SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Afni, IncDebt collections

Review updated:

This company placed a collection on my credit report for $188 from Cingular. I have never had Cingular service. I have sent them a dispute letter many times, asking for validation of this debt. They either don't respond at all, or respond to tell me they can't verify anything because I haven't provided sufficient evidence.

I have demanded that they remove this item from my reports, but they refuse. I have complained to the BBB, and the FTC. Nothing. The credit bureaus won't do anything about it because Afni keeps "verifying" the account to them. How are they "verifying" anything to the bureaus if they don't actually have anything to verify it to me?

Afni, Inc. out of Bloomington, IL are ###. Bottom feeding debt collectors who don't play by the laws. They have many FDCPA violations now and I plan on suing them.

Er
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Do
      Jan 25, 2007
    Afni, Inc - Afni, Inc is a fraud!
    United States

    Afni is also going after me also for a verizon bill, how weird is that? For an outrageous amount of 529.79. What is hilarious about the location and phone number they are using is in another state that i used to live at in 1997 and the bill was for 2017. I moved to Nevada in 1997 and they are saying that it is from 2017. I don't think so, I have been living in Nevada since 1997. This company needs to be investigated. This company is going to make too many mistakes and find out they chose a person that can have close people that are in law enforcement check this out.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Mar 21, 2007

    I received a collection letter from Afni, stating they bought the accounts from Alltel. I never had an Alltel account. I asked for evidence, such as the contract, etc. they can not produce this information but yet they want me to pay the bill. This is an account from January 2017 and I am just not getting a collection letter, the account never showed up on my credit report so how could it be my account.

    If the bill is not paid, they will send the account to the credit bureau. I am unable to get any assistance in investigation. The bill is only 126.73 of which they could write off if they wanted to.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 06, 2007

    I just got something similar but for the amount of $68.40. I am contacting the attorney general of NY (where I live). I would advise you to do the same in your own state.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
      Dec 18, 2007
    Afni, Inc - Collection notice!
    AFNI, Inc.
    Olympia
    Washington
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    I received a collection notice that I owed $136.01 for an unpaid bill in 1997 for a Verizon Northwest, Inc account. The telephone number was not even my number from that timeframe ANFI says that there was an unpaid bill. Further, my telephone service provider was not Verizon during that time. In reviewing my canceled checks all monthly payments were made to my service provider, GTE, during the timeframe in which AFNI claims that there was an unpaid bill.

    This is clearly a SCAM operation and should be filed with the Attorney General of Illinois consumer protection division as the AFNI Collection Notice came from that state with a copy to your state's Attorney General. Federal telecommunications authorities should also be notified.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 09, 2008
    Afni, Inc - fradulant billing
    AFNI, Inc
    Washington
    United States
    www.afnicollections.com/Default.aspx

    this acct is not mine; it's for Dish Network that I never had at this time. I also never lived at the address it was associated with. I disputed it once when listed through ER Solutions and it was removed from my credit report. Then appeared again under AFNI, INC. I cannot find a physical address for this so that I can write them and when I disputed online thru Experian, AFNI reported back as this was a correct billing. They are lying through their very souls. IT is causing my credit rating to be lower. I am at my wits end. Cannot figure out what else to do. This is not my account and I wish companies like this who just won't do things honestly can be held accountable for ruining someones credit. I am really angry. It wouldn't have been removed the 1st time had it not been invalid. Any ideas what to do next?

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Jul 23, 2008
    Afni, Inc - Fraudulent Verizon Bill
    Afni, Inc.
    Los Angeles
    California
    United States
    Phone: [protected]

    This company has sent repeated collection notices to me regarding a 7 year old bill allegedly from Verizon Select Services Inc. for $178.94. I've called Verizon and verified that I do not owe any amount for this account, and that the account was closed by Verizon and never sent to collections. When I called Afni, Inc., "Stacia" told me repeatedly that Verizon was wrong, that they have a statement from Verizon requesting that Afni collect money from me, and that whoever I spoke to at Verizon has no idea what they're talking about because they can't access my old account anymore since it's been purchased by Afni. This is fraudulent.

    0 Votes
  • Jd
      Jan 17, 2009
    Afni, Inc - False Bad Credit Report ATT/Cingular
    ATT/Cinular
    United States

    Three years after Cingular sent me a paid in full invoice with a thank you, I get a nasty note from afni.Inc. The letter said I had an outstanding Cingular bill for $299 that was three years old. I called afni and spoke with the rudest person I have ever had the misfortune to speak with. I wanted to get to the bottom of what I was certain was a mistake. He won’t say anything except that if I did not make a partial payment immediately he was going to trash my credit. I was polite but firm, I wasn’t going to pay anything until I was certain I owed it.

    BIG MISTAKE. That heaping pile of parrot droppings at anfi slammed my credit, most likely the moment I hung up. However, I did not know that at the time. I immediately called Cingular. They admitted that they had screwed up by sending a final bill, one they had not told me about on the phone, to my son’s college address SIX months after he’d graduated. I paid on condition that they call off anfi. The polite, but apparently clueless CS Rep, assured me that Cingular would do the right thing. WRONG!

    BOTTOM LINE: Even though I have never missed a payment or been late on any payment EVER. AMEX lowered my credit limit without bothering to tell me my cards were over the limit. For the first time in my long life, I had my cards refused at a merchant to my deep embarrassment.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      May 26, 2009

    I require a signed, dated copy of this account. Thank you, Glenda Hasler

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Feb 22, 2010

    AFNI put a false account of $665 dollars on my credit report!!

    0 Votes
  • Fe
      Aug 17, 2010
    Afni, Inc - Wrong credit report entry
    Alabama
    United States

    A few days ago, Id decided to purchase a vehicle and was told I had negative Item posted on my credit report from AFNI, INC. To my surprise I called them up and informed them that this is an error and remove the false entry form my report. I was accused of blaming other for my poor paying habit. Can you believe that S_IT ? I always monitor my credit and check my score to ensure it’s over 775. I wouldn’t compromise my credit for a mere 200 dollars. They are so rude and unprofessional and I will fight this tell it gets resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Jan 04, 2011

    january 3, 2017
    can't anyone make these people stop! I was first contacted last fall about a $696 Verizon bill that I was supposed to have owed since 2017. they gave me the phone number which was in New York. I told them I haven't lived in NY since 1976 and the name they were using I haven't had as a last name since 1981. None of that seemed to matter so I did a reverse look-up on the number and found that it belonged to someone with my first name and the last name of my ex living in Brooklyn. Even when I lived in NY I never lived in Brooklyn. I tried to call them with this info but they refused to investigate. I am convinced that they went on the internet to see if they could find anyone who resembled the name of the real debtor and decided to harrass that person who happened to be me. Now I've gotten a dunning letter which I am disputing and for good measure sending a copy to the Atty Gen's office in PAwhere I live and in Illinois.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Apr 27, 2011

    That doesn't work here. You have to send it to them.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 17, 2011

    They are flakes... I filed a consumer complaint with the State Attorney for Illinois, that is where they re.. State Attorney of your home state, Federal Trades Commission, BBB, Postal inspector using USPS to defraud public. They tried the same thing with me.
    i did what i was telling you above. Afni replied to my complain with BBB... look what their reply email is saying... but don't laugh!
    (i did... and wet me knickers):


    June 27, 2017


    Dispute Resolution
    Case Manager/Business Practices
    BBB Complaint Department
    [protected]@heart.net


    RE: Mr. Tim Celasun Case # [protected]
    Afni, Inc. Account [protected]-01; Verizon Account [protected]


    This is in response to your letter to Afni, Inc., regarding the above referenced matter. We appreciate your assistance in bringing our consumer's concerns to our attention. In that regard, on or about March 2017, AT&T notified Afni the above referenced account remained due and owing from Mr.XXXXXXX. This account was established on March 1, 2017 and was considered delinquent by the creditor on October 24, 2017. The service address for the account was his still-current address.

    let me explain it to you--not everyone is as smart as they are LOL

    It says on or about March 2017 AT&T notified Afni ... an account will be established by Mr. C on March 1, 2017 and will be
    considered delinquent by the creditor (AT&T) on October 24, 2017>

    How in hell is that possible... I don't know... but look on top of their letter, ...it says Verizone which i never has... and with this
    crap in their hand, went and flagged the credit files... NON of the accounts mentioned here not, never was my account...

    0 Votes

Post your comment