The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Easy Saver / Unauthorized charges!

1 Lanham, MD, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: 800-444-9491

I have been billed by Easy Saver Rewards (EASY SAVER [protected] PA) for $14.95 per month since making a purchase on Proflowers.com. Easy Saver is apparently associated with ProFlowers and I inadvertently signed up for their 'services' while placing my order. They claim that I requested to be a member when I replied to an email after placing an order. I do not recall replying to any email or asking for the service. Obviously, their business practices are disingenuous at best, since I, and many others, have been fooled by this blatantly unethical business practice.

I informed ProFlowers of this problem and they gave me this number: [protected], which is different from the one on the bill and on their website. I talked to a service rep. named 'Linda' and she was willing to give me only a fraction of my money back after a long-winded sales pitch about how great their service is. She became rather forceful and obnoxious when I demanded all the money back, claiming that Easy Saver had legally billed me since I signed up for the service. I asked for a manager and talked to 'Jennifer' and she eventually promised to pay back the charges.

Thus far, I have been credited with all but one of the charges; they credited my card a few charges at a time.

If this happens to you, I suggest calling the 800 number I listed above and demand your money back. If that fails, ask for a manager and tell them you are willing to file complaints and inform the media of their unethical business practices. Also, informing ProFlowers, or other companies linked to Easy Savers, would be a good idea.

Va
Sort by: Date | DownRating

Comments

  • Ta
      3rd of Jan, 2008
    +2 Votes

    I had the exact same experience through Proflowers.com! I recently found out about the 14.95 charges that were happening and didn't make the connection with Proflowers.com but after reading this I saw that my first EasySaver charge was on the same day that my Proflowers order went through. Thank s a ton for this article. It was a great help in resolving my problem as well. They were very helpful in refunding the money, but I won't know that for sure until 7-10 days from now. Next time, no Proflowers order!

  • Dd
      19th of Apr, 2009
    +2 Votes

    Same issue with ProFlowers .. I just recently found $14.95 charged on my CC ... I think this proflowers should be taken to consumer court ! Its a fraud, at least I am going to try to file a case against them ... any suggestions ?

  • So
      21st of Apr, 2009
    +2 Votes

    Today, I have been found out that Easy Saver charged me exactly the same as happened to you. I called my credit card company and told them I refuse to pay that amount. My card company reply nicely and they will complain Easy Saver also ProFlowers. No more buying from Proflowers.
    Thank you so much for your article.

  • Di
      16th of Apr, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I too have been a victim of Easy Saver-EMI. In my case it went on for 11 months without my knowledge. I was deployed with the military and someone else was overseeing my checking/debit card account statements. They didn't realize this was an ongoing unauthorized charges, after I had ordered flowers through "FromYou Flowers.com".

    Though, I see most of the complaints are affiliated with "ProFlowers.com' and their associates. I thought I'd mention that there are other companies that send credit card information to Easy Saver-EMI, as well without authorization. Additionally, I never received any emails or regular mail that I had become a member or authorized the monthly charges.

    After, I returned from my deployment and saw these charges I immediately called 1-800-355-1837 and demanded to speak to a supervisor. Of course, there was the explanation that I had authorized the charges. I stated I wanted to see it in writing for the record. At this point, the supervisor said that wasn't possible. She offered to refund only 6 months and I said that wasn't acceptable and would report this. She then offered the full 11 months refund. I asked for a confirmation to be sent.

    Below is the confirmation sent and will update on this site if the total refund isn't granted.

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: [email protected]
    To: XXX
    Sent: Wednesday, April 15, 2009 10:48 AM
    Subject: Credit Confirmation

    Mrs. XXX
    This email will confirm our conversation today regarding the Easy Saver
    Rewards membership. To reiterate our conversation, I have canceled the
    membership and, as agreed, issued a total of 11 refunds in the amount of
    $14.95 back to your credit card account. These refunds have been
    requested today and if you do your banking online, you may see those
    refunds as early as 48 hours.

    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

    Sincerely,
    Missy Baer
    4/14/09

  • Gi
      22nd of Apr, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I want to thank you for this posting, I helped me get my money back.

    Today I was checking my mother's account and realized that Easy saver was charging her $14.95 per month since we bought christmas ornaments from Oriental Trading on dicember. Thanks to this posting I realized these companies are associated, and easy saver has done this to many people.

    When I called Oriental trading they gave this number for Easy Saver 1-888-595-9380, the lady was very polite and told me she could only refund the last two charges, so I told her to transfer me with someone who could return all my money, she put me on hold and 5 minutes later she told me she'd return everything back to my mother's account.

    I would not recomend you to order from Oriental trading, it's very upseting when these companies take advantage of their customers by stealing money from their bank accounts.

  • Ta
      22nd of Apr, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Thank you so much for this article! I had no idea where these charges were coming from, all that was coming up was easy saver for 14.95. I called them today and I spoke to a rep named trish and she said that she canceled my husbands membership which he never remembers signing up for and is crediting our account for three charges. the rep said that it should be credited within 7-10 business days. Never again ordering from pro flowers!

  • Pa
      19th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I too appreciate this post as apparently this scam is still ongoing. I followed the suggestions of contacting the 800-355-1837. Same thing happened, they offered to refund 2 months, when I would not accept, they put me on hold for about 5min and same person I was dealing with then offered to refund 100% after I explained I will be filing complaint with BBB and FBI.

    The FBI site is http://www.fbi.gov/cyberinvest/cyberhome.htm.

    I encourage others to file complaints as this appears to be a serious scam that has been ongoing. My charges also started after a purchase from Proflowers.com, this happened to my wife's credit card first and then my credit card. We did not authorize the charges and had never heard of their company and never received any products from easy saver. I still don't know what they offer other than scamming charges. I sent an email to Proflowers.com as I could not get through to their customer service. We will no longer be using Proflowers.com.

    In addation, contacted both credit card comapnies to let them know of the fraudulent charges.

  • Di
      19th of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    Complaint Referral Form
    Internet Crime Complaint Center
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Thank you for filing a complaint with the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3).

  • Di
      22nd of May, 2009
    +1 Votes

    ----- Original Message -----
    From: DIANE
    To: Customer Service
    Sent: Friday, May 22, 2009 7:44 AM
    Subject: Re: was only refunded $14.95!!!


    Thank you-they (10) were posted on the reverse side of statement of statement received yesterday.
    ----- Original Message -----
    From: Customer Service
    To: DIANE
    Sent: Friday, May 22, 2009 6:37 AM
    Subject: Re: was only refunded $14.95!!!


    Thank you for contacting Membership Services.
    We have processed 11 credits in the amount of $14.95 on 04/14/09. These credits will be posted to your account pursuant to your banking/credit card institution's guidelines.


    If we can be of assistance to you in the future, please feel free to contact us by email at [email protected]

    Sincerely,
    Online Membership Services

  • Ba
      10th of Sep, 2009
    +1 Votes

    After four months going by, as well as the initial $1.95 charge, I cancelled my Easy Saver membership via phone today after reading your comments. I then disputed charges with my credit card as well we alerting ProFlowers of the poor business practice of involving loyal customers in such hokum. They'll really take a hit in the credibility department for this.

    I spoke with Michelle at Easy Saver and there was little rebuttle from her except that the five charges would be credited in 28-30 days, depending on the credit card cycle. So, I'm not released of this yet, but have facilitated the process. Thank you for all your helpful advice...

  • Pa
      16th of Oct, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I posted about this scam some time ago and still monitor the board. Here is information direct from the BBB.
    From the BBB site:

    http://www.dc.bbb.org/report.html?national=Y&compid=7628

    Business Contact and Profile
    Name: EMI Encore Marketing International
    Phone: (800) 648-9977
    Address: 4501 Forbes Boulevard, Lanham, MD 20706
    Google map Mapquest map Yahoo map
    Business Category: Advertising-Direct Mail, Marketing Programs & Services
    BBB file opened: January 01, 1989
    Business started: July 1978
    Primary Contact: Mr. Stephen Klein (President)
    Complaint Contact: Ms. Carole Hunt (Director)
    ----
    Alternate Business Names

    American Leisure
    Easy Saver
    Easy Saver - Consumer Affairs
    EasySaver Rewards
    Encore Marketing
    Fortune Builder
    Home & Garden Savings Club
    HomeSource
    Identity Watch
    Insider Pass
    Privilege Pass
    Protect-Your-Cards
    -----
    Additional Locations and Phone Numbers
    P.O. Box 280, Blue Ridge Summit, PA 17214, Franklin County
    Google map Mapquest map Yahoo map

    (800) 355-1837
    (800) 388-7387
    (800) 444-9800
    (800) 447-9977
    (800) 462-6420
    (800) 477-1744
    (800) 787-6864
    (800) 814-4353
    (800) 839-0098
    (800) 973-7716
    (866) 405-7358
    (866) 679-8656
    (866) 679-8659
    (877) 498-7283
    (877) 564-8538
    (877) 844-9552
    (877) 844-9554
    (888) 238-0640
    (888) 396-2794
    (888) 613-1896
    (800) 262-6199
    (800) 262-6199
    (800) 338-4521
    ---
    Customer Complaint History

    The company's size, volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by the BBB. The complaints filed against a company may not be as important as the type of complaints, and how the company has handled them. The BBB generally does not pass judgment on the validity of complaints filed.

    Number of complaints processed by the BBB
    in the last 36 months: 735
    in the last 12 months: 393
    ----
    Additional Information
    History/Principal Officers Encore Marketing, now EMI, was formerly known as American Leisure Industries. It has advised the BBB that its corporate operations include several divisions: Encore Preferred Traveler Club, Villas of the World, Home & Garden Savings Club, Shoppers Discount, Health & Beauty, Premier Fitness & Wellness (Plus), Identity Watch, Protect-your Cards, and Fortune Builder.

    Stanley D. Plotnick is Chairman of Encore Marketing, International. Creghton Holden is listed as president of the Encore program. According to the company, the controlling stockholders of Encore Marketing International are also the controlling stockholders of Credit Card Protection Agency, now operating as Innovattive Direct, which is located at the same address as EMI. The corporations have some officers and directors in common. A separate report on Innovative Direct is available.

    The company uses a "negative option" in many of its promotions. This requires customers to actively intervene in the automatic annual renewal of services in order to stop billing and services. The relationship does not lapse, until stopped by the customer. As always, consumers are advised to review credit cared statements for charges on all statements they receive to verify what they are choosing to authorize.
    As a matter of policy, the BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Reliability Reports are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Reliability Report is believed reliable, but not guaranteed as to accuracy.
    BBB Reliability Reports generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Reliability Reports are subject to change at any time.

    If you choose to do business with this business, please let the business know that you contacted the BBB for a BBB Reliability Report.


    ID: 7628
    Report as of: 10/16/2009 11:41 PM

    © 2009 BBB of Metro Washington DC & Eastern Pennsylvania

  • Cl
      12th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I ordered facial cream from a 800 #
    Im very leary of ordering anything from anywhere from now on!
    I called 800-444-949, a number listed in the complaints, and got my money back!
    Im also sending an email to my bank with this number to help others!

    Thank you to who ever listed that #

  • Ch
      15th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I just found out today that for months now I've been being charged twice a month for 19.80 by both easy saver and EMI money edge. Seeing everyone elses post I realized that I was with the bargain site as weel, but cancelled before they due date so that I wouldnt be charged. I'm glad I can finally figure out how these people even knew about me. For a a while my account has been going into over draft and I couldnt figure out why because I knew I hadnt even been spending all of my money. They so happened to take money out while my account was on block which is what sent off the red flags to myself and bank. I also have a credit reports which I havent aurthorized which I believe are the same people. Another thing that set off the red flag is that the card number they were using wasnt even in use anymore. Thank goodness my bank is going to file a dispute so that i can get my money back plus the over charges I had from these people.

  • Ju
      16th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I just found out today that for the last 16 months since Jan. 2009 I've been charged each month for 14.95 by Easy Saver. I didn't know what it was coming from until I did a search and found this site. THANK YOU. I called the 800 number and sure enough the charge was associated with my ProFlowers purchase in 2009! Never again, I was told I would receive a full refund for the last 16 months of charges. I will give it 7 to 10 days. Thanks so much for the 800-444-9491 number and the person who first figured out what was going on.

  • Ea
      16th of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I too ordered flowers for Valentines for my wife - one month later, a charge for $14.95. I checked with my wife to see if she had billed this company-she had not. Googled Easy Saver and discovered this site. :)

    Wrote two emails to Proflowers "I recently ordered flowers and was very happy with the entire experience until a charge of $14.95 appeared on my credit card from Encore Marketing International/EasySaver linked as a direct result of using ProFlowers.The marketing offer was $15 shipping rebate which I thought was a bonus for ordering from Proflowers - instead it was a unethical marketing ploy which I find disgusting and as a result, I will never order from Proflowers again. Unfortunately, this has tarnished what was a wonderful surprise for my wife and the reputation of Proflowers."...and Easysaver - to their credit, they replied back within 24hrs and credited me back $14.95 plus $1.95 I had missed :( within 48 hours

    Should I try Pro Flowers [email protected]#!?

  • Ms
      23rd of Mar, 2010
    +1 Votes

    Same problem start 12/03/09 after ordering some flowers @ PROFLOWERS.com. I call my bank fort stop immediately the request from EASY SAVER (call PRO STOLE w/flowers!!!)
    UNACCEPTABLE!!!
    Share...

  • Fi
      9th of Jul, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I just wanted to let y'all know that I spoke to a service representative named "Melinda" today and I am getting every single charge refunded except for the initial $1.95. At this point I will take it.

    She was very helpful, granted I didn't yell and scream at her, because I knew it wasn't her fault I was being charged $14.95 every month. She initially said that I was to get back about half of it, but with some kind conversation and asking questions in a normal tone (as though I was speaking to her face to face), she spoke to her supervisor and they will be refunding nearly every cent.

    "Melinda" said that she is only authorized to refund X amount without having to speak with her supervisor. She didn't place me on hold for more than 2minutes--tops!! And she told me exactly how I would be receiving my refund. Some of the charges will be reversed within a day or two and the remaining amount will be mailed in a check (which can take up to 4 weeks, or a total 28day billing cycle).
    She told me that if you do not receive your check within 4weeks, you can call the (1 800 444 9491) phone number and speak to someone.

    I would say that I may be one of the lucky ones to get a refund of nearly everything I was charged, however working in a customer service for nearly 10years, I know what it's like to be on the other side dealing with the ones who anger quickly and are never satisfied.

    I hope this helps y'all. I'm just grateful I don't have to see that flippin' charge on my account anymore. Have a blessed day everyone.

  • An
      23rd of Jul, 2010
    +1 Votes

    I had the very same experiences happen to me. After 9 months of not noticing (due to charges being listed as 'charity' and them taking the money at different times of the month) I finally caught on.

    After following the instructions of the poster I had the 9 transactions credited to my account within 5 business days.

    My advice: They are trained to point the fault at you. Do not accept this. They will begin by telling you that you signed up for a program. If you press them on that subject (either you didn't or were not able to read the fine print) they will soon back off of that. They will then agree to cancel your subscription and attempt to hang up the phone. Don't stop there! Press them that you want your money back. They will again point out your fault for not doing it sooner. Don't let that break you, if you continue to press them about wanting your money back you will eventually succeed. For me, I told them that I didn't notice the charges due to them being taken out at different times of the month and never actually being notified by them that I had this service.

    As unfortunate as it is that you have to go through this, it is possible to be fully refunded. Be firm but don't lose it. Don't take the fault. Pro flowers promised me that if easy saver didn't give me a full refund to contact them back. It didn't come to that for me but I would recommend trying that out too.

    Thanks to the poster for the advice and good luck!

  • Ve
      30th of Oct, 2015
    +1 Votes

    I recently found out that I was being charged $14.95/month by Easy Saver since Jan 2010! A total of 867.10! I have not used the credit card it was being charged to for the last 4 years and had cut it up and was getting electronic statements. I take responsibility for not checking statements but most of you can understand why I wouldn't have a need to ! I called the 1 800 355 1837 number. After listening several times that I had electronically signed up for a 30 day free trial and then started getting billed for this membership monthly when I ordered flowers with the credit card, I mentioned that this was unethical and I was going to go to the media and file a complaint. They finally agreed to pay half the amount back. I kept requesting to talk to this supervisors supervisor and he kept upping the amount until finally he met me half way. Lesson learned! I still think they should tell customers with the membership at least annually via letter or email that they have this membership. I know I'm not the first and certainly wont be the last to have this happen!

  • Fa
      30th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    I never even heard of pro flowers.com and i had the charge on my credit card. I have no idea how I got it but they took it off!

Post your comment