SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Agoda / payment taken but no booking!

Sri Lanka Review updated:

I made a hotel booking through Agoda (for hotel in Maldives) for 2 nights. After payment via credit card was confirmed and a message stated that I would receive an email within 30mins with booking confirmation and hotel voucher, I have not heard from them since. It's been 3 days now. My card has been debited US$153.00 and although I have a customer number taken down from their last "Thank you for payment" message, they have not bothered to reply my online complaints. I have purchased airline tickets and now am uncertain as to whether I should book another hotel or await for Agoda to send me confirmation. As the date draws nearer, I am inclined to the former. I note that Agoda claims to be a company registered in Singapore - and I am a Singapore Permanent Resident. If I dont hear from them by the end of the day today (14 March 2012) I will be writing to the Consumer Affairs Authority for them to take legal action!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ea
      Mar 13, 2012

    I have used agoda.com and they did send confirmation email to me within 30 minutes. There is once I have a problem which I posted on their facebook page, and was directed to email them at [protected]@agoda.com which they solve my problem and I'm happy to use them as well as recommend them to my friends and colleagues.

    +1 Votes
  • Ik
      Apr 23, 2012

    I have experienced the same incident. I have made a booking at Harris Hotel & Residence, Sunset Road, Bali and paid using my credit card on April 7, 2012. The charges have been debited to my card however until now I haven't received any booking confirmation from Agoda. I have sent numerous emails and non has been responded by Agoda. Huge dissapointment! (Ikit M - Jakarta)

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Apr 29, 2012

    I made a booking for a hotel in bangkok on april 6, 2012 using agoda application for iphone for the first time.
    I thought transaction was succeed because I read a notification said
    "we'll send you a confirmation to your email shortly.."
    Which i never get until now.
    So 3 days later on april 9, I made a booking again for the same hotel (but this time using website) because I thought the previous one was failed.
    They sent me hotel voucher like usual this time.
    The problem is, they charged me for the first one which I never get the voucher, to my credit card.
    I've sent email to customer service twice asking them to fix this,
    But they never reply me.
    I'll never use agoda anymore if they don't fix this.

    -2 Votes
  • Ch
      May 01, 2012

    I just got a call from agoda representative
    he explained that I misspelled my email address, that's why I don't get the voucher
    he also kindly asked if I want to cancel the booking and refund it to my credit card bill
    I'm so relieved the problem is finally solved
    thanks agoda

    -1 Votes
  • Ps
      Sep 15, 2012

    Agoda won't allow reviews of the hotels they list unless you have booked and paid for it.

    I attempted to book the best western in Naha, Japan, and was subjected to a bait-and-switch. The hotel refused to honour the Agoda price, and refused to honour the price advertised on their own website. I got there, bag in hand, and the thieves demanded more money for the room.

    Thankfully, credit cards allow chargebacks.

    +2 Votes
  • Md
      Nov 29, 2012

    I made a booking for a hotel in Bandung on Nov 29, 2012 using agoda online for the first time.
    I have completed the booking Agoda the booking ID number. Subsequently I receive an email notifying Agoda will send hotel voucher and details within 30mins. I have not heard /receive from them until now. Agoda has charged my credit card in full.
    I have called their 24/7 number but only answering machine, nobody pickup the phone. I have also e-mailed to them but no response.
    I'm considering to take legal action if Agoda did not issue me the hotel voucher, and will inform my friends not to use Agoda services again.
    Hayati

    0 Votes
  • Md
      Dec 02, 2012

    Finally, I have managed to speak to Agoda's customer care on 30 Nov 12 noon. The assistant (If I'm not mistaken her name is Christine- thanks so much) was very helpful and managed to resolve the problem on phone around 10 minutes. The voucher has been sent to me after few minutes. Thank you Agoda.

    0 Votes
  • Md
      Dec 02, 2012

    Referring to my posting on 29th Nov 12, I wish to update that I have managed to contact Agoda on 30 Nov 12 after numerous attempts. The assistant ( if I'm not mistaken Ms Christine) was very helpful. After waited on the phone for 10 minutes, she managed to resolved their "technical" problem for not finalizing my booking and process for my voucher. I finally received hotel voucher for Bandung hotel that I paid after 5 minutes. Thanks a lot Christine/ Agoda. I do hope Agoda rectify this kind of hiccups right away to regain trust from customers ! Hayati.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 04, 2014

    I made reservation with Agoda for a hotel In bangalore. The money was instantly deducted and i received a message saying the voucher will be sent to me shortly. I arrived at the hotel this morning and the reception refused to acknowledge the booking as they needed n e voucher. They claim they havent received any booking in my name. In the past i have made several bookings with Agoda but never had such a terrible experience. I am literally stranded at this point in time

    Ranjeeta

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      May 02, 2016

    I booked a guesthouse in Japan that I thought was near the Kiso-Fukushima railway station. When I found that it was miles from the station I cancelled and booked another with a different company. Agoda did not send me any reminder that I had a booking but charged my card the full amount and then refunded part of it. I am out of pocket around AU$200. Although they didn't send any booking reminder (which I didn't expect since I had cancelled the booking) they sent me a "how was your accommodation" email.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Jun 26, 2016

    Agoda is one of the worst site, trust me on this
    I have been trying to call them since past 3 days. Pathethic customer service
    Booked a hotel in Pattaya for next week.
    Paid through card, but haven't got any email from agoda yet. Worst site.
    Can anyone please help me in this?
    I don't even have my booking id
    What should i do? Please guide me

    +1 Votes
  • Em
      Jan 03, 2017

    I made a booking for a hotel in Kk on 1st Jan 2017.
    I have completed the booking & make payment, notify will send voucher but i dont receive any. I also email but no reply. I called the customer service but asked to leave msg.
    I do screen shot the booking & prove that i make the payment, but now i dont receive anythg.

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Sep 06, 2017

    Agoda is one of the worst website I've ever used !!

    I booked a hotel from Toronto to Bangkok "Eastin Grand Hotel " and never received a confirmation email

    I called my bank and they said the payment never went through and since I didn't have my booking ID Agodo's Customer Service would not talk to me. So I went ahead and booked with Expedia now I'm double booked and Agoda won’t even provide a gift certificate for this error.

    +1 Votes
  • Fa
      Nov 13, 2017

    I have book few rooms from Agoda;
    Hotel : Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur.
    Date Check In / Check Out : 28 Nove 2017 / 29 Nov 2017
    Booking 1 x 2 Rooms : Guest Name : Ahmad Fairuz Bin Yunus
    Booking 2 x 1 Room : Guest Name : Mohd Yunus Hashim

    Booked on 3rd November 2017, and it was successful. But no email from Agoda till today. Tried to sign to Agoda, unsuccessful. Need to reset Password but no email on the reset password link?

    DO WE HAVE ANY ISSUE HERE? WE WILL BE GOING FOR THE TRIP TO JOHOR - PERAK - KUALA LUMPUR TOMORROW EVENING. DON'T RUIN OUR HOLIDAY ON THESE ISSUE

    THANK YOU

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      Aug 29, 2018

    We need to call media for this guys

    0 Votes
  • La
      Feb 28, 2019

    Agoda is a scam. Cannot create an account. Cannot speak to anyone on the phone. Transaction was made and charges debit from my account. Agoda never paid the Hotel which in turn I was charged again at departure. Agoda Stole $900 from me!! Very angry!

    +1 Votes
  • Sh
      May 25, 2019

    Hi,

    So Agoda - in a way - stole my money. 615 EUR
    Agoda confimed to me and my family a hotel Agoda allowed me to book a room for 5 people where hotel did not (but Agoda approved it) - It was AGODA MISTAKE and RESPONSIBILITY and actually I called the hotel to confirm this. and connecting the dots and let Agoda know about this issue.

    Following the above, when I wanted a full refund, Agoda told me that it cannot be done so I excepted their "honest" offer to get AgodaCash that I'll be able to use it with other hotels in the future. They fooled me there. not stating any expiration date at all at any point. The expiration of the amount within 3 months was never delivered to me at any point until when I found that my AgodaCash is gone.
    This claim is about Agoda taking responsibility for a mistake it did and is solely on Agoda. and is due to miscommunication/hiding information from the customer.

    After all, this is actual money we are talking about here. I feel that that Agoda is waving the contract that this is the policy.
    Claiming they sent an email which never got to me (just re-checked). Agoda never got acknowledgement from me that I saw and understand this expiration or never sent a phone notification/SMS. Again - this is about actual money!

    This is not the service I would expect from such of an enterprise company

    I would expect Agoda to take responsibility and pay the full amount - I have agreed, out of my curtsy to lower the amount to 400 EUR.

    Again - From my perspective, Agoda literally stole my money (more than 600 EURO) - not communicating anything about the expiration.

    In this case, I feel that I was treated not righteously and with arrogance.

    Bottom line:
    I asked Agoda to agree to my offer or refund of 400 EUR.
    Should they agree - I will consider this issue as closed.
    Should they not agree - I'll start a lawsuit.

    0 Votes

Post your comment