Capella UniversityScam

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am done with my coursework at Capella. Managed to pull a 3.8 gpa and just finished comprehensive exams. I must say the further I got into the program the more "worried" I became. I complained about an instructor once, and so did many other students in my class. This teacher never logged on and failed everyone with zero feedback, changed her rubric etc...I manage to pass this one as well (after mass emails to the instructor informing her that I was reporting her weekly). One quarter later, student services got back to me to address my complaint. I was like "hey I finished this class last quarter, pretty late in the game dont ya think?" all kinds of bs appologies. Now I finished my comps and failed all three questions. The feedback instructors gave me only mentioned "APA issues" guess what? APA only counts for 5 points out of the 50 on each quesiton. How is that a fail? I asked my mentor for ellaboration and he said he could not do that and to just do my best in the rewrite. I did I spend another 60+ hours attempting to rewrite that damn thing with no feedback. I managed to pass all question but one. And again no feedback, I have not even been told which question I failed. I've asked for it several times and no one will get back to me. I NEED that info in order to appeal. I want to sue this F###ing school? Anyone in?

Responses

  • Ph
    PhD graduate Oct 16, 2021

    The fact is that you have to teach yourself in an online format. You failed your tests because you didn’t do that sufficiently and feel down you know that’s the truth. I have a PhD from Capella AND I practice clinical psychology.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    PhD graduate Oct 16, 2021

    @PhD graduate “Deep down”

    0 Votes
  • haney hudson Mar 24, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    if you're in trouble with capella also i'll recommend [email protected] he will get you fixed up including clearing your debt and other problems you might be facing... because he helped me out doing my tough time with them

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarinaRiley67 Mar 07, 2018

    Capella University could not be more nice and caring to land you secure and stuck to their school.
    Once that ends, not only is the Information Technology program a complete waste of time. Their
    technology/software sucks and fails all the time, so, you are late to submissions...but, they ahem, help you out by charging you for two terms because you are late. They have some serious issues with their financial aid office.
    Their financial aid does not transfer and cover the costs. So, they load you up while fixing the supposed "glitch"
    in the computers. A few months later, you find they never resolved the computer glitch issue for you to
    make the financial aid take the expense and not land in their billing office where you are asked to pay the full balance of $5K (of which you can't...thus the financial aid need) and they drop you from classes for their issues. They write it in their notes as, "We gave exceptions to help them" but the delays and double term billings were not due to anything but their computer issues." They destroy lives. Do not attend. They are democrats with agendas and it is not to help you...it's your ruin if you attend here. They are pure treason. I could share so much more criminal detail. But, it's not even worth it. You want to screw yourself over into destroying your life with nothing to gain, this would be that kind of choice guarantee.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jennifer Fretz-Smith Sep 11, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same boat. I have taken all my comp exam questions and then I was told I had failed. I received little to no help and I wanted to turn the classes into maybe another masters degree and was not assisted at all in this endeavor. Not a happy lady at all.

    0 Votes
  • John Bass Jun 14, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Close down capella! they are thieves!

    E-mail me at: [email protected]

    Join our class action legal pursuit/justice against capella university, for unethical and unfair business practices, degree program stall tactics, unrealistic and unfair student tuition, false promises, the university and its faculty not adhering to its own graduate degree program student’s manual (only to keep its students enrolling quarter, after quarter – costing its students an excessive amount of tuition), poor communication during active course participation, student loan/government lending fraud, in addition to many other “complaints”.in fact, we also have a an 'expert witness' willing to testify on the dissertation process, and “we” are in possession of a ’letter’ from a former capella university stating that, “capella university's doctoral programs are a fraud".

    Facts about capella university: capella university was the subject of an education department audit, which revealed that the school overcharged lenders and this department by over a half million dollars. capella university spends an unusually high portion of revenue on marketing and a relatively small amount on instruction (for its exclusively online program). most instructors are part-time and accreditation could be an issue in the near future. capella university appears to maintain aggressive enrollment goals for the more than 300 recruiters it employs. many former students of capella university have been plagued with high debt to income ratios after taking out student loans from this for-profit university. capella university was recently questioned for having a high withdrawal rate amongst students in its programs and for spending an unusually high percentage of revenue on marketing. (source: www.processmystudentloans.com/capella)

    Capella university information is cited below, where such websites state, “students don't mind a non-apa degree”, and also citing that capella university states, “graduates earn more income upon their graduating from its university” - which is false! additionally to its phd/psyd doctoral programs, capella university graduates cannot even practice clinical psychology, as its psychology doctoral programs are also not recognized by the apa in many, if any states – a requirement of course, necessary for a graduate to permit a graduate to earn state board-certification or ability to practice psychology – same issue as stated here within regarding argosy university (a lawsuit argosy university “lost”). therefore, if you were provided ‘false information/’false promises’ from capella university on this issue, or on any matter, especially upon graduation, that you will be qualified to ‘practice’ psychology within your state, or you were provided ‘false information’/’false promises’ (regardless of the type of program that you were enrolled with capella university) by capella university such as what’s stated above, and/or that you would earn a higher income completing any of its programs, and/or you know of other learners in this (same) predicament, please contact me. also, information regarding what’s mentioned in this paragraph, there are websites provided below, providing links for your convenience, for further review.

    Argosy university was even known for its “bait & switch”, whereas all of its psychology students were transferred from its phd program, to its psyd program, with the university aware that it was not recognized by the american psychology association (apa), and argosy university even canceled its pursuit to become accredited for its psychology doctoral programs – with its students to enrolled in its programs. this university has been successfully sued for this situation. so was phoenix university! capella university no different!

    Additionally, the state of minnesota passed a state bill (s. b.) regarding requirements by higher education universities must comply, with capella university’s report in the “harkins report” that is accessible for your review. file your “complaint” with the minnesota office of higher education (see below for contact information).

    The attorney generals of the states of colorado and pennsylvania are also filing lawsuits against capella university.

    University of phoenix class action lawsuit [protected]: the university of phoenix is being sued and may be “shut down”, by court order! three former students who withdrew from the university filed the lawsuit out of arkansas, whereas the students claimed that the university of phoenix sought tuition payments directly from the students after they withdrew instead of deducting the payments directly from the students' loans. the students withdrew because the quality of education they received from the university of phoenix was extremely poor, the instructors would not help them, and some instructors went missing for a few days in the online classrooms. what the university of phoenix is doing is illegal: a corporation cannot send student loan money in the form of a loan directly back to the lender and go after the borrower for collection. the university of phoenix broke the ‘lender/borrower contract’ without the student even knowing. the university of phoenix is currently being sued for: 1.) conversion; 2.) breach of contract; 3.) interference with contractual relations; 4.) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing; and 5.) unjust enrichment. university of phoenix class action lawsuit [protected]: the university of phoenix is being sued and ma will “shut down”, by court order! three former students who withdrew from the university filed the lawsuit out of arkansas, whereas the students claimed that the university of phoenix sought tuition payments directly from the students after they withdrew instead of deducting the payments directly from the students' loans. the students withdrew because the quality of education they received from the university of phoenix was extremely poor, the instructors would not help them, and some instructors went missing for a few days in the online classrooms. what the university of phoenix is doing is illegal: a corporation cannot send student loan money in the form of a loan directly back to the lender and go after the borrower for collection. the university of phoenix is currently being sued for: 1.) conversion; 2.) breach of contract; 3.) interference with contractual relations; 4.) breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing; and 5.) unjust enrichment (aka: “becoming “filthy rich” at the expense of others!”)

    University of phoenix is well known as one of the largest for-profit colleges in the us, and may also be among the most predatory. university of phoenix has a long history of lawsuits for its’ deceptive practices. the school was recently being sold, leaving students out in the dark. the university has paid several government fines and settled whistle-blower lawsuits concerning its admissions practices and education programs.in 2000, the federal government fined the university $6 million for including study-group meetings as instructional hours.in 2002, the department of education relaxed requirements on instructional hours.

    In 2014 the us department of education’s office of the inspector general demanded records from the university of phoenix and its parent company apollo group going back to 2007 “related to marketing, recruitment, enrollment, financial aid, fraud prevention, [and] student retention. (source: http://unitedlegalaid.com/university-phoenix-class-action/)

    University of phoenix settles false claims act lawsuit for $67.5 million:
    Https://www.justice.gov/opa/pr/university-phoenix-settles-false-claims-act-lawsuit-675-million

    Therefore, if you were provided ‘false information/’false promises’ from capella university on this issue, or on any matter, especially upon graduation, that you will be qualified to ‘practice’ psychology within your state, or you were provided ‘false information’/’false promises’ (regardless of the type of program that you were enrolled with capella university) by capella university such as what’s stated above, and/or that you would earn a higher income completing any of its programs, and/or you know of other learners in this (same) predicament, please contact me!

    File your ‘complaint’ with:
    Minnesota office of higher education
    Curriculum & student consumer research analyst;
    Institutional licensing & registration
    1450 energy park dr., suite 350
    St. paul, mn 55108
    Attn: jason curry
    Tel: [protected]
    Ohe. state. mn. us
    Jason. [email protected] mn. us

    Refer to the following for more information:

    Http://www.apa.org/monitor/2008/12/higher-ed.aspx

    Http://www.degreeinfo.com/general-distance-learning-discussions/25653-capella-university-withdraws-their-apa-accreditation-application.html

    Https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070706012108aa4o0xd

    Http://www.thefreelibrary.com/online+university+receives+apa+approval%3b+approval+makes+capella...-a062986467

    Federal change may be for vocational/distant learning; please see the following links for further information regarding this:

    Http://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2013/11/ftc-approves-changes-vocational-schools-guides

    Here, please reference a 2012 class action against itt tech that was successful in a consumer capacity:

    Http://www.huffingtonpost.com/davidhalperin/breaking-federal-consumer_b_4859812.html

    Please also reference the following class action suits, pleading against globe - based on consumer fraud attached after this payout:

    Http://blogs.mprnews.org/oncampus/2013/08/globemsb-ordered-to-pay-fired-dean-in-whistleblower-suit/

    Http://blogs.mprnews.org/oncampus/2013/10/former-students-file-suit-against-globe-university-minnesota-school-of-business/

    State of colorado’s attorney general is also suing for profit edmc for tuition over apa accreditation, and here is its link:
    Http://www.ag.state.mn.us/consumer/pressrelease/20131127.asp

    0 Votes
  • John Bass Jun 13, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CLOSE DOWN CAPELLA!

    E-MAIL ME AT: [email protected]

    JOIN our class action legal pursuit/justice against CAPELLA UNIVERSITY, for unethical and unfair business practices, degree program stall tactics, unrealistic and unfair student tuition, false promises, the university and its faculty not adhering to its own graduate degree program student’s manual (only to keep its students enrolling quarter, after quarter – costing its students an excessive amount of tuition), poor communication during active course participation, student loan/government lending fraud, in addition to many other “complaints”. In fact, we also have a an 'expert witness' willing to testify on the dissertation process, and “we” are in possession of a ’letter’ from a former CAPELLA UNIVERSITY stating that, “CAPELLA UNIVERSITY'S Doctoral Programs are a fraud".

    Facts About Capella University: Capella University was the subject of an Education Department audit, which revealed that the school overcharged lenders and this department by over a half million dollars. Capella University spends an unusually high portion of revenue on marketing and a relatively small amount on instruction (for its exclusively online program). Most instructors are part-time and accreditation could be an issue in the near future. Capella University appears to maintain aggressive enrollment goals for the more than 300 recruiters it employs. Many former students of Capella University have been plagued with high debt to income ratios after taking out student loans from this for-profit university. Capella University was recently questioned for having a high withdrawal rate amongst students in its programs and for spending an unusually high percentage of revenue on marketing. (SOURCE: www.processmystudentloans.com/capella)

    Capella University information is cited below, where such websites state, “students don't mind a non-APA degree”, and also citing that Capella University states, “graduates earn more income upon their graduating from its university” - which is false! Additionally to its PhD/PsyD Doctoral Programs, CAPELLA UNIVERSITY graduates cannot even practice clinical psychology, as its psychology doctoral programs are also not recognized by the APA in many, if any states – a requirement of course, necessary for a graduate to permit a graduate to earn state board-certification or ability to practice psychology – same issue as stated here within regarding Argosy University (a lawsuit Argosy University “lost”). Therefore, if you were provided ‘false information/’false promises’ from CAPELLA UNIVERSITY on this issue, or on any matter, especially upon graduation, that you will be qualified to ‘practice’ psychology within your state, or you were provided ‘false information’/’false promises’ (regardless of the type of program that you were enrolled with CAPELLA UNIVERSITY) by CAPELLA UNIVERSITY such as what’s stated above, and/or that you would earn a higher income completing any of its programs, and/or you know of other Learners in this (same) predicament, please contact me. Also, information regarding what’s mentioned in this paragraph, there are websites provided below, providing links for your convenience, for further review.

    Argosy University was even known for its “bait & switch”, whereas all of its psychology students were transferred from its PhD program, to its PsyD program, with the university aware that it was not recognized by the American Psychology Association (APA), and Argosy University even canceled its pursuit to become accredited for its Psychology Doctoral Programs – with its students to enrolled in its programs. This university has been successfully sued for this situation. So was Phoenix University! Capella University no different!

    Additionally, the State of Minnesota passed a State Bill (S.B.) regarding requirements by higher education universities must comply, with CAPELLA UNIVERSITY’S report in the “HARKINS REPORT” that is accessible for your review. FILE your “complaint” with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education (See below for contact information).

    The Attorney Generals of the States of Colorado and Pennsylvania are also filing lawsuits against CAPELLA UNIVERSITY.

    FILE YOUR ‘COMPLAINT’ WITH:
    Minnesota Office of Higher Education
    Curriculum & Student Consumer Research Analyst;
    Institutional Licensing & Registration
    1450 Energy Park Dr., Suite 350
    St. Paul, MN 55108
    ATTN: Jason Curry
    TEL: [protected]
    ohe.state.mn.us
    [email protected]

    REFER TO THE FOLLOWING FOR MORE INFORMATION:

    http://www.apa.org/monitor/2008/12/higher-ed.aspx

    http://www.degreeinfo.com/general-distance-learning-discussions/25653-capella-university-withdraws-their-apa-accreditation-application.html

    https://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070706012108AA4o0Xd

    http://www.thefreelibrary.com/Online+University+Receives+APA+Approval%3B+Approval+makes+Capella...-a062986467

    Federal change may be for vocational/distant learning; please see the following links for further information regarding this:

    http://www.ftc.gov/news-events/press-releases/2013/11/ftc-approves-changes-vocational-schools-guides

    Here, please reference a 2012 class action against ITT tech that was successful in a consumer capacity:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/davidhalperin/breaking-federal-consumer_b_4859812.html

    Please also reference the following class action suits, pleading against Globe - based on consumer fraud attached after this payout:

    http://blogs.mprnews.org/oncampus/2013/08/globemsb-ordered-to-pay-fired-dean-in-whistleblower-suit/

    http://blogs.mprnews.org/oncampus/2013/10/former-students-file-suit-against-globe-university-minnesota-school-of-business/

    State of Colorado’s Attorney General is also suing for profit EDMC for tuition over APA accreditation, and here is its link:
    http://www.ag.state.mn

    0 Votes
  • La
    Larry Bachilli May 11, 2017

    Is there a class action lawsuit against that university as I have many that want to join lawsuit. The treatment towards the students are horrible. They treat their students like they are jail birds. They tell you to shut up and do your own work and don't ask any questions. If they like you that is good, if they don't you are doomed and will never graduate and spin your wheels throughout years and years of getting no where. It is scam at its best. Please let me know if you hear of a class action lawsuit and count me in. - Larry B.

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    Gray Dharma May 18, 2017

    @Larry Bachilli This is a degree mill place. What did you expect?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Cheryl Kilker Apr 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in. Just spent another 45 mins with advising who are nice people, but apparently unable to really do anything. I really thought this was a good, regionally accredited option to get my General Psychology Master's online to advance my career and salary as an AP Psych teacher. Bitterly disappointed at huge problems, lack of communication. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert C1 Apr 03, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A huge class action lawsuit is in the works. Something similar that occurred with Trump University scandal. I have over 6 digits of debt with no degree due to Capella University and the fraud that occurred. Capella University switched advisors multiple times on me during my dissertation, unprofessional emails, and re-enrolling me in courses that I was not actively engaged in (taking my federal funding).

    Please email [email protected] and forward all of your complaints to her. This will not fall on deaf ears. I promise.

    Thanks

    1 Votes
  • Xa
    Xantelle Mar 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been administratively withdrawn from my program at Capella for reasons stemming from a medical emergency that I had during a summer residency. Never during the residency was I provided with any feedback, yet almost a month after I returned, I was given a feedback form that I initially thought was accidentally sent to me. Nothing in the form described me at all. I provided my side of the story to a review board, and almost nine months later--and after having paid tuition for three terms--I received notice on the last day of Winter term that I was being withdrawn.

    Count me in. I would also be more than happy to head up a class-action suit in my state (Washington). I have a 3.9 GPA; my only B came with a numerical grade of 89.25%. I don't believe it is possible to be intellectually unable to complete a program with grades like that, yet that is one of the reasons given for my administrative withdrawal. The damage to my reputation, to my finances, and to my educational and potentially work prospects is daunting. Capella needs to understand that it cannot treat its students as if they were throwaways. As for the grievance process against me, my academic advisor said that Capella executives were meeting regularly to figure out how to trim back the time it takes for a faculty-initiated grievance procedure to be completed, and that "many" (her word) other students were also waiting for resolutions to their cases.

    Nine months is utterly ridiculous, and when all is said and done, Capella appeared to completely ignore the evidence and references that I provided in going with the nuclear option of kicking me out of the program. They didn't even follow their own processes during the residency. Further, I have tried during the process to contact the faculty chair through email and phone with no response. When I received the decision about my withdrawal, I immediately called him and asked him to return my call as soon as possible. I followed up with an email. I still haven't gotten a response.

    Yes. I believe Capella is long overdue for a lawsuit if my story is at all familiar to others. My contact email is x-a-n-t-e-l-l-e (at) h-o-t-m-a-i-l, c-o-m, no dashes.

    2 Votes
  • Ta
    Taternblue Mar 15, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm having a similar financial problem with capella. They enrolled me in a class without having Federal funding available. They claim it's because I stated that I would have tuition assistance so I wasn't able to get full Federal funding. My employer partners with capella in the way that I get discounted rate for education. I would imagine the institution would be familiar with the tuition assistance process with my employer. My employer does not reimburse until after the class is completed and the invoice is paid literally showing a zero balance. Federal funding is needed to bring this balance to zero so regardless of whether I had tuition assistance or not federal funding would be required to pay it prior to the reimbursement. They failed the tell me that I didn't have enough Federal funding so I enrolled in my third class without the ability to complete it because I wasn't going to have enough federal funds to complete it. One week into the third-class I realized I wasn't going to be able to complete it. That tacked on another $1, 400 because I dropped out of the class early. The original amount owed due to the tuition assistance issue was a little over $1, 000. Capella has cost me $2, 400 and it is about ready to hit my credit report because I refuse to pay something on sheer principle. I realize I will be the one suffering for the bad credit score but something has to be done. I'm going to be filing a formal complaint thoigh I'm not sure what good that is going to do. If I had the money to get a lawyer I would. The financial aid department cannot be trusted to look out for the best interest of the student. The definition of customer service is being able to inform your customers of what they need to know. They did not inform me of what I needed to know or I simply would have waited until the next billing session to enroll in the third class. It is quite simple. I would have pushed off my education until Federal funding was available. After several attempts to make this right through email and phone calls and even getting my flexpathcoache involved we are at a standoff. No one offers to help. No one offers a viable solution. No one takes responsibility on behalf of the school for their error. The fact is students put Trust in the financial aid department and admissions department for that matter to look out for them and their best interest. Most students wouldn't know to track the loan amounts to the point of doing a check and balance and noticing something is off and noticing something enough to know they shouldn't be enrolling. Most students wouldn't know that. If financial aid says we can be enrolled for a class we believe them. I have no faith in the school and if they don't make this right they have directly impeded my process of reaching my bachelor's goal. To say I'm disappointed is a major understatement. Quite frankly I am disgusted at their level of service and would never recommend them and they should be ashamed of themselves for taking advantage of people's trust and people who are ultimately trying to better their life.

    2 Votes
  • An
    anna rugg Feb 13, 2017

    I want to sue Capella. I was in my dissertation phase and I was not told I had to post. The next thing I know is I owe $3200.00 and I am not allowed to move forward. Sue the ####! I can be reached at [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    Gray Dharma May 18, 2017

    @anna rugg You were in the dissertation phase and you didn't know to ask what you were expected to do? How did you get into a Ph.D. program?

    1 Votes
  • John Bass Aug 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Gray Dharma Dharma: Don't be am [censor]!

    0 Votes
  • John Bass Aug 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Gray Dharma Meant = DON'T BE -SUCH- a [censor]! (and, BTW - exactly where RU with your higher education pursuits?) Hmmm...

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kendra L. Cobb Dec 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please include me in the lawsuit. I am a current Capella leaner and know other learners that have been administratively removed from the program and others who are not happy with the level of service or support that are receiving as students. Please contact me I am willing to initiate the law suit once other students know about this 300 signatures will be a breeze.
    [email protected] Please contact me IMEDIATELY!!!

    2 Votes
  • Xa
    Xantelle Mar 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Kendra L. Cobb Has anyone contacted you yet? I have been administratively withdrawn from my program, despite my 3.9 GPA and despite clear evidence supporting my side of the story. The process took nine months, during which I continued my coursework. I was informed of this decision on the last day of Winter term, yet I still completed my final project, because that's the kind of person I am. Apparently, I am not the only person who has had this kind of experience. I am at x-a-n-t-e-l-l-e (at) h-o-t-m-a-i-l, c-o-m, no dashes.

    1 Votes
  • John Bass Dec 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Class action lawsuit against capella! they need to be shut down! asap! $130, 000 in student loans to a crap # school with crap # instructors and administration! where are we at w/ a suit against them. my impression so far is that we are not organized and nothing has been coordinated. yes or am I wrong?

    Sign me up — > [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Performacepsych Dec 09, 2016

    How do we go about filing a class action lawsuit or joining one against Capella?

    0 Votes
  • John Bass Oct 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    FILE YOUR COMPLAINT AGAINST CAPELLA UNIVERSITY (on this website, type in “Capella Education” in the required search field in their “complaint section”: http://shareholdersfoundation.com

    0 Votes
  • John Bass Oct 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CAPELLA UNIVERSITY is next on the government's chopping block! CAPELLA, its faculty & administration are CROOKS, and no better than University of Phoenix, Clinton's university, Devry, ANY of the for-profit so-called "universities". All its "leaders", "faculty", CEOs, administration - you name 'em need to appear in front of congress, fined and imprisoned!

    From a former Capella University PhD Student (John Lee Bass) scammed by ### curriculum and a "school" that stole $130, 000 in Federal School Loans and of course -- the infamous Wells Fargo Bank. Imagine!

    University of Phoenix students get relief from student loans following federal government investigation:

    http://aidingstudents.com/student-loans/breaking-news-university-of-phoenix-students-get-relief-from-student-loans-following-federal-government-investigation/

    University of Phoenix owner gets out as 50, 500 students flee:

    http://money.cnn.com/2016/02/08/pf/college/university-of-phoenix-online-sold/

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ct
    Ctine Sep 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    File a complaint here
    http://shareholdersfoundation.com/caseinvestigation/capella-education-company-former-student-investigation

    1 Votes
  • Gh
    GhostShip Sep 05, 2016

    To start my background presents an over achiever having attained a M.S. in psychology (emphasis in Sport psych) with a GPA of 3.85 completed in 18 months at Capella Univ. I immediately entered into the PhD program in General Psychology and had taken two courses per quarter. My chosen mentor prepared me for the comprehensive exam that I had passed with a running GPA of 3.73. The methodology of my dissertation was qualitative following the grounded theory. There had been changes made to the program which I questioned with my mentor (Dr.E). Through our conversations there had been minimum resolution if any at best. I asked if another member on my dissertation team could take the role of mentor resulting in the assignment of a new mentor (Dr) who was firm and bordered on condescending. The outlined used in support of the initial dissertation was the Scientific Methods Review (SMR). My second mentor Dr firmly discussed a change from qualitative to quantitative providing greater credibility. I indicated to Dr that I would need assistance on the stat portion. In using the initial SMR with changes made to support a quantitative methodology, approximately 50% was completed when Capella replaced the SMR with an IRB. The mentor would decide what students could continue using the SMR and what students would start from the beginning using the IRB, I was directed to use the new IRB; and in addition to using the IRB an updated version as QIRB was to be used. Naturally I complained and my words fell on deaf ears. It was irritating and I made a comment to my advisor stating “it was all about the money” and from that point on things changed.
    At the latter part of last year my mother was diagnosed with cancer and had less then a year to live and my mother-in-law was in medical distress. I was in their support team and needed emergency time off. My mentor failed to act positively and my time was shortened to accomplish goals. I was dropped from the program after investing >$100, 000 and received nothing.
    In short, Capella changed the dissertation procedures two additional times adding to the time needed to complete the dissertation.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gray Dharma May 18, 2017

    @GhostShip Attending Capella doesn't make you an overachiever. If you were an overachiever, you would have gone to a real college. Capella is a degree mill that anyone can get through. Everyone makes good grades at Capella.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ErrinS Aug 11, 2016

    I am ready to sign a petition. Please reach out to me. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Past Frustrated Aug 09, 2016

    Please include me...same issues with Capella as everyone else!

    0 Votes
  • To
    TOBI-ONE Aug 03, 2016

    Please include me in the complaint. [email protected]

    Terrible experience, charged me for a term, when I explicitly said I would not be participating, gave me a credit, then stated they collected Financial Aid and had to return it so they are trying to charge me for that as well. I have all my emails and one person from Capella even said they have records, when I asked for them they refused to give them to me.

    0 Votes
  • To
    TOBI-ONE Aug 03, 2016

    Please include me in the complaint. [email protected] Terrible experience, charged me for a term, when I explicitly said I would not be participating, gave me a credit, then stated they collected Financial Aid and had to return it so they are trying to charge me for that as well. I have all my emails and one person even said they have records, when I asked for them they refused to give them to me.

    0 Votes
  • Ay
    aya1000 Aug 02, 2016

    Please include me in the compliant [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ay
    aya1000 Aug 02, 2016

    Please Include me in any lawsuit you are perusing I am a victim of Capella University [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ay
    aya1000 Aug 02, 2016

    I am a victim of Capella University please include me in class action

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    May Alfadhy Aug 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they are just a bundle of crap, I will make sure everyone knows that Capella University is a scam. so lets join together a shut it down with a law suit and our money back. i have been with them for a couple of years and almost done my Master's in Clinical Psychology, but for them to help me finish and find a site to do my practicum is not happening. I will certainly take legal action and make sure they get shut down. Please help out there if you are victims like me.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gray Dharma May 18, 2017

    @May Alfadhy This school is a degree mill. You can't expect them to provide a good education. All they care about is your money. Next time, go to a REAL college.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    MaineDee Jul 05, 2016

    Include me re: any lawsuit. [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kamjosh38 Jun 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I need to get in the class action law suit for problems, I encountered at Capella. I have had a faculty member to put her hands on me and call me a fool at a track and retaliation while taking comps, Contact me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Gray Dharma May 18, 2017

    @Kamjosh38 Your comments make no sense.

    0 Votes
  • No
    No blindfold Jun 21, 2016

    I believe that this would work much better if there were a website or at least a Facebook page to organize our efforts.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marianne22 May 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have completed all my coursework and was writing my dissertation and the mentors couldn't help me get through the process. Now, $78, 000 later they want me to start all over into a new program. You have to do what I did: (1) I called the Student Financial Aid Ambudsman Group to file a complaint (2) The US Department of Education Post Secondary Education and file a complaint (3) Department of Education MisUse of Student Financial Aid (4) go to the White House website and write to President Obama to write a complaint about Capella (5) File a complaint with the SEC - Security Exchange. Capella is a for profit company on the stock exchange. Last year their earnings were over $399, 400, 000 Million dollars which 99% came from Student Financial Aid. You can look at their financial reports at the SEC online.

    (6) The biggest problem is all of the Capella Students have to file a petition for a Class Action law suit and come together. The Department of Education's MisUse of Student Financial Agent Department said, before they would help we needed 300 names on a petition. (7) The Petition can be created on Moveon.org or get a Lawyer who handles classaction law suits.

    (8) Read through the law suits about DeVry and Art Institute. Find the names and email addresses of the journalist following and writing about those cases and email them about Capella. I have already completed all of the above. Except: Begin the petition and file with the SEC.

    You can not be afraid, or uou will be on debt and you will have to pay all of your Student Financical Aid money back whether you get your degree or not. You borrowed the money, and if you don't do something aboutnit, you have to pay it back, not Capella.

    Please help us help ourselves to file a petiton and contact the SEC.

    5 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheila Hart Apr 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    [email protected] health.com
    I'm in and will help. I have the same story. I have about $200, 000 in loans and a second Masters Degree that I don't need. I was halfway through the dissertation process for a PhD when my mentor disappeared.

    2 Votes
  • Ex
    Expelled?? Mar 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Capella is all that everyone here has said it is and much worse! After getting a 4.00 on all my course work, I have now been expelled from the university while in my dissertation phase for not getting pass Milestone 11. The last quarter before I was expelled, I turned around 5 reviews - in one quarter. They changed my mentor 3 times, and the last quarter, one of my committee members quit. I then had to have the new committee member do a review after I had already been approved on the committee level. I am in Maryland and am in desperate need of an attorney. I am now being told that I can write a three page letter to appeal my being expelled. I have spent over $150, 000 into this school and now they are kicking me out after they would not let me get pass the milestone plan. How fair is that! Please - if anyone knows of an attorney in Maryland, please have them email me at [email protected], thanks!

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    Marianne22 Mar 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Capella University Students must file a complaint today with the Consumer Financial Bureau the link to their website is below:

    http://www.consumerfinance.gov/

    There will be question about your student loans: Just type in the schools name (it will pop up no loan servicer. just attached a document with your school loans listed and continue to post your complaint.

    "Most important: copy your comments in a Word Document or email to your self so that you can also file the complaint with the Student Financial Aid Ombusman". I am working on creating a petition through Moveon.org, so that Capella Students can each file their complaints. Last year Capella used $399, 500, 000 million dollars in Student Financial Aid. They are changing their program, not allowing students to complete their degrees even when the program was flawed. We can ask them to pay-off our student loans or have them give us our degrees. However, we have to sue them as a unit in a class action suit. Please let me know your name and email address to send the petition.

    3 Votes
  • Ma
    Marianne22 Mar 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been investigating Capella's misuse of Student Federal aid and I will start a MoveOn.org petition so that the US Office of the Inspector General Department of Education can investigate "Waste, Mis-Use and Abuse" of student's funds. We have to have the petition signed by everyone. Then, submit it also to the US Attorney General Office, Loretta Lynch's and US Secretary of Education, Arne Duncan as well as the US Department of Justice and copy the Federal Student Aid Compliance Office, US Department of Education Office of Post Secondary Education. The suit will demand that they forgive our Student Loans, and pay us for our time wasted in misrepresentation of the number of grads who actually finished their programs and got jobs, the professors poor teaching skills and forcing students to take out massive amounts of debt for a degree that is worthless. I need a list of at lease 300 students along with their individual 1 paragraph complaint.

    3 Votes
  • Cl
    Claribel Perez Mar 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completed all recommended coursework in the General Psychology program with a 3.8 and all flowed well until the comprehensive exam phase. The following list represents the wrongdoings and faults during an excruciating experience that left me buried in a financial debt of $120, 00, left me fighting Cancer after years of staying up all night rewriting exam questions, re-enrolling three times in the COMPS exam course, and enrolling in two recommended Writing courses, to finally become administratively withdrawn when all my student loans were exhausted. They made me enroll three times to take a COMPS EXAM that according to them was a tie and a reader had to break the tie; but finally Failed me to recommend me to enroll in a Masters Degree program. After two years of being a victim of CAPPELLA UNIVERSITY's humiliation, game and statistic of Administratively withdrawn student, I have been left with a debt, a sense of failure and an aftermath of illnesses.
    Currently, I don't only have unpaid student loans, but also medical bills piled up on top of my student loans debts. The Capella Doctoral Journey in fact turned into a hell of a nightmare as:
    1. Readers and Mentors were questionable
    (I hold evidence of numerous typos within the exam questions)
    2. Readers and Mentors wrote
    inconsistent, inappropriate and biased feedback)
    2. Sudden Change of Advisers (Three times)
    3. Capricious Grading
    4. Discrepancy in feedback, comments, instructions
    5. Readers and Mentors showed miscommunication and non-communication for clarification in a timely manner/scholarly manner
    6. Unclear Instructions/Directions
    7. Encouragement to register in two additional Writing Courses
    8. Encouragement to enroll/register in a second Masters' Program with Capella
    9. Making me take the SMR course and write a Dissertation Merit Review, prior to enrolling for the COMPS exam

    Altogether, the mentioned items summarize my "scholarly", doctoral experience with Capella University.

    2 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Wetovich Mar 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Again, Capella is all about the money and gives nothing in return. Please, notify me if there is a lawsuit because I'm in. Capella flat out lied to me, they said I had enough financial aid. I to complete my doctorate and strung me along until all my financial aid was gone. I'm a widow with 2 kids but they didn't care. Also, I learned nothing from the classes and when I voiced complaints they went to unanswered. This school should loose they're acredattion so they can't steal financial aid from the students. Please, if all of us banded together, we could acomplished this.

    1 Votes
  • Di
    Diane Wetovich Mar 04, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm in the Sam boat as many of you. Please let me know if the lawsuit moves forward against Capella, I have NO love for the institution. [email protected]

    3 Votes
  • Jo
    JOHN & COSMO - Los Angeles Feb 13, 2016

    DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME -OR- YOUR MONEY AT CAPELLA UNIVERSITY!!! TRUST ME!!! I KNOW!!! I earned 2 masters degrees at brick/mortar school in Miami, Florida - without problems, making excellent grades, and having tremendous academic support from the faculty - even the dean. At Capella - you will not receive any support or communication - UNLESS YOU OWE THEM MONEY. In fact, the even enroll you in the next, upcoming quarter when you haven't even completed 6 weeks of your present Capella course. After EIGHT years of earning my Ph.D. at Capella, I was constantly mislead, communication/answers to my questions and concerns would take WEEKS for the academic advisor (MICHAEL) and my mentor (DR. STIKA). My mentor all of a sudden "disappeared", then I was assigned another mentor - having to practically START ALL OVER my dissertation phase/requirements! Capella then later introduced the SMR (Scientific Merit Review) - a new process to students, event though they (students) wear near completion of the dissertation phase or half-way there. The SMR phase was brutal - taking nearly TWO years to complete (PASS!), It did "pass" with 3 faculty members, but low a behold - they too disappeared and I had to START ALL OVER!!! The new faculty advisor (Dr. Disch) denied ("failed") my PhD proposal - even though I had "passed" and was already preparing for DATA COLLECTION and already in the writing phases of Chapter 4 & 5. Chapters 1, 2 & 3 were approved, written & completed. But - when this SMR was introduced, conveniently and to serve the financial interest (gain) of Capella, I was told I had to go backwards and re-write Chapter 1, 2 & 3. Well at this point, I already had my Ph.D. proposal approved, my research topic, data methods, etc - ALL APPROVED. In fact, I already collected all of my data and was in the data analysis phase - which positioned me to be near completion of my Ph.D. within a projected six (6) months. Again - another setback. Then, it GETS BETTER (or I should say [much] WORSE!). Dr. Antunez (my THIRD assigned mentor) up and quit mid-class, leaving me and many other doctoral learners stranded. I was ready to complete my Ph.D. but Dr. Antunez and Capella faculty/administration led me on and were trying to penalize ME for this "professor" (if that's what I would call anyone associated being an educator at this university), told me I was late to re-enroll in my current class. This made no sense!!! Why did I have to re-enroll in a course that was actively ongoing and in week 6?!? Obviously this was for finances and to adhere to what I am assuming some sort of educational, legal standard. I was assigned ANOTHER mentor who had NO CLUE above my dissertation's topic, nor where I was (NEAR COMPLETION) of my Ph.D. ALL MY WORK WAS DONE! ALL MY DATA COLLECTION! ALL MY DATA ANALYSIS! I WAS DONE! Done with my paper and done with this university - a school that STOLE over $90, 000 from me in government-assisted student $. Every quarter I was harassed for $4, 200 in tuition! IN FACT, when I first enrolled with Capella to earn my Ph.D. ( ~ mid-2000s), Capella students did not have to pay $4, 200/quarter. I believe the tuition once in the dissertation phase was ~ $1, 200. The switch rules on you. Don't tell you. Mislead you. Lie to you. Take your money. Give you NOTHING!!! This university is NOT WORTH $4, 200/quarter! AT ALL! Even if they were just issuing Ph.D.s without your having to complete ANY work - CAPELLA UNIVERSITY IS NOT WORTH YOUR TIME OR YOUR MONEY. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY HERE! THEY ARE A SCAM! All the best! Stay away! - - - John

    1 Votes
  • So
    Sophia Reed LMHP-E Resident MFT Oct 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am about to enter the comp phase with Capella and I am shocked by all the complaints. I got my Master's from Capella with no issue and am in the process of being licensed. I am in my PhD now and am getting ready to do comps. The only complaint that I have with Capella are the Colloquiums they are not covered by financial aid and you have to pay out of pocket which is a bunch on none sense and expensive. I had to put my academics on hold until I paid the classes off since I had to take three. Also Capella is expensive period. For those complaining that they did not get feedback on Comps. Your not suppose to. That's the point they want to make sure you know the information on your own. It apart of accreditation procedures which is why you cannot get anyone to read or proof read your comp exam. Its all up to you to figure it out since you are getting a PhD. They want to make sure you meet minimum expectations, including doing the exam on your own.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.