Best Westerncustomer service/billing

1
S Review updated:

We reserved a room at this hotel for Sept 26-28, 2008. Due to a family matter we could not keep the reservation and called to cancel on Sept. 22. We were told that there was a seven day policy for cancellations and that we were too late. We were not informed during the reservation process of this policy nor were we ever notified until we attempted to cancel. Best Western corporate refuses to get involved as the properties under their corporate umbrella are independantly owned and operated. They act only as an intermediary to attempt to resolve a complaint.

We are not questioning the seven day policy even though it really extreme. 48-72hrs. is what I have encountered at other properties. What we question is how can they enforce a policy that has not been disclosed.

Responses

  • Da
    dalvik Jul 02, 2009

    It's hard to prove from a phone call if that information was disclosed. I would hope you don't raise issues like this over every business transaction, if so the amount of red tape all companies start to require before they can provide you a service will become overwhelming. If you requested an e-mail confirmation it states the cancellation policy on it. Or at least the last Best Western Reservation I made did reflect that policy on the confirmation e-mail.

    Here is the cancellation policy section from my e-mail message from Best Western:
    CANCELLATION POLICY: If you should need to change or cancel, please
    do so by 4pm hotel time on 25 April 2009 or your
    credit card will be charged.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alwaystravelling Jan 17, 2012

    We have stayed at this property for many years. We bring in school groups each year and the old managers Ray and Ashe have been wonderful. They left the property and a new manager Jay came in. He agreed verbally to honour the rate we had for 2011. He did so with a September booking we had and all was well.
    Another manager then came in and called me in Australia to say he would not honor our rate and we had to pay more or he would cancel our rooms. This was the day before Thanksgiving. We were leaving in less than a week from Australia with sixty students and ten staff. We had no choice and felt that this was blackmail and extortion. He sent me a contract with the new rate, I corrected it with the agreed rate. He signed that. He then called me to say he was cancelling my booking un less I signed it again with the higher rate.
    As all transport and activities had been booked around this hotel, I signed the new one. The stay was miserable. The manager lied to us about when rooms would be ready. We were given smoking rooms and told that they were non-smoking. Everything was grubby and felt like the new manager cared not about return business, just about getting the money in.
    I spoke with the owner who said that she would sort it our. She is now not available to speak to and they have told me to take my case legal if I want to see a refund.
    My advice, don't book here! The internet is super slow and you can't complain about the service because there isn't any!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BestWestern Sucks Feb 16, 2012

    The worst customer service!!!
    It's been over 5 month since I ask for membership card and still I haven't got it.
    I've asked to CS team many many times, and they never reply at all, completely ignoring me.

    That's fine coz I can use membership number instead, but my rewards point!!!
    I requested for retail card using my rewards point.
    Guess what? They just took my points and did not send me the card.
    Of course asked couple of times for the update, and no reply at all.

    0 Votes
  • So
    SoWhat Jul 28, 2016

    my complaint with this place is the fact that you can complain as much as you want and nothing will get fixed! There are a few rooms that have mold growing in the bathroom, the spa outside is always broken, and if you ask the front desk when it will be fixed the answer will be "we're waiting on the part". I know for a fact the spa has not worked in over 2 years! Yet it is advertised on their site. The honeymoon suite is over priced and falling apart... the Jacuzzi rooms are just plain nasty! The columns in one of the suites has a whole in it. The sheets are so wore out, and many are stained. The towels are TINY and many of them are nasty looking. The breakfast bar leaves MUCH to be desired and the fact that the bread is extremely stale. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone especially since there are much better ones on the strip for the same price or cheaper. If you complain to corp. all you'll get is a letter from the BW in Clarksville that is just a generic that is sent to all the people who complain. It doesn't even address your complain most of the time! Save your money and stay somewhere else!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    roxanne walls r.w.dreams Jul 28, 2016

    after driving all night, 13.5 hrs. we arrived at our hotel at wich we had prior reservations for over 2wks. we showed up at 10am exhausted ffrom our trip, they told us that check in is 3pm and that they would get our room ready early if possible. so we left for the beach for a couple of hrs. wer come back to watch them rent room after room for 4 hrs insisting they didnt have a two bed smoking room, and i watched the lady rent out to or three walkins when we had had our res for a month. now ive been here for 5 hrs waitng on a room, im tired and pissed off ive been up for two days. if this is the service i get for planning ahead best western WILL never be included in my travel plans again. this is bs

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Koleka Jul 28, 2016

    I experienced a tragedy in my life – I had a fire in my home and lost everything and so for 2 1/2 months I was going from hotel to hotel. I finally decided to station myself at the Best Western Hotel in South Plainfield, NJ for about a month or so. I would normally try to park my vehicle directly by my window so I could keep an eye on it and one morning I went out to my truck only to see it had been vandalized by what I was told – some crazy jealous woman who obviously had some mental issues. Not only had she vandalized my truck but she also had vandalized about 5 other vehicles that I was made aware of.

    I immediately notified the local police and management of the hotel. I went to an auto body shop to get it repaired and brought the bill to the General Manager, Monika Ceselkova of the South Plainfield Best Western hotel to be reimbursed for the damages done on my vehicle.

    She stated it would have to be submitted to Corporate Office and their insurance company and they would get back to me. Periodically while trying to rebuild my life, I made several attempts, via phone, email and personal visits to check on the status of being reimbursed for the damages and as always I just got the run around and or no response back. I just kept getting the same old excuses – either she was out of office, she’d look into it and get back to me or just got ignored with no callback or response. I am a very patient person but I believe 11 months is beyond testing someone’s patience. This is just downright unprofessional, discourteous and a lack of regard and a need for classes on communication and the importance of excellence in customer service which in today’s fast social media can seriously affect the reputation of the entire hotel chain.

    Personally, I believe Ms. Monika Ceselkova should be fired. Obviously she did not receive enough customer service education and if nothing else – her communication skills are non-existent. A general manager should not handle a situation by not dealing with it at all and disregarding it as if there is no situation.

    A simple phone call and or email would have been appreciated with some form of status. They didn’t mind taking my money when I stayed at the Best Western Hotel for over a month! BEWARE EVERYONE – BEST WESTERN HOTEL IN SOUTH PLAINFIELD, NJ HAVE VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE! THEIR GENERAL MANAGEMENT BEING THE WORST (SPECIFICALLY MS. MONIKA CESELKOVA! ! THE ODDS OF YOUR VEHICLE BEING VANDALIZED IS QUITE HIGH AND THEY WILL NOT STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND HAVE ANY COMMUNICATIONS WITH YOU TO ATTEMPT TO RATIFY THE SITUATION! YOU WILL BE DIS-REGARDED AND DISMISSED!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Garrett allen Jul 28, 2016

    i made reservations on the phone with my visa card on sunday MAY 8th 12am . took a 40 $ cab ride to the hotel and when i got there at 12am they said they would take my visa . i had all my ID card is active pulled 400$ deposit for 1 night only . i was left stranded with know where to go . why does visa claim this card i have from them should work anywhere and im refused service even though its a prepaid card visa says its good . i will never use a best western again unless some compensation is offered . i will tell me friends and family the same thing and im sure they will fallow suit ... deeply disapointed in the way i was treated .if i would of just showed up with know phone call i could understand.I CALLED AND MADE RESERVATION before hand and was approved please email me at [email protected] im eger to hear from you and your thoughts on the matter

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindi David Jul 28, 2016

    September 2008 Stayed at the Best Western Shadow Mountain in Durango. While I was staying in the hotel room someone with a key card tried to enter the room. I had the safety lock on. The person said they needed to check some furniture in the room. I closed the door, called the front desk and asked if they sent anyone. They said they had no work orders. I stated I was little scared and upset. They did NOT ASK what the person looked like or offer to check into the matter. For my OWN SAFETY, I had to call the Durango Police and report it. Whether or not it was their employee or not, the point was they HAD NO CONCERN ABOUT THEIR GUEST SAFETY. Also, went to the front desk to complain. They finally said they checked and it was their employee and the wrong room. Since they never had me look at any of their employees, how would they know. Besides the safety issues. The swimming pool was FILTHY, the hot tub was covered during daytime hours. The beds made me ITCHY, the HBO never worked. I was so disappointed and frustrated that NO ONE SEEMED to CARE IN THE LEAST.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anonymous Hard Worker Jul 28, 2016

    You should share your story on the website Trip Advisor at www.tripadvisor.com, that way travelers know not to spend the night at the Best Western in Durango, Colorado. I have used this website in the past to share my honest opinions of hotels across America.

    0 Votes
  • Gg
    GGunther Jul 28, 2016

    The Best Western Luxbury in Fort Wayne, Indiana is a place all travelers need to avoid. The management is rude and goes through employees like water! They yell at the employees while guests are around. The breakfast is horrible. If you enjoy seeing people come to their soggy cereal and hard roll breakfast in bare feet, then you will like this place. Otherwise, there are PLENTY of hotels in the area where you will get far more for far less money. The owners, the Pipprotars, are about as dishonest as they come--and they charge in the area of $85 per night for this dump! Go to the Comfort Suites just next door and you won't pay as much. Even the larger hotel chains in the area don't charge as much! You'll get a smile when you walk in the door, and then watch out. This is a very old hotel that has been "remodeled" and still looks dated. The best thing about this place is when you leave it--and never come back.

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    Kberain Jul 28, 2016

    My husband and I checked into the Best Western Orange County Airport North with our children. We arrived at our room at 9:30 to drop our bags and head out for a late dinner. When we arrived back at our hotel 1.5 hours later, we got our kids ready for bed before doing the same. When we went to get in bed we noticed a large suspicious stain in the middle of our comforter...which looked to be dried blood and semen, as well as a pubic hair in the bathroom. We notified hotel staff, which inspected the room and said that, it wasn’t clean. Although they changed our room at close to midnight, my husband had to go down and inspect the new room to ensure that it was clean. When complaining to hotel management the next morning, instead of being apologetic, they were rude and insulting. Please do not patronize this business! We will never stay at a Best Western Again! Embassy Suits, Hampton Inn ect are all located very close by, We will take our business to them! Both property Manager and GM were rude! They should be ashamed of themselves! Please Dont give Best Western Orange County your Business!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cocytus Jul 28, 2016

    The Luxbury has so few guests that it's likely to close soon.
    See TripAdvisor for more complaints about the property.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    greg yanick Jul 28, 2016

    I am currently in this Hotel
    the Internet does not work, I need this for business reasons, it is advertised as free
    the staff are rude and could not care less
    no tea coffee etc in room and is NOT replaced
    room is NOISY sounds of tv urination toilet flushing from next room
    I shall bounce this hotel on every site I can
    if nothing is done

    0 Votes
  • Pg
    P. Gill White Jul 28, 2016

    We had a reservation, guaranteed with a credit card for a 3 day trip to visit our daughter in Hollywood. We arrived late at night and were told they had overbooked so we would have to go to another hotel. They sent us miles away to a shabby part of town with a noisy bar right next door. This was very frightening to us as we are somewhat elderly and don't usually drive at night. The hotel had no carpeting or hot water.

    The hotel manager said this happens all the time. Warning! You will not have a guaranteed room at this hotel, no matter what they say on their website.

    0 Votes
  • Oc
    Oceana Resorts Jul 28, 2016

    Thank you for writing a review. I would like to apologize to you for the condition that your room was in and how the staff treated you during your stay. We have changed several members of our staff since you stayed with us in 2007. I hope that you will give us another try the next time you visit the Grand Strand.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darkeegan Jul 28, 2016

    should stay with holiday inn

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tara Adams Jul 28, 2016

    My mother, two sisters and I stayed in this hotel for a weekend in April. We were there two nights and it was still too long! When we arrived the employees in the lobby parking area were rude and told us to move even though we were parked right next to a sign that said "15 minute parking-check in only" and checking in was exactly what we were doing. When we got into 2 bedroom suite it was so disgusting that we had to call to have it vacuumed and one of the tubs cleaned again (there were crumbs all over the floor and hair all over the bathtub). It took two calls and three hours to get them to send someone up to clean it, and she was rude as well! The employees at the front desk also told us to park in the wrong parking garage.

    Saturday it took two calls and an hour to get them to bring some coffee up to the room for my mother, then, we were out of the room for the majority of the day (I'd say from 10:30 AM until about 7 PM), and when we arrived back our door was bolted open! Thankfully we were at the end of a corridor in a corner, but when we called the front desk to ask about it they said "oh, the maids must have forgotten to shut it behind them" and weren't apologetic at all! We were lucky but someone could have walked right into our room and taken whatever they wanted!

    After paying over $500 for two nights in this hotel, we decided to complain about our terrible stay. We complained directly to Best Western. They said they forwarded our complaint to the hotel and they gave the hotel one week to get back to them. The hotel never replied to our complaint, so all Best Western would do was send us a $50 gift card to use at a Best Western hotel. This was absolutely NOT good compensation for the terrible stay we had at this resort.

    0 Votes
  • 1e
    1epicure4 Jul 28, 2016

    I was trying to save some money this year so we changed our usual (excellent ski and stay 2 for three special in a lovely suite in the Crowne Plaza) for the much more affordable Best Western across the road. How bad could it be? The kicker in our decision was the incredible price we were quoted over the phone. 600.00 bucks with lift tickets for 2 nights and the 3rd free was great. It compared with some of the smaller mom and pop lodging outside of the village of placid proper. I was very careful about the price and I was comparing different properties. BWestern was the best, but not by a huge amount.
    We took it.
    The suite we occupied was okay. A cheap microwave and fridge. Two queen beds and a pull out sofa in an adjoining space - can't really call it a room. It was crouched above a back stair case and the head room for the stair case is inserted in this narrow space. No-one could possibly sleep on the sofa bed. The room carpets were worn, the hallways felt like a series of springing subfloors added over the years. Overall, a rough property.
    Staff was nice so we sucked it all up, said nothing and remembered the great deal we were getting. Well, this is where it all went wrong.
    When I made the original booking I was given the price and told I would receive an email confirmation. Nothing came. I didn't think much of it as we were looking for something in March and this was only December.
    My December credit card bill then showed a charge of 194.91. This reminded me that I didn't get any confirmation so, on January 6th I wrote the hotel requesting confirmation. I got a brief note back confirming the room, the lift tickets but nothing about the price apart from reference to the "deposit" they'd taken in the amount above. I didn't question anything as 200 bucks seemed reasonable as a deposit and about a third of what I expected to pay. At checkout, I was presented with a statement indicating 582.91 and showing the 194.91 above it. I said to the clerk that this was not what I was quoted on the phone and he assured me the 194.91 was deducted from the 582.91. At this point I'm rushing to get to the hill so don't give it another thought apart from, this is about what I was quoted and, in fact, a bit better. Great. Nothing more to be said.
    A month goes by and see I'm charged the full 588.91 on my bill bringing the total cost to nearly 800.00 - 200.00 more than originally quoted. No problem, just an oversight, i'll make a call and we'll fix this up. NOT!
    I have never been treated so rudely on the phone by a person named Olga who claims to manage the place. She informed me I was wrong, I was never quoted this amount I got what I paid for, she went over the figures on the final statement over and over. Yes, I can add Olga. She then became quite abrupt and suggested I wasn't telling the truth and that they always send email confirmation. When I indicated they did not and I had to request this she demanded I send this to her. Why they didn't have a record I don't know.
    She replied to my email telling me "What you are sending me is only a fraction of what we normally send as a confirmation letter". Well, I don't know what they "normally" send out but I know what I got.
    The plot thickens and the email flows. In the end I'm told the woman that checked me out did not say the deposit would be credited. "You are MISTAKEN" Funny thing is, it was man who checked us out and my wife (who is a woman and looks like one) was standing next to me. There is a series of half-truths and troubling cover-ups in all of this

    Please be very wary of this property as they are not prepared to honor what they quoted and they won't even be courteous enough to discuss the matter as professionals.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Annie Becton Jul 28, 2016

    Drove from ohio to attend the junior olympics for which my grandson was a participant. Upon entering the room and getting settled into bed, began to itch. Checked bedding but did not see anything, this continued through the night. I thought I was just tired from the drive. That was not the case!! It got so bad that I got up and looked at my legs and a trickle of blood was coming down my right leg. I proceeded to the front desk and showed this to the clerk. He stated that he would have housekeeping to check in the morning, this was about 11:30p.m. I refused his gesture and we were put in another room. The itching stopped but I have been left with a scar on my leg that is still here today after 9 mos. When I checked out, the clerk would not even give me an address or phone number to file a complaint, I had to get the info. on my own. The owner decided to go out of the country for a couple of months and upon his return I was informed, only after I continuously called, that the bed was checked for bugs months later and none was found. The hdqrts. decided to issue me a gift card. I didn't even receive an apology from where we stayed or not even a refund of my money. Filed a complaint with BBB . Was told they are independantly owned, but shouldn't they have to answer to their corporate office!! No response from B.Western and has now found that the case has been closed. BEWARE OF THIS MOTEL!!! They are certainly not the best!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    david collins Jul 28, 2016

    I made reservation for 1 day and when I arrived, they had no record. I had confirmation number and they said it was the day b-4. and that I was charged no call no show. If I want to stay, I'd have to pay full price for the room again. The room was lousy and nasty.
    Per the desk and 800 number given me, The manager was unreachable for any help.
    When I did get a manager 3days later. I was offered 50% off next visit.
    I asked for 50% cost back now, and was refused...I'll never be robbed by best western again.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natalie Woodson Jul 28, 2016

    The GameStop @ the Augusta Mall on 3450 Wrightsboro Road: The Guy who manages the place, is a certified idiot, he keeps hiring convicts, degenerates, and immature clowns to run this crappy establishment, that only does a good job ripping off customers on their overpriced games, and does a poor job getting the latest games available. The customer service is ALWAYS lousy, and I discovered that the GameStop managers enforce a discrimination policy against customers, and hiring african-americans. The manager had recently turned down another black male (who was qualified & had no record)- FOR NO REASON, only to hire; yet again, another white punk street dealer, who was just let out of prison- For Selling Crack!! I hate what this incompetent racist manager is doing to the image of GameStop (He's the one they need to fire!!), because I really used to love buying their games; now, I prefer to buy & rent games online or at Redbox, it's alot cheaper and I don't have to worry about lousy customer service or racism, in the comfort of my home. I HIGHY recommend to others to do the same, and stop shopping at GameStop...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Margaret Simmons Jul 28, 2016

    I've stayed with best western many times before and I have never been treated like this by anyone, anywhere. I arrived and my reservation was changed with the wrong date, we got this issue settled but then I asked a employee something and the attitude by her was awful. This is a representation of your company and if she is allowed to do this to a guest then what would your management be like. I asked about something i saw in the brochure on gift bags and she simply told me that if that was what i was looking for then i had to go somewhere else cause they don't do that here. Then my kids were in the lobby and she put them out and told them to go to the room they couldn't be down here. When I asked what was the problem since they were 15yrs old and 17yrs old, she told me that no kids are allowed in lobby with out the parents. When I explained that they were waiting on me sitting in the lounge area, she told me that didn't matter to take their loud ### up to the room. I then replied no one was to be talked to like that and wanted to speak to her supervisor or owner she told me her name was Carletta and she was the one I wanted to speak to. When she raised her hand I replied that I would call the police she told me to go ahead cause me and her could handle this. I don't know when you allowed animals working for you but I will not be back ever to your hotel and refund my money to me. The front desk clerk told me a manager would have to be called and she told me that it would be tomorrow before this issue would be resolved. I waited at another hotel and as of this date I cant get Sheneika to answer the phone, return my emails or the owner Nel Patel to respond. If this is what your company does and handle things then I see why you have so many complaints. Best Western use to stand for something but your hotel is the lowest in the industry and I wouldn't recommend it to my dog sitter.

    0 Votes
  • Ps
    PSmith90125 Jul 28, 2016

    DO NOT book at the Best Western in Naha, Japan. I attempted to book a room and was subjected to a bait-and-switch.

    They advertise a low price on the hotel's website, about US$60 for a single person. I attempted to book a room through their website. For ten days, including tax, it should have cost approximately US$480.

    However, when I got through to the payment section, the price was inflated to over $600.

    When I attempted to contact their third-rate "manager", a thief named Shoko Toyooka, who refused to see this as the hotel's problem. Their "solution" was to inflate it further, telling me 12, 000yen for a single room, or US$153 per night.

    How stupid and dishonest does someone have to be to run a business like that? Does they "think" I'm stupid enough to pay more after they've already demonstrated their dishonesty?

    There are other hotels in Naha, so I have booked elsewhere. I suggest you do, too. And if you've also been subjected to a bait-and-switch by those thieves, write a review.

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    Agat Jul 28, 2016

    I and my husband had spent few days of our vacations in Best Western Hotel in Jamaica, NY. When we entered the hotel itself we were really disappointed. The hallway and the check in-out area were really dirty. The elevators looked like they would stop any moment. When we went to the room we were really disgusted. It was a terrible little room. It was not worth the money we paid. There were no towels I called the desk and that lady told me she would see to it that everything was ok but she did nothing. The experience was unsatisfactory. This was the first time we had a terrible experience at a Best Western Hotel. We have had really pleasant stays in other Best Western Hotels. This hotel in particular is bringing down the reputation of the chain. It needs to be worked on so that it can be as food as other hotels in the chain. We will not go to this particular Best Western hotel again.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Countrycleatus Jul 28, 2016

    I work for a company that provides rooms when I travel. Office manager booked room and sent card authorization which showed it was received, knowing she would be out of office following day. The next day when I check in the hotel can't find it and uses my debit card, saying they will charge me for one day and it will be straightened out following day. They charged my card twice first $117 the a minute later $680. This info come from my bank. Next I'm working nights so I have had do no disturb on door, but after getting up at 3 asked if housekeeping was there the desk clerk said yes. I asked to get my room clean. She told me my housekeeper left three hours ago so no. The next day the same thing.

    0 Votes
  • Brenda* Jul 28, 2016

    Give corporate your feedback.

    0 Votes
  • So
    Somepeoplesuck Jul 28, 2016

    Manager of hotel yelling and swearing totally belittling one of the employees in front of myself, other guests and other staff. Absolutely disgusting display of human behavior.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Silcioe Jul 28, 2016

    The whole stay was terrible, first there was no air on the 4th floor the window was open, which cause flies to come in, the room smelled of heavy smoke the carpet was dirty, there was urine on the toilet seat., I had no housekeeping service the whole time I was there, the hotel ran out of food for the guest, the pool floor was peeling, the gym equipment didn't work. The owner of the hotel did call me at home to apologize, but I fill I need to be refunded what I was charged.

    0 Votes
  • I booked online for 4 days at this hotel while we visited Disneyland. We arrived late in the afternoon and when I checked in I was told we would have to pay an extra $10 a day for parking! After picking my jaw up off the floor, I asked the guy at the front desk why and got no answer but was told if I didn't pay the fee, I couldn't stay so I asked him how long it would take to get my money refunded to me for the hotel and he said 5-7 days. Rather than pay another sum of money for a different hotel, I paid the parking fee at the end of our stay. I have stayed at many hotels over the years, including Best Western, and I have NEVER been charged a separate fee for parking on premises, EVER!!!
    When I returned home, I emailed a complaint to Best Western Corporate. Two days later someone responded to my complaint and told me that they would refund half of the fees charged to me, which they did but I told them I wanted the full amount and eventually I received the full amount of $40.
    Best Western in Anaheim should be ashamed of themselves for being so greedy and I don't know if it's Best Western, Anaheim or both but something's very wrong!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHRISTINE B Aug 01, 2016

    we made reservation to stay at this best western on 07-03-13 by phone. prior to making our reservation i looked up what the motel had to offer on the internet. it said a FREE COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST would be available availble there. at the time to check in, i was asked if i knew about what things that were available there. i was told i would receive a HALF OFF BREAKFAST COUPON. it was not because i could not afford the other half of the breakfast. i clearly believe this particular best western was falsely advertiseing on the best western wed sight. because of this we decided to stay at another motel 20 miles away and got our free complimentary breakfast, cost us $40.00 less and also had HBO available, that night.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Pollockmichelle Aug 04, 2016

    MICE... I was staying there for work and had a pretty nice room I would say nothing fancy but perfect for myself first night was fine nothing stood out the second night was TERRIBLE. I woke up in the middle of the night to a mouse running around my room I decided I was okay made some noise thinking I scared it away. fell back asleep cause I have a really busy day tomorrow and don't have time to waist on a mouse i need sleep, woke up to a scratching and squeaking noise coming from right beside my bed I couldn't ignore it anymore and jumped out of bed and left my room to the front desk explained that I seen a mouse and now it wont leave they kind of laughed and said oh we don't have mice I convinced them to give me a new room and for someone to come with me to my room so I could prove that there was a mouse i thought it was trapped in the wall or something as i could hear it for awhile. when we got back to my room i pointed to were the noise was coming from and they moved the night stand away from the wall while i was packing my stuff and getting out of that room. well just like i thought there was a mouse trap under the night stand with a mouse fighting for this life i was stunned because they laughed at me when i said there was a mouse in my room and they knew there was since there was a TRAP... they then sent me to my new room which was a single bed in the far corner of the hotel with only a tv. in the morning i checked out and they told me they would credit my visa for both nights i left and now a year later and 50 un returned phone calls still nothing from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yetman Aug 04, 2016

    Very poor training. Allows guests to mistreat staff and terminates staff for trying their best and being perfectly considerate to guest.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blasphemy Aug 04, 2016

    Best Western Plus Experience
    4565 U.S. Highway 17
    Richmond Hill, GA 31324


    Our story begins while traveling from Florida to South Carolina on our family vacation. We decided to stop in Georgia’s tourism office located just inside the Georgia/Florida border. Inside the information center we were greeted by a very friendly associate of Best Western Plus who provided us with a flyer for a special rate of $54.95 per night at the Richmond Hill facility.

    My family arrived at the Richmond Hill Best Western July 22, 2011 at approximately 3:00 pm Friday afternoon. Our check in was handled by Shanna who was very nice and professional. At three thirty I began noticing other people arriving at the hotel with the same flyer from the information center and being told there were no longer any rooms at the special rate but they could check in at the internet rate of $89.99. Several customers left upset and irate complaining of bait and switch tactics. I also noticed at this time there was approximately eight cars in the parking lot.

    After dinner we arrived back at the hotel to put our two children age four and five to bed around 6:45 pm. Our children began complaining the room was too hot to fall asleep. I checked the air conditioner and noticed it would power on for a few minutes and then turn off completely. I proceeded downstairs and spoke with Shanna and asked if we could switch rooms as we have two small children trying to fall asleep. Shanna called her manager who informed her to tell me to go back up to the room and try starting the air at a warmer setting then slowly lower it to a comfortable level which would allow the compressor to stay on. Reluctantly, I agreed and spent the next twenty minutes in my room with two hot children and my wife trying to get the air to stay on with no success.

    After twenty minutes of following this suggestion and having no success I preceded again downstairs to request a room change since our room was uncomfortably warm. Shanna again called her manager who told her to send maintenance over to our room to fix the problem. Again a request for a room change was denied and I was told maintenance would arrive in about 15 minutes to fix the problematic A/C unit.
    Mr. Padalla Eummauel who identified himself as maintenance informed us he was here to correct the situation. Upon entering the room Mr. Eummauel did agree the room was significantly warmer than the current hallway temperature. Mr. Eummauel then disrespectfully stated “Hey Bubba not to worry I’m here to make you happy.” Sir or Mr. Jarman would have been more appropriate than Hey Bubba. Mr. Eummauel then proceeded to reprogram the compressor setting on the air conditioner unit from C1 to a C4 setting. I asked if they were limiting the amount of time the compressor would run. Mr. Eummauel responded with “Yes it was set to a lower setting but now there would be no problems it’s fixed.” He then said “look cold air all fixed.” The problem was never with the air temperature when the compressor was running but rather the length of time the compressor would run.

    After Mr. Eummauel left the room my wife and I timed the compressor which had a pattern of running for 8 minutes then turning off for four minutes. While this was probably about double the running time as previously it was not enough to cool the room down to an appropriate level.

    I again proceeded downstairs to the front desk as my children were still trying to get sleep during this complete debacle. I met Mr. Eummauel and Shanna at the front desk and informed them very politely the situation is still not corrected and requested another room. Shanna informed me now for the first time all night that now there were no other rooms available. I asked how is that possible with only sixteen cars in the entire parking lot. Shanna glanced at the computer and mentioned several people scheduled late check in. I then asked again if she could call her manager explain our situation and call my room when she had an answer.

    Approximately ten minutes later I received a call from somebody explaining maid service has been called and will be at the room shortly for cleaning. I asked what are you talking about and this individual said not to worry we would receive our special room rate of $54.95 refunded! I asked “are you throwing us out at ten o clock at night because our air conditioner is broken?” The reply was the air is working perfectly fine and maid service is on their way up to our room. I informed the individual this was completely unacceptable and I would be calling the corporate office of Best Western to file a formal complaint.

    While on the phone with an individual from the customer service who was in complete disbelief that I was asked to leave and not provided a comparable room because of a “malfunctioning” air conditioner there was a knock on the door. While still on the phone with Best Western customer service representative I opened the door to Mr. Eummauel with a luggage cart and two police officers. I asked what was going on and Mr. Eummauel commented the boss wanted me gone so I’m gone and here is a cart to pack your luggage on and check out. I asked the law enforcement if this was legal and Officer Welch responded with, “yes it is, ” and asked for my driver license. I handed over my license and asked if I could take a few minutes to pack up our belongings. We quickly packed our belongings along with two extremely over tired and hot children and proceeded downstairs.

    Upon checkout I was handed a completely blank receipt and told billing has not yet processed my card so there was nothing to refund at this point. This seemed very odd and at this point. I kindly asked Officer Welch if he could escort Mr. Eummauel to my previous room to verify there had been no room damage for the report. After confirmation of no damages I left the hotel as several onlookers commented on the situation unfolding around them.

    Two days later I was contacted from Best Western customer service representative who then informed us no further action will be taken since there was police involvement. The representatives also let us know since each hotel in individually operated and owed there was little they could do to address the situation. I asked how that could be when their name is on the front sign of the building. I informed them this was unacceptable and that I would notate this response in my letter. I finished our conversation asking them to reopen our file and at least check the records to see how many rooms were booked that evening.

    In summary as a frequent traveler due to my business, I know all too well how a professional, respectful, and proper hotel operation should function. This establishment at Richmond Hill should be investigated for several reasons.


    1. Having only one room available after directing people here from the Tourist information center. A Best Western Representative wearing a Best Western vest was providing the hand written rate only an hour down the road. I’m not a lawyer but know it is unethical to pass out flyers directing customers to this hotel for $54.95 then only providing the first customer this rate. I witnessed the front desk explaining to other guests that the lowest rate now is $89.95 since these special rate rooms were sold out. This practice of bait and switch is unethical and unprofessional for any business and should be discontinued.

    2. Regulating the air conditioner run time through manipulation of the compressor. While it may save the hotel costs it surely is an unpleasant experience for the guest. Since further looking into this practice I have been informed several other unethical establishments are installing these devices to limit costs. In my opinion, if these units are installed it should be publicly noted upon arrival.

    3. The practice of evicting families from their room when a concern is very politely presented.

    4. Severe disrespect and unprofessionalism towards hotel guests.

    0 Votes
  • To
    ToshiKubota Aug 04, 2016

    Do NOT stay here!!!

    We stayed between Oct 16 and 18, 2012. On the second morning of our stay, we voiced a concern that the toilet kept running throughout the night (and day as well), and loud flushes would happen every 5~10 minutes. This kept both the adults and the kids up for most of the night, and we had very little rest. The front desk was very helpful and said they will send someone up to correct the situation right away. In fact, as we were walking away, they spoke to maintenance on the phone about the situation.

    We returned later that evening but the toilet water running issue persisted and as you can imagine, kept the kids and the parents up for the entire night. We checked out the next day and voiced the issue again, and the reason we were given by the front desk was "Oh, maintenance was going to take a look at the toilet after you leave today." I indicated that the young children had very little rest because of the noise after the first night of stay, and would like the situation to be corrected immediately, which the front desk promised to do, but failed to do so. I can't understand the rationale to have the same guests stay in the same room for the second night, with the same noise issue, expecting different results. No remediation was offered, or any type of compensation for our horrible stay.

    This business has been reported to Better Business Bureau and the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce for their practices and not delivering on their promises.

    Be warned, stay away from this cheap hotel!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    bigbox Mar 24, 2018

    I reserved 2 days that it was advertised for 100$ a night and when I got there after driving 5 hours with the kids they told me it was 430$, I was super upset but I was so tired and mad that I decide to stay . The next day I was coming down the pool that had handles and there was no steps in the pool, that cause me a trip to the emergency, what pool have handles to get in but no handles ??? please can someone from the hotel contact me I honestly had the worst vacation because of all this and I'm demanding my money back, not even my medical bill is going to cover any of this, my email is [email protected], I got pictures of the pool, the reservation that was charge wrong and the medical bill when I was at the stay, thanks grace.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem