SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Audiblemonthly charges on cc $14.95

Review updated:

My wife bought an AMAZON Kindle in December 2013. I looked at it for 3 days and returned it.
Since I was charged $14.95 each month by AUDIBLE [protected] for something that I did not subscribe or receive.
I called Audible on 12/21/2014 after noticing the charges and asked for a refund and account closure. They agreed
to close the account and refund only 4 months. I called AMAZON Credit Card (VISA) and the best they could do
is put the last 4 months in dispute. I asked for a full refund but they were not able to comply. I closed my AMAZON
CHASE VISA the same day.

Isaac
Maryland

Is
Dec 21, 2014
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Al
      Jul 19, 2015

    I have the same problem. I even did not buy any kindle but they still charge me for membership that I'm not aware of. Some how Amazon is notorious for trapping customer with their free trial or other secrete service that they hide.

    +4 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 27, 2015

    Hi for some reason there charging me the same thing and don't know why I just called my bank and they said they been charging since March i just filed a claim Iam going to see what happens...

    +5 Votes
  • Tr
      Oct 17, 2015
    Best Best Advice

    all the same story.. never signed up.. have amazon account.. didnt discover it till 9 months in.. tried to get help from audible and they couldn't help without knowing my account.. (which they couldn't find based on my email or billing address) .. the chat ended badly..

    but found solution.. reading amazon boards.

    So here's the deal.. you may not think you have an audible account.. but if you have an amazon account.. keep reading..
    go to http://www.audible.com click login.. it pulls up your amazon account login.. viola! now.. click membership.. cancel.. and go thru the process cancelling.. Then click on the help, and they have your account info already attached to chat.. select regarding my account.. topic refund..and type being charged for membership i didnt sign up for.

    I got a very helpful person.. asked me a few quick questions.. one you will need is when did the charges start.. in my case, january 2015.. so 9 months.. they said perfect.. asked me to be patient while they processed refund.. and 10 mins later.. all done.. gave me the total, and said it would be returned to my account within 2-3 days.

    So.. I was disturbed at how they started billing.. and how hard it was to research how to fix it all. but once I found the answers.. it was pretty painless. Unless I post otherwise, you can presume I did get the entire refund as they stated.. Best wishes.. hope this helps .

    +13 Votes
  • Ta
      Feb 17, 2017

    @Trevor Smith Thank you so much! It worked for me :)

    +3 Votes
  • Ch
      Mar 15, 2017

    @Trevor Smith Thank you, brother. It worked for me as well. Cheers! I can't believe this is still going on.

    -1 Votes
  • Su
      Jul 05, 2017

    @Trevor Smith Thank you very much brother ...Trevor...!!! It worked for me too :)... very nice n detailed post to get refund...very good...lots of appreciation...

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Oct 15, 2017

    @Trevor Smith Thank you so much! Your advice helped a lot. I also saw how they did it. Hope they will return my money.
    All the best!

    0 Votes
  • 36
      Feb 04, 2016

    They are creating fake emails for the accounts. They can find the charge with just your name and date of charge. The email tied with ours was literally random lettering at yahoo.com. call them for best help once they find the account{they verify with the last four digits of the card after they think they have the right one} ask what the email is. I'm positive they are scamming people.

    +10 Votes
  • Ve
      Mar 14, 2016

    Thanks for the info Trevor, i just followed your steps and audible have issues a refund.

    I am also disgusted at how such a huge company can simply transfer credit card details to a subsidiary company, use them and potentially get away with it.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Apr 22, 2016

    The story is the same. Unfortunately, I did not realize they were charging me $14.95/month since November 2014. I have never signed up or authorized anything or downloaded anything. They say they can only refund for one year. I insisted for full refund, then person on the phone told me that I had signed up and downloaded something and that they have been sending me email every month they charged me and that the can refund no more than one year. He then hung up on me. Of course nothing this person told me about me signing up, downloading etc., is true. He could not tell me what telephone number the thing he said was downloaded to using my account. What a cheat! How can I get my money back now? Is not there any legal authority I can complain to on this illegal business practice?

    +2 Votes
  • Ha
      Mar 20, 2017

    @M Islam I was charged for 20 months (since 2015), contacted their live chat team and they agreed to refund 20 months for me. And yes, the first person was only willing to refund 12 months, and then I got disconnected and re-connected to another person and he issued another 8 month. Just keep asking and show that you have evidence that Audible has been charging you for more than a year. Oh...forget to say, be nice to the support guy/girl, he/she will be nice to you back :) Good luck!

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Jul 07, 2016

    I just followed the advice and used the online audible website to both cancel and discover that 7 months were charged after the first 30 day trial! They promised a refund via live chat of $104 ( 7 months at $14.95 per month) and I was prompted to request a transcript of the chat to my email.

    Good customer service despite being swindled out of 7 months of charges. They are getting away with a lot I'm guessing since it took me a while to catch up with these charges for a service that my husband signed up for and never cancelled.

    Thanks for the help! Much appreciated! : )

    Debbie G
    Pompey, NY

    -2 Votes
  • Ro
      Mar 12, 2017

    @debbie gr what exactly did you say to them to have them refund the money? I signed up for a free audio and it charged me for 6 month after that without my knowledge please help

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Sep 25, 2017

    @debbie gr Thank you so much for this ! I am in the same boat.

    0 Votes
  • Ze
      Aug 02, 2016

    The same thing happened to me as everyone else. Never signed up for an account but was charged for 9 months before I noticed. I didn't receive all of my money back only a portion. I could see a class action lawsuit coming out of this. It's nuts.

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Aug 02, 2016

    I got every penny back and promptly too. I used the online chat and it was very easy. have you tried online chat to voice your complaint? I wish you luck on this. Insist on the refund for all months.

    +1 Votes
  • Om
      Sep 16, 2016

    This is awful. I unknowlingly was charged by this company. What a scam!

    +1 Votes
  • Re
      Sep 18, 2016

    I had the same thing happen to me fortunately I discovered it after 3 months of charges. I googled the charge name and discovered this forum glad they have this out there to help others!! I logged on to the Audible account using my Amazon log in and was able to cancel and got a refund through the online chat. I never sighned up for anything Its very upsetting they can steal your information and charge you!

    +1 Votes
  • Mj
      Sep 22, 2016

    Yes, this is happening all over the place. For more information on a class action lawsuit that is starting against Amazon and Audible.com call Badame & Associates, APC at [protected].

    +2 Votes
  • Ki
      Oct 17, 2016

    Same happened to me and I followed previously shared info and chatted with a service rep. I was upset to find out that my bank account had been charged since Feb 2016 using my card info which I had saved in my Amazon account but according to AUDIBLE ADBL.CO/BILL NJ USA the audible account using my card was not connected to my name or email. So either they assign random names and emails to bank info to swindle folks or my bank info was captured by a hacker via Amazon and/or Audible. I am to be receiving a refund, so if I don't receive it, I'll post again with a warning for others.

    +1 Votes
  • Cj
      Nov 11, 2016

    Same thing happened to me. . I "trialled" an amazon book but I never subscribed to their(audible.com) product. I called them at [protected]. Thankfully, after I strongly presented to them my case, they said, they will cancel it and refund me the money they charged my debit card. Not fair business.

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 15, 2016

    I found the same charge on my credit card on 12/15/2016. I followed the post and chatted with a representative. The story I was told was that someone used a Hotmail account registered for a membership with them. the Hotmail account is associated with my credit card. I asked for the Hotmail account information and was refused. The representative also mentioned that this account was not verified, but the "person" contacted the representative so they bypassed the verification process.
    I also discovered a $10.99 membership charge on the same card for Amazon prime. I chatted with Amazon and the same story.
    I was able to get both charged refunded, but none of them could tell me what is really going on. I will contact my credit card company.

    -1 Votes
  • Ji
      Dec 16, 2016

    I am being billed by adbl.com/bill for many months and never agreed to any membership to Audible . In the past, I ordered a couple of books but did not sign anything to be billed 14.95 monthly when i have not wanted an audible. account.. I am being billed falsely and want this to stop immediately.
    I will contact my Amex card to stop this charge on my account. It has been going on for many months and I think Audible should reimburse me for this unwanted membership.

    +2 Votes
  • Ji
      Dec 16, 2016

    Cancel this account . It was falsely begun. have been billed $14.95 for many months. I did not agree to this membership and shoulfd be reimbursed.

    +2 Votes
  • He
      Jan 10, 2017

    I just noticed today that Audible has been charging me $15.96 every month since July 2016. I contacted them via chat (something I always do when written evidence can be useful), I copied and saved the chat info and too screenshots of everything, including the fact that I do NOT have an active membership account under my name. As per Audible, the account is in someone else's name but with my credit card info. I got them to return everything they have been charging me in these past months. I also contacted my credit card company and put a block on that merchant. I will be getting a new card and started investigation on Audibles through my credit card company.
    I am not sure if anyone already started a lawsuit against them, but this sound like a perfect example for a "class action lawsuit".

    +2 Votes
  • Je
      Mar 31, 2017

    I registered in audible but didn`t know I was charged monthly, because the moment I suscribed, I tried to unsuscribe immediately but it was unsuccessful. It looked as I haven`t registered, so I thought I haven´t registered successfully. it appeared another website called "good reads", it seem that both websites were created to confuse users.
    So, I forgot about it and never enter again to audible. Then, after a long time, the bank showed me I was paying monthly without knowing it, for more than a year! how could I pay so much money without using it?!! I never thought that a big company like Amazon would ever do this scam. I remember that when I cancelled this on september 2016 I complaint but nothing happened. So, today after reading your opinions (thank you) I contacted them through email and chat, and they told me that they will immediately issue a refund. I hope they do, if not I`ll write here again.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 13, 2017

    I took Trevor Smith advice (thanks).
    I look forward to seeing my refund, if I'm not back with an update that means i got my refund.

    http://www.audible.com click login, Request for a chat.

    +2 Votes
  • An
      Apr 26, 2017

    thank you so much, it worked for me !

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Mar 23, 2018

    Please cancel my $14, 95 monthly

    Description:
    CHECK CARD PURCHASE AUDIBLE ADBL.CO/BILL NJ

    Regards

    Johanna Gunnthorsdottir
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      May 22, 2018

    Hi, My name is Shivam From India. I got a message from my bank on 19th of May 2018 that Rs. 1061 debited from account. When I open my account from Net Banking, it shows that this Audible/adbl.co/bi has debited the amount from my account. Means how it is possible for this company to make fool of everyone all over the world. You have no right to deduct the amount from my account. You have no right to do it. Okay Monsters . These people are fraud, and we have to give them some lesson. Go to playstore and rate them ONE STAR with lot of aggressive words.

    0 Votes

Post your comment