibility and emusic will charge what was asked of at the time. After giving her my statement that I was not the one that asked for the services she still said that it is my fault and I should have kept my card more securely. They do not have a corporate number or corporate person in charge. They have refused to remove the charges of 01/02/2010-$12.99, 02/02/2010-12.99, 03/02/2010-$12.99, 04/02/2010-$12.99, 05/02/2010-$12.99, 06/02/2010-$12.99, 7/02/2010-$12.99 I have called on each one of these months regarding this issue and they have stated that they would cancel it, and return my monies and I have not receive nothing back from them. They do not want to remove the charges, they do not care about what someone has to say about that card being charged for unauthorized services. Emusic is a fraud company. They have no supervisors, no location, and they have no security system for people that gets pulled into the identity theft lifestyle.

  • Ig
      23rd of Aug, 2010
    0 Votes

    I contacted emusic.com regarding charges that were made to my credit card for a service that I neither signed up for or ever used.
    I was told that the “free trial” account was begun on Nov2, 2009, and was never cancelled, so they billed my card 9.99 for an audiobooks service and 11.99 for a music service for 5 months!
    My credit card did not have a balance, and I did not receive any statements because my address change to the company was not processed correctly, so I did not find out about these charges until April, 2010.
    I found out that my daughter had signed up for the free trial, cancelled it, and they never cancelled the account. She is a minor, and should not be able to sign up for an account regardless.
    Please credit these charges back to my account. The total charges that I am disputing are:
    Jan-April, 2010 @ 9.99 and 11.99= $87.92 because I did not authorize, gain anything or use the services purported by your company.
    I am forwarding a copy of this letter to the BBB and complaint board, where I have found numerous similar claims against emusic.com.

  • Ma
      22nd of Oct, 2010
    0 Votes

    I completely agree! They did this to me. The customer service is terrible, there is no phone number and they just keep ringing up charges. On the account that they keep making charges, I have the receipt of my cancelation months ago!!!

    All I did was cc my attorney on the emails and I plan on doing something about. They keep responding to my emails though and because of this, I now have a paper trail for everything. I also intend on contacting the local better business bureau and I hope everyone does the same.

    This company is HORRIBLE!!! Convince your family and friends NOT to buy...no matter what the free downloads deal is.

    Isn't there a reason they are doing this? They sell your personal information and they are hurting for business.

  • Ma
      2nd of Feb, 2011
    0 Votes

    Can't contact the business. No phone number. Can't connect with website.

  • Am
      13th of May, 2012
    0 Votes

    I signed up for the 60 free downloads and was very careful not to go over the limit because the agreement was that after 60 they would charge $114 per year. I didn't use the account afterwards so I was surprised to see the charge on my card. I called and complained and they at first refused to refund my money but when I ranted that they I never signed up for membership only for the free trial and that I felt they were practicing fraudulance they did offer to refund my money. It will supposedly be replaced in my account within 6 days. We'll see... BEWARE!!!

Post your comment