CastleRock Security Logo

CastleRock Security

Having problems with CastleRock Security?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

CastleRock Security Customer Service Contacts

P.O. Box 5164
San Ramon, California
United States - 94583
Mon24h
Tue24h
Wed24h
Thu24h
Fri24h
Sat24h
Sun24h

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with CastleRock Security Customer Service. Initial CastleRock Security complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for CastleRock Security above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about CastleRock Security. Discuss the issues you have had with CastleRock Security and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Castlerock Securitycharging for service they are not providing

When contacted to cancel we were never told to provide in writing, this is something my dad set up before he passed away, when contacted they never even asked for any proof. And get this they will not reimburse charges even though they didn't provide service; we didn't even have a contract in our names and their equipment isn't even connected. We actually have service with another company! Watch your bank accounts or better yet..don't give it to them! Spread the word and keep friends and family informed...this company is a ripoff.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Ph
      pharmgirl77 Aug 18, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      i have read a ton of complaints against this company and the contract/cancellation policy...i am going forward in pursuing a class action lawsuit. please email me at [email protected] with details if you would like to participate. thank you for your time.

      0 Votes
    • Tr
      Trent Lagoria Aug 01, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      CastleRock Security continues to receive complaints for all the right reasons, but its time to go a step beyond complaint forums. Post all of your complaints in detail at http://www.castlerocksecurity.info. Simply reply the blog post most relevant to your complaint.

      0 Votes
    • Sa
      sarge09 Sep 28, 2009

      I have been trying to cancel our sevice many times in the past few months. Its been so stressful being a military member, I have greater issues to deal with.

      0 Votes

    Castle Rock Security — fraudulent charges

    I signed for a two year contract and was told by the salesman that after two years I was free to cancel...

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Castle Rock Securitycancellation policy

    Their cancellation policy is not explained fully when the contract is signed...whenyou do try to cancel they try to bill you for an entire year if you don't give them a 30 day written notice . They are taking advantage of the elderly and did so with my mother (88 years old). My mother sent in a 30 day notice but it arrived on 5/16, 15 days past their due date. When I tried to explain she was in the hospital at the time they really didn't care. When I tried to find a reasonable settlement they were not willling to budge and told me they would send her overdue account to a collection agency. I'm sending this to the Illinos Attorney General's office to see what can be done...because it's horrible!

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Apx - Sai - Castle Rock Security Alarm Monitoringthe sales people were very pushy

      I purchased my home security system May 6th 2006 from APX alarm. I should have know right of the bat this was a bad idea. The sales people were very pushy and required a signed agreement that day with insulation that day. We were in need of a security system due to a new swimming pool we just had installed so we went against our better judgment and signed the three year contract. Finally, after three long years we completed our contract obligations. I call on May 26th 2009 to cancel my subscription. To my surprise I was told I've already been enrolled in an additional 1 year contract since I didn't send a written letter 30 days prior to my original contract termination date. How in the world was I supposed to remember three years later to send a written letter to terminate my contract 30 days prior! Who does business like this? I know who, CRIMINALS!!! My contract has changed hands or names with companies three times in the three year commitment I signed up for. My original contract was with APX alarms, who then sold my contract to SAI. I just found out that SAI now goes by Castle Rock. This is all signs of a company trying to avoid bad PR for terrible customer service practices. It appears the only way they can get customers is by strong arming them into renewal contracts. Why would anyone want to entrust the security of their family and home to a company with such poor business practices?? I'm willing to take any legal action to bring this company down and see to it no others are taken by their scam. I fully intend to send letters to all of the companies VP's and large media outlets to share my story. I know there are probably hundreds if not thousands of people who are dealing with the same situation. If we all stick together maybe we can win justice against them.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        The complaint has been investigated and
        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
        Resolved
        Castle Rock Securitycontract scams

        They tell you one thing on the phone and when you follow their instructions exactly they turn around and screw you! First of all I never signed a contract directly with them. They work with other low life security companies like APEX Security that sells you some 75 dollar piece of crap that can be bypassed by a two year old. Then this company dumps all the contracts down to Castle Rock without your knowing or permission! If everyone was given the chance to investigate this company they would see that they have a F rating by the BBB and they would never allow them to take over the contract. That's how these scammers operate! So beware and never sign a Home Security monitoring contract. It will most likely end up with some bottom of the barrel company like Castle Rock!

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          We are here to help

          • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
          • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
          • Honest and unbiased reviews
          • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

          The complaint has been investigated and
          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
          Resolved
          Castlerock Securitycontract issues, withholding funds

          We entered into a 3 year contract with Castlerock security in the summer of 2007. I won't go into details because as you can see from this forum, Castlerock pulled the same cancellation (or lack thereof) issues with us. After appealing to the Atty General in our state, Castlerock finally agreed to grant us a month to month contract. This month to month contract was drawn up and signed in September, 2010. I made my monthly payments to Castlerock assuming that they were going to keep up their end of the contract. It's December, and after walking into my home (while alarm was still set), the alarm never went off. We contacted Castlerock on Dec. 4th to learn that they cut our services back in September, when we were supposedly entering into the month to month. Castlerock failed to hold up their end of the contract, kept my monthly payments, and cut our services without any notification. We are fortunate that we were not in need of security services during the months we were unknowingly left unguarded. I have demanded a refund for months of no service, but have been ignored. I'm taking this issue as far as I can go. PLEASE do not sign up for services with this company...you are only asking for trouble.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            The complaint has been investigated and
            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
            Resolved
            CastleRock Security/Pinnacle Securityunable to transfer contract/forged contract

            In 2005, shortly after buying our first house. My wife and I agreed to get an alarm from a door to door salesman with Pinnacle Security. We signed a 3 year contract, that's when the problems started. First, I gave a credit card to process automatic payments. The first month, no withdrawal payment. I get my first of several months of late payments. After calling, they "kindly" dropped the late charge. Next month, same exact thing. Repeat process for literally 4 months. None of which were my fault, they had my cc info on file but "mysteriously" they kept forgetting to process and trying to sneak late charges on my account. In 2007, we sold our home and tried to transfer the alarm to the new owner, who happened to be a friend of mine. Both her and I called Pinnacle to transfer contract to her. I was verbally released from the contract on the phone with a rep. I asked for a written statement releasing me from the contract. 5 phone calls later, no letter. The new owner gave cc info for her new alarm system payments. Again, no payment was processed from her for 5 months. I was unaware of her issues with Pinnacle. After being out of my old house for 8 months, I get a letter from the attorneys of Pinnacle threatening collections for the remainder of my contract, which had now been renewed after the supposed transfer to the new owner. Couple of issues here: somehow they put her under a new contract, not to carry out the original contract but a new contract which is NOT what we were both told. Second I was hunted down and threatened to be sent to collections for over $1200. At this point, I was now dealing with CastleRock Security. I was given no options at all after several more phone calls with Security. Wanting to keep my friend, who bought my house out of the frustration that I had been dealing with for nearly 3 years I reluctantly agreed to "transfer" my ORIGINAL contract to my new home. I was told repeatedly by CastleRock/Pinnacle that this was to carry out the several months I had on my contract and not a new contract. All of these conversations at this point were in the presence of my wife as to not be lost in translation or he said she said. The alarm installer came to my house and installed the alarm. On site, he had a contract in his hand. I refused to sign it but did initial and check the section that asks "do you understand you are agreeing to a new contract?" I checked NO and wrote in next to the box, this is a transfer my original contract and inserted the contract agreement number. I did not sign or initial the contract. I was on the phone with a representative and in the presence of my wife and installer. The phone rep said I am under contract for another 5 months at which point I could give 30 days notice and be released completely. 4 months later, I get on the phone to ensure that I was going to cancel my contract correctly. The phone rep says "you are not eligible to cancel until January 15, 2011." Outraged, I was looking at my contract disagreeing adamantly that my contract expires next month. Again with my wife present, the rep says she is looking at our contract that we signed extending it to 2011. I asked for a copy of what she was looking at, she emailed it to me right then. Not only was I looking at an entirely different contract than what was in my hand, it had been filled in post installation and my signature obviously forged. Any sane person could look and see that this was not my signature. I was told that in order to do anything I would have to contact my Sheriff and file a criminal complaint. I don't have a ton of money to go through a lawsuit or to pursue any type of legal issue. Once again, I had to swallow crow and had to drop the issue and keep their service. I am officially done January 15, 2010. I have sent 3 methods of cancellation since November 5th. Letter, email and fax. I have followed their instructions to a T and am waiting on confirmation of cancellation. They said they will email and mail a confirmation. This time, my lawyer is directly involved and very aware of this companies shady practices.
            I wish this company nothing but the worst. My hope is they all lose their jobs and this will come back to bite every executive, phone rep/installer and door to door salesman in the ###. Shame on all of you!

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              The complaint has been investigated and
              resolved to the customer's satisfaction
              Resolved
              Castle Rock Security/ SAIrefusal to cancel/ lawsuit in 4 fire deaths

              Castle Rock Security/SAI Sued in 4 Fire Deaths

              Numerous allegations of bad faith regarding automatically renewing contracts (and a refusal to notify or cancel them) have been noted here. That alone should be reason enough to think twice before using or staying with Castle Rock Security. Howerver it gets MUCH WORSE.


              Castlerock Security of Arlington Heights, Illinois used to be called Security Associates International (SAI) until it was acquired by Castle Rock Security in 2008. http://www.hoovers.com/company/Security_Associates_International_Inc/hjycyi-1.html


              In 2007, SAI (which in NOW CASTLE ROCK SECURITY), was accused of IMPROPERLY RESPONDING to a California FIRE ALARM. 2 firefighter and the 2 residents DIED!!! Here is the COMPLETE REPORT from the local fire department spelling out Castlerock's misconduct.
              http://www.firetactics.com/CONTRA%20COSTA%20LODD%20REPORT%207.17.08.pdf


              Here is a story about one of the firefighters widows who sued Castle Rock Security/ SAI

              http://articles.sfgate.com/ 2008-08-21/bay-area/[protected]_ 1_fire-district-firefighter-s- death-fire-department


              Additionally, SAI and Castle Rock Security have Better Business ratings of D- and F respectively.


              http://www.bbb.org/chicago/ business-reviews/burglar- alarm-systems-dealers- monitoring-and-service/ security-associates- international-in-arlington- heights-il-[protected]


              http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/security-systems-consultants/castlerock-security-in-arlington-heights-il-[protected]


              Please keep these unpleasant facts in when deciding if you want to use Castlerock and feel free to pass these important facts around.

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                • Ka
                  kamanojk Jan 28, 2011

                  At the moment I'm dealing with Security One and Castle Rock. Security One (who initially installed and monitored the system back in 2007) had alledgely sold the monitoring rights to Castle Rock sometime shortly thereafter. In August of 2010 Security One returned to resign me on good faith that they were reclaiming these accounts again. I signed what appeared to be a 60 month commitment at a slightly lower rate than Caslt Rock and handed them a check for the fist month's service. Despite this agreement, Castle Rock continues to monitor and bill me for services (which is on auto electronic transfer from my bank account). I received a call a few days ago from a Security One representative who asked if a technician could stop by the house today to check out a trouble alert that they have found in my alarm system. This along with an invoice for payment past due from Security One is what prompted me to contact Castle Rock. I have spoken with costumer reps of Castle Rock who have indicated that I signed a fraudulent contract with Security One. They explained that the account is still with Castle Rock and that this was a scam that Security One continues to conduct with all Castle Rock account holders. There was an alledged agreement when Caslte Rock (then called SAI) bought monitoring rights from Security One that Security One would not be allowed to regain this account for a minimum of 15 years. I'm still looking for this info on the internet and the supposed lawsuit Castle Rock has filed against Security One as a result. In short, I will not pay Security One and I will negotiate a lower price with Castle Rock from this point on. I will probably go to collections witn these invoices still being sent to me by Security One and hopefully I'll be able to dispute my case then.

                  0 Votes

                The complaint has been investigated and
                resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                Resolved
                Castle Rock Securitycontracts

                Numerous allegations of bad faith regarding automatically renewing contracts (and a refusal to notify or cancel them) have been noted here. that alone should be reason enough to think twice before using or staying with castle rock. howerver it gets much worse.


                Castlerock security of arlington heights, illinois used to be called security associates international (sai) until it was acquired by castlerock in 2008. http://www.hoovers.com/company/security_associates_international_inc/hjycyi-1.html


                In 2007, sai (which in now castlerock), was accused of improperly responding to a california fire alarm. 2 firefighter and the 2 residents died!!! here is the complete report from the local fire department spelling out castlerock's misconduct. http://www.cccfpd.org/press/documents/michele%20lodd%20report%207.17.08.pdf


                Here is a story about one of the firefighters widows who sued

                Http://articles.sfgate.com/ 2008-08-21/bay-area/[protected]_ 1_fire-district-firefighter-s - death-fire-department


                Additionally, sai and castlerock security have better business ratings of d - and f respectively.


                Http://www.bbb.org/chicago/ business-reviews/burglar - alarm-systems-dealers - monitoring-and-service/ security-associates - international-in-arlington - heights-il-[protected]


                Http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/security-systems-consultants/castlerock-security-in-arlington-heights-il-[protected]


                Please keep these unpleasant facts in when deciding if you want to use castlerock and feel free to pass these important facts around.

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Castlerock Security — refusal to cancel

                  Castlerock security/sai sued in 4 deaths!!! Castlerock security 2101 s arlington heights rd...

                  Mount Desert

                  The complaint has been investigated and
                  resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                  Resolved
                  Castlerock Security — lawsuit over 4 deaths

                  Numerous allegations of bad faith regarding automatically renewing contracts (and a refusal to notify or...

                  Castle Rock Security Systemscancellation procedures

                  On 9/09/10 my wife called castle rock security to terminate our original 3 year contract with first line security which expired one month ago. we were told by castle rock that bought out first line security that we had to wait another year before we could cancel our contract with them.

                  We were never given a new contract by castle rock and never acknowledged or signed or intended to enter a new contract with them. they are being most persistent in binding us to another year contract of unwanted services.

                  We requested to speak to a corporate officer or even a supervisor to no avail, it is business's like this that are tearing apart the business fabric of america and causing undue injury to its customers.

                  Approximately one year prior (wife speaking) I contacted the company to determine when our contract would expire. I told the party on the phone that I would be terminating our business association at the end of the term date given to me was [protected]. I wrote down the date on the top of my file and this arrangement seemed fine, and the person on the phone didn't mention a thing about me giving a thirty day notice to quit.

                  In spite of this the company has been reluctant to let us go - and why not they have been dipping into our checking account and doing essencially nothing for us. the alarm didn't go off one time in all the years of service.

                  Bottom line we want to go with another company.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    Castle Rock Securitywill not cancel or mail info

                    I just got done reading over some of the complaints, and feel sick to my stomach. I too, am in the same situation. my family has moved and first tried to get them to mail us papers so that we may request that they move our equipment over. they said they would email them. that was weeks ago, and we have contacted them since and same answer, yet no email or form in the mail. the house that the equipment is in, will be going into foreclosure. then after we havent had a response, we called today to see about cancelling and they said it would cost $1400!!! we never signed anything with castlerock, it was a different company, and was apparently sold to castlerock. I am all for a lawsuit as well! they are crooks!

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      • Pr
                        principled customer Dec 16, 2010

                        Yes, I would love to do a class action lawsuit against them. Another victim with similar scenario, however we did move, still having 9 months left of our 3-year term. Faxed in our cancellation 9 months in advance, all while paying the 44.99 fee for the next 9 months. Called to verify that the account had been satisfied, they said it was 4 days past the auto-renew, no record of fax of cancelation. Could not get a supervisor to call us back. Called again to ask for Debbie Murcio, who was supposed to be the one to return my call, she told me I could cancel with a 535$ payment. She was not willing to discuss anything other than us renewing, paying the cancellation fee. I got her full name, Debbie Murcio. Thank goodness for the internet in allowing customers to see other customer experiences.

                        0 Votes
                      • Dc
                        dctarheel40 Oct 06, 2010
                        This comment was posted by
                        a verified customer
                        Verified customer

                        They're crooks, but maybe if enough people hammer them they will begin to listen.

                        Here is the contact information for the person I was dealing with to no avail. It starts at the top.

                        David K. Brown

                        Director, National Operations

                        Direct Office: [protected]

                        Corporate Phone: [protected] x1041

                        Cell: [protected]

                        Fax: [protected]

                        E-Mail: [email protected]

                        0 Votes

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Castle Rock Security — auto renewal of contract

                      It's sad to see that people have been reporting about this company for many years and that they remain...

                      The complaint has been investigated and
                      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                      Resolved
                      Castle Rock Securitycontacts

                      The 1 year auto renew is ethically wrong. Have attempted to cancel account multiple times and don't seem to be getting any where.

                      To help you with contacting people, if we hit them with communications it might help. Here are the email addresses of known employees of Castlerock Security

                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Additional information

                      John E Johnson is the one of the former owners of SAI Security

                      BBB Link:
                      http://www.bbb.org/chicago/business-reviews/security-systems-consultants/castlerock-security-in-arlington-heights-il-88361482

                      Other Details:
                      CastleRock Security, Inc.
                      2101 S. Arlington Heights Rd., Suite 150
                      Arlington Heights, IL 60005
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Brian E Johnson
                      CEO
                      Former CO-Owner of SAI
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Don Agee
                      Vice President, Treasurer
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      William Gomez
                      Technical Services Supervisor
                      @castlerocksecurity.com

                      Jim German
                      Senior Vice President
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Dhaval Patel
                      Manager of Programming & Development
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Hana Collins
                      Process and Organizational Development Manager
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Mervet Shuber
                      HR Manager
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Hadley Meyer
                      Manager of Financial Systems
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Kimberly Fivelson
                      Legal - Contractor
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Angelina Beaudion
                      Director of Customer Relations
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com


                      Kathy Polanco
                      Customer Experience Enhan (HANDLES BBB)
                      [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        • Dc
                          dctarheel40 Oct 06, 2010
                          This comment was posted by
                          a verified customer
                          Verified customer

                          I too have had a very unpleasant experience in dealing with CastleRock. Here is another contact for people.

                          David K. Brown

                          Director, National Operations

                          Direct Office: [protected]

                          Corporate Phone: [protected] x1041

                          Cell: [protected]

                          Fax: [protected]

                          E-Mail: [email protected]

                          0 Votes

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Castlerock Security Inc. — automatic 1 year renewal

                        CastleRock Security Inc. automatically locked me into a new contract after my 3 year contract with them wa...

                        The complaint has been investigated and
                        resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                        Resolved
                        Castlerock Securityjoin me in cancelling your contract now!

                        I've seen the complaints, and am mad at myself for not googling CastleRock earlier! I won't go on about my complaint - the same thing everyone has been experiencing. What I will do though, is share what I'm doing to cancel, and what luck or info I may find regarding getting out of the contract, or bothering CastleRock enough to get them to drop me as a customer. Unfortunately, right now, I'm stuck like all of you - but here's what I'm doing to ensure I'm out at the end of this crazy year extension!

                        1. My written cancellation request.

                        I looked into this a little, and I can cancel 12 months ahead of time. The 30 day time limit is a "minimum" time limit, nothing says I can't do it now, and the representative reluctantly agreed that I could do it now.

                        In your letter, be sure to include the following:

                        -Acount number
                        -Sentence stating you wish to to cancel by the end date of your contract
                        -Print your name
                        -Include your signature
                        -Date your request
                        -email your request (a scanned image I'm assuming) [protected]@castlerocksecurity.com
                        -or fax your request to [protected]

                        On a personal note, I plan to email (with delivery receipt and read receipt) and I plan to fax (and retain confirmation), and I plan to obtain a physical address to cend certified mail with return signature receipt.

                        I urge everyone to start the process now, not wait until 30 days prior, and at least through the appearance of a massive loss of future revenue, this company may finally get the point!

                        By the way CastleRock - if you're reading, my name is Greg Krause - guess what finger I'm holding up!

                        All - I'll continue to post any success I find.

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          • Sc
                            screweddd Oct 13, 2010
                            This comment was posted by
                            a verified customer
                            Verified customer

                            We were sold a Security System from GE Firstline. Thinking it was a GE company we thought it was a trustworthy company and went with the subscription. Our account has since been sold to SAI and then to castlerock without our permission. We agreed to a 2 year contract but the company now automatically renewed the service from Aug 2017 for another year- even though we have been calling them since May 2017 constantly asking them to cancel. we have since even moved out of the house and are not interested in this service, dont use it, dont want it and dont want to deal with this company.

                            They use all kinds of tactics to deny our cancellation.
                            1. When we called them to cancel in May 2017, they claimed they need a fax cancellation per the contract. I faxed them a cancellation.
                            2. When I called to check in July 2017 (this is again before my contract expired), they said they did not receive the cancellation. I asked my IT dept to pull the fax records and it showed their fax line was busy. How can a company insist on receiving communication by fax and then have their fax machine busy. It is not my fault if their machine cant handle multiple faxes at the same time. I cant keep tabs on all the faxes our office sends. Most companies have a way to handle multiple incoming faxes.
                            3. I again refaxed the cancellation on Jul 30, 2017 almost 2 weeks before my current contract expired. They now said I was supposed to have faxed in the cancellation atleast 30 days in advance of the contract expiring and that I had missed the deadline and my contract was automatically renewed for 1 year. Seriously? Why would the company need my cancellation 30 days in advance and even if I missed it, isn't 1 month's charge a fair penalty. why would you force me to use your service which I dont need for another year?

                            I complained through BBB and got a form response. Trying though the AG now.

                            0 Votes
                          • Tr
                            Trent Lagoria Aug 05, 2010
                            This comment was posted by
                            a verified customer
                            Verified customer

                            CastleRockSecurity.info this is the address of the CastleRock Security Complaint Forum, if enough people use it, it will beat castlerock's own site on search engine query's of "CastleRock Security"

                            0 Votes
                          • Tr
                            Trent Lagoria Aug 05, 2010
                            This comment was posted by
                            a verified customer
                            Verified customer

                            CastleRockSecurity.info this is the address of the CastleRock Security Complaint Forum, if enough people use it, it will beat castlerock's own site on search engine query's of "CastleRock Security"

                            1 Votes
                          • Go
                            goodkirk May 11, 2010

                            My account was sold by Pinnacle to CastleRock, and I wanted to cancel it. The alarm is never used at my house, and it seems ridiculous that I should pay for a service when I never use it. My contract was up April 20th. When I called to cancel I was told that my contract auto-renewed and I could not cancel.

                            This seems a bit ridiculous to me in the fact that I hardly even knew that the account had been sold, and I was certainly never told that it would auto-renew. That was never part of the original contract that I was told about.

                            For months now I have been getting warnings from the company telling me that emails, phone calls and house calls have been perpetrated by a group of fraudulent individuals, hoping to gain my password or account information. In that process how was I to know what was actually from Castle Rock and what was not? Their customer service representative seemed to think that I should have heeded the phone calls made to me and called them back. Hmmmm, why would I do that when I had received fraudulent phone calls?

                            So in the process of all this they managed to rook me into another year of service. I even asked to speak to a supervisor and was told that he could see if one was available, but that they would tell me the same thing.

                            STAY AWAY, BAD COMPANY!

                            0 Votes
                          • Up
                            upsetindallas Jan 20, 2010

                            I too as many others purchased a security system from another vendor and when my 36 months was up I waited a couple of months to cancel. They told me that it auto-rolled and I would have to continue for another year. On top of that in December they charged me $48.70 then a few days later they charged to my card $6.48 then a couple of weeks later they charged my card for $38.50, and yet again they charged me another $6.48 and then on my normal billing for January they billed me another $48.70. So they over-billed me the $38.50 and two charges for $6.48 for no reason. I can't cancel for a year and no they are just randomly making charges to my card for no services rendered. They won't allow you to change your billing from auto-pay to sending me a bill. I guess my only course of action is to cancel my card and I am sure they will bill me then. This is the worst security company in the world!!! They are supposed to be protecting us and they are the real criminals.

                            0 Votes

                          Castle Rock Security — scam-see address below to write to congressman

                          I swear it has kept me up at night fuming at how they duped me. They clearly know what they are doing. I have...

                          The complaint has been investigated and
                          resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                          Resolved
                          Castle Rock Security, Inc.non cancellation

                          I was first approached by ADT who installed my alarm system. Then another company took over the monitoring SDI I think and these people are out of business--at which point Castle Rock took over the system--My system has not been hooked up for a month because of landline problems that I cant afford to fix--Castle Rock has not tried to contact me about this problem as I was told they wouyld if they couldnt monitor..I have contacted them today and was told that my contract had been renewed for a year because I did not send a letter in on time June 7 was the date for cancellation and this was the first time I was told a specific time frame..Castle Rock stated that they would not cancel the renewal even though it was computer generated--In a time when money is not these people are not you friend--My recommendation-take them to state consumer affairs or attorney general of your state--and of course BBB and a lawery if all else fails.

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            • Me
                              MeanRedGuitar Apr 06, 2012

                              Good news! As of May 2011, it's against the law in NV to have 1-year rollover contracts. Research SB 290

                              0 Votes
                            • Te
                              testdriverblue Nov 17, 2010

                              We are also from Las Vegas and ran into the exact same problem with Castlerock Security after our 3 yrs contract was up I called to cancel and they refused to cancel stating the same "small print" time frame restriction on our original contract with SAI security 3 yrs ago. Castlerock Security was rude, combative and completely determined to lock me in for another year without any legally signed agreement and using auto payment. I had to call AmEx to block withdrawals from them. They are emailing my husband constantly with overdue notices.

                              0 Votes

                            The complaint has been investigated and
                            resolved to the customer's satisfaction
                            Resolved
                            Castlerock Securityautomatic renewal

                            This company is bad news all the way around. I signed up for a 3 year agreement with them in May of 2007. The young man who installed the system put it in wrong. He wired the system to an outlet on a switch. The whole system turned off when anyone flipped the switch. We decided too late that we did not want to keep it, and they never came to fix it. I have paid the account in full, and now have been automatically renewed... oweing them for another year of service that I do not want. BEWARE... these people will bleed your money from your checking account FOREVER if you sign up. I learned a HUGE lesson from this. NEVER NEVER NEVER buy anything from door to door solicitation!

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              • Cm
                                C. Marshall Oct 07, 2010

                                Because there had been numerous breakins in my neighborhood, I called castlerock in June of 2010 to make sure they had all my updated information. The agent on the phone mentioned my 3 year contract was almost up & tried to get me to update my system for an additional 3 years. I told him I was planning on moving within the next year & did not want to make the financial commentment. In mid September someone tried to breakin my house, they pryed the door open and set off the alarm but they did not enter. They never contacted me, they contacted my father because they never updated my info. My father had to call me and told me they said they would call the police. When I got home my door was wide open, they left a voice mail on my home phone, police never showed up, they never called back to follow up. Now I am finding out that because I did not submitt a 30 day notice prior to my contract ending back in June, which the agent failed to mention nor did I recieved any renewal reminder from castlerock that I am automatically renewed another year. It will cost close to $300.00 to discontinue this service. They are sleezier than the crooks that break into your homes. If anyone has any advice on how I can fight this or if I can fight this I would appreciate it.

                                0 Votes
                              • Tr
                                Trent Lagoria Aug 05, 2010
                                This comment was posted by
                                a verified customer
                                Verified customer

                                CastleRockSecurity.info this is the address of the CastleRock Security Complaint Forum, if enough people use it, it will beat castlerock's own site for searches of "CastleRock Security"

                                0 Votes
                              • Ma
                                majorvoid Jun 22, 2010

                                These people do not care about the customer and the monitoring is a joke my system has been disconnected because of a bad inside house phone wiring and they did not know--told me I had to call them to test the system--that is not what I was told by the sales group --It would be automatic if they could not monitor---

                                0 Votes

                              IN THE NEWS

                              Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
                              If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                              One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
                              A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
                              ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
                              You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
                              Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.