Canadian Payment Services/first Data Global Leasingtaking money from bank account

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Feb 15, 2011 signed Merchant Services Agreement with Canadian Payment Services & Terminal Equipment Lease Agreement with NLS Leasing. Received a Terminal & on March 1st our Canadian Payment Services rep. Les Rogers came to set up the Terminal & said the wrong terminal was shipped. Les phoned Canadian Payment Service in New York & spoke with Frank [protected] ext. 7452). Frank said he would have the Terminal picked up & the correct one delivered. March 11th Money taken from our Bank Account, Terminal not picked up or replaced, services not activated & no response from Canadian Payment Services. March 16th Canceled the Agreement with Canadian Payment services for merchant services & Terminal Lease. March 25th & March 31st more money withdrawn from our Bank Account. Stop payments have been placed. First Data the Merchants Services processor told me that Milenium was our merchant services provider not Canadian Payment Services & that First Data was not affiliated with Canadian Payment Services.

Responses

  • Ro
    RoboRob Mar 05, 2014

    These CPS merchants keep calling and asking if we take "credit card payments". As soon as I say "We don't" they hang-up. You can tell from just that "hang-up" attitude they are not legit and are a scam. Yet they keep calling and hanging-up every week. SCAMMERS.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Honest Vendor Oct 13, 2012

    When I signed with Merchant Services Canada, I was offered to purchase a credit/debit card terminal through their recommended third party leasing company NLS Leasing ULC. I was told that by paying $70/mth on a 24 month lease, I would then own my wireless terminal outright and hence no longer need to pay monthly terminal fees thereafter. Thinking this was a great deal, I signed on.

    What a mistake it was! I soon realized NLS Leasing's goal is to cheat you as much money as possible!

    First the monthly leasing fee. It wasn't $70/mth as on the agreement but was $80/mth as I did not have adequate proof of business insurance to qualify for the $70/mth rate even though my business is fully insured. After the one year mark, NLS Leasing arbitrarily slapped a $56 annual renewal fee. After the 24 month leasing period expired, NLS Leasing continued to withdraw $80/mth out of my bank account and when I complained, they said it was my responsibility to inform them that my lease had expired and they would not refund the over payment. NLS Leasing then said I had three options. The first option was to purchase the terminal outright for $450 (not the token $1 at the end of most leases), the second option was to continue leasing the terminal at a lessor cost, and the third option was to return the terminal back to them after paying over $2000 in lease payments for it. When I told them I would choose the third option, they were shocked as they thought they could screw me the $450 after I had paid them $2000. They yelled at me over the phone and belittled me because they couldn't believe that I would rather loose the $2000 I paid them those lease payments than to pay them the extra $450.

    I was only able to financial do this because Merchant Services Canada, who is obviously aware of the scam practice of NLS Leasing, offered me a free credit/debit card terminal replacement so they would not loose me as a customer.

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CPS advisor Sep 17, 2012

    its very simple in my book a adviosr agent you must follow up and inusre that companies adhere to the rule and promises, so i guess as an adviosr some one did not do thier job.

    i am doing some business with CPS/Firts Data now and these qusetions are a very important wake up call for me to watch them big times and guess what will. every company is out there to make money yet a company that laks integrity and falsfies advertizing and cheats consumer must go and be proscuted.

    todate i have seen nothing unsuual with CPS and for so long as i do not experince the negatiove points cannot say anyhting bad about them. hopefully will stay that way. thanks to internet and media that we can keep and companies accountable.
    CPS account advisor

    0 Votes
  • No
    nocps-fd Jan 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    CPS blatently tried to defraud me. So I made a website and facebook about it. Check it out.
    www.cpsmerchantsfraud.com

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    filuk 1098 Jun 24, 2011

    In April/ 11 A sales rep from MSI want me to sign with his company his agreement was there would-be no fees to get out of my current company (Direct cash as he had worked for them before), $300 to get out of Monaris to which they would reimburse me $250 and I would have no application fees. So I signed. I then had customers in my small home based Archery Business and upon leaving he said I have one more thing for you to sign. I know "stupid " but I signed. Then a month later there were moneys taken out of my account that should not be and I find that he can not get me out of my original company Monaris and Direct Cash. He said he was in lots of trouble for agreeing to this verbal agreement of us . So I called to cancel. Well after much persuasion they said they would cancel my ticket and send a courier to pick up the NLS machine. Nothing happened. I went over that persons head and talked to another person who said yes my ticket had been cancelled and there would be big trouble that the machine had not been picked up. Nothing happened. Meanwhile I cancelled my bank account of 30 years so no more money would be removed and I contacted yet another person at MSI who also in the beginning of conversation said sure she would send us a tag to have the machine picked up then when I asked if I could have NLS call her as I was sick of their call she retracted her statement and said oh they are a lease and that she would look into it. We called again and she said we would have to fill out a Account closure request form. Well up until now we had been told that our account had been closed. I am sending a copy of the form. I would like to bring to you attention 3rd paragraph where they say they recommend we read our Merchant agreement- Up until Yesterday we never had a copy of any agreement and then they send pages we had never seen before. also 4th paragraph they say we were responsible to contact providers for termination. We only signed on with MSI ( they use NLS as their provider) and they did not fulfill their part of the agreement therefore they should cancel all providers. and the paragraph just above where we are to sign it states that even after signing the terms and conditions are still in effect. I do not understand that. I have read on line many many pages of people being scammed by NLS and they just ruin your credit and lives.. I do not know where to go with this so if you have any suggestions please help. Plus I want to know if these companies do have ratings?
    Thanks You Wendy Meyers [email protected]
    [protected]

    Hi! What can we do. We are another company that got sucked it by being made promises if we signed with MSI who use NLS and then pretend there in no affiliation with them at all. We just signed a month or so ago but we live in Canada so guess they have spread to here Lucky us. We cancelled out bank account so they can no longer take out money and they call daily and we finally got one to talk civil and put our account on hold to give us a bit of time before going to collection then went to call him today to see what kind of deal we could make and find he is fired. When I talked to him he said he was only allowed to give his first name. Where DID this company come from and HOW can they stay in business. Does Visa and Master card and debit companies not know what they are doing??? I am really ticked at all this.
    Anyway thanks for listening. and if you have any more info that might be helpful. Appreciated
    Wendy
    This was on our Account closure request
    1-We recommend that you review the terms and conditions of your Merchant Agreement BEFORE terminating.

    2-**NOTE: The following account providers need to be contacted DIRECTLY if termination is desired:
    American Express
    Check processor
    Giftcard processor

    3-By signing below, I authorize MSI Canada Inc. or its affiliate to fulfill the above request in connection with my Merchant Account, and understand that all applicable and surviving terms and conditions of the Merchant Agreement remain in effect.


    X_________________________________________________ Date________________

    Owner / Officer

    0 Votes
  • Av
    Avonlea Photography Studio Inc. Jun 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Avonlea Photography Studio Inc. received full refund from Canadian Payment Services/First Data Global Leasing on May 16, 2011. All services & contracts have been cancelled. My thoughts on these companies that phone saying the recent changes & deregulation to the credit card industry can lower your rates is bogus. If it sounds too good to be true then it is too good to be true. My advice to Brian Tak is to insist on a cancellation of your contract & not to take NO for an answer. All companies are required by law to supply & leave a copy of the signed contract with the client. Because CPS did not leave you with a copy of the contract you signed they are in breach & could be held accountable. So let them know this & keep after them, you might have to speak to your lawyer. email your Cancellation Request to your CPS Rep. [email protected], Prime Minister Harper - [email protected] as he needs to know & [email protected] who headed an investigation into credit card service providers a few years back.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Tak Jun 20, 2011

    I also signed with CPS since they offered me great rates. 1.49 on Visa and MC plus 1.49+0.30 on non qualified cards so the rep Steve in Vancouver told me the maximum I would pay monthly are 1.79 discount rate and a statement fee. I asked him about ten times at least is that all I will see on my statement. But when my statement came they were charging me 2.51 on non qualified. Plus he would never let me keep a copy of the contract. So I think he falsified the contract later at a higher rate since I know for a fact I did not sign for 2.51.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.