Bookit.comstay away from bookit.com!

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

After finding a travel agency to book travel for 21 members of my family, I learned about BookIt.com.in the end, I booked my immediate family of 7 through BookIt.com because they were able to get a better rate. The other 14 members stayed with the other travel agent. I wish I had too.

The short story is that once you book your travel and they get your money, they are useless to you. They don't send you any travel documents (you have to navigate their website and print everything on your own), and I found out the hard way that they don't request seat assignments for your air travel. (The other agency, and most others do). As a result I had to pay an extra $90 to get seats paired up, otherwise all 7 seats were middle seats spread out all over the plane!!! 4 of my travelers were children - 3 under the age of 8. For my return flight the airline could not accommodate me so I had to beg people to take 2 of my middle seats so I could have my 3 and 5 year old sit with me.

As if that wasn't enough, I spent alot of time working with the bookit.com agent on finding the shortest flight duration since I have 4 young children and it was their first time flying. I had an option for a non-stop flight from my local airport, but the agent found me a significantly lower cost flight out of another nearby airport that he assured me was non-stop.in fact the itinerary I printed from their website said it was non-stop with a total travel duration of under 3 hours. I found out the day before travel that it had 1 stop, and the total duration was over 5 hours! So almost twice the duration with my family spread out all over the planes.

Did I mention I booked all this 6 months in advance through bookit.com?? They added no value, and caused us to take extra flights and sit apart. Try another agency :-)

Responses

  • Lo
    lockeout97 Aug 11, 2016

    This website is the biggest JOKE that tries to call it self a travel site. I tried to get in on this sale and the website goes down and so I called and was on the Phone for over 90 mins to be told sorry nothing can be done as the sale is over. I spoke to a manager who said there is nothing that can be done. They did not even have the foresight to think about the added volume to their servers and also did not even add ANY staff to answer calls they just had the normal night shift trying to take all the calls. The best she could say is they are trying to think up a way to offer a second chance!!! What a bunch of crap. She even said there was no way for a Manager to look up how much the sale would have been and that she does not have any way of over riding the system. I told her I would be posting this response to every site I can find because if this is the type of service they offer who would want to use them because most of the sales they have are still more than FunJet and Cheapcaribbean's regular prices. The worst part is they have great site that is easy to use but with the way their customer service is and with their prices it is better to go somewhere else!!! JEREMY

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BookIt.com is a joke Aug 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    BookIt.com is a terrible web site to book your reservation. I did pick a cheap hotel in New York, The Manhattan at Time Square, which was not bookits fault. What is BookIts fault is that after getting a roll away with bed bugs the hotel let us out of our reservation. BookIt would not give us a full refund when the hotel would have. On the same trip, we had booked a room in Washington DC. When we went to check in they had no reservation. Stick with the more popular travel agencies. The aggravation BookIt.com causes is just not worth it. What is GUARANTEED is that if you call them with a complaint you will be on the phone for at least 50 minutes, I know I did it 3 times.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Summerbreak Aug 11, 2016

    Wait time is horrible is you need to speak to anyone. Once someone picks up the phone they send you to someone else to wait on hold again. Told two different stories on canceling. Ended up with a voucher towards a future booking, which we couldn't use because the hotel we wanted wasn't one of the "selected" hotels. FAIL. Save yourself money and hassle and go somewhere else.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    AVOID BOOKIT.COM Aug 11, 2016

    WIsh I had looked on this site before I used them again!!!

    They have the worse customer service I have ever experienced!! Can't believe they are even still in business. Once they get your money, try talking with someone to modify your reservation or change/correct anything. The wait times start at 30 minutes. This past weekend I spent 2 hours on hold and then another 30 minutes after speaking with a customer service rep. Then after another 2 hours after I had been assured the problem was resolved, discovered it had not been resolved. It was only after I sent a message threatening to post of Facebook and Twitter about the poor customer service did the problem get resolve.

    AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!! IT'S NOT WORTH THE BOTHER FOR ANY "BARGAIN" OR "DISCOUNT" THEY OFFER

    0 Votes
  • Av
    AVOID BOOKIT.COM Aug 11, 2016

    They have the worse customer service I have ever experienced!! Can't believe they are even still in business. Once they get your money, try talking with someone to modify your reservation or change/correct anything. The wait times start at 30 minutes. This past weekend I spent 2 hours on hold and then another 30 minutes after speaking with a customer service rep. Then after another 2 hours after I had been assured the problem was resolved, discovered it had not been resolved. It was only after I sent a message threatening to post of Facebook and Twitter about the poor customer service did the problem get resolve.

    AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS!!! IT'S NOT WORTH THE BOTHER FOR ANY "BARGAIN" OR "DISCOUNT" THEY OFFER

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccraw73 Aug 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    mISUDERSTANDING ON BOOKING A ROOM FOR JAMAICA, NO FOLLOW UP ON THEIR END LONG HOLD TIMES
    STILL NO RESPOSNSE .. THEY ARE HORRIBLE

    SHOULD NOT BE THIS HARD

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelly A2 Aug 11, 2016

    *****Bookit.com charges you more for the room than they pay The Mirage. The taxes and service fees are basically service fees you are paying Bookit.com. You will still be charged a resort fee per night upon arrival. We paid $119 for our room plus $18 in tax and fees to total $137 through bookit.com but The Mirage showed that we only paid $117.00 per night plus we had to pay them $16.80 for resort fees so we really paid $153 for our room. Not the good deal we thought we were getting. Also they were trying to charge my method of payment twice*****

    My Husband and I stayed at The Mirage on a Saturday night. We arrived at 1:30 pm and were able to check into our room early which was very nice. The young lady that checked us in was very rude. I asked her about the tram that takes guests from The Mirage to Treasure Island she told me I need to ask the Concierges desk, which was across the way. When we left the check in desk and walked a couple feet there was a sign that said Tram to Treasure Island with arrows. I felt that the young lady at check in could have said “to your right and follow the signs, ” instead of telling us to ask someone else. As for the rest of the staff (from maintenance to house keeping) they were all very friendly.

    Our room was nice, clean and modern but our Deluxe Premium View we paid for was of an empty pool and parking structures. The walls and doors were so thin that we could hear every single person in the hallway and our neighboring rooms. In all cases the people were having normal noise level conversations, but we could still hear them clear as day. Also the bathroom was extremely small. It was very hard for the 2 of us to get ready at the same time. The bathroom door came within 3 inches of hitting the front of the toilet. Also the drapes didn’t block the light out so do not plan on sleeping in. I was also very disappointed that there was no coffee pot in the room.

    Overall the room was modern and well kept but I would never stay at The Mirage again or recommend it to anyone. As well as use bookit.com services.

    0 Votes
  • BookIt.com® Sonya Aug 11, 2016

    Dear Valued Guest,

    Please accept our sincere apologies for the situation you described. It is disappointing to hear your vacation did not meet your expectations. At BookIt.com® we take Customer Support very seriously. In fact, one of our core values states that if our customers are merely satisfied, we haven't done our job.

    Since each property has their own specific terms and conditions, one of our Resolutions Representatives will need to research your concerns. So, if you would kindly fill out your information at http://from.bookit.com/customer_support.php, one of our Resolutions Representatives will contact you as soon as possible.

    Sincerely,
    Sonya
    BookIt.com®

    0 Votes
  • Uk
    uknowho Aug 11, 2016

    As cliche as that sounds - I wish there were negative stars to give.

    I bought transportation from airport to hotel vouchers for my mom and me: both to and from the airport. Bookit only sent two instead of four vouchers to be used. When I called I was on the phone for about 40 min, listening to their advertisements-filled hold music. Finally they admitted they made a mistake and told me to buy the transport vouchers myself as I get to the airport and they'll refund my money. Ok so that's what I did: instead of getting my $45 refunded, I was charged $58 (What on earth!!!) .so I had to take the time out of my vacation at the beach and spend another 45 mins on the phone trying to beat MY money out of them. She wanted my credit card again, UH HUH - as if! I told her to use the info she already had to scam me for $58 and use it to give it right back. So finally they did refund it (I should have known something was up when I received two emails from Bookit saying my credit card processing failed - when I didn't even TRY to use it in the first place). Anyways so they were supposed to fax new transport. vouchers to my hotel and, surely, that wouldn't have happened if i didn't take out ANOTHER 30 min out of my Miami vacation at the beach to call them again. THIS WAS THE LAST TIME I USED Bookit. And my heart goes out to all of you who HAVE used it, or who will ignore many of these negative reviews and WILL use it.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adrian Aug 11, 2016

    I made a reservation through BookIt.com for 3 nights at the Regal Sun Resort in Lake buena Vista, Florida. At 2:00 A.M. on Feb. 22, 2009, my first night's stay, I heard repeated loud banging noises in the room above me for about 15 minutes. I called the front desk to report the commotion. The desk agent informed me that she would call security. The noises were still occuring at 3:00 A.M.. I called the front desk again. I did not have a restful night of sleep.

    On the morning of February 23, I asked to speak to the manager at the front desk in person. I was directed to the desk manager. I overheard another guest in front of me delivering the same "sleepless night" complaint. Instead of apoligizing to the guest, the manager questioned, "Well, why didn't you call security?" In defense of the guests, I offered my experience, stating that I had called the front desk at 2:00 A.M. and 3:00 A.M. and the loud noise level was not corrected, and that I was unable to sleep as well. There was still no apology offered to either of us. We were informed by the desk manager that security was notified and there was "nothing they could do-it wasn't their fault."

    I requested no compensation for the sleepless night, but asked that the hotel cancel my reservation for the two remaining nights without a cancellation fee. The desk manager informed me that she was unable to do this since the reservation was booked on BookIt.com. I explained to her that the hotel had the juristiction to call BookIt.com and authorize a full refund to my credit card. She refused to accomodate my request.

    I asked to speak to her manager. She left the front desk and returned 5 minutes later to inform me that her manager was in a meeting, and was not available. I decided to call BookIt.com on my cell phone myself. I remained on the telephone with the customer care representative for 45 minutes. He was very helpful. He called the hotel while I was on hold, explained that he gained authorization to refund my pre-paid fee, with the exception of a $50 cancellation fee payable to the hotel. I disputed this. He said he could not authorize this refund without the hotel's permission, and he was unable to reach the manager designated to do this. I informed him that I wanted to proceed with my vacation, and would address the issue with management upon returning home after the vacation.

    This is a very noisy, party hotel. The management addressed my complaint in a curt and rude manner, and was in no way helpful or understanding. I lost a nights sleep, and an hour of my vacation attempting to address my customer complaint in order to proceed with a pleasant vacation. I do not recommend this property, or this management company, to any vacationer.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mark 5386 Feb 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i booked a package deal for 5 nights printed my itinerary and the hotel was short one night i called bookit and have 9hrs on the phone with them most of this time on hold. the hotel per night as advertised is $139.00 bookit offered to ad the night for $300.00 so i wouldn't be stranded with out a room for the night how nice of them. i declined there offer. we will have friends with us who booked through priceline that got there entire trip correct if we are stranded we will stay with them and i will deal with bookit when i return for endangering our life. STAY AWAY FROM BOOKIT

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David97501 Sep 24, 2013

    WOW! Where to begin. Me and my fiancé booked a Hawaii honey moon through bookit.com back in Feb 2013. I paid my flight tickets in advance and was making payments on their Pay Delay program for the rest of the trip such as hotel, and tours etc. As we got closer to the wedding date, we realized that we would not be able to make this trip for medical reasons. My doctor advised me that he did not want me to travel that far out until I healed from surgery. So we decided to make a change to a nice Las Vegas trip closer to home instead. I was told that I could exchange my flight to a flight credit to Las Vegas and after my fiancé made up a sweet romance package which took a couple of hours out of her day, I contacted Bookit.com to give them the new Hotel and tours package deal. They booked all the stuff we wanted to due and I paid an additional $1, 541.99 and was told that my tickets would be handled and I would get my flight credits. This was over a week ago. Today I get an email from Bookit.com advising me that my flight tickets can only be used for the destination to Hawaii and can not be used for another city. They told me that it was per "FEDERAL" regulations! However, I contacted the airlines directly and was told that, that was not true and that Bookit could re issue new tickets by using the credits I have on file and that Alaskan airlines were under the impression that we were being lied to and that they have the authority to rebook a new destination. So, I have had enough of companies like this!! I contacted my attorney and will be filing a lawsuit against bookit for fraud, undiscloser violations and the list goes on. DO NOT, and I repeat this "DO NOT" use this company for any of your travel needs! Me and my fiancé are now going to go into an actual Travel agency to get my tickets and honeymoon package booked in. Folks, convenience on the internet does not always mean that you will get what you are paying for. Go to a travel agency where you can get your tickets and travel packages right their in hand! SEE YOU IN COURT BOOKIT!! SCAMERSSS!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy007 Feb 23, 2013

    Do Not BOOK with this site! Their website is deceiving and depicts false and miselading advertisement. Also, they have very rude customer service representatives that do not care if you threaten to write a review and include their name because there are a million Faye's. But are there a million Faye's that work in the Panama City Beach Florida call center and that were working on Feb 18th, 2013 btw the times of 3pm-5pm Eastern? I didn't think so :-)

    Okay, so my issue with this site... I've used this site in the past several times and didn't have any issues. So I recommended to my friend that we use it to book an ALL-INCLUSIVE vacation to Costa Rica. We booked in Jan for our trip the week of President's day in Feb. When we went on the site, we ONLY searched for ALL Inclusive locations. We found several hotels that stated they were all inclusive. We then read reviews on trip advisor and decided on the Hotel Flamingo. We then went ahead and booked this "All Inclusive" resort. There were other cheaper All inclusive resorts, but we selected the Hotel Flamingo Resort.

    When we arrived at the location they said they didn't have anything on file that showed we were ALL Inclusive. WHAT??? They advised that this happens all the time and we can pay $75/day/person for all Inclusive. We paid $1, 023 each for flight and an all inclusive resort, there were resorts as low as $899 for all inclusive. But we didn't chose those. So why would we pay an additional $75/day/person for 5 days???? Was bookit.com aware of this? Was this resort just trying to get us to pay them extra? So we decied to call bookit.com and figure it out with them.

    So the next afternoon we called bookit.com and after being on hold for 12 minutes we were finally connected. The rep who said her name was Faye/Fay and was working out of the Panama City Florida call center, was very rude and impatient. She kept trying to cut me off and advised that we didn't book the all inclusive resort. I told her repeatedly that we were only searching for all inclusive resorts. She then mentioned that there are 2 Hotel Flamingo Beach resorts and one is all inclusive and one is not. She said that we booked the non inclusive. I then told her to go on the website and put in all inclusive and search. Only one pops up. She advised that 2 pops up, an all inclusive and a non. Hmmmmmmm. Why would a non inclusive show up if you're only searching for all inclusive. That sounds a little misleading and shady to me. It seems like bookit.com wants you to think you're booking the all inclusive when you are not. I also advised that on the DAY we booked, there was only ONE Flamingo beach resort in our search results. There were not 2. She told me that I should've called instead of booking online. REALLY???? My friend and I are both college graduates are we not capable of booking the correct resort online?? I think we are!! I asked her if she knew of any technical issues on the day we booked, she said she'd put in a ticket and we would hear from the company with-in 48 hours. It's been 6 days later and we still have not heard anything.

    I was even able to read Faye/Fay the link we used to book, it says room type id = AI. I'm assuming AI means all inclusive. I really believe that bookit.com helps to book empty resorts by tricking you into thinking you are at an all inclusive resort.

    Instead of wasting an hour on the phone with Faye from Panama City Beach, I should've been enjoying my all inclusive vacation. Faye was rude, impatient and did not care. I asked to speak to her manager and she put me on hold for several minutes at a time but each time her manager was helping someone else and there's nothing else she can do. But she didn't do anything in the first place.

    I will NEVER book on bookit.com again, I will also be starting a #Ihatebookit.com website and campaign on twitter and instagram. They are horrible!!! Bookit.com RUINED my vacation!!

    0 Votes
  • Pq
    pquinn Dec 16, 2012

    I agree, I booked a room in NYC and I needed to change it. I was on hold while they called the hotel. Then I ended up paying another 78.00 or I would have lost my money. If you book directly with a hotel, not one of these sites, you can cancel your reservation upto 48 hours before. Scam. Book it is the worst!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teresa branda Nov 23, 2012

    I purchased the travel insurance through book it.com. Several days before our trip to Mexico was scheduled our son became ill. He is an adult who is mentally ill and he lives with us. He developed strep throat with a temp of 1O2. We took him to an emergency room. He wad dehydrated and quite ill. He is in a rehab program for pain pill addiction. The Psychiatrist also sees him there to prescribe antidepressants and antipsychotics. They filled out the forms and explained that I had to be here to oversee his care. Today I received a call saying I was denied a refund because the reason i had to cancel was not covered. I believe this to be very prejudicial against, ental illness and plant o sue the compnay for discrimination. Im wondering exactly what they DO cover??? Or is it just a way to mame more money??? Never again will I book with book it

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mindblown Aug 31, 2012

    I WOULD RATHER PAY FULL FARE/RATES AND DEAL WITH VENDORS DIRECTLY THAN BOOK ANYTHING WITH THESE PEOPLE! They botched every aspect of a vacation for 6 to Jamaica and now I wait on hold for hours, get cut off often after waiting and then when I finally DO talk to someone they try and blame the airlines and hotel for all their screw ups. The compensation I WAS promised hasn't transpired. The friendly person I talked to when booking is no longer answering her phone. I get a cryptic message and can leave a message but of course no one gets back to me. They treat their employees horribly & have unethical booking policies. I also believe they have "agreements" with the hotels where they get you to your all-inclusive destination late in the day so you don't get anything for your money. I would love to see a class action suit filed.

    0 Votes
  • 40
    40 anniversary Aug 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We booked our trip to Hawaii with bookit.com They double charged us for one of the payments due. Now we are trying to get it refunded. You are right, never again with bookit .com

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wakeuppeople!!! Feb 25, 2012

    sounds like this would have been the airlines fault??? why didnt you select your seats before checkin??hellllllo!!!

    0 Votes
  • Hp
    Hptv Feb 22, 2012

    We booked a trip to Cozumel, Mexico through Bookit.com. We were put on American Airlines flights and told to pick our seats. When the time came to check in, we had no seats and were told by the airlines that we could pay extra for the remaining middle seats on the plane. Bookit misleads you in thinking that you have seats on a flight when they cannot honor even having seats. Classic bait and switch. Buy at a low price with Bookit then pay American Airlines extra just to get a seat on the plane. Do not use this service!!! Bookit is a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    georgefish Jun 23, 2011

    I tried to book a flight for two people. Total charges came to $356... they tried to charge my card $629. The sassy woman on the phone at bookit.com told me I have a hold on my card and that's why the reservation wouldn't finalize. Thankfully it was not approved, not my first rodeo, bookit.com=garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roverguy May 12, 2011

    I agree with a lot of other vacationers on this comment site. I thought I was going to have a very pleasurable booking experience with Bookit.com but has turned out to be such a horrible experience. I spoke with the agent who was very polite on the phone, we agreed on a price and when my credit card was charged it was a totally different amount than what we had agreed upon. I have spent the past 4 days trying to track down the right person to talk to because the agent who booked our vacation would not return my phone calls. We are still going on our trip after booking with this company but I will never use them again for any of our vacation needs. DO NOT BOOK WITH BOOKIT.COM

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    BOOKITSUCKS Apr 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WORST PLACE EVER TO BOOK :( DO NOT BELIEVE IN THEIR "REST ASSURED RATE". I FOUND A CHEAPER WITHIN HOURS AND ASKED BOOKIT TO MATCH THE CHEAPER RATE WHICH WAS $116.33, SAME ROOM, DATES, ETC. CHEAPER AFTER I BOOKED WITH BOOKIT. THEY CAME UP WITH AN EXCUSE THAT THEY CAN NOT MATCH IT. THEIR REST ASSURED RATE SHOULD DISCLOSURE SHOULD STATE "REST ASSURED YOU ARE GETTING RIPPED OFF AND WE WILL NOT MATCH A CHEAPER RATE"

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danielle09 Apr 28, 2011

    I am a frequent leisure traveler, and I always book online so I have more control over the booking. Bookit.com is a SCAM business. They automatically add airport transportation without you knowing, it just sneakily ends up at a nearly $33 charge per person and once it is booked and you see it on your itinerary, you cannot be refunded for it. Once they have your money, they could care less about you. If you have a problem or question that requires you to call a bookit.com representative, plan on spending about an hour on hold no matter what time of day. Also plan to get nowhere. Complain to them, and they mine as well give you the middle finger. They do not value their customers, though ironically their motto is "Bookit.com core value is guest elation." That is the biggest joke I've heard. Stick to Expedia.com, even if you spend an extra 100-200 dollars, you will save lots of time, and they treat their customers better.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Really_noway Feb 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bookit.com are shysters!!! i was of lured by their "great deals per person" flight + hotel and once you check out there's a large fee for booking with them. Beware, its easy to get pulled in with just a few clicks. My advice is to be follow the charges on the left hand side of the window. My "deal" easily went from $580 per person to $909.77 per person. Not to mention there was a no refund policy. After being thrown around in their cue and being on hold with customer service, i was able to speak to someone who actually helpful. Still i was ripped off.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jayjay11 Oct 27, 2010

    DO NOT USE BOOKIT...I just got screwed too and after 2 hours received a supervisor that was rude. I sent an email and no response, since I had a problem I was put on hold to listen to music until the phone disconnected!
    I am so irate selling me a resort that is not even available and now wont take my calls...
    FILE WITH BBB and DONT USE THEM!!!

    0 Votes
  • Had a great vacation to Cabos, despite Book It's lack of effort. Our airline reservations were completely messed up because Book It did not lock in the seats, two months prior, as promised. We had 2 kids and 2 adults completely spread throughout plane. When we checked in with the airline (2 days in advance) and informed of this, I spent an hour and twenty minutes on hold with Book It--they were trying to wear out my cell phone, instead of talk to me. They provided no assistance. The people that sell their service are far different from those that you speak to on their "help line."

    Arrive at the destination airport and be prepared to be greeted at the airport by the Book It "concierge" that informs you that your "soup to nuts" package advertised on line does not include your transportation to the resort. An extra $120 round trip--no complaints if I was expecting it, but they shouldn't promise what they don't deliver. Their on-site person at the resort was no different, when he showed up for work, he was less than helpful and seemed confused.

    I would highly recommend going to Cabos and strongly recommend either using the internet to book your travel or anyone other than Book It -- they are deceptive, non responsive- despite promises to be at your side and have no interest in you after you pay. Overall, a bad company.

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    oldvolks Jun 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Booked a room in San Fransico, after 5 days the hotel had nothing from bookit.com, called the hotel and they are almost sold out and can not say if I have a room or not, I will NEVER use bookit.com as it appears to be a crap shoot if the money they took and the reservation will ever go through. STAY AWAY from bookit.com. Have spent more time on the phone trying to get this taken care of then it will take me to travel there

    0 Votes
  • At
    atruesoldier Jun 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company does NOT take pride in Customer Service. I paid for the insurance and canceled my trip 24 days before arrival. It has been over two weeks and still have not got my refund. They claim it takes 7-10 business days to refund your money when it takes 10 seconds for them to bill your credit card. I advise anyone in this situation to call your credit card and dispute the charge. As well i am researching what legal action we can use against this company. There are enough complaints to take this Company to court.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DianaGA May 23, 2010

    Stay away from bookIt!!! I was holding a number of time to speak to an agent - held for 30 minutes every time and was disconnected right before an agent was supposedly . the second time held another 30 minutes and finally got to an agent; had questions about two destinations; spoke about first one, then she put me on hold to search the second destination - I held for 50 minutes (just to see how long she would make me hold, but of course she won, I had to disconnect). Such terrible customer service, makes me question whether the "deals" they list are honest... probably not and cannot be trusted just as their customer service

    0 Votes
  • Co
    [email protected]@1! Apr 28, 2010

    I reserved a "mystery" room with Bookit.com. In the online reservation process they let me select the room type and number of beds (2 queens). When I arrived at the hotel the information I selected in the reservation process did not reflect the actual room reserved (1 king). Not an ideal situation for four people. When I called customer service they told me they did not have the number of beds requested in the reservation because I didn't call and even if they did have the bedding requirements they could not guarantee the number of beds I would get because "bedding" (requirements) are considered a request. They did essentially nothing to help resolve the situation and I was required to pay additional fees to for roll-a-way beds. Had I known there bed "request" policy I would never have used them to book $500 reservations that in the end cost me over $600 due to hidden fees. I will NEVER use their service again and recommend others avoid using them too.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    forrealz Mar 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i've been using this website since last year 2009 and had no problem until now. when i recently review my credit card to find out that they have charged me unreasonably. they have also recently changed and lied about their term of use policy and private policy. where they stated that they will NEVER give out clients confidential information which was a lie. i recently booked a hotel two weeks in advance to los angeles. to find out that my bank have been declining my other purchases. when i reviewed my statement, they have charged me THREE TIMES for the same room and date. WHAT IDIOT EMPLOYEE CAN SCREWED THAT UP? called the stupid company, they refuse to let me speak to a supervisor or manager. i thought at first this agency was too good to be true and their it was.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tomoji Sep 01, 2009

    I've had a very poor experience with Bookit.com and feel I have to give a review to help you avoid similar problems.

    The hotel I booked with them was terrible, grim and genuinely distressed my family - okay, that happens, they are agents not hoteliers, but it's how they delt with it that was miserable. When I called to explain theat the hotel was practically stygian and wouldn't stay one night, they were 'sympathetic', 'applogetic' and 'understanding' and assured me that I would be credit for the cost of the hotel. But when I arrived home I found that the had charged me a penalty fee for leaving the hotel early as if canceling the hotel on a whim! Talk about rubbing salt into the wounds!

    From my experience they are money grabbing middle-men acting oin the interests of their hotel customers - and not remotely genuine in offering a service of value to visitors.

    Avoid them - book direct or with a different agent - one that will value you and your experience - or be prepared to be overcharged and poorly looked after.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ambush Aug 20, 2009

    I booked a Vegas package using Bookit.com. I chose the flight times and dates, then after I paid for them with my credit card, they emailed my itinerary and they were completely different flight times all done without my approval. It took hours of waiting on the phone to fix this horrible mix up. They never did send hotel confirmation, thank God I thought and confirmed with the hotel myself. They also had me confirmed on Aloha airlines, ( a company that went out of business last year.) Turns out they made a mistake and it was supposed to be Alaska airlines. No one bothered to tell me. These people SUCK!

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    jdobash May 30, 2009

    Never use this company!!! They are a scam and will make you feel like there mistakes were you. They booked my dates wrong and I am having to pay for it dearly... Someone needs to put this crooked business out!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    irritated May 18, 2009

    Worst company to book thru. I cancelled my plans within plenty of notice--receive a $20 fine for doing so, which was okay. However, my refund still hasn't gone through (it's been 2 weeks). They told me it would be 5-7 business days, when I called on the 8th day because they money wasn't in, they said they had been really busy and said it was processing by the end of that day because they put a "rush" on it. They said my money would be back in my account the following week, no problems. Well, it's four days later from the followup and nothing. They now say it's out of their hands and cannot help. What bs. They should have communicated things better on their end. BOOK ELSEWHERE.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    born2ride4life May 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bookit.com is a terrible company and I will never use them again! I only wish I had seen all of the TERRIBLE reviews of the site before I began the fiasco I'm now in with the company!!! We booked a hotel for a weekend away for our anniversary, however a Hurricane decided to come that weekend, so we tried to cancel. They said we could cancel for $19.95 and get the room so long as we re-booked within one year. Well, I called a few weeks ago to use the room, however now they're telling me it's $100 MORE for one night & that two nights are required minimum stay. Also, "Raymond" told me that I should be "THANKFUL" that he canceled our original reservation for us without the $45 fee...RIGHT. THANKFUL that you LIED to your customers. Way to make yourself feel better buddy! Anyway, so I re-booked for the $100 more a night (###, I tell ya) instead of losing the money we already had put down. Upon that reservation I was told that I would be emailed my reservation, I would be credited for the canceled room (minus the $19.95, of course) & re-charged for the new room price. Well, what do you know. A few weeks later & all I got was charged for the new room right away & a promotional email. No confirmation email & no refund. This is a never ending battle & not what traveling should be like. I would HIGHLY recommend using another company. Just because bookit.com claims to value customer service, does not mean that they do! They all apologize, but do nothing about it!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christy Apr 07, 2009

    My 1st time using them they also did not book my rent a car, but bookit charged me for it. I was stuck in the airport in Jamaica not knowing what to do b/c I already laid out the money for the car now I had to pay again for a car which tapped into my vacation spending money. I wasn't able to do all the things I plained. 2nd time I used bookit, I know why did I go back I thought maybe it was an honest mistake. Well I booked my Honeymoon with them. OMG what a nightmare it was suppose to be a new 5 star resort. I paid for the best rooms and it had bugs in the bed, it smelt like mold, it even had black mold on the walls they switched my room 3 times. I had to take a down graded room it was the only one that didn't smell or have bugs in bed. They never refunded my money. I was crying on my Honeymoon cause it was so disgusting and who could sleep or feel comfortable in rooms like that. I contacted bookit several times. I called, sent emails and never got a response. They are not worth it.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnnyb Mar 27, 2009

    This company ruined our family vacation to Mexico. We had two rooms booked at the Moon Palace and when we arrived at the airport, our transfers were not paid for, so we paid for that. Then once we get to the resort, they say that they have no reservation for us. So I call Bookit and they say that it must be a mistake, but still the resort refuses to give us our two rooms. So we had to pay for our rooms there, which was very expensive. Now I am fighting with Bookit to get my money back. This company is so unprofessional and has basically taken no responsibility for this mistake. I see that a lot of other people are complaining about this company. Take my advice, book with someone else, it's not worth taking the chance with this company. STAY AWAY FROM BOOK IT
    BOOKIT.COM took our money and now we are fighting to get it back

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisa Mar 22, 2009

    Never use Bookit to book your hotel! We used Bookit to book a hotel on our vacation to Miami. We CHOSE 2 beds. Once we got to hotel we were told that we would be getting 1 bed unless we "upgraded" to a room with 2 beds. Even though we checked 2 beds that is actually just a "preference" and up to the hotel on whether they will give it to you or charge you extra.

    Thinking we could surely get this resolved through Bookit, we called and wasted another half an hour just to be told that yes, it is a "preference". Why they don't tell you that when you are booking is beyond me. How is this legal? Surely I would have never paid for something not knowing if I would have enough beds when I got there. Do not let this happen to you!

    0 Votes
  • Nl
    nlhs Mar 06, 2009

    My family of 9 recently returned from a trip to the Atlantis, Paradise Island, booked through this company, from the start booking was a disaster:
    It took 4 weeks to get the dates, rates and confirmations correct and emailed, each contact with the company was with a different staff person with different information and prices, we had no confidence that things would be right and sure enough:
    1. Airline: booked 8 of 9 on one confirmation/reservation. Only 1 person could check in without the others being present, airline advised it should never be done this way.
    2. 4 rooms at the Atlantis: one of the rooms was booked for 2 days longer than the rest of the group;
    3. The Atlantis meal plan booked incorrectly, adults booked as children, wrong # of people booked, wrong amount quoted, wrong amount charged and no mention of gratuities and service fees added to cost;
    4. Advised that use of the fitness center equipment was included in package (FYI: it’s not, its $15. per day)

    We spent more time at the front desk of the hotel correcting errors and waiting for fax confirmations, than at the pool/beach. We went with bookit.com because we thought we were saving $, we would have been better off booking through the hotel.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.