The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Avent Baby Bottlesleaking bottles

For my 3 yr old daughter i used avent bottles and loved them. But now with my 3 month old baby I have been using them and I hate them because they leak. When ever I shake it to mix the formula and water it leaks!
I want my money back! I paid $18.99 for 2 4oz bottles!

Responses

  • Am
    amaxx Nov 15, 2015

    I used to have a problem with the avent bottles leaking until I finally realized it's how you screw them on. The tighter u screw them on the more they leak. Screw them on till it feels like it is barely sealed. Any tighter and they start leaking. Didn't leak anymore after I figured this out

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel Burns 1986 Oct 01, 2011

    Hi i have twins one feeding on advent and one feeding on another brand of bottle, i used the advent microwave sterilzer. As instructed and its caused 2 of the 4 plastic rings to melt slightly, causing leaks. This is a major problem when the price of the bottles are as high as they are. If u would like to contact me regarding this . [email protected] .. two replacement rings would be the obiovius answer many thanks dan. p.s this is after 7 weeks use

    0 Votes
  • An
    A. Nagy Jan 31, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is there anybody who noticed that feeding with the new bottle+adapter ring let less air into the bottle? I called our country-trader, and they want it back to send it to th U.K. to check...
    I had (almost ) no problem with the normal bottles but this ring stuff lets much less air into it and I have to take away the bottle from my baby to have the missing air let in, unless the nipple is just getting flatter and flatter because of the vacuum (missing air) in the bottle.
    Oh and they say that nobody complained ... nobody had this problem...

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lorejen J. Salise Dec 13, 2010

    I choose Avent because I'm confident that it has a quality control because of the price. But I'm very disappointed with the milk container I bought because it is already damage even though we didn't use it yet and I complain to the mall where I bought it but they will not replace it. I hope Avent will set a policy regarding on replacing damage items.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poohishhhhh Sep 03, 2010

    AVENT BOTTLES:WORST BOTTLES EVER.I RECOMMEND NEVER USE THEM.MY CHILD GOT WET IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND SLEPT HUNGRY DUE TO LEAKAGE OF THE BOTTLE.HELL WITH AVENT.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    LynnwoodDaddy Aug 31, 2010

    THE SOLUTION IS EASY: moisten the nipple and threads first with a blast of tap water, then screw the nipple on to the bottle. With your pointer finger on the end of the nipple, pump the nipple up and down like a plunger. If you hear any air venting, loosen the cap all the way (backing off the threads until it clicks once or twice). Tighten the cap again and repeat the pumping procedure. When it does not vent but rather you feel a good pressure seal with no air leaking, you're ready to go. This works 100% of the time.Happy feeding! :-) LynnwoodDaddy

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MommyOf6 Aug 27, 2010

    The Best Solution to the Avent bottles that leak would be to use the line with the additional Adapter ring that goes in between the Screw ring and the bottle itself . This ring only works on one specific bottle as the neck of these bottles are slightly shorter than the neck of the bottles with the honey color on them.While the ring is made as an additional anti colic feature of the bottle, it does eliminate any issue of leaking. If you call Avent they will replace the Honey color bottles with these bottles that have the adapter ring.

    1 Votes
  • Mr
    mrs mitchell Jun 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have 3 children and have always used avent bottles the bottle were great and i would of recommended them to everyone since my 3 month old daughter was born every bottle i have used has leaked i thought i had a faulty batch so i replaced them with more and had the same problem. these bottles have spoilet many off my possessions in my bag including many off her cloths if this complaint is not dealt with in the way i expect i will take this further and contact the papers and by the look of other complaint i have allot of back up

    1 Votes
  • Au
    audrey kirwan Jun 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    watch out cause these bottles leak from the base of the bottle as well its a joke i have 6 bottles and 3 of them have leaked at the base one actually has a hole in it and guess what there is no website that give the address to send these bottles back to its a disgrace do your self A favour and buy nuk bottles .

    1 Votes
  • Kp
    KP555 May 25, 2010

    I want to throw my Avent bottles away & go buy all new ones, I am so frustrated with them leaking! There is nothing worse than a crying/hungry baby in the middle of the night and sticky milk running all over both of us! I called Avent Customer Service & they are supposed to be sending me new nipples, rings, and sealing discs. I have no received them yet, but if they don't work I'll be getting new bottles. The rep also told me that using antibacterial dish soap can ruin the nipples & rings causing them to leak, the antibacterial has a harsh component I guess. I will not be recommending these bottles to anyone!

    1 Votes
  • El
    elleroxy Apr 30, 2010

    absolutely discusted with avent bottles, they are not cheap yet they still leak whilst im feeding my baby. discusting and avent should deal with the matter properly, WILL NOT be buying or recommending these bottles to anyone!!

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    very angery mum Feb 10, 2010

    I have used advent bottles for my 2year old. I have bought 5 of the 4 pack bottles to date and they all leaked. It is really frustrating when you spend so much money on these bottles and they don't even do what they are designed for. My child also like there soothers and fron this day on I will never purchase anything again made from philips. They are just out to make money and don't care about their customers.

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    sarahkeira Jan 27, 2010

    I hava a 8 month old avent bottles are all he will drink out of, so i dont have a choice with being able to swap. but i am sick of the leaking bottles, especially at 5 in the morning with milk flying ecerywhere... it's not like their a cheap bottle to buy !!!

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    BarbaraSJ Jan 26, 2010

    I used Avent bottles with my 10 y/o and they were great. I now have a 7 mth old and the Avent bottles are horrible. I do not know what happened to them. They either leak when I shake them or after feeding my baby and I turn them right side up the formula that leaked into the in the ring pours out. However, I do love the sterlizer. Avent really needs to have a recall on all their bottles.

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    KSilvia2007 Dec 04, 2009

    THIS SOLUTION WORKS! http://mecrunchy.blogspot.com/2008/01/solution-to-avent-bottle-leak.html My Avent bottles are no longer leaking! Easy to follow pics and instructions. Thanks to the original poster :)

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mari Rozbee Santiago Dec 02, 2009

    have the same problem with the BPA bottle also. My father whose in the US bought it for my newborn baby, I'm in the Philippines and I was wondering how to reach any customer service of Philips Avent here. is there anyone who can help me?????is it possible to have them replace?????. it was frustrating using it and time consuming. it leaks all the time!

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    Fei Fei Nov 27, 2009

    I'm a very frustrated mother of 2. Recently I've just purchased 4 Avent BPA free bottles for my newborn and they all leak every time I shake them. I have to rescrew the lid over and over again. It has been a problem to most of my friends too. Avent used to be a reputable and trustable brand, I had them 3 years ago and they were wonderful. But I'm not sure about it now. What actually happen I wonder? Can the manufacturer or the company representative explain why?

    2 Votes
  • Am
    amy Nov 14, 2009

    I purchased 4oz Avent baby bottles (Amber colored) and they leak when feeding baby. I looked online and this was a known issue. I called Avent and they said they'd replace bottles with 9oz newer version that has an additional part, a ring that goes over the mouth of the bottle, that is supposed to prevent the leaks. 2 weeks later and the replacements haven't come yet (I called Avent back and they said they are back ordered). In the mean time, I went back to the store and bought the 9 oz newer version with the ring (they are clear not amber) and it still didn't fix the leaking problem. They are better, but still leak every once in a while.

    I'm done with Avent, I switched to Born Free bottles. The nipple collar has ridges and is easier to open when wet and more importantly, they don't leak.

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    llh Sep 11, 2009

    I found this blog (http://mecrunchy.blogspot.com/2008/01/solution-to-avent-bottle-leak.html) that provides the solution to this problem and it works. You might want to try it out.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chesa19 Jul 26, 2009

    I also have the same problem!

    1 Votes
  • Jl
    JLK Jun 14, 2009

    These bottles are horrible and useless!!! They were very expensive and leaked all over the place. Ruined clothes and blankets! I have switched to Dr. Browns bottles. Cheaper and 100% better. My son (now 6 years old) had colic very bad. I wish they had the Dr. Browns bottles back then. I use them with my 4 week old and there are no air bubbles and the gas problem is almost eliminated. Thank you Dr. Brown. Shame on you Avent :(

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Frost Jun 09, 2009

    These are just terrible bottles. 1 out of every 3 leaks all over my son resulting in lost milk and a messy sticky baby. Not worth the hassle, Go with Born Free or Dr Browns. I will not be endorsing AVENT any longer.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    Frustrated in VA Mar 15, 2009

    I used their bottles six years ago with my first son and they were great. This time they leak costantly. You have to rescrew the lid several times to get a good seal. I have contacted Phillips Avent through their website and hope to have some kind of fix made by them.

    1 Votes
  • Fl
    flanny Mar 11, 2009

    I have the same leaking problem...When my daughter was born we had the non BPA free bottles and didnt have a leaking problem. Then when she was 5 months we thought we better buy the BPA free bottles and spent over $100 on them and they leak every time we shake them...we have been very frustrated with avent.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Elanie ERasmus Mar 11, 2009

    Goeie dag

    Ek is 'n moeder met 'n baba seuntjie. Van dat ek kan onthou vertel ALMAL vir my hoe goed is Avent bottels. Ek het 3 bottels gekry. En is BAIE TERLEURGESTELD want 2 van die 3 bottels lek melk. Ek moes my kind nou al vele kere droog aantrek want ek kan die melk of water uit die klere en spoeg doek uit druk dan loop dit so erg lek die bottels. NOu wonder ek maar net by myself hoekom is dit bottels dan so goed en hoekom praat almal so goed van dit want ek is GLAD NIE beindruk met die bottels nie. Op die stadium werk die R10 bottels vir my duisend keer beter as die amper R200 se bottel. Ek wil nou graag sien of Avent dan so goed is soos almal se dat hulle vir my die 2 bottels gaan vervang. Hoop ek hoor gou van enige iemand wat aan my kan diens lewer.
    Elanie Erasmus
    [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    rachael offlow Mar 04, 2009

    these wose bottles iv ever used. i spent £40 on these bottle for 12 and both packs are leaking!! i want my money back!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.